DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 16, and the Applicant argued that “…the claim amendments clarify that the claimed solution concerns receiver-side QoS determination and cross-layer delivery within the UE, rather than transmission-side QoS handling. The specification explains that receiving UEs lack advance knowledge of QoS characteristics for incoming sidelink traffic and therefore must determine QoS requirements from V2X configuration information and provide them across layers to support reception behavior (see, e.g., Application, [0003], [0035]-[0040], and Figs. 3A-3B). This receiver-side architectural flow is neither taught nor suggested by the cited prior art.
Turning to the prior art, Lee does not teach or suggest the claim amendments. Lee is directed to unicast direct communication link establishment, maintenance, and update procedures, where QoS information (e.g., QFI values) is associated with data transmission and provided to lower layers in the context of setting up or modifying a unicast link. Lee, [0082]- [0085], [0097], [0124]-[0134], [0198]-[0212]. In particular, Lee does not describe "determining, at a first layer of the UE, one or more quality of service ('QoS') requirements for reception for each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs," and "providing, to a second layer of-9- the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements for each of the one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception."
Nor does TS 23.287 v16.5.0 remedy these deficiencies. While this version of the standard discusses destination layer-2 identifiers and PC5 QoS parameters in general V2X procedures (see, e.g., TS 23.287 v16.5.0§§ 5.4, 5.6, 6.3), it does not disclose "determining, at a first layer of the UE, one or more quality of service ('QoS') requirements for reception for each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs," and "providing, to a second layer of the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements for each of the one or more destination layer-2IDs for reception." The receiver-side processing flow recited in Claims 1, 8, and determining QoS at one layer and providing it to another layer for reception-is not described in the cited version of the standard and cannot be derived from it without impermissible hindsight.
The Office Action relies on TS 23.287 to supply the allegedly missing features, but that version of the standard likewise does not disclose the amended claim elements. While TS 23.287 describes determining destination layer-2 IDs and PC5 QoS parameters and passing them to the AS layer in general terms (see, e.g., TS 23.287, §§ 5.4, 5.6, 6.3), it does so in the context of enabling V2X communications broadly and does not describe a receiving UE deriving PC5 DRX parameters from those QoS parameters for power-efficient reception” (emphasis added) (see Remarks, pages 8-10).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the claimed solution concerns receiver-side QoS determination, receiving UE deriving PC5 DRX parameters from those QoS parameters for power-efficient reception) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The amended claims 1, 8 and 16 merely disclose the UE “determines one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception”, but however, do not specify that the UE is also the receiver-side of the V2X transmission(s) with the determined destination layer-2 IDs nor the power-efficient reception. Thus, the claims are not directed to the receiver-side QoS determination as erroneously alleged by the Applicant.
Furthermore, Lee teaches on paragraphs [88, 123, 210-211] as follows:
[0088] Referring to FIG. 4A, the peripheral terminal 115, 120, and 125 may determine a destination layer-2 ID for receiving a direct communication request message 409, based on the V2X service policy parameter in Table 1 (for example, it corresponds to “The mapping of default destination layer-2 ID(s) for initial signaling to establish unicast connection and the V2X services, e.g., PSID or ITS-AIDs of the V2X application” in Table 1) in operation 400. The destination layer-2 ID for receiving a direct communication request message may be determined to be different values for respective application layers, respective applications supported by the application layer, or respective service types supported by the application layer (e.g., PSID, ITS-AID, etc.). Alternatively, the destination layer-2 ID for receiving a direct communication request message may be determined to be the same default value, regardless of the application layer, the application supported by the application layer, or the service type supported by the application layer.
[0100] In addition, the SE layer 280 may convert the QoS requirements received from the application layer 270 in operation 403 into PQI (PC5 5QI) values that are available for the AS layer 200. One service type may request message a plurality of QoS requirements, and thus, one service type may be mapped to a plurality of PQI values. In addition, the SE layer 280 may assign QFIs to respective PQI values. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, if the service types are different with respect to the same PQI value (e.g., PQI #3), different QFI values (e.g., QFI #3 and QFI #4) may be assigned thereto. This example is shown in FIG. 6A.
