DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neutsch (US – 2017/0151833 A1).
As per claim 1, Neutsch discloses Wheel Unit comprising:
a disc brake device (76, [0161], Fig: 1-3), comprising a bicycle frame (14, Fig: 1-3), a mounting shaft (132, Fig: 1-3), a wheel (74v, Fig: 1-3), and a brake disc (206v, Fig: 1-3), wherein the bicycle frame comprises a frame body (46, 48, Fig: 1-3) and a fork sheet (84, Fig: 1-3) fixedly connected to the frame body (Fig: 1-3), the mounting shaft is fixedly connected to the fork sheet (Fig: 1-3), the wheel comprises a wheel hub (122v, Fig: 1-3), a rim (104v, Fig: 1-3), and spokes (108v, Fig: 1-3), the wheel hub is movably connected to the mounting shaft (Fig: 1-3), the spokes are provided between the wheel hub and the rim (Fig: 1), the disc brake (206v) is fixedly connected to the wheel hub (122v, Fig: 1-3), and the brake disc and the wheel are capable of rotating together relative to the mounting shaft (Fig: 1-3);
the brake disc (206v) has an inner surface facing the spoke (Attached figure and Fig: 1-3) and an outer surface facing the fork sheet (Attached figure and Fig: 1-3).
Neutsch discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first distance in an axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the inner surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in a radial direction of the mounting shaft and the spokes is less than or equal to 10mm, and/or a second distance in the axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the outer surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in the radial direction of the mounting shaft and an inner surface of the fork sheet is greater than or equal to 20mm.
Therefore, Neutsch discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a first distance in an axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the inner surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in a radial direction of the mounting shaft and the spokes is less than or equal to 10mm, and/or a second distance in the axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the outer surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in the radial direction of the mounting shaft and an inner surface of the fork sheet is greater than or equal to 20mm.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the brake disc arrangement in which a first distance in an axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the inner surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in a radial direction of the mounting shaft and the spokes is less than or equal to 10mm, and/or a second distance in the axial direction of the mounting shaft between an edge of the outer surface of the brake disc farthest from the wheel hub in the radial direction of the mounting shaft and an inner surface of the fork sheet is greater than or equal to 20mm, since applicant has not disclosed that the particular distance between the brake disc and hub solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with Neutsch invention.
As per claim 5, Neutsch discloses wherein the brake disc (206v, Fig: 1-3) is of a flat plate structure (Fig: 1-3), a side of the wheel hub facing the brake disc has a brake disc mounting surface (Fig: 3), and the brake disc abuts against the brake disc mounting surface (Fig: 3).
As per claim 6, Neutsch discloses wherein the wheel hub (122v) comprises a main body (Attached figure and Fig: 3) movably connected to the mounting shaft (132v) and a brake disc mounting portion connected to the main body (Attached figure and Fig: 3), the spokes (108v) are provided between the main body and the rim (Fig: 1-3);
wherein the brake disc mounting portion is of a multi-pointed star structure protruding from a side of the main body facing the brake disc (Fig: 6).
As per claim 7, Neutsch discloses wherein the brake disc (206v) has a braking surface (206v, Fig: 1-3), the braking surface is perpendicular to an axis of the mounting shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 3), or the braking surface forms an acute angle or an obtuse angle with the axis of the mounting shaft.
As per claim 8, Neutsch discloses a disc brake (76, Fig: 1-3) connected to the bicycle frame (Fig: 3), the disc brake having a clamping opening, the disc brake clamping the brake disc through the clamping opening (Fig: 1);
wherein the spokes (108v) are provided obliquely between the wheel hub (122v, Fig: 1-3) and the rim (104v, Fig: 1-3), the disc brake has a first surface facing the spokes, and an inclination direction of the first surface is the same as an inclination direction of the spokes (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
As per claim 10, Neutsch discloses the disc brake device according to claim 1 (Fig: 1-3).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neutsch (US – 2017/0151833 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HUANG (US – 2019/0101174 A1).
