DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosch (JPH0389085A).
Regarding claim 1, Bosch shows a device comprising a housing (2) having an inlet (3), a valve seat ( 4), a valve element (8) interacting with the valve seat (fig), restoring means (10) acting on the valve element (fig), and an orifice (outlet of 7) wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element (9) such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element (fig, and the last paragraph Action and Effect) and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore (5) of the housing (fig).
The examiner notes that the last paragraph of Action and Effect states that the sphere 8 and the support member 9 can be integrally formed from one component. When they are integrally formed as one component, the valve element is fixed to and retained by the guidance element
Regarding claim 2, wherein at least one flow channel is formed between the guidance element and the housing (the figure shows a space between 9 and the wall 5).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the bore has a circular cross section and the guidance element has a circular cross section adapted to the circular cross section with a predetermined tolerance (fig).
Regarding claims 5 and 17 the valve element comprises at least on a side facing the valve seat a symmetrically curved surface (fig)
Regarding claim 6, the valve element comprises a spherical surface, at least in an area facing the valve seat (fig).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the guidance element comprises a longitudinal channel (15, 16) extending from the valve element to the opposite side of the guidance element.
Regarding claim 9, the valve element is frictionally or in a form locking way held in the guidance element (fig, 8 and 9 are touching so friction is playing a part in keeping them together).
Regarding claim 12, a cone element (11) is arranged in the housing between the guidance element and the orifice, wherein the restoring means are arranged between the cone element and the guidance element (fig).
Regarding claim 13, the restoring means are arranged in a recess in the cone element and/or in a recess in the guidance element (fig).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the valve element is spherical, wherein the valve element is pressed into a receptacle in the guidance element (by the spring), and wherein the valve element is fixed in the receptable via friction (they are made as one element)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch (JPH0389085A) in view of Sheng-guo et al. (CN 202283510 U)
Regarding claim 7, Bosch shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose the valve element is made of an elastically deformable material.
Sheng-guo et al shows a valve element (4-3) is made of an elastically deformable material (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use an elastically deformable valve element, in order to make the valve operate quieter and for a better seal.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch (JPH0389085A) in view of Nakamura et al. (4,926,902)
Regarding claim 22, Bosch shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 2, including at least one flow channel extends over the entire length of the guidance element (fig) but fails disclose the at least one flow channel comprises at least one groove and/or at least one flattened section extending over the axial length of the flow channel.
Nakamura et al. teaches a floe channel 102 that allows for fluid flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add a flat section to form a larger fluid flow path, in order to increase fluid flow.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the bore has a circular cross section and the guidance element has a circular cross section adapted to the circular cross section of the bore with a predetermined tolerance (fig).
Regarding claim 23, Bosch shows a device comprising a housing (2) having an inlet (3), a valve seat ( 4), a valve element (8) interacting with the valve seat (fig), restoring means (10) acting on the valve element (fig), and an orifice (outlet of 7) wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element (9) such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element (fig, and the last paragraph Action and Effect) and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore (5) of the housing (fig), wherein the bore has a circular cross section and the guidance element has a circular cross section adapted to the circular cross section of the bore with a predetermined tolerance (fig),
but fails to disclose wherein the guidance element has at least one flattened section on its circumference, the flattened section extending over the axial length of the guidance element.
Nakamura et al. teaches a floe channel 102 that allows for fluid flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add a flat section to form a larger fluid flow path, in order to increase fluid flow. The flattened section will extend over the axial length of the guidance element since it is on the guidance element and takes up axial space.
The examiner notes that the last paragraph of Action and Effect states that the sphere 8 and the support member 9 can be integrally formed from one component. When they are integrally formed as one component, the valve element is fixed to and retained by the guidance element
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10-14, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze (3,147,924) in view of Bosch (JPH0389085A).
Regarding claim 1, 12 and 14, Schulze shows a nozzle arrangement wherein the housing comprises a first housing part (1) and a second housing part (6), wherein the second housing part comprises an outer thread in engagement with an inner thread in the first housing part (fig 1), wherein the second housing part comprises an inlet channel (7) connected to the inlet and the valve seat is formed at an inner end of the inlet channel (1) or wherein the valve seat comprises a conical or curved form (fig 1), wherein the cone element (5) is held in the first housing part by means of the second housing part (fig 1).
But fails to disclose wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore of the housing .
Bosch teaches a guidance element (9) which is guided in a bore of the housing wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore of the housing. The examiner notes that the last paragraph of Action and Effect states that the sphere 8 and the support member 9 can be integrally formed from one component. When they are integrally formed as one component, the valve element is fixed to and retained by the guidance element
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add the guidance element (62) of Wang to the valve of Schulze in order to generate little noise as taught by Bosch (first paragraph of Action and Effect)
Regarding claim 1, the above combination shows a device comprising a housing (1, 6) having an inlet (inlet to 6), a valve seat ( on 6), a valve element (8 of Bosch) interacting with the valve seat (fig 1), restoring means (9) acting on the valve element (fig 1), and an orifice (3) wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element (9 of Bosch) such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore of the housing and wherein the guidance element is guided in a bore (bore of 1) of the housing (fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, a cone element (5) is arranged in the housing between the guidance element and the orifice, wherein the restoring means are arranged between the cone element and the guidance element (fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, wherein at least one flow channel is formed between the guidance element and the housing (fig 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the bore has a circular cross section and the guidance element has a circular cross section adapted to the circular cross section with a predetermined tolerance (fig 1).