[0123] The SE layer 280 may determine a source layer-2 ID and a destination layer-2 ID to be included in a MAC header in order to transmit the produced direct communication request message. The SE layer 280 may use the layer-2 ID assigned by the terminal 110 itself as the source layer-2 ID. The source layer-2 ID may be the same as the layer-2 ID value of the terminal 110 stored in the link profile. In addition, the SE layer 280 may refer to the V2X service policy parameters in Table 1, which are stored by the terminal, in order to determine the destination layer 2-ID. For example, the destination layer-2 ID may be determined based on “The mapping of default destination layer-2 ID(s) for initial signaling to establish unicast connection and the V2X services, e.g., PSID or ITS-AIDs of the V2X application” in Table 1. The destination layer-2 ID may be the same value as the destination layer-2 ID determined by the peripheral terminals 115, 120, and 125 in operation 400.
[0124] The SE layer 280 may deliver information to the AS layer 200 in order to transmit a direct communication request message. The information delivered to the AS layer 200 may include at least one of a direct communication request message, a source layer-2 ID of the message, a destination layer-2 ID of the message, a link ID, a PQI value, a QFI value, mapping information between the PQI and the QFI, a communication mode (e.g., PC5 broadcast), and the type of message {e.g., a signal (control) message}. An example of information that the SE layer 280 delivers to the AS layer 200 is as follows.
[0210] The SE layer 280 may identify link profile information associated with the link ID received in operation 424. The SE layer 280 may determine a source layer-2 ID and a destination layer-2 ID for transmitting the “application data” received in operation 424. For example, the source layer-2 ID may be determined using the layer-2 ID of the terminal 110 stored in the link profile associated with the link ID. The destination layer-2 ID may be determined using the layer-2 ID of the terminal 120 stored in the link profile associated with the link ID (operation 427).
[0211] The SE layer 280 may determine a QFI for transmitting the application data received in operation 424 (operation 427). For example, the SE layer 280 may use the QFI received in operation 424. Alternatively, the SE layer 280 may determine the QFI corresponding to the PQI received in operation 424. In order to determine the QFI corresponding to the PQI, the SE layer 280 may use information preset in the terminal or mapping information between PQIs and QFIs stored in the link profile associated with the link ID. Alternatively, the SE layer 280 may determine the QFI corresponding to the QoS requirements received in operation 424. In order to determine the QFI corresponding to the QoS requirements, the SE layer 280 may use information preset in the terminal or mapping information between the QoS requirements and QFIs stored in the link profile associated with the link ID.
[0212] The SE layer 280 may transmit, to the AS layer 200, at least one of the “application data” received in operation 424, the “source layer-2 ID” and the “destination layer-2 ID” determined in operation 427, the “QFI”, the “link ID” related to the corresponding direct communication link, the communication mode (e.g., PC5 unicast), and the type of message {e.g., data (user plane) message}. An example of information that the SE layer 280 delivers to the AS layer 200 is as follows.
Therefore, clearly, Lee has taught the SE/V2X layer of the UE determines the destination layer-2 IDs for reception (paragraphs [88, 123, 210]), determines one or more QoS requirements (identifies the QoS requirements and converts the QoS requirements to QFI values, paragraphs [100, 123]) and thereby, provides the determined destination layer-2 IDs for reception and the determined one or more QoS requirements to the AS layer of the UE (paragraphs [124, 212).
In addition, TS 23.287 teaches on pages 18-19, 27-28, 36, 41-42, 45 as follows:
5.1.2.1…
The mapping of V2X service types to the default mode of communication (i.e. broadcast mode, groupcast mode or unicast mode).
The mapping of V2X service types to Destination Layer-2 ID(s) for broadcast.
The mapping of V2X service types to Destination Layer-2 ID(s) for groupcast mode communication.
The mapping of V2X service types to default Destination Layer-2 ID(s) for initial signalling to establish unicast connection.
NOTE 3: The same default Destination Layer-2 ID for unicast initial signalling can be mapped to more than one V2X service types. In the case where different V2X services are mapped to distinct default Destination Layer-2 IDs, when the UE intends to establish a single unicast link that can be used for more than one V2X service types, the UE can select any of the default Destination Layer-2 IDs to use for the initial signalling.
The mapping of V2X service types to PC5 QoS parameters defined in clause 5.4.2 (i.e. PQI and conditionally other parameters such as MFBR/GFBR, etc.).