As per claim 2, Neutsch discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the brake disc comprises a mounting frame and a disc plate, and the disc plate is provided on an edge of the mounting frame along a circumferential direction of the mounting frame, in the axial direction of the mounting shaft, the entire mounting frame does not exceed an inner surface of the disc plate, the mounting frame has a wheel mounting surface located on the same side as the inner surface of the disc plate, the wheel hub abuts against the wheel mounting surface, and the wheel mounting surface is spaced apart from the inner surface of the disc plate in the axial direction of the mounting shaft.
HUANG discloses Bicycle Brake Disc comprising:
wherein the brake disc (Fig: 3A-6B) comprises a mounting frame (20, Fig: 3A-6B) and a disc plate (10, Fig: 3A-6B), and the disc plate is provided on an edge of the mounting frame along a circumferential direction of the mounting frame (Fig: 3A-6B), in the axial direction of the mounting shaft (Fig: 3A-6B), the entire mounting frame does not exceed an inner surface of the disc plate (Fig: 3A-6B), the mounting frame has a wheel mounting surface (Fig: 3A-6B) located on the same side as the inner surface of the disc plate (Fig: 3A-6B), the wheel hub abuts against the wheel mounting surface, and the wheel mounting surface is spaced apart from the inner surface of the disc plate in the axial direction of the mounting shaft (Fig: 3A-6B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Wheel Unit of the Neutsch to make the brake disc comprises a mounting frame and a disc plate, and the disc plate is provided on an edge of the mounting frame along a circumferential direction of the mounting frame, in the axial direction of the mounting shaft, the entire mounting frame does not exceed an inner surface of the disc plate, the mounting frame has a wheel mounting surface located on the same side as the inner surface of the disc plate, the wheel hub abuts against the wheel mounting surface, and the wheel mounting surface is spaced apart from the inner surface of the disc plate in the axial direction of the mounting shaft as taught by HUNG in order to a bicycle brake disc having a heat dissipation function, to effectively avoid a brake failure caused by deformation and being unstable of a disc body and boiling of fluid in a hydraulic oil tube when heat is generated due to friction between a brake caliper and the disc body.
As per claim 3, HUANG further disclose wherein the disc plate is provided with a first mounting hole (121, Fig: 3A-6B) extending in the axial direction of the mounting shaft, a circumferential edge of the mounting frame is connected to a hole wall of the first mounting hole, or the circumferential edge of the mounting frame is connected to an end of the disc plate having the outer surface (Fig: 4-6A);
wherein an orthographic projection of the wheel mounting surface on a plane where the disc plate is located is within a range of an orthographic projection of the mounting hole on the plane where the disc plate is located (Fig: 4-6A).
As per claim 4, HUANG further disclose wherein the mounting frame (20, Fig: 4-6B) comprises a mounting sheet and a plurality of mounting feet (22, Fig: 4-6B), one end of each of the mounting feet is connected to a circumferential edge of the mounting sheet (Fig: 4-6B), and the other end of each of the mounting feet is connected to the disc plate (Fig: 4-6B), and all of the mounting feet are spaced apart along a circumferential direction of the disc plate (Fig: 6B);
wherein the wheel mounting surface is a plane on the same side as the inner surface of the disc plate (Fig: 4-6B).
As per claim 9, Neutsch disclose a disc brake (76, Fig: 1-3) connected to the bicycle frame (14, Fig: 1-3), the disc brake having a clamping opening (Fig: 2), the disc brake clamping the brake disc through the clamping opening (Fig: 2);
wherein the spokes (108v, Fig: 1-3) are provided obliquely between the wheel hub (122v) and the rim (104v, Fig: 1-3), and
teaching reference further disclose the disc brake has a first surface facing the spokes, and the first surface is provided with a concave-convex structure (Fig: 6B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: MCCORMICK (US – 2020/0324850 A1),
B: ISHIZAKI et al. (US – 2020/0292018 A1),
C: Ruopp (US – 2018/0333985 A1), and
D: ZANELLA et al. (US – 2018/0320745 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616