DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Preliminary Amendment
The amendments to the Specification are acknowledged and accepted.
Pending Claims are 1-12.
Drawings
The drawings with 34 Sheets of Figs. 1-33 received on 9/18/2023 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation(s) “a change unit” in Claim 1, “a determination unit” in claim 7 and “a calculation unit” in claim 7, “generation unit” in claim 9, “an object beam generation unit”, “wavefront propagation calculation unit”, “ an interference fringe generation unit” in claim 10 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder "configured to” coupled with functional language “change at least one of an amplitude and a phase”, “determine an optimization system”, “calculate the complex amplitude on the display surface”, “generate object beam data from image data”, “generate object beam data from image data”, “to calculate wavefront propagation based on the object beam data” and “generate the hologram data indicating an interference fringe based on a calculation result” respectively without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1,20,30 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “computer” (para 22) which has a “control unit 22” (para 23) which has “processing units such as object beam generation unit 23, wavefront generation unit 24 and interference fringe generation unit 25, object beam generation unit 23 includes detection unit 22A and change unit 22B” (para 29).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Claim 12 recites “A computer readable storage medium” in Line 1. Specifically, the claimed “computer readable storage medium” can encompass transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating signal per se. Para [0180] recites “The HDD 1400 is a computer-readable recording medium that non-transiently records a program”. However, there is no special definition of the computer readable storage medium being a non-transitory medium in the entire specification. The Applicant’s disclosure in Para [186, 210], “The recording medium is a computer-readable recording medium” fails to exclude transitory forms of signal transmission from the definition of the computer readable storage medium.
Therefore, applying broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, the claims as a whole cover transitory signals which do not fall into any of the four statutory categories of patentable inventions [See MPEP 2106]. Suggested amendments to overcome this rejection include, use of the modifier “non-transitory” as in “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” or explicit disavowal of transitory mediums, such as, “a computer-readable storage medium excluding signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futterer et al (WO 2017/114789 A2).
Regarding Claim 1, Futterer teaches (fig 1-4) an information processing apparatus (holograms computer generated, page 19, 1st para, this indicates a computer which is an information processing apparatus with a processor or controller unit) comprising:
a detection unit (eye tracking and detection system, “an image recorded by a camera of the eye tracking and detecting system in connection with the distance measurement can be used to determine the diameter of the pupil”, page 21) configured to detect an overlap of a plurality of display areas (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions) on the modulation surface 3”, page 18-19) each corresponding to an object beam of an object on a display surface (modulation surface 3, page 19) of a display medium (spatial light modulator device 4, page 18) that displays hologram data (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d are holographically encoded in a sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d. Each sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d is therefore written, or encoded, in only one region of the modulation surface 3 of the spatial light modulator device”, page 18-19); and
a change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) (“a generated data set including optimized values for the relative phase, for the relative amplitude and for the lateral position can be saved in a look-up table (LUT). These generated data sets can be included in the calculation of the sub-holograms to be encoded in the spatial light modulator device”, page 21) configured to change at least one of an amplitude and a phase of at least one of a plurality of the objects (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d”, page 18) corresponding to the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 18-19) overlapped when the plurality of display areas overlap each other (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20),
one of the amplitude and the phase “(I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point”, page 20) being changed so as to achieve the display areas different (“there is no overlap or superposition between the object points reconstructed from a coherent subset. The circles each show the first minimum of the diffraction pattern of the object point reconstructed, which means the first minimum of the retinal point spread function”, page 29, fig 4) from a case where the display areas overlap each other on the display surface (“The starting point is a scene to be encoded. An iterative optimization of the image on the retina can be carried out. In a first step all sub-holograms can be added and propagated to the retina. Then, the deviation of the total intensity distribution on the retina to the target intensity distribution on the retina can be determined.”, “The relative phase or more precisely the mutual phase difference of the individual object points can be chosen in such a way that the difference of the “should be/target intensity distribution on the retina of the eye of the observer I(X,Y)_retina” and the “is/total intensity distribution on the retina of the eye I(X,Y)_retina” is minimized”, page 22).
Regarding Claim 2, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the plurality of display areas overlap each other (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions) on the modulation surface 3”, page 18-19), the change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) changes at least one of the amplitude and the phase of the object so as to achieve an arrangement that eliminates the overlap of one of the plurality of display areas with another one of the plurality of display areas (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20).
Regarding Claim 3, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 19) overlap each other (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions), page 18,19),
the change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) changes at least one of the amplitude and the phase of the object (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20) so as to achieve at least one of a size and a shape that eliminates the overlap of the plurality of display areas (“The outer shape of the sub-holograms can be varied. Such a parameter variation changes the shape of the retinal point spread function of individual object points”, page 13).