AS layer configurations (see TS 38.331 [15]), e.g. the mapping of PC5 QoS profile(s) to radio bearer(s), when the UE is "not served by E-UTRA" and "not served by NR". - The PC5 QoS profile contains PC5 QoS parameters described in clause 5.4.2, and value for the QoS characteristics regarding Priority Level, Averaging Window, Maximum Data Burst Volume if default value is not used as defined in Table 5.4.4-1...
For each communication mode (e.g. broadcast, groupcast, unicast), the UE maintains the PC5 QoS Context and PC5 QoS Rule(s) for each PC5 QoS Flow identified by a PC5 QoS Flow Identifier (PFI) per destination identified by Destination Layer-2 ID.
The following information is maintained in the V2X layer of the UE:
- A PC5 QoS Context includes the following information:
- PFI;
- PC5 QoS parameters (i.e. PQI and conditionally other parameters such as MFBR/GFBR, Range, etc.) as defined in clause 5.4.2; and
the V2X service type(s)…
When the UE assigns a new PFI for V2X service type, the UE stores it with the corresponding PC5 QoS Context and PC5 QoS Rule(s) for the destination. When the UE releases the PFI, the UE removes the corresponding PC5 QoS Context and PC5 QoS Rule(s) for the destination. For unicast, the Unicast Link Profile defined in clause 5.2.1.4 contains additional information mapped from PFI for unicast operation.
The V2X layer provides information for PC5 QoS operations per destination (e.g. identified by Destination Layer-2 ID) to AS layer for Per-flow QoS model operations as below:
1) To add a new PC5 QoS Flow or to modify any existing PC5 QoS Flow, the V2X layer provides the following information for the PC5 QoS Flow to AS layer.
- the PFI;
- the corresponding PC5 QoS parameters; and
- source/destination Layer-2 IDs for broadcast and groupcast mode communication, or the PC5 Link Identifier for unicast…
The receiving UE(s) determine the destination Layer-2 ID for broadcast reception as specified in clause 5.6.1.2. The destination Layer-2 ID is passed down to the AS layer of receiving UE(s) for the reception.
The transmitting UE V2X application layer provides data unit and may provide V2X Application Requirements specified in clause 5.4.1.2 to V2X layer.
The transmitting UE determines the destination Layer-2 ID for broadcast as specified in clause 5.6.1.2. The transmitting UE self-assigns the source Layer-2 ID as specified in clause 5.6.1.1. The transmitting UE determines the PC5 QoS parameters for this broadcast V2X service as specified in clauses 5.4.1.1 and 5.4.1.2. ETSI 3GPP TS 23.287 version 16.5.0 Release 16 42 ETSI TS 123 287 V16.5.0 (2021-01)
The transmitting UE sends the V2X service data using the source Layer-2 ID and the destination Layer-2 ID…
1. V2X group management is carried out by the V2X application layer and is out of scope of this specification.
2. The V2X application layer may provide group identifier information (i.e. an Application-layer V2X Group identifier) as specified in clause 5.6.1.3. The V2X application layer may provide V2X Application Requirements for this communication. If the V2X application layer does not provide V2X Application Requirements, the V2X layer determines the PC5 QoS parameters based on the mapping of V2X service type to PC5 QoS parameters as defined in clause 5.1.2.1. The V2X application layer may provide a group size and a member ID as specified in clause 5.2.1.3.
3. Transmitting UE determines a source Layer-2 ID and a destination Layer-2 ID and Receiving UE(s) determine destination Layer-2 ID, as specified in clauses 5.6.1.1 and 5.6.1.3. The destination Layer-2 ID is passed down to the AS layer of Receiving UE(s) for the groupcast mode communication reception. Transmitting UE determines the PC5 QoS parameters for this groupcast mode communication as specified in clauses 5.4.1.1 and 5.4.1.3. If the group size and the member ID for Application Layer managed group are provided by the V2X application layer, the V2X layer passes them to the AS layer as described in clause 5.2.1.3.
4. Transmitting UE has a V2X service associated with this groupcast mode communication. Transmitting UE sends the V2X service data using the source Layer-2 ID and the destination Layer-2 ID. NOTE: In step 4, there is only one groupcast message from the transmitting UE…
The V2X layer of the UE that established PC5 unicast link passes the PC5 Link Identifier assigned for the unicast link and the PC5 unicast link related information down to the AS layer. The PC5 unicast link related information includes Layer-2 ID information (i.e. source Layer-2 ID and destination Layer-2 ID) and the corresponding PC5 QoS parameters. This enables the AS layer to maintain the PC5 Link Identifier together with the PC5 unicast link related information.
