DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 04/01/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20150382371) in view of Ramirez et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190355242), further in view Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190313263).
Regarding claim 1 Liu disclose, a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication to report statistical channel state information (CSI) Fig. 49, “the network sends the information for the CSI feedback (Operation S_B)”;
determine CSI measurements on a set of CSI measurement resources Fig. 65, “the multiple NZP-CSI-RSs and ZP-CSI-RSs are configured for the measurement of required CSI processes in the RS configuration section 102”;
determine the statistical CSI based on the CSI measurements on the set of CSI measurement resources para. 4, “a set of channel state/statistical information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources is defined as a CoMP resource management set (CRMS), for which CSI-RS received signal measurement can be made and reported”;
wherein the statistical CSI comprises a set of statistical calculations based on the set of CSI measurement resources para. 4, “In NPL2, a set of channel state/statistical information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources is defined as a CoMP resource management set (CRMS) for which CSI-RS received signal measurement can be made and reported”;
in response to determining that the statistical CSI is reliable, available, or the combination thereof, include the statistical CSI in a CSI report para. 6, “For the CRMS and CMS decision, the long-term measurements of received reference signals are made and reported by UE to its serving cell”; and
report the CSI report in an uplink (UL) transmission para. 7, “UE can be configured to report one or more CSI processes per component carrier”,
wherein the statistical CSI comprises CSI statistics of CSI measurements measured on the CSI measurement resources para. 4, “In NPL2, a set of channel state/statistical information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources is defined as a CoMP resource management set (CRMS), for which CSI-RS received signal measurement can be made and reported”.
Liu does mention standard User Equipment and Base Stations to perform the functions referenced but do not specifically and clearly disclose in them, at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to. However, Ramirez teach, “at least one wireless enabled device or processor, a data carrier for storing a computer program product (non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions, which when executed by a processor, perform actions)” see para. 46; Ramirez further disclose, determine whether the statistical CSI is reliable, available, or a combination thereof para. 27-28, “based on the collected “Channel State Information [CSI]”-values by the indication of a statistical parameter value, and (iii) Assessing on the basis of the determined statistical parameter value a “chaos index” value until the assessed “chaos index” value in accordance with a threshold check provides a reliable statement”.
Liu and Ramirez are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu so the system’s hardware is capable of performing the measurements and other functions being claimed. The motivation for doing so would have been to execute complex functions and algorithms that wouldn’t be possible without the use the use of Ramirez’s circuitry.
Liu and Ramirez do not specifically disclose, wherein the statistical CSI being reliable is associated with a measure of statistical variation exceeding a reliability threshold. However, Jung teach “If the measured channel quality of any CSI-SS or SSB beams associated with the configured contention free RA resource exceeds the specific threshold” see para. 91, Fig. 5.
Jung further teach, wherein the statistical CSI being available is associated with a number of measurements exceeding an availability threshold para. 98, Fig. 5. “the terminal determines whether there is available (having a measurement value over a specific threshold) CSI-RS resource in operation 509”.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez and Jung in the system of Liu so the system can accurately determine the reliability of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to report the appropriated data and avoid transmitting misleading channel conditions.
Regarding claim 2 Liu does not specifically disclose, wherein the CSI statistics comprises: a mean of the CSI measurements, a median of the CSI measurements, a percentile of the CSI measurements, a variance of the CSI measurements, a standard deviation of the CSI measurements, or a combination thereof. However, Ramirez teach, “a statistical parameter value SPV is determined or calculated, which is preferably a value parameterized by the average of the squared differences from the mean being in other words the variance”, see para. 93.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu and Jung so the system to calculate the desired parameter according with the measurement needed. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically improve the quality of the transmission based on channel conditions.
Regarding claim 3 Liu does not specifically disclose, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, in response to determining that the statistical CSI is not reliable, not available, or a combination thereof, indicate to a network device that the statistical CSI is not reliable, not available, or the combination thereof. However, Ramirez teach, “para. 48, “the values of the statistical parameters are combined to yield a chaos index value, the chaos index value is compared with a threshold value, and if the comparison yields a predefined result, a notification procedure is started. Preferably, a predefined result is that the chaos index value exceeds the threshold value in the case of detecting movements or in the case of detecting a lack of movements falling below the threshold value”.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu and Jung so the system can accurately determine the reliability of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to report the appropriated data and avoid transmitting misleading channel conditions.
Regarding claim 5 Liu does not specifically disclose, wherein the statistical CSI is determined to be reliable, available, or the combination thereof in response to a number of valid CSI measurements on the set of CSI measurement resources being greater than or equal to a threshold However, Ramirez teach, “In the following in a seventh flow chart state FCS-7 it is checked whether the calculated “chaos index” value CIV is greater than or greater than and equal to a threshold value THV”, see para. 105.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu and Jung so the system can accurately determine the current parameter value of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine the current channel conditions to meet quality of transmission standard.
Regarding claim 6 Liu does not specifically disclose, wherein a CSI measurement is valid in response to the CSI measurement not being an outlier measurement according to an outlier determination measure. However, Ramirez teach, “a value of a statistical parameter is derived from the set of parameters, the values of the statistical parameters are combined to yield a chaos index value, the chaos index value is compared with a threshold value, and if the comparison yields a predefined result, a notification procedure is started”, see para. 48.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu and Jung so the system can accurately determine the current parameter value of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to report the appropriated data and avoid transmitting misleading channel conditions.
