DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Fluid Pressure Damper with Piston Rod Damping Arrangement”. Please note that the term “Dumper” is not a term readily recognized in the art of dampers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Runkle (DE 393167) in view of Sasaki et al (CN113513554).
In reference to claim 1, Runkel teaches a fluid pressure damper comprising: a cylinder tube (4); a piston rod (12) inserted into the cylinder tube so as to be freely movable into and out of the cylinder tube; a piston (30) connected to the piston rod, the piston being configured to partition an interior of the cylinder tube into a rod-side chamber (24) and a bottom-side chamber (6a); and a damping unit (90) configured to generate damping force by imparting resistance to a flow of working fluid between the rod-side chamber and the bottom-side chamber, wherein the piston rod has a rod portion connected to the piston and supported so as to be feely slidable with respect to the cylinder tube and a head portion (portion where attachment point 16 is disposed) exposed to outside of the cylinder tube.
Runkel does not teach that the damping unit is in the head portion however it is clear that the lines connecting the two chambers are routed through the head portion. Forming fluid circuits in blocks of material is notoriously known in the art. For instance, anti-lock brake systems have been made for years to include pumps valves and hydraulic lines in a block of material. Please note that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the head section of Runkel would be machined or cast to include the damping valves therein. As a teaching reference, please note the reference to Sasaki et al (CN113513554) which teaches a similar piston cylinder device to that of Runkel, but there the valving is provided in a block of material (23) outside of the cylinder.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing of the invention to have provided the head portion of Runkel with the valving in the head portion as taught by Sasaki in order to reduce the number of parts and provide a more compact assembly. (Sasaki, Problem solved by the invention section)
In reference to claim 2, Runkel teaches the fluid pressure damper according to claim 1, wherein the piston rod is formed with: a rod inner space (this is a different interpretation from that taken for claim 1, for this claim, the rod inner space is 24 and the rod side chamber is 66) formed inside the rod portion; a first communicating passage (46) configured to guide the working fluid between the rod-side chamber and the rod inner space; and a second communicating passage (54) configured to guide the working fluid between the rod inner space and the damping unit, and the piston rod further has a flow path portion (the flow path “portion” is depicted on the right side of the piston and is considered inner with respect to an outer portion of the piston) accommodated in the rod inner space and configured to guide the working fluid between the bottom-side chamber and the damping unit.
In reference to claim 3, Runkel teaches the fluid pressure damper according to claim 1, wherein the damping unit has a first resistance portion (80) and a second resistance portion (the actual hydraulic lines impart a resistance to the fluid flow due to the cross section area), the first resistance portion and the second resistance portion being configured to respectively impart resistance to flow of the working fluid, and the first resistance portion is configured to impart the resistance only to the flow of the working fluid flowing from one of the rod-side chamber (24, on the side of the rod) and the bottom-side chamber (6a) to the other thereof.
In reference to claim 4, Runkel teaches the fluid pressure dumper according to claim 1, wherein the damping unit has a variable restrictor portion (80) configured to impart variable resistance to the flow of the working fluid passing therethrough.
In reference to claim 6, Runkel teaches the fluid pressure dumper according to claim 1, wherein the damping unit has a damping valve (80) configured such that the resistance to be imparted to the working fluid is changed depending on a position, and a solenoid portion (84) configured to be driven by being energized and to switch the position of the damping valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The references cited do not provide an arrangement nor would it be obvious to provide a switching portion that can be pushed by the cylinder tube to moving the valve.
Conclusion
DEVON C. KRAMER
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3746
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741