Therefore, clearly, TS 23.287 has taught the association between the destination layer 2 ID(s) and the QoS requirements for the V2X service, wherein the V2X layer of the UE determines the destination layer-2 ID(s) based on mapping between the destination layer-2 ID(s) and the V2X service type, and determines the PC5 QoS parameters based on the mapping of V2X service type to PC5 QoS parameters. Then, the V2X layer of the UE provides the determined destination layer-2 ID(s) and the determined PC5 QoS requirements/parameters to the AS layer of the UE. Accordingly, the PC5 QoS parameters/requirements are determined for the V2X service corresponding to the determined destination layer-2 ID(s). Therefore, the one or more QoS requirements are determined (by the first layer/V2X layer) for reception [of the V2X service] for each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 ID(s).
In view of the foregoing, the combination of Lee and TS 23.287 has clearly taught “determining, at a first layer of the UE, one or more quality of service (QoS) requirements for reception for each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs,” and “providing, to a second layer of the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements for each of the one or more destination layer-2IDs for reception” as recited in claims 1, 8 and 16. Accordingly, the claims 1, 8, and 16, and their respective dependent claims are not allowable.
Regarding claim 14, the Applicant argued that “…Independent Claim 14 addresses a complementary but distinct aspect of the solution and is likewise not rendered obvious by the cited combination. Claim 14 is directed to a UE that receives, "from a vehicle-to-everything ('V2X') layer, one or more quality of service ('QoS') requirements for one or more destination layer-2 identifiers ('IDs') for reception of groupcast transmissions or broadcast transmissions" and determines "information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception ('DRX') based on the QoS requirements." As explained in the specification, once QoS requirements for reception are determined, the access stratum ("AS") layer derives applied DRX behavior to reduce power consumption during reception (Application, [0039-]0040]). Lee does not disclose an AS layer determining applied DRX based on QoS requirements received from a V2X layer, and TS 23.287 v16.5.0 does not describe receiver-side DRX derivation driven by QoS information. TR 23.776 discusses DRX mechanisms at a high level, but it does not disclose the specific UE-internal flow recited in Claim 14, nor does it address the receiver-side QoS-driven DRX derivation claimed here” (emphasis added) (see Remarks, page 11).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the receiver-side QoS-driven DRX derivation claimed here) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The independent claim 14 merely disclose the UE “to receive, from a vehicle-to-everything (“V2X”) layer, one or more quality of service (”QoS”) requirements for one or more destination layer-2 identifiers (“IDS”) for reception of groupcast transmission or broadcast transmissions”, but however, do not specify that the UE is also the receiver-side of the groupcast transmissions or broadcast transmission, associated with the determined QoS requirements. Thus, the claim 14 is not directed to the receiver-side QoS-driven DRX derivation as erroneously alleged by the Applicant.
Furthermore, TS 23.776 V1.1.0 discloses on pages 16, 18, 22 and 27 as follows:
The P-UE1's V2X Application provides the V2X service type, V2X Application Requirements to the V2X layer as defined in clause 5.4.1.1.2 of TS 23.287 [5].
2. The P-UE1's V2X layer triggers the PC5 QoS Flow establishment for the Unicast link by using the Layer-2 link establishment procedure or Layer-2 link modification procedure as defined in TS 23.287 [5].
3. The V2X layer provides the QoS Flow parameters to the AS layer for PC5 DRX determination.
4. The AS layer determines the individual PC5 DRX parameter for the UE based on e.g. the QoS Flow parameters of V2X service message. The UE1 uses the individual PC5 DRX parameter1 for data reception from UE2…
The UE(s) (i.e. pedestrian UE and vehicle UE) determines the destination Layer-2 ID for broadcast as specified in TS 23.287 [5] clause 5.6.1.2, the UE(s) performs broadcast mode V2X communication (transmit only, receive only or both) as required by V2X application layer. If required by V2X application layer to receive V2X service data, the pedestrian UE starts to receive data in Continuous Reception Mode.
