DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7, 9-12 and 16-21 in the reply filed on 20 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8, 13 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saitoh USPGPub 20130108763.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 and 7, Saitoh teaches a nanoemulsion [0052] flavor delivery system comprising[0019-0024]:
A flavor composition comprising:
Surfactant comprising sucrose diacetate hexaisobutyrate (sugar ester) [0034]
A non-polar phase comprising flavor oil [0031]
A polar phase comprising polar non-aqueous solvent such as sorbitol or glycerin [0042] and water [0024]
A stabilizer system comprising a biopolymer such as gum Arabic [0038]
Regarding claim 3, the flavor oil of Saitoh is present in an amount of at least 1 wt%. [0033]
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the gum Arabic of Saitoh is present in an amount of 4 to 24 wt% which reads on claims 5 and 12. [0038]
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Saitoh discloses an embodiment that is 80 wt% flavor composition and 20 wt% gum Arabic which yields a ratio of flavor composition:gum Arabic of 4:1. [0038]
Regarding claims 9-12, Saitoh discloses that the emulsion of the invention can be added to acidic beverages in a concentration of 0.02 to 10 wt%. [0062,0063] In the embodiment of Saitoh where gum Arabic comprises 20 wt% of the emulsion and the emulsion is added to a beverage at a content of 10 wt% the resulting beverage would comprise 2 wt% gum Arabic which reads on claim 12.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Saitoh discloses the beverage can have a pH of 3.3.[0081,0083]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saitoh USPGPub 20130108763 as applied to claims 1, 4, 6 and 18 above in further view of Ragnarsson USPGPub 20130189399.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Saitoh teaches what has been recited above. Saitoh further teaches that the emulsion comprises up to 50 wt% flavor oil.
Ragnarsson teaches compositions comprising flavor emulsions comprising flavor oils. [0039] Ragnarsson discloses that viscosity increasing agents such as resistant maltodextrin slow the rate of degradation reactions such as hydrolysis and oxidation. [0016,0028]
Saitoh and Ragnarsson are both directed to emulsions comprising flavor oils. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have added resistant maltodextrin as disclosed by Ragnarsson to the invention of Saitoh in order to slow the rate of degradation reactions such as hydrolysis and oxidation. This modification of Saitoh with Ragnarsson renders claim 16 obvious.
The modification of Saitoh with Ragnarsson would increase the content of biopolymer in the invention of Saitoh because the biopolymer would comprise both gum Arabic and resistant maltodextrin. Given Saitoh discloses an embodiment comprising 24 wt% gum Arabic, the modification of Saitoh with Ragnarsson would yield a composition comprising greater than 24 wt% biopolymer. This proportion of biopolymer overlaps with the ratio recited in claim 19. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793