Regarding Claim 4, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 18) overlap each other (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions), page 18-19),
the change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) changes at least one of the amplitude and the phase of the object (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20) so as to achieve a band of the object beam (“seven white object points are reconstructed by using three primary colors RGB with three laterally displaced color filter stripes”, page 29, plurality of white object points each in figs 4C-4E is considered a band ) that eliminates the overlap of the plurality of display areas (“As can be seen further from FIG. 4, there is no overlap or superposition between the object points reconstructed from a coherent subset”, page 29).
Regarding Claim 7, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
further comprising:
a determination unit configured to determine an optimization system of a complex amplitude of the object (a scene, page 22) based on an overlapping ratio between the display area of one object of the plurality of objects (object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, page 18) and the display area of another one object of the plurality of objects (the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d display areas, page 18-19); and a calculation unit configured to calculate the complex amplitude on the display surface of the one object using the optimization system determined (“An iterative optimization of the image on the retina can be carried out. In a first step all sub-holograms can be added and propagated to the retina. Then, the deviation of the total intensity distribution on the retina to the target intensity distribution on the retina can be determined. The phase, the amplitude and the position can be changed. The deviation can be redetermined. This can be carried out by using an iterative loop. A threshold of deviation can be chosen as termination condition,”, page 22, this indicates a determination unit and a calculation unit to calculate the new phase and amplitudes or relative phase and amplitudes).
Regarding Claim 8, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 18-19) overlap (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions),”, page 18-19)
the change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) changes at least one of the amplitude and the phase of the object (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20) so as to achieve a band of the object beam (“seven white object points are reconstructed by using three primary colors RGB with three laterally displaced color filter stripes”, page 29, plurality of white object points each in figs 4C-4E is considered a band ) that eliminates the overlap of the plurality of display areas (“As can be seen further from FIG. 4, there is no overlap or superposition between the object points reconstructed from a coherent subset”, page 29) according to a distance to the display medium (SLM) from an object position of the object having the display area overlapped (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d within the section of the hologram defined by the encoding regions have an essentially constant amplitude, the value of which is determined as a function of brightness and distance of the object points”, page 19).
Regarding Claim 9, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a generation unit (“holograms computer-generated”, page 19, this indicates a hologram generation unit) configured to generate the hologram data of the object having at least one of the amplitude and the phase that has been changed (“Thus, a generated data set including optimized values for the relative phase, for the relative amplitude and for the lateral position can be saved in a look-up table (LUT). These generated data sets can be included in the calculation of the sub-holograms to be encoded in the spatial light modulator device”, page 21).
Regarding Claim 10, Futterer teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising:
an object beam generation unit (“The holograms computer-generated in this way in the spatial light modulator device are illuminated for reconstruction by the illumination unit 5 (only schematically illustrated) in conjunction with an optical system”, page 19) configured to generate object beam data (reconstructed object data) from image data (image data encoded in the holograms 3a,3b,3c,3d, page 19);
a wavefront propagation calculation unit (“An optimized image, in which retinal inter object point crosstalk is not yet considered, can propagate in the model to the retina, e.g. by using of the wave propagation method (WPM)”, page 11, this indicates a wavefront propagation calculation unit in the processor of the computer) configured to calculate wavefront propagation based on the object beam data (reconstructed object data); and
an interference fringe generation unit (“generated data set including optimized values for the relative phase, for the relative amplitude and for the lateral position can be saved in a look-up table (LUT). These generated data sets can be included in the calculation of the sub-holograms to be encoded in the spatial light modulator device”, page 21, this indicates a hologram calculation or interference fringe generation unit) configured to generate the hologram data (hologram data corresponding to holograms 3a-3d) indicating an interference fringe based on a calculation result of the wavefront propagation,
wherein the change unit (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) is included in the object beam generation unit or the wavefront propagation calculation unit (wavefront propagation calculation unit in the processor of the computer which is a part of the SLM), and the generation unit (“holograms computer-generated”, page 19, this indicates a hologram generation unit) is included in the interference fringe generation unit (calculating holograms entails calculating interference fringes and hence the generation unit is in the interference unit).
