DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “the splitting structure is arranged to be capable of splitting a gas entering from the air inlet into a first airflow and a second airflow…” is indefinite because it is not clear whether and how the splitting structure is interrelated with the specific configurations of the arc-shaped structures, whether the control of the airflow splitting occurs automatically or via specific mechanical means, or which other means are envisaged to ensure the rotational rise of the airflows. Clarification and correction of the structures and structural configurations are required to particularly point out and distinctly claim the inventive apparatus in terms of structure and/or structural configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105544166 A to Li et al. (“Li”).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a condenser (1) for a drying device, the condenser comprising a body in which a hollow chamber is formed (see Figs. 1-3), the condenser further comprising:
a water blocking structure (3) arranged on a sidewall of the hollow chamber to break up a cooling water flow flowing into the hollow chamber;
an air inlet (11) formed on a rear sidewall of the hollow chamber;
a left sidewall of the hollow chamber, and two ends of the left sidewall are smoothly connected with the rear sidewall; and a right sidewall of the hollow chamber, and two ends of the right sidewall are smoothly connected with the rear sidewall (note the hollow chamber is formed from sidewalls on the left, right, rear, and front).
Li discloses the claimed invention including a condenser configuration for managing airflow and improving condensing efficiency, but Li does not expressly disclose a first arc-shaped structure, a second arc-shaped structure, and a splitting structure located between the first arc-shaped structure and the second arc-shaped structure also arranged on a front sidewall of the hollow chamber; and the splitting structure is arranged to be capable of splitting a gas entering from the air inlet into a first airflow and a second airflow, and enable the first airflow and the second airflow to respectively enter the first arc-shaped structure and the second arc-shaped structure substantially in a tangential direction of the first arc-shaped structure and a tangential direction of the second arc-shaped structure respectively, thus enabling the first airflow to rotationally rise along the first arc- shaped structure, the left sidewall, and a left part of the rear sidewall, and enabling the second airflow to rotationally rise along the second arc-shaped structure, the right sidewall, and a right part of the rear sidewall.
However, absent an adequate showing of secondary considerations, such changes amount to a change in design shape in order to optimize air flow in the condenser and the position is taken that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the condenser shape in such manner in order to achieve the desired air flow to improve heat exchange efficiency, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Shape.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses structure readable on a water blocking structure but Li does not expressly disclose wherein the water blocking structure is arranged close to the splitting structure. However, such configuration amounts to a simple rearrangement or relocation of the elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the parts as desired in order to achieve the desired condensing effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 13, Li further discloses wherein a water guide channel (passage 2) is arranged on the front sidewall, and a bottom end of the water guide channel is connected with the water blocking structure (3).
Regarding claim 14, the position is taken that it would have been prima facie obvious to rearrange and reshape the water blocking structure as desired to achieve the desired effect.
Regarding claim 15, Li further discloses wherein the water blocking structure (3) is a water blocking protrusion formed on the front sidewall.
Regarding claims 16-18, see Obviousness and Changes in Shape and Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts above.
Regarding claim 19, Li further discloses a baffle (5) to control air flow through the condenser but does not expressly disclose the baffle by the air inlet. However, it would have been obvious to rearrange such baffle as desired to achieve the desired air flow results. See Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts above. It is noted that the prior art is replete with baffle use in controlling air flow.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the condenser for use in a drying device (see Description under Technology Field and Background Technology disclosing the condenser for use in a drying device.
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711