DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach amendments to the claim. Remarks, pp. 8-11.
As presented in the claim rejections, claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Jordan et al. (US 2022/0021938) and Cvinar (US 2020/0065853).
Jordan teaches:
displaying a user interface comprising a playing interface and a comment interface ([0045], “With reference now to FIGS. 3-4, an exemplary graphical user interface 300 presenting a main feed is illustrated.” [0046], “Pane 302 includes a video field 304 in which two or more video assets (e.g., video clips 306a, 306b) are presented to the user contemporaneously.” [0049], “Pane 302 can include additional information regarding the video-based competition, at least some of which can be accessed from competition data 268. For example, in the depicted example pane 302 includes a descriptor 312 providing a title and brief description of the video-based competition. In addition, pane 302 can provide competition metadata 314, such as a number of views by different users (in this case, 64), a number of user comments (in this case, 14), and a remaining duration for voting in the video-based competition (in this case, 2 hours, 23 minutes, and 12 seconds).” Figs. 3-4);
playing a multimedia content on the playing interface ([0046], “Pane 302 includes a video field 304 in which two or more video assets (e.g., video clips 306a, 306b) are presented to the user contemporaneously.” Figs. 3-4), and
displaying comment content on the comment interface ([0049], “Pane 302 can include additional information regarding the video-based competition, at least some of which can be accessed from competition data 268. For example, in the depicted example pane 302 includes a descriptor 312 providing a title and brief description of the video-based competition. In addition, pane 302 can provide competition metadata 314, such as a number of views by different users (in this case, 64), a number of user comments (in this case, 14), and a remaining duration for voting in the video-based competition (in this case, 2 hours, 23 minutes, and 12 seconds).” Figs. 3-4),
wherein the comment interface comprises a controller for viewing a ranking list interface ([0090], “FIG. 23 illustrates an exemplary leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 that can be presented by VCA 208c, for example, in response to user selection of a leaderboard control exposed in response to user selection of options control 324 of graphical user interface 300.” Figs. 21A-21C, 23);
replacing the comment interface with the ranking list interface in response to a trigger operation on the controller ([0090], “FIG. 23 illustrates an exemplary leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 that can be presented by VCA 208c, for example, in response to user selection of a leaderboard control exposed in response to user selection of options control 324 of graphical user interface 300.” Figs. 21A-21C, 23); and
displaying a first component when a first object is displayed in the multimedia content on the playing interface of the user interface, wherein the first component is configured to support the first object in a first time period of displaying the first object ([0052], “In this example, based on user selection of ‘Vote’ control 3220, feed service 256 of video-based competition service 124 presents a collection of multiple video-based competitions (one per pane 302 in a vertically or horizontally scrollable collection) in which the user can vote for one of the competitors identified in competitor field 3202 (as discussed below with reference to FIGS. 21A to 21C)….” [0086], “While the user is viewing the video-based competition in pane 302, VCA 208c can capture the user's vote based upon one or more user inputs. For example, in some embodiments, VCA 208c may receive a vote for or against a competitor based on a tap, double-tap, or swiping gesture.” Figs. 21A-21C, 32-33); and
updating a first position of the ranking list interface based on a supporting cumulative result of the first object, in response to receiving a first operation on the first component in the first time period, wherein the first position is related to a ranking of the first object ([0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0086], “While the user is viewing the video-based competition in pane 302, VCA 208c can capture the user's vote based upon one or more user inputs. For example, in some embodiments, VCA 208c may receive a vote for or against a competitor based on a tap, double-tap, or swiping gesture.” [0091], Fig. 23).
Cvinar teaches displaying a first component in a ranking list interface of a user interface, and updating the first component to display the first component at a first position of the ranking list interface ([0103], “During the public review, video submissions are presented to users and users may rank or vote on such submissions. For example, as shown in FIG. 10, a listing of submitted videos is presented to a user with the user having the ability to click on and vote or rank any particular video. The videos can be presented in a random order, or in an order representative of their current rank.”).
Taking the teachings of the references together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan with Cvinar to include displaying the first component in the ranking list interface of the user interface, and updating the first component to display the first component at the first position of the ranking list interface. The modification would serve to provide and alternative and/or additional means for viewers to express support for video content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 10-12, 16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Jordan et al. (US 2022/0021938) and Cvinar (US 2020/0065853).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan teaches an interaction method, comprising:
displaying a user interface comprising a playing interface and a comment interface ([0045], “With reference now to FIGS. 3-4, an exemplary graphical user interface 300 presenting a main feed is illustrated.” [0046], “Pane 302 includes a video field 304 in which two or more video assets (e.g., video clips 306a, 306b) are presented to the user contemporaneously.” [0049], “Pane 302 can include additional information regarding the video-based competition, at least some of which can be accessed from competition data 268. For example, in the depicted example pane 302 includes a descriptor 312 providing a title and brief description of the video-based competition. In addition, pane 302 can provide competition metadata 314, such as a number of views by different users (in this case, 64), a number of user comments (in this case, 14), and a remaining duration for voting in the video-based competition (in this case, 2 hours, 23 minutes, and 12 seconds).” Figs. 3-4);
playing a multimedia content on the playing interface ([0046], “Pane 302 includes a video field 304 in which two or more video assets (e.g., video clips 306a, 306b) are presented to the user contemporaneously.” Figs. 3-4), and
displaying comment content on the comment interface ([0049], “Pane 302 can include additional information regarding the video-based competition, at least some of which can be accessed from competition data 268. For example, in the depicted example pane 302 includes a descriptor 312 providing a title and brief description of the video-based competition. In addition, pane 302 can provide competition metadata 314, such as a number of views by different users (in this case, 64), a number of user comments (in this case, 14), and a remaining duration for voting in the video-based competition (in this case, 2 hours, 23 minutes, and 12 seconds).” Figs. 3-4),
wherein the comment interface comprises a controller for viewing a ranking list interface ([0090], “FIG. 23 illustrates an exemplary leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 that can be presented by VCA 208c, for example, in response to user selection of a leaderboard control exposed in response to user selection of options control 324 of graphical user interface 300.” Figs. 21A-21C, 23);
replacing the comment interface with the ranking list interface in response to a trigger operation on the controller ([0090], “FIG. 23 illustrates an exemplary leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 that can be presented by VCA 208c, for example, in response to user selection of a leaderboard control exposed in response to user selection of options control 324 of graphical user interface 300.” Figs. 21A-21C, 23); and
displaying a first component when a first object is displayed in the multimedia content on the playing interface of the user interface, wherein the first component is configured to support the first object in a first time period of displaying the first object ([0052], “In this example, based on user selection of ‘Vote’ control 3220, feed service 256 of video-based competition service 124 presents a collection of multiple video-based competitions (one per pane 302 in a vertically or horizontally scrollable collection) in which the user can vote for one of the competitors identified in competitor field 3202 (as discussed below with reference to FIGS. 21A to 21C)….” [0086], “While the user is viewing the video-based competition in pane 302, VCA 208c can capture the user's vote based upon one or more user inputs. For example, in some embodiments, VCA 208c may receive a vote for or against a competitor based on a tap, double-tap, or swiping gesture.” Figs. 21A-21C, 32-33); and
updating a first position of the ranking list interface based on a supporting cumulative result of the first object, in response to receiving a first operation on the first component in the first time period, wherein the first position is related to a ranking of the first object ([0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0086], “While the user is viewing the video-based competition in pane 302, VCA 208c can capture the user's vote based upon one or more user inputs. For example, in some embodiments, VCA 208c may receive a vote for or against a competitor based on a tap, double-tap, or swiping gesture.” [0091], Fig. 23).
Jordan does not expressly teach displaying the first component in the ranking list interface of the user interface, and updating the first component to display the first component at the first position of the ranking list interface.
Cvinar teaches displaying a first component in a ranking list interface of a user interface, and updating the first component to display the first component at a first position of the ranking list interface ([0103], “During the public review, video submissions are presented to users and users may rank or vote on such submissions. For example, as shown in FIG. 10, a listing of submitted videos is presented to a user with the user having the ability to click on and vote or rank any particular video. The videos can be presented in a random order, or in an order representative of their current rank.”).
In view of Cvinar’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan to include displaying the first component in the ranking list interface of the user interface, and updating the first component to display the first component at the first position of the ranking list interface. The modification would serve to provide and alternative and/or additional means for viewers to express support for video content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 11, Jordan teaches an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the memory, and the one or more computer programs, when executed by the one or more processors ([0038]-[0039], [0113]), cause the electronic device to perform the method of claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Jordan teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium comprising computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions, when executed on an electronic device ([0038]-[0039], [0113]), cause the electronic device to perform the method of claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combination further teaches wherein before the multimedia content is played, the method further comprises:
displaying a preview interface in response to receiving a fourth operation, wherein the preview interface comprises a preview content, and the preview content is related to a playing time point of the multimedia content (Jordan: [0045], “With reference now to FIGS. 3-4, an exemplary graphical user interface 300 presenting a main feed is illustrated.” [0046], “The main feed is a scrollable collection of multiple different video-based competitions.” [0047], “graphical user interface 300 provides separate playback controls for each video clip 306 presented in video field 304 so that the user can play, skip forward, skip backward, rewind (reverse play), replay, pause, and/or stop each video clip independently.”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the combination further teaches wherein after play of the multimedia content is finished, the method further comprises:
playing the multimedia content in response to receiving a fifth operation (Jordan: [0047], “graphical user interface 300 provides separate playback controls for each video clip 306 presented in video field 304 so that the user can play, skip forward, skip backward, rewind (reverse play), replay, pause, and/or stop each video clip independently.”); and
in a case that the multimedia content is played, updating and displaying the ranking list interface, in response to receiving a sixth operation, wherein the ranking list interface comprises components corresponding to all objects in the multimedia content (Jordan: [0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the combination further teaches wherein in a supporting time period of the objects in the multimedia content, the method further comprises:
updating the first position in response to receiving a seventh operation on the first component (Jordan: [0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 10, the combination further teaches comprising:
displaying, in the first component, at least one of an icon of the first object, a performer name of the first object, a performance content name of the first object, the supporting cumulative result of the first object and the ranking of the first object, wherein the first position is influenced by the supporting cumulative result of the first object (Jordan: [0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Jordan, Cvinar, and Westbrook (US 8494992).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Jordan further teaches further comprising:
updating and displaying the ranking list interface, in a case that content corresponding to a second time period in the multimedia content is played, wherein the second time period is related to a second object in the multimedia content, the ranking list interface comprises the first component and a second component ([0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23), and
updating the second component to display the second component at a second position of the ranking list interface based on the supporting cumulative result of the first object and a supporting cumulative result of the second object, in response to a third operation received on the second component in the second time period, wherein the second position is related to a ranking of the second object ([0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23).
However, Jordan does not expressly a starting time point of the second time period is later than an ending time point of the first time period.
Westbrook provides a teaching wherein rankings are updated dynamically during a voting period (Col. 11, lines 30-49, “The repeated process 300 causes the approval ranking of the content submissions to be updated dynamically during the voting period. In some implementations, the process 300 is performed periodically (e.g., every 10 minutes) to account for all of the new votes received during the past time period. In some implementations, the process 300 also applies to content submissions that are newly added to the set of content submissions being scored and ranked for their relative popularity. The process 300 is optionally repeated until the voting period for a topic category is concluded and all votes for all content submission in the topic category are tallied.”).
In view of Westbrook’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan wherein a starting time point of the second time period is later than an ending time point of the first time period. The modification would serve to allow for real-time ranking information to be provided to users. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Jordan further teaches wherein the updating the second component to display the second component at a second position of the ranking list interface based on the supporting cumulative result of the first object and the supporting cumulative result of the second object comprises:
displaying the first component and the second component in a descending order in the ranking list interface based on the supporting cumulative result of the first object and the supporting cumulative result of the second object ([0069], “If, however, a video-based competition attracts multiple competitors, processor 120 collects and tallies votes of users to whom the video-based competition was published, publishes the result of the video-based competition after voting closes, and optionally, updates one or more leaderboards reflecting competition standings (block 1516).” [0090], “In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).” [0091], Fig. 23).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Jordan, Cvinar, and Baldwin (US 2014/0317202).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Jordan teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach further teaches wherein the displaying the preview interface comprises:
dynamically displaying the preview content in the preview interface based on a time difference between a time point corresponding to the fourth operation and the playing time point of the multimedia content.
Baldwin teaches dynamically displaying preview content in a preview interface based on a time difference between a time point corresponding to displaying the preview interface and a playing time point of multimedia content ([0095], “Referring to FIG. 24, once a video stream has been selected, if the video stream has not begun, a countdown screen 200 may be shown. The countdown screen 200 may have a predetermined time frame for counting down such as 10 seconds or the like.”).
In view of Baldwin’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the displaying the preview interface comprises: dynamically displaying the preview content in the preview interface based on a time difference between a time point corresponding to the fourth operation and the playing time point of the multimedia content. By informing users of upcoming content, the modification would serve to improve convenience for users.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Jordan, Cvinar, and Chang et al. (US 20210089780).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Jordan further teaches an occupation area corresponding to all objects in the multimedia content ([0090], “FIG. 23 illustrates an exemplary leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 that can be presented by VCA 208c, for example, in response to user selection of a leaderboard control exposed in response to user selection of options control 324 of graphical user interface 300. In this example, leaderboard graphical user interface 2300 presents users in rank order of number of competition wins achieved in the past seven days. The user (i.e., @watchmedip) viewing the leaderboard can easily see her place in the rankings (i.e., 38th place).”). However, Jordan teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the preview interface further comprises an occupation area corresponding to all objects in the multimedia content.
Chang teaches a preview interface comprising an occupation area corresponding to a leaderboard ([0507], “FIG. 67 depicts an exemplary user interface 6700 that depicts a leaderboard that the system is displaying as an overlay to the underlying video feed of the sporting event. The leaderboard may, for example, depict the user's relative score with respect to one or more other users playing the interactive game during the sporting event.” Fig. 67).
In view of Chang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan wherein the preview interface further comprises an occupation area corresponding to all objects in the multimedia content. The modification would serve to facilitate simultaneous viewing of content and ranking information for users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Jordan, Cvinar, and Tiongson et al (US 2010/0064306).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Jordan teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein after a supporting time period of the objects in the multimedia content is finished, the method further comprises: blocking an eighth operation or associating a social account of the first object, in response to receiving the eighth operation on the first component.
Tiongson teaches blocking an operation ([0046], “When the voting time period ends, the voting server 110 may stop receiving new votes, tally all the received votes, and generate a voting overlay content message announcing the selected program or content that will broadcast.”).
In view of Tiongson’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein after a supporting time period of the objects in the multimedia content is finished, the method further comprises: blocking an eighth operation or associating a social account of the first object, in response to receiving the eighth operation on the first component. The modification would serve to facilitate processing and tallying of votes for certain time periods.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426