1. If the V2X application layer of pedestrian UE determine the Discontinuous Reception Mode can be activated, the V2X application layer indicates to the V2X layer to change into Discontinuous Reception Mode, by providing the user info (i.e. pedestrian UE's application layer ID), the reception window length and discontinuous reception cycle (e.g. 200ms for every 1s or 200ms for every 500ms).
2. Based on the input from the V2X application layer, the V2X layer indicates the AS layer to change into Discontinuous Reception Mode, by providing DRX assistance information to the AS layer. The AS layer determines RAN DRX configuration taking into account of the input from V2X layer, then monitors and receives V2X service data periodically. The AS layer provides the Discontinuous Reception Information to V2X layer.
f the UE has received PC5 DRX configuration for PQI as part of V2X configuration information, the V2X layer in the UE provides to the AS layer the PC5 DRX configuration by following PC5 QoS Flow derivation as described in TS 23.287 [5] as follows:
- Based on the V2X application provided QoS requirements or the mapping of the V2X service type to PC5 QoS parameters, the V2X layer determines PC5 QoS Parameters.
- Based on the PQI, the V2X layer determines PC5 DRX configuration information from V2X configuration information.
- The V2X layer determines the PC5 QoS Flow (creates new or modifies an existing one) and passes to the AS layer the PC5 QoS requirements and PC5 DRX configuration for the PC5 QoS Flow.
- The AS layer applies the PC5 DRX configuration and determines Active Time and Offset.
For a receiving UE, the UE determines the PC5 DRX as follows:
- The UE applies the default PC5 DRX if provided by the AMF or
- The UE determines the destination layer-2 IDs for broadcast/groupcast reception based on the mapping of V2X service types to Destination Layer-2 ID(s) for broadcast/groupcast as specified in clause 5.6.1.2 of TS 23.287 [5]. The receiving UE then determines the PC5 QoS parameters based on the mapping of V2X service types to PC5 QoS parameters as specified in clause 5.1.2.1 of TS 23.287 [5] or based on QoS requirements provided by the application. The receiving UE then applies the PC5 DRX according to the mapping of PQI(s) to PC5 DRX configuration.
7.2 Conclusions for PC5 DRX operations
For Key Issue #1 (Support of QoS aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs), regarding NR PC5 DRX operations the following principles are taken as the conclusion:
- The Access Stratum (AS) layer determines the PC5 DRX parameter values for V2X communication over PC5 reference point to enable pedestrian UE power saving.
- The existing PC5 QoS parameters provided by the V2X layer can be used by the AS layer to determine the PC5 DRX parameter values.
- For groupcast and broadcast, the AS layer of Rx UE needs PC5 QoS parameters to determine the PC5 DRX parameter values for V2X communication over PC5 reference point. Therefore, the V2X layer of Rx UE determines the interested V2X service types, and derives the corresponding PC5 QoS parameters based on either the mapping of V2X service types to PC5 QoS parameters, or the V2X Application Requirements for the V2X service type (e.g. priority requirement, reliability requirement, delay requirement, range requirement) provided by the application layer. The V2X layer of Rx UE passes the PC5 QoS parameters together with the corresponding destination layer-2 ID(s) for reception to the AS layer.
- The AS layer provides the applied PC5 DRX information to the V2X layer.
NOTE 1: For what purpose the PC5 DRX information is used by the V2X layer, e.g. whether the V2X layer exposes transmission schedule information to the V2X application layer (including why the PC5 DRX information needs to be exposed to the V2X application layer, given that Uu DRX information is not provided to the application layer from NAS layer, and what is the content for the transmission schedule information) will be determined in the normative phase based on the applied PC5 DRX information provided by the AS layer to the V2X layer to be defined in RAN2.
- For unicast, two UEs may negotiate the PC5 DRX configuration in AS layer, and the PC5 DRX can be configured per a pair of source/destination UE addresses in AS layer.
- For broadcast and groupcast, and for out-of-coverage case (i.e., when the UE is "not served by E-UTRA" and "not served by NR"), the AS layer of UE uses the provisioned PC5 DRX configuration for PC5 DRX operation.
NOTE 2: The granularity/level of provisioned PC5 DRX configuration used for broadcast and groupcast (e.g. mapping information for PC5 DRX parameters), and for out-of-coverage case will be determined in the normative phase based on RAN2 decision or via coordination with RAN2.
