DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
IGUCHI discloses tiles to which a motion compensation may be applied (figure 106). The three-dimensional data encoding device may use a different method of deriving a motion vector or a different method of compensation for each tile ([0656]). In the bitstream, a signal for each tile that indicates whether a motion vector is applied or not, the method of deriving a motion vector, or the method of compensation ([0657]). The tiles are equivalent to the claimed blocks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. No support can be found for “information for a block size in the bitstream”.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. No support can be found in the specification that “information for the threshold is included in the bitstream” and “obtaining information for representing a threshold for a motion vector direct coding mode from the bitstream”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASSERRE et al. (US 20200258262 A1) in view of IGUCHI et al. (US 20210142521 A1), NISHI et al. (US 20230239491 A1) and Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20220207780 A1).
Regarding claim 1. LASSERRE discloses A method (abstract, This method for inter-predictive encoding of a time-varying 3D point cloud including a series of successive frames divided in 3D blocks into at least one bitstream; [0101] … are transmitted to the decoder side in a bit stream) comprising:
Encoding geometry data in a point cloud frame of point cloud data (figure 3, [0003] methods for encoding and decoding a point cloud and corresponding encoder and decoder; [0017] a method for predictive encoding of a time-varying 3D point cloud including a series of successive frames divided in 3D blocks into at least one bitstream; [0012] a method for inter-predictive encoding of frames based on previous inputs; figure 3, [0150] Then, a prediction residual, which is to be encoded and output to the compressed bitstream, is determined, at step 30; [0005] a point cloud consists in a set of points usually intended to represent the external surface of a 3D object but also more complex geometries. Each point is defined by its 3D spatial location (x, y and z coordinates in the 3D space), i.e, geometry information, and possibly by other associated attributes).
However, LASSERRE does not explicitly disclose
encoding attribute data in the point cloud frame of the point cloud data based on levels of detail,
wherein the encoding the geometry data in the point cloud frame includes:
generating first information for representing whether motion compensation is applied to a reference frame of the point cloud frame in a geometry parameter set in a bitstream,
generating second information for representing whether motion compensation is applied for a block for the reference frame in the bitstream, the second information being obtained for each of a plurality of blocks of the reference frame, the plurality of blocks being related to information for a block size in the bitstream, and
generating a compensated reference frame for the point cloud frame based on the second information.
IGUCHI discloses
encoding attribute data in the point cloud frame of the point cloud data (figure 6, [0190] First encoder 4630 includes geometry information encoder 4631, attribute information encoder 4632; [0195] The process of encoding attribute information may include a prediction process, using a reference node for calculating a predicted value of attribute information; [0402]) based on levels of detail ([0503], [0511] generating a predicted value of attribute information of a three-dimensional point using information on LoDs),
wherein the encoding the geometry data in the point cloud frame includes:
generating second information for representing whether motion compensation is applied for a block for the reference frame in the bitstream ([0232] The additional information (metadata) may be referred to as a parameter set or control information (signaling information); [0247] a process of generating encoded data of additional information (metadata); [0657] in the bitstream, a signal for each tile that indicates whether a motion vector is applied or not, the method of deriving a motion vector, or the method of compensation), the second information being obtained for each of a plurality of blocks of the reference frame ([0657] in the bitstream, a signal for each tile that indicates whether a motion vector is applied or not), the plurality of blocks being related to information for a block size in the bitstream ([0310] the tile additional information includes the information indicating the reference coordinate position, size, or side length of a bounding box after division), and
generating a compensated reference frame for the point cloud frame based on the second information ([0656] The three-dimensional data encoding device may use a different method of deriving a motion vector or a different method of compensation for each tile).
NISHI also discloses
encoding attribute data in the point cloud frame of the point cloud data (figure 5, [0179] attribute information encoder 4632; [0133] encoding methods (encoding schemes) for point cloud data),
wherein the encoding the geometry data in the point cloud frame (geometry information encoder 4631; