DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to KIM (KR 10-1046216). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 10-1046216).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a system for mapping a confined space, the system comprising: a mapping device comprising a camera configured to capture image data depicting a transit of the confined space by the mapping device (page 2, paragraph 6 of DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS) ; and an image processing system comprising a processor and a memory (page 3, paragraph 4), wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions stored on the memory to perform the operations of: processing the image data to determine a first set of locations of the mapping device as it transits the confined space (movement path (page 4, paragraph 2)); and processing the image data to determine a second set of locations of one or more features or one or more defects (leak) associated with the confined space (page 4, paragraph 1), wherein the mapping device is untethered, free-floating, and flow-transported (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the camera is disposed on a camera module being removably attached to the mapping device (Fig. 1). While silent, it is clear that something that is attached can be removed, for example with enough force or with a cutting tool.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a light module (page 2, paragraph 7 of DESCRIPTION) removably attached to the mapping device (while silent, it is clear that something that is attached can be removed, for example with enough force or with a cutting tool), the light module comprising an array of lights (Kim teaches a plurality of lights and may be of various forms) disposed about the mapping device (page 2, paragraph 7 of DESCRIPTION).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a float attachment structure (the body of the smart ball), wherein the mapping device (the circuitry) is removably disposed on or in the float attachment structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the float attachment structure comprises at least one fin and/or at least one hull (the body is a hull).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise mapping the first set of locations of the mapping device and the second set of locations of the one or more features or one or more defects to respective geographic coordinates (page 4 paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more defects comprises a rock, debris, or a surface defect (leak) of the confined space (page 3 paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a method for mapping a confined space, the method comprising: receiving image data of a transit of the confined space by an inspection system comprising a mapping device that is untethered, free-floating, and flow-transported (page 3, paragraph 6 of DESCRIPTION); processing the image data to determine a first set of locations of the mapping device (piping path) as it transits the confined space (page 4, paragraph 2); and processing the image data to determine a second set of locations of one or more features or one or more defects (leaks) associated with the confined space (page 4 paragraph 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-13, 15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852