NOTE 3: The provisioned PC5 DRX configuration can be from different sources (e.g., by PCF or by V2X Application Server via V1 reference point). The provisioned PC5 DRX configuration is expected to be consistent.
NOTE 4: For unicast, for out-of-coverage case, whether to use the provisioned PC5 DRX configuration will be determined in the normative phase based on RAN2 decision.
Clearly, TS 23.776 has taught the receiving UE with the AS layer, utilizes the teachings of TS 23.287 as cited above, to receive, from the V2X layer, the determined one or more PC5 QoS parameters/requirements for one or more destination layer-2 ID(s) for reception of broadcast/groupcast transmission and thereby applies the PC5 DRX according to the QoS requirements.
Furthermore, as set forth above, Lee has taught the AS layer of the UE receives, from the V2X layer, one or more QoS requirements/parameters for V2X service and the destination layer-2 IDs for reception of the V2X service.
Accordingly, the combination of Lee and TS 23.776 has taught the UE-internal flow (AS layer of the UE receives the one or more QoS requirements, from the V2X layer) as cited in claim 14, and further the receiver-side QoS-driven DRX derivation. Thus, the combination of Lee and TS 23.776 has taught each and every limitations of claim 14. Hence, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claim 14 and its dependent claim 15 are not maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0344636 A1 to Lee et al. (hereafter refers as Lee) in view of 3GPP TS 23.287 v16.5.0 (2020-12) (hereafter refers as TS 23.287 v16.5.0).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 16, Lee teaches a user equipment(“UE”) for wireless communication (one of the UEs in a wireless communication, Fig. 1, 3-4C and paragraph [279-281]) and a method of a user equipment (“UE”) (one of the UEs performs a method, Fig. 3-4C), comprising:
at least one memory (the UE/terminal includes at least one memory, i.e. storage unit, paragraph [279, 281, 284] and Fig. 11); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (the UE/terminal includes at least one processor/controller, coupled with the storage unit, configured to cause the UE to perform a method, paragraphs [279-281, 284-285]):
receive vehicle-to-everything (“V2X”) configuration information that comprises one or more destination layer-2 identifiers (“IDs”) for reception (the UE(s)/terminal 110 and/or 120, acquires the V2X service policy parameters/link profile(s), i.e. table 1, comprising one or more mapping of destination layer 2 ID(s) and the V2X services, thus including the destination layer 2 ID(s) for reception, paragraph [67] and table 1);
determine the one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception according to the V2X configuration information (the UE(s)/terminal 110 and/or 120 determines the destination layer-2 ID(s) for reception of the V2X service(s), using the mapping(s) in the table 1, i.e. service policy parameters, paragraphs [88, 123, 155-160, 176, 208-210] and Fig. 3-4C);
determine, at a first layer of the UE (SE layer which is an V2X layer, paragraph [65]), one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception (the SE/V2X layer of the UE(s)/terminal 110 and/or 120, determines one or more QoS requirements for reception, specified by QFI, paragraphs [81,85, 89, 100, 211, 260]); and
provide, to a second layer of the UE (an AS layer of the UE, Fig. 3) the determined one or more QoS requirements (the SE/V2X layer provides to the AS layer of the UE, the one or more QoS requirements, i.e. QFI value, paragraphs [100, 124-134, 198-200, 212]).
However, Lee does not explicitly teach the quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception for “each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs”.
