DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 6-9 and 11-13) in the reply filed on Feb. 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 14, 15, 17, 20-22, 25 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Feb. 27, 2026.
Claims 6-9 and 11-13 are pending and examined on their merits below.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of the International Application No. PCT/US22/20827, filed March 17, 2022. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 63/162,507 filed on March 17, 2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is March 17, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed Sept. 18, 2023, June 18, 2024, and April 23, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Segura et al. (WO 2007/008300 A2, cited in IDS filed on April 23, 2026) in view of Kwok et al. (ASC Nano, 2013, cited in IDS filed on June 18, 2024).
Independent claim 6 is directed to a nanocarrier system for delivering nucleic acids to a cell including a nanostructure with a synthetic, poly(ethylene glycol)-block-poly(propylene sulfide) copolymer (PEG-b-PPS) conjugated to a dendritic-specific branched cationic peptide (DP) and DNA or RNA.
Segura et al. teach a PEG-PPS copolymer conjugated to a cationic peptide used for delivery of nucleic acids to cells; specifically, Seguara et al. teach preparation of PEG-PPS-cationic peptide (“K9” or “TAT”) triblock polymer using K9 (CFFWKKKKKKKKK-NH2) or TAT (CGGWRKKRRQRRR) and their delivery to cells (pg. 34-35; Figs. 3, 7 & 8)
Segura et al. do not teach a dendritic-specific branched cationic peptide; only cationic peptides. Segura et al. do contemplate inclusion of dendrimers known for complexing nucleic acids in the position taught for the cationic peptide. (pg. 21, l. 18 – pg. 22, l. 4).
Kwok et al. teach dendritic peptides as nucleic acid transfection agents. (abstract, Figs. 1-11, pg. 4669). Kwok et al. further teach that “the trigenerational dendritic structure has an advantage over a linear analogue worth up to an order of magnitude” in terms of cell transfection. (abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the PEG-PPS-cationic peptide triblock polymer of Segura et al. to incorporate the claimed dendritic-specific branched cationic peptide because it would have been obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Substituting the claimed dendritic-specific branched cationic peptide as taught by Kwok for the cationic peptides in the composition of Segura et al. would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Segura et al. teach indicate that dendrimers could be included as the peptide and Kwok et al. teach that dendritic peptides provide increased efficiency for nucleic acid transfection.
With respect to claim 9, Kwok et al. teach that they “exploit the modularity of dendritic structure with different amino acid building blocks and charge distributions within the dendrimers to obtain structure-activity relationships.” Kwok et al. used specific branching lysine (K) and dyad lysineX (where X is leucine, histidine or alanine), finding that these dendrimers had similar sizes and architecture, but varying constituents. Kwok et al. determined that the variation in charge per dendrimer, ratio of molecular weight and charge and the charge distribution within the dendrimers likely influence gene delivery in a systematic way. (pg. 4669, 2nd col., Fig. 1). Kwok et al. further teach that cationic groups could be “swapped” (lysine for arginine) and transfection ability was similarly preserved. (pg. 4673, text and Fig. 6). Kwok et al. teach that the platform they use (for determining patterns of synthesis and successfully making the dendrimers) “may be tuned further and coupled to cell-targeting moieties to enhance transfection and cell specificity.” (abstract). Kwok et al. further teach that their synthesis protocol “provides ready access to such deeply buried cationic groups, making “deep modification” in inner shell positions possible” and that their “…methodology sets the scene for further systemic exploitation of transfection efficiency or DNA binding. (pg. 4678, “Conclusion”). Kwok et al. conclude “…exploitation of the chemical degrees of freedom in making novel peptide dendrimers has led to more efficient, useful reagents for transfection” and “their reagents are easy to prepare and purify,” and amino acids can be combined in a dendritic fashion to form transfection reagents with new properties and increased efficiency. (pg. 4678, “Conclusion”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to employ the claimed structure for the DP in the method taught by Kwok et al. because it would have been obvious to try this combination as the person of ordinary skill would be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill modifying the DPs taught by Kwok to arrive at the claimed DP would have led to a reasonable expectation of success because Kwok et al. teach the same residues, included in branched cationic peptides, teach that modification of the DP is likely to result in different transfection abilities (providing a motivation for trying different combinations using the specifically enumerated amino acids) and teach that the platform they provide make creating and testing new DPs easy.
With respect to claim 13, Segura et al. teach PEG-PPS5 and PEG-PPS5, within the claimed m and n values of 1-500. (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segura et al. (WO 2007/008300 A2, cited in IDS filed on April 23, 2026) and Kwok et al. (ASC Nano, 2013, cited in IDS filed on June 18, 2024) as applied to claims 6, 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Scott et al. (U.S. 2018/0022878 A1, cited in IDS filed on June 18, 2024).
Segura in combination with Kwok et al. do not teach the claimed PEG or PPS weight fractions (claims 7 & 8) or the claimed ratio of polymer to DNA (claims 11 and 12).
Scott et al. teach that PEG and PPS weight fraction and ratio of polymer to DNA are result-effective variables. (paras. [0054], [0075], [0076], [0080]; Table 3).
It would have been obvious to have optimized the weight fractions and the claimed ratios of polymer to DNA as the ranges claimed are broad and Scott et al. teach that these are result-effective variables. See MPEP 2144.05 IIB, indicating that result-effective variables are obvious to optimize absent information concerning their criticality or non-obviousness.
Conclusion
Claims 6-9 and 11-13 are rejected.
/TERESA E KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634