Regarding claims 5, 17 and 18, the valve element comprises at least on a side facing the valve seat a symmetrically curved surface (fig 1)
Regarding claim 6, the valve element comprises a spherical surface, at least in an area facing the valve seat (fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, the valve element is frictionally or in a form locking way held in the guidance element (Bosch teaches the elements touching so friction is involved).
Regarding claim 10, the housing comprises a first housing part (1) and a second housing part (6), wherein the second housing part comprises an outer thread (fig 31) in engagement with an inner thread in the first housing part (fig 1), wherein the second housing part comprises an inlet channel (7) connected to the inlet and the valve seat is formed at an inner end of the inlet channel (fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, the valve seat comprises a conical or curved form (fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, a cone element (5) is arranged in the housing between the guidance element and the orifice, wherein the restoring means are arranged between the cone element and the guidance element (fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, the restoring means are arranged in a recess in the cone element (fig 1) and/or in a recess in the guidance element (Wang).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the valve element is spherical, wherein the valve element is pressed into a receptacle in the guidance element, and wherein the valve element is fixed in the receptable via friction (since the valve element is touching the guidance element there is some force of friction involved)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze (3,147,924) as modified by Bosch (JPH0389085A) above, in view of Sheng-guo et al. (CN 202283510 U)
Regarding claim 7, Schulze as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose the valve element is made of an elastically deformable material.
Sheng-guo et al shows a valve element (4-3) is made of an elastically deformable material (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use an elastically deformable valve element, in order to make the valve operate quieter and for a better seal.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertea (2,481,713) in view of Bosch (JPH0389085A)
Regarding claim 1, Bertea shows a device comprising a housing (1, 7) having an inlet (4), a valve seat ( 11), a valve element (19) interacting with the valve seat (fig 1), restoring means (20) acting on the valve element (fig 1), and an orifice (9) wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element (17) which is guided in a bore (bore of 7) of the housing (fig 1).
But fails to disclose that the valve element is retained in the guidance element.
Bosch teaches a guidance element (9) which is guided in a bore of the housing wherein the valve element is fixed in a guidance element such that the valve element is retained by the guidance element and wherein the guidance element which is guided in a bore of the housing. The examiner notes that the last paragraph of Action and Effect states that the sphere 8 and the support member 9 can be integrally formed from one component. When they are integrally formed as one component, the valve element is fixed to and retained by the guidance element
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to have the valve element be connected and retained by the guidance element, in order to reduce the number of parts and to generate little noise as taught by Bosch (first paragraph of Action and Effect)
Regarding claim 4, the guidance element has at least one flattened section (fig 4) on its circumference, the flattened section extending over the axial length of the guidance element .
Regarding claim 2, wherein at least one flow channel is formed between the guidance element and the housing (fig 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 17 , the valve element comprises at least on a side facing the valve seat a symmetrically curved surface (fig 1)
Regarding claim 6, the valve element comprises a spherical surface, at least in an area facing the valve seat (fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the guidance element comprises a longitudinal channel (between 24 and 22) extending from the valve element to the opposite side of the guidance element.
Regarding claim 9, the valve element is frictionally or in a form locking way held in the guidance element (Bosch teaches the elements touching so friction is involved).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the housing comprises a first housing part (1) and a second housing part (7), wherein the second housing part comprises an outer thread in engagement with an inner thread in the first housing part (fig 1), wherein the second housing part comprises an inlet channel connected to the inlet and the valve seat is formed at an inner end of the inlet channel (fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the valve seat comprises a conical or curved form (fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, wherein a cone element (conical surface of 7) is arranged in the housing between the guidance element and the orifice, wherein the restoring means are arranged between the cone element and the guidance element (fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the restoring means are arranged in a recess in the cone element and/or in a recess in the guidance element (fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the housing comprises a first housing part (1) and a second housing part (7), wherein the second housing part comprises an outer thread in engagement with an inner thread in the first housing part (fig 1), wherein the second housing part comprises an inlet channel connected to the inlet and the valve seat is formed at an inner end of the inlet channel or wherein the valve seat comprises a conical or curved form (fig 1), and wherein the cone element is held in the first housing part by means of the second housing part (fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the valve element is spherical, wherein the valve element is pressed into a receptacle in the guidance element (by the spring), and wherein the valve element is fixed in the receptable via friction (since the valve element is touching the guidance element there is some force of friction involved)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 4/9/2026