DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Currently, claim 2 is cancelled, claims 14-15 have been added, claims 1 and 3-15 are pending and claims 3-5, 10 and 12-13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe Kotaro et al. (JP 2017135227 hereinafter “Watanabe”) in view of Kokubo et al. (US Publication No.: 2014/0054023 hereinafter “Kokubo”).
With respect to claims 1 and 14-15, Watanabe discloses a thermal conductor (Figs. 5-6) comprising: a thermal-conduction portion including a surface comprising metal (Fig. 5, top surface of 2 and para 0015 of translation made of metal such as copper or aluminum); and a protrusion extending from the thermal-conduction portion (Figs. 5-6, protrusion 3 extends from 2), wherein the protrusion includes a core made of a metal bulk body (Figs. 5-6, core 3 and para 0015 made from metal), and a first metal fiber structure fusion-bonded around the core (Figs. 5-6, metal fiber 4 is around 3 and Para 0015 and 0017 explains 4 is a porous bod).
Watanabe does not disclose one end of the protrusion attached to the surface of the thermal conduction portion via a fusion bond (per claims 1 and 14) or an adhesive containing a metal paste (per claims 1 and 15), and wherein the core is separated by the first metal fiber structure from the thermal-conduction portion (per claim 1).
Kokubo teaches protrusions attached to a metal plate by an adhesive that separates a core from a thermal-conduction portion (Fig. 8a-8b, protrusion is attached to thermal-conduction portion 81 by adhesive 85) or by fusion bonding that separates a core from a thermal-conduction portion (Figs. 6a-6c, brazing material 82 is between the protrusion 92 and thermal-conduction portion 81). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have attached the protrusions of Watanabe to a thermal-conduction portion by an adhesive or thermal bonding creating a metal fiber structure between the protrusion and the thermal-conduction portion as taught by Kokubo for ease of manufacturing and better joining conditions (Para 0046-0054).
It is noted that claims 1 and 14-15 contains a product by process limitation (i.e. attached via a fusion bond or adhesive) and that the product by process limitation does not limit the claim to recite the step, just the structure obtained by performing the step. Further, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to claim 6, Watanabe and Kokubo teach the thermal conductor according to claim 1 as discussed above. Watanabe also discloses wherein a ratio of a contact area of the first metal fiber structure to an area of an outer peripheral surface of the core at a joining interface between the core and the first metal fiber structure of the protrusion is 20% to 80% (Para 0018 it can be from 40%-90%).
With respect to claim 7, Watanabe and Kokubo teach the thermal conductor according to claim 1 as discussed above. Watanabe also discloses wherein a space factor of metal fibers in the first metal fiber structure is 30% to 80% (Para 0023-0025).
With respect to claim 8, Watanabe and Kokubo teach the thermal conductor according to claim 1 as discussed above. Watanabe also discloses wherein a presence ratio of metal fibers in a cross-section of the first metal fiber structure is 30% to 80% (Para 0025).
With respect to claim 9, Watanabe and Kokubo teach the thermal conductor according to claim 2 as discussed above. Watanabe also discloses wherein a space factor of the first metal fiber structure at a joining interface between a surface of the thermal-conduction portion and the protrusion is 40% to 80% (Para 0023-0025).
With respect to claim 11, Watanabe and Kokubo teach the thermal conductor according to claim 1 as discussed above. Watanabe also discloses wherein the protrusion has a rod shape (Figs. 5-6, 3 and 4 is a rod shape) or a plate shape (Figs. 1-2, 3 and 4 are plate shaped).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14-15 have been considered but are moot because the reference Kokubo teaches the newly added claim limitations and the product by process limitations.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763