DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim lacks proper punctuation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 10,364,446) in view of da Silva et al. (Chemical Engineering Research and Design, 2009).
The instant claims are drawn to a process for purifying a fermentation must obtained by a biotechnological process, comprising biomass and vanillin or derivatives thereof, the purification process comprising:
Zhao et al. teach the production of vanillin from a biotechnological process, specifically from fermentation of a bacterial strain. The vanillin is extracted, i.e., purified by first filtering the fermented medium using a ceramic membrane to remove any biomass present; further treating the filtrate by ultrafiltration (stabilizing step), followed by reverse osmosis (concentration); the concentrate is then adjusted to pH 5-6 and allowed to cool for crystallization (col. 5, lines 6 to 42).
Zhao et al. do not expressly teach liquid-liquid extraction of an aqueous stream comprising vanillin or derivatives thereof; however, da Silva et al. teach that vanillin obtained by a biotechnological process, e.g., oxidation of kraft lignin, can be purified using multiple crystallization steps from water-methanol solutions. The vanillin obtained from lignin oxidation may be dissolved in a solvent mixture of water and alcohol, e.g., 40% methanol in water, followed by stirring and cooling to 23 to 25°C to crystallize the vanillin (page 1285, 3rd paragraph). da Silva et al. also teach that in known methods, vanillin may be extracted from a reaction medium resulting from sulfite lignin oxidation (biomass) by liquid-liquid extraction with suitable solvents (page 1282, sect. 4.3).
In view of the combined reference teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that liquid-liquid extraction may be used to separate an aqueous stream from an organic stream comprising vanillin or derivatives thereof, as taught by da Silva, prior to purification of the vanillin according to the purification steps taught by Zhao et al., such that any vanillate salts present in the reaction medium are removed prior to vanillin purification.
While the reference(s) does not teach the use of the solvents recited in the instant claims, e.g., methyl ethyl ketone, ethyl acetate, cyclohexane, etc., it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use any solvent that it known to be capable of dissolving vanillin.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. in view of da Silva et al. as applied to claims 1-4 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Gayet et al. (US 10,017,444).
The instant claims further limit the process of the present invention, such that the concentration (step c) of the organic stream and separation of compounds with a higher boiling point than that of vanillin or derivatives thereof (step d), are accomplished using tray or packed distillation columns, falling film or scraped film evaporators, or baffle columns; and, wherein vanillin or derivatives thereof have a color in ethanolic solution at 10% by weight of less than or equal to 150 Hazen. Neither Zhao et al. nor da Silva et al. teach these parameters.
Gayet et al. teach a process for the purification of natural vanillin, wherein the vanillin may be produced by a biotechnological process, including fermentation of a microorganism. Gayet et al. further teach that natural vanillin is typically purified by extraction followed by crystallization. More specifically, the reference teaches that a stream comprising natural vanillin may undergo distillation in order to separate “heavies”, i.e., compounds having a higher boiling point, and “ultralights”, i.e., compounds having a lower boiling point than vanillin. Gayet et al. also teach the desirability of natural vanillin having a color, in ethanolic solution at 10% by weight, of less than or equal to 200 Hazen, preferably less than or equal to 100 Hazen (abstract; col. 2, line 37 to col. 5, line 44). Low color vanillin ensures purity, stability, and aesthetic consistency across a wide range of applications.
In view of the combined reference teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art using the methods for purifying vanillin taught by Zhao et al. and/or da Silva et al., to include a distillation step of the vanillin-containing organic phase, in order to remove “ultralight” or “heavy” by-products, prior to the purification taught by Zhao et al. and/or da Silver et al., and, to provide a vanillin having a low Hazen color value, since, as taught by Gayet et al., vanillin having a color, in ethanolic solution at 10% by weight, of less than or equal to 200 Hazen, preferably less than or equal to 100 Hazen is desirable, as it ensures purity, stability, and aesthetic consistency of the purified vanillin product.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5-11, and 13-18 of copending Application No. 18/550,931 in view of Zhao et al. and da Silva et al. Both sets of claims are drawn to a process for purifying a fermentation must comprising biomass and vanillin via a series of steps. The claims of the ‘931 application do not recite all of the steps recited by the instant claims, e.g., liquid/liquid extraction, concentration, and distillation; however, a person having ordinary skill in the art may look to Zhao et al. and da Silva for teachings of liquid/liquid extraction, concentration, etc., in processes for producing a high purity crystallized vanillin product. Therefore, the instant claims are rendered obvious over the claims of the ‘931 application and the cited references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692