TS 23.287 v16.5.0 teaches a user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication to:
determine one or more destination layer-2 identifiers (“IDs”) for reception according to the V2X configuration information (UE determines one or more destination layer 2 IDs based on an V2X service type, i.e. based on mapping between V2X service type and destination layer 2 ID(s) configuration information, pages 36, 41-42);
determine, at a first layer of the UE (i.e. V2X layer of the UE, pages 27-28, 31), one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception for each determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs (the V2X layer of the UE determines one or more QoS requirements/parameters/operations, for reception of the instant V2X service, by the determined destination layer 2 IDs, paragraphs [18, 28, 41-42, 45], wherein the QoS requirement and the destination layer 2 ID(s) are both mapped to the service type, pages 18, 41-42); and
provide, to a second layer of the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements for each of the one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception (the V2X layer of the UE provides to an AS layer of the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements corresponding to one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception of the V2X service, pages 29-30, 41-42, 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of determining, at a first layer of the UE, one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception for each determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs and provide, to a second layer of the UE, the determined one or more QoS requirements for each of the one or more destination layer-2 IDs for reception as taught by TS 23.287 v16.5.0, with the teachings of determining the one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception as taught by Lee, for a purpose of increase efficiency for communication by providing different QoS for different destination layer-2 IDs (see TS 23.287 v16.5.0, pages 28, 29, 42, 45).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 17, TS 23.287 v16.5.0 further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the one or more QoS requirements for reception for each of the determined one or more destination layer-2 IDs by determining one or more associated V2X service types for each of the one or more destination layer-2 IDs and associated PC5 QoS parameters for each of the one or more V2X service types (determining the QoS requirements based on mapping of V2X service type to PC5 QoS parameters, pages 27, 42, wherein the destination layer-2 ID is determined using the mapping of the V2X service type to the destination layer-2 ID, pages 17-18, 36, 41-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of determining one or more associated V2X service types for each of the one or more destination layer-2 IDs and associated PC5 QoS parameters for each of the one or more V2X service types as taught by TS 23.287 v16.5.0, with the teachings of determining the one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for reception as taught by Lee, for a purpose of increase efficiency for communication by providing different QoS for different destination layer-2 IDs (see TS 23.287 v16.5.0, pages 28, 29, 42, 45).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 18, the combination of Lee and TS 23.287 v16.5.0 further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive, over a first radio interface (the cup/processor cause the UE to receive information over interface, i.e. receiver, see Lee, paragraphs [280-290]), the V2X configuration, the V2X configuration comprising one or more destination layer-2 IDs and one or more QoS requirements for each V2X service type for communication (the UE receive V2X configuration comprising one or more destination layer-2 IDs and the QoS requirements for each V2X service type, from an V2X application server, see TS 23.287 v16.5.0, pages 14, 15, 17-18, 23, via v1 interface, pages 10-11) over a second radio interface (wherein the one or more destination layer-2 IDs and the QoS requirements for each V2X service type are used for communication with other UE(s) via pc5 interface, pages 10-11, 20-22, 40-42).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 19, the combination of Lee and TS 23.287 v16.5.0 further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive, from an application, a request to receive data over the second radio interface, the request comprising the one or more QoS requirements (the UE with the SE/V2X layer receives from an application, a request to perform V2X communication with other UE(s), comprising QoS requirements, see Lee, paragraphs [82-83, 89, 97], TS 23.287 v16.5.0, page 27).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 20, the combination of Lee and TS 23.287 v16.5.0 further teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the one or more QoS requirements based on at least one of the V2X configuration (determines QoS requirements based on mapping of service type to QoS parameters, see Lee, paragraphs [81, 84, 85, 89, 100, 142, 211, 260], TS 23.287 v16.5.0, page 27), or the request from the application (determines QoS requirements based on the service type in a request from the application, see Lee, paragraphs [82-83, 89, 97], TS 23.287 v16.5.0, page 27).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, TS 23.287 v16.5.0 further teaches the UE to receive receive the V2X configuration from a policy control function (“PCF”) or an application function (the UE receives the V2X configuration from a PCF or application function (AF), TS 23.287 v16.5.0, pages 14-16, 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the UE to receive the V2X configuration from a policy control function (“PCF”) or an application function as taught by TS 23.287 v16.5.0, with the teachings of Lee, for a purpose of increase compatible of the teachings by allowing the teachings to be compatible with the V2X standards (see TS 23.287 v16.5.0, pages 14-16, 30).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0344636 A1 to Lee et al. (hereafter refers as Lee) in view of 3GPP TS 23.287 v16.5.0 (2020-12) (hereafter refers as TS 23.287 v16.5.0) as applied to claims above, and further in view of 3GPP TR 23.776 V1.0.0 (hereafter refers as TR 23.776 V1.0.0).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and TS 23.287 v16.5.0 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to “receive information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”’) for each V2X service type from the AS layer”.
