Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 11/13/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al (US 20150375139; hereinafter Wieland) in view of Zheng et al (US 20170368471; hereinafter Zheng).
As regarding claim 1, Wieland discloses the claimed invention for an evaporator comprising: a column (1) in which a plurality of packings (11) are stacked; an upper inlet (2), and a lower inlet (2 of fig. 1) provided in an upper portion, and a lower portion of the column, respectively; an upper outlet (61) and lower outlet (62) provided in the upper portion and the lower portion of the column, respectively.
Wieland does not disclose a pump connected to the lower outlet; and a heater connected between the pump and a middle inlet provided a middle portion. Zheng teaches a pump (about 25) connected to a lower outlet (25); and a heater (41) connected between the pump and a middle inlet (45) provided a middle portion (fig. 2). Both Wieland and Zheng are directed to process equipment for handling and distributing fluids within a column or vessel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a pump connected to the lower outlet; and a heater connected between the pump and a middle inlet provided a middle portion as taught by Zheng in order to improve separation efficiency and fluid distribution in a packed column while simultaneously enhancing thermal control and process stability.
As regarding claim 2, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention for a first supply unit (upper pine/line 2) and a second supply unit (lower pine/line 2) supplying target substances to the column, wherein the first supply unit is connected to the upper inlet, and the second supply unit is connected to the lower inlet.
As regarding claim 3, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the target substances to be separated are stored in the first supply unit, and the second supply unit includes a first storage tank storing the target substances. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the target substances to be separated are stored in the first supply unit, and the second supply unit includes a first storage tank storing the target substances in order to provide steady feed and improve fluid delivery and separation performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Nolkamper (US 4501657; pre-heating unit 2 is storage unit).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a second storage tank storing gas to be supplied with the target substances in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 4, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention for a first heater (Nolkamper - 2) positioned between the first supply unit and the column; and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a second heater positioned between the second supply unit and the column in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 5, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the column includes: a first column to which the target substances are supplied from the first supply unit through the upper inlet, and a second column positioned below the first column (fig. 1).
As regarding claim 6, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first column and the second column include a plurality of structured packings, the number of packing stages of the first column and the number of packing stages of the second column are different from each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first column and the second column include a plurality of structured packings, the number of packing stages of the first column and the number of packing stages of the second column are different from each other in order to tailor separation efficiency to different process requirement, optimize energy usage and pressure drop, improve control temperature and concentration profiles, and enhance overall process flexibility while reducing capital and operating costs, since it was known in the art as shown in Ito et al (US 10569190; hereinafter Ito; figs. 1 and 4; packed columns – 17, 18, 33a and 33b).
As regarding claim 7, Wieland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Wieland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein substances discharged through the lower outlet (Zheng – 25 of fig. 1) are supplied to the column through the middle inlet (Zheng – 45 of fig. 1) after passing through the pump and the heater (Zheng – pump 35 and heater 41).
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20120004473; hereinafter Lee) in view of Hofmann et al (US 20170152345; hereinafter Hofmann).
As regarding claim 1, Lee discloses the claimed invention for an evaporator comprising: a column; an upper inlet, a middle inlet, and a lower inlet (200, “(VB)” – about middle region, and 400) provided in an upper portion, a middle portion, and a lower portion of the column, respectively; an upper outlet (300) and a lower outlet (500) provided in the upper portion and the lower portion of the column, respectively ([0055], [0061], claim 1 and fig. 5); and heater (41).
Lee does not disclose column in which a plurality of packings are stacked; and a pump connected to the lower outlet; and the heater connected between the pump and the middle inlet. Hofmann teaches column in which a plurality of packings ([0051] and [0067]) are stacked; and a pump (18) connected to the lower outlet. Both Lee and Hofmann are directed to purifying apparatus. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide column in which a plurality of packings are stacked; and a pump connected to the lower outlet; and the heater connected between the pump and the middle inlet as taught by Hofmann in order to improve liquid distribution, enhance mass and heat transfer, stabilize column operation, and provide precise thermal control while maintaining the low pressure drop advantages of packing.
Lee as modified discloses the heater (41) connected between the pump (Hofmann - 18) and the middle inlet.
As regarding claim 2, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a first supply unit and a second supply unit supplying target substances to the column, wherein the first supply unit is connected to the upper inlet, and the second supply unit is connected to the lower inlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a first supply unit and a second supply unit supplying target substances to the column, wherein the first supply unit is connected to the upper inlet, and the second supply unit is connected to the lower inlet in order to improve liquid distribution and mass-transfer efficiency, reduce pressure drop and flooding, enhance thermal control, and increase operational flexibility and separation performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Deibele et al [US 7435319; hereinafter Deibele; V1 to i), ii) and iii)].
As regarding claim 3, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the target substances to be separated are stored in the first supply unit, and the second supply unit includes a first storage tank (Deibele - 10) storing the target substances
Lee as modified does not disclose a second storage tank storing gas to be supplied with the target substances. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a second storage tank storing gas to be supplied with the target substances in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 4, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention for a first heater (Deibele – heat exchange in the line from 10 to about “V1” of fig. 1; no number) positioned between the first supply unit and the column.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a second heater positioned between the second supply unit and the column in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 5, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the column includes: a first column (Deibele – 3) to which the target substances are supplied from the first supply unit through the upper inlet, and a second column (Deibele – 4) positioned below the first column.
As regarding claim 6, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first column and the second column include a plurality of structured packings, the number of packing stages of the first column and the number of packing stages of the second column are different from each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first column and the second column include a plurality of structured packings, the number of packing stages of the first column and the number of packing stages of the second column are different from each other in order to tailor separation efficiency to different process requirement, optimize energy usage and pressure drop, improve control temperature and concentration profiles, and enhance overall process flexibility while reducing capital and operating costs, since it was known in the art as shown in Ito et al (US 10569190; hereinafter Ito; figs. 1 and 4; packed columns – 17, 18, 33a and 33b).
As regarding claim 7, Lee as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein substances discharged through the lower outlet (Deibele – lower outlet 6 to 10 and back to 5) are supplied to the column through the middle inlet [Deibele – ii)] after passing through the pump (Hofmann - 18) and the heater (41).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773