Regarding claim 10 Liu does not specifically disclose, wherein the statistical CSI comprises a first function of mean and standard deviation of CSI measurements, and a second function of mean and standard deviation of CSI measurements. However, Ramirez teach, “determine or calculate a value parameterized by the average of the absolute differences from the mean or to determine or calculate the square root of the average of the squared differences from the mean being in other words the standard deviation”, see para. 28.
Liu, Ramirez and Jung are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramirez in the system of Liu and Jung so the system to calculate the desired parameter according with the measurement needed. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically improve the quality of the transmission based on channel conditions.
Regarding claim 11 Liu disclose, wherein the set of CSI measurement resources comprises CSI measurement resources no later than a first CSI reference resource para. 28, “a set of channel state/statistical information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources is defined as a CoMP resource management set (CRMS), for which CSI-RS received signal measurement can be made and reported.”.
Regarding claim 12 Liu disclose, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine a channel quality indicator (CQI) and include the CQI in the CSI report para. 7, “The obtained channel state information (CSI), such as precoding vector index (PMI), rank index (RI) and channel quality index (CQI), is used for channel-dependent scheduling to support the variable CoMP schemes among multiple coordinated points in the CMS”.
Claim 14 recites a device corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15 the limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claims 16-17 and 19 the limitations of claims 16-17 and 19, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-3 and 5, respectively.
Claim 20 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20150382371) in view of Ramirez et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190355242), further in view Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190313263), further in view of Ng et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200028543).
Regarding claim 4 Liu, Ramirez and Jung does not specifically disclose, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, in response to determining that the statistical CSI is not reliable, not available, or the combination thereof, not report the statistical CSI. However, Ng teach, “In order to avoid unnecessary measurement report, a minimum threshold for the signal strength of the best CSI-RS resources within the CoMP resource measurement set is preconfigured so that the UE is only required to report measurement results if the best CSI-RS resource within the CoMP resource measurement set satisfies the preconfigured threshold”, see para. 152.
Liu, Ramirez, Jung and Ng are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ng in the system of Liu, Ramirez and Jung so the system can accurately determine the reliability of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to report the appropriated data and avoid transmitting misleading channel conditions.
Regarding claim 18 the limitations of claim 18 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 4.
Claim(s) 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20150382371) in view of Ramirez et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190355242), further in view Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190313263), further in view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190288789).
Regarding claim 7 Liu, Ramirez and Jung does not specifically disclose, wherein the set of CSI measurement resources comprises CSI measurement resources within a time duration, and the time duration starts from a first time reference and ends at a second time reference. However, Li teach, “a measuring parameter for CSI reporting by the UE, a triggering event of an SRS, a measuring parameter of the SRS, a reporting of the SRS by the UE, a starting time and a duration for a control channel, a starting time and a duration for a data channel”, see para. 28.
Liu, Ramirez, Jung and Li are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li in the system of Liu, Ramirez and Jung so the system can accurately determine the current parameter value of the measurement. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine the current channel conditions to meet quality of transmission standard.
Regarding claim 8 Liu, Ramirez and Jung does not specifically disclose, wherein the second time reference is a CSI reference resource, and the CSI reference resource determines a latest CSI resource usable to derive the statistical CSI for reporting statistical CSI in the UL transmission. However, Li teach, “Determining a change in the received radio signals, which are derived from the facts that the movement influences the transmitted radio signal in the radio range, e.g. by at least one of reflection, refraction, diffraction and absorption, based on the collected “Channel State Information [CSI]”-values by the indication of a statistical parameter value”, see para. 27.
Liu, Ramirez, Jung and Li are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li in the system of Liu, Ramirez and Jung so the system to calculate the desired parameter according with the measurement needed. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically improve the quality of the transmission based on channel conditions.
Regarding claim 9 Liu, Ramirez and Jung does not specifically disclose, wherein the first time reference is determined based on a duration and the second time reference. However, Li teach, “a triggering event for CSI reporting by the UE, a measuring parameter for CSI reporting by the UE, a triggering event of a sounding reference signal (SRS), a measuring parameter of the SRS, a reporting of the SRS by the UE, a starting time and a duration for a control channel, a starting time and a duration for a data channel, a configuration for reference signals”, see para. 16.
Liu, Ramirez and Li are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li in the system of Liu, Ramirez and Jung so the system can accurately determine the current parameter value of the measurement within the time configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine the current channel conditions to meet quality of transmission standard.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20150382371) in view of Ramirez et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190355242), further in view Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190313263), further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. 10841824).
Regarding claim 13 Liu, Ramirez and Jung does not specifically disclose, wherein the CQI is determined based on second CSI measurements on a second set of CSI measurement resources including CSI measurement resources no later than a second CSI reference resource col. 14, lines 51-56; “measure a second reference signal for obtaining CSI including at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI)”, and the first CSI reference resource is earlier than the second CSI reference resource col. 14, lines 41-47; “wherein the CSI measurement configuration information includes first CSI configuration information related to reference signal received power (RSRP) for a physical layer signaling and second CSI configuration information, measure a first reference signal for obtaining RSRP information based on the first CSI configuration”.
Liu, Ramirez, Jung and Kim are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to channel measurement parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in the system of Liu, Ramirez and Jung so the system can accurately determine the current parameter value of the measurement within the time and constrains configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine the current channel conditions to meet quality of transmission standard.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Frenne et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190011852) which disclose(s) channel state information measurements for license assisted access.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471