TR 23.776 V1.0.0 teaches a UE receives information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”’) for each V2X service type from the AS layer (an V2X layer of UE receives an applied PC5 DRX response, i.e. AS layer DRX response, from an AS layer, wherein the AS layer DRX response indicating whether the applied PC5 DRX for each service type/QoS parameters/application requirements is successful, pages 10-14, 24-25, Fig. 6.1.2-1, step 6, 9, Fig. 6.2.2-1, step 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of UE receives information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”’) for each V2X service type from the AS layer as taught by TR 23.776 V1.0.0, with the teachings of combination of Lee and TS 23.287 v16.5.0, for a purpose of reducing power consumption for the UE by allowing the UE to use the standard for applying the DRX for each V2X service type (see TR 23.776 V1.0.0, pages 8-9, Fig. 6.1.2-1, Fig. 6.2.2-1).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0344636 A1 to Lee et al. (hereafter refers as Lee) in view of 3GPP TR 23.776 v1.1.0 (2021-03) (hereafter refers as TR 23.776 v1.1.0).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a user equipment (“UE”) apparatus for wireless communication (one of the UEs in a wireless communication, Fig. 1, 3-4C and paragraph [279-281]), comprising:
at least one memory (the UE/terminal includes at least one memory, i.e. storage unit, paragraph [279, 281, 284] and Fig. 11); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (the UE/terminal includes at least one processor/controller, coupled with the storage unit, configured to cause the UE to perform a method, paragraphs [279-281, 284-285]):
receive, from a vehicle-to-everything (“V2X”) layer, one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for one or more destination layer-2 identifiers (“IDs”) for reception of groupcast transmissions or broadcast transmissions (an AS layer of the UE receives, from a SE/V2X layer, a PQI value which indicating the QoS requirements, and destination layer 2 IDs, for broadcast transmissions, paragraphs [100, 124-134, 198]).
However, Lee does not explicitly teach “determine information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”) based on the QoS requirements”.
TR 23.776 v1.1.0 (which is available online on March 09, 2021) teaches a UE receive, from a vehicle-to-everything (“V2X”) layer, one or more quality of service (“QoS”) requirements for one or more destination layer-2 identifiers (“IDs”) for reception of groupcast transmissions or broadcast transmissions (an AS layer of a UE receives from a V2X layer, PC5 QoS parameters together with a corresponding destination layer-2 IDs for reception, parage 27, for groupcast transmissions or broadcast transmissions, pages 27-28) and determines information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”) based on the QoS requirements (the UE determines whether to apply PC5 DRX based on the QoS requirements, determines information indicating whether the applied is successful, and thereby provides the applied PC5 DRX information to the V2X layer, pages 13-14, 27-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of determines information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”) based on the QoS requirements as taught by TR 23.776 V1.1.0, with the teachings of Lee, for a purpose of reducing power consumption for the UE by allowing the UE to use the standard to applying the DRX based on the QoS requirements (see TR 23.776 V1.1.0, pages 8-9, 13-14, 27-28).
Regarding claim 15, TR 23.776 V1.1.0 further teaches the UE determines the information for the applied PC5 DRX based on V2X configuration information (determines to apply the PC5 DRX based on configuration, pages 12, 22-24, 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of determines information for an applied PC5 discontinuous reception (“DRX”) based on the QoS requirements as taught by TR 23.776 V1.1.0, with the teachings of Lee, for a purpose of reducing power consumption for the UE by allowing the UE to use the standard to applying the DRX such as using the V2X configuration information (see TR 23.776 V1.1.0, pages 8-9, 12, 22-24, 28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0368372 A1 discloses an V2X layer provides QoS parameters and destination L2 ID to an AS layer (see paragraph [36]).
US 2022/0060934 A1 discloses an V2X layer receives configuration information from PCF and allocates destination layer-2 address of an V2X service based on the configuration information (see Fig. 6A-6B).
S2-2009088 (Lenovo and Motorola Mobility sources) teaches a receiving UE determines V2X service types to listen based on a configured destination layer-2 IDs, then determines the PC5 QoS parameters based on the mapping of V2X service types to PC5 QoS parameters, then applies the mapping of PQI(s) to PC5 DRX configuration (pages 1-4).
US 2023/0063472 A1 discloses DRX configuration to be used for each pair of L2 ID and QoS parameter (paragraphs [306-307]).
US 2022/0338205 A1 discloses V2X layer provides information for PC5 QoS operations per destination to AS layer (paragraph [193]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 April 28, 2026