Regarding Claim 11, Futterer teaches (figs 1-4) an information processing method (holograms computer generated, page 19, this indicates an information processing method causing computer with a processor or controller unit) causing a computer to implement:
detecting (eye tracking and detection system, “an image recorded by a camera of the eye tracking and detecting system in connection with the distance measurement can be used to determine the diameter of the pupil”, page 21) an overlap of a plurality of display areas (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions) on the modulation surface 3”, page 18-19) each corresponding to an object beam of an object on a display surface (modulation surface 3, page 18) of a display medium (spatial light modulator device 4, page 18) that displays hologram data (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d are holographically encoded in a sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d. Each sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d is therefore written, or encoded, in only one region of the modulation surface 3 of the spatial light modulator device”, page 18-19); and
changing (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) (“a generated data set including optimized values for the relative phase, for the relative amplitude and for the lateral position can be saved in a look-up table (LUT). These generated data sets can be included in the calculation of the sub-holograms to be encoded in the spatial light modulator device”, page 27) at least one of an amplitude and a phase of at least one of a plurality of the objects (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d”, page 18) corresponding to the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 18-19) overlapped when the plurality of display areas overlap each other (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20),
one of the amplitude and the phase “(I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point”, page 20) being changed so as to achieve the display areas different (“there is no overlap or superposition between the object points reconstructed from a coherent subset. The circles each show the first minimum of the diffraction pattern of the object point reconstructed, which means the first minimum of the retinal point spread function”, page 29, fig 4) from a case where the display areas overlap each other on the display surface (“The starting point is a scene to be encoded. An iterative optimization of the image on the retina can be carried out. In a first step all sub-holograms can be added and propagated to the retina. Then, the deviation of the total intensity distribution on the retina to the target intensity distribution on the retina can be determined.”, “The relative phase or more precisely the mutual phase difference of the individual object points can be chosen in such a way that the difference of the “should be/target intensity distribution on the retina of the eye of the observer I(X,Y)_retina” and the “is/total intensity distribution on the retina of the eye I(X,Y)_retina” is minimized”, page 22).
Regarding Claim 12, Futterer teaches (figs 1-4) a computer-readable recording medium storing an information processing program causing a computer (holograms computer generated, para 96, this indicates a non-transitory computer readable medium storing an information processing method causing computer with a processor or controller unit) to implement:
detecting (eye tracking and detection system, “an image recorded by a camera of the eye tracking and detecting system in connection with the distance measurement can be used to determine the diameter of the pupil”, page 21) an overlap of a plurality of display areas (“depending on the position of the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d, the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or only partially (i.e. only in certain regions) on the modulation surface 3”, page 18-19) each corresponding to an object beam of an object on a display surface (modulation surface 3, page 18) of a display medium (spatial light modulator device 4, page 18) that displays hologram data (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d are holographically encoded in a sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d. Each sub-hologram 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d is therefore written, or encoded, in only one region of the modulation surface 3 of the spatial light modulator device”, page 18-19); and
changing (“The SLM is provided with a separator for separating adjacent point spread functions in an eye of an observer generated by the sub-holograms of adjacent object points such that the adjacent point spread functions are mutual incoherent to each other”, page 27) (“a generated data set including optimized values for the relative phase, for the relative amplitude and for the lateral position can be saved in a look-up table (LUT). These generated data sets can be included in the calculation of the sub-holograms to be encoded in the spatial light modulator device”, page 27) at least one of an amplitude and a phase of at least one of a plurality of the objects (“the object points 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d”, page 18) corresponding to the plurality of display areas (“the individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d may overlap fully or partially”, page 18-19) overlapped when the plurality of display areas overlap each other (“For minimizing the retinal inter object point crosstalk between adjacent object points of an object the following parameters should be modified: I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point “, page 20),
one of the amplitude and the phase “(I) the relative phase emanating from the object point, II) the relative amplitude emanating from the object point”, page 20) being changed so as to achieve the display areas different (“there is no overlap or superposition between the object points reconstructed from a coherent subset. The circles each show the first minimum of the diffraction pattern of the object point reconstructed, which means the first minimum of the retinal point spread function”, page 29, fig 4) from a case where the display areas overlap each other on the display surface (“The starting point is a scene to be encoded. An iterative optimization of the image on the retina can be carried out. In a first step all sub-holograms can be added and propagated to the retina. Then, the deviation of the total intensity distribution on the retina to the target intensity distribution on the retina can be determined.”, “The relative phase or more precisely the mutual phase difference of the individual object points can be chosen in such a way that the difference of the “should be/target intensity distribution on the retina of the eye of the observer I(X,Y)_retina” and the “is/total intensity distribution on the retina of the eye I(X,Y)_retina” is minimized”, page 22).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein the plurality of objects is given priority, and when the plurality of display areas overlap, the change unit changes at least one of the amplitude and the phase of the object so as to achieve an arrangement that eliminates the overlap of one of the plurality of display areas overlapped with another one of the plurality of display areas according to the priority of the object corresponding to the display area.”
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 5 and hence is allowable for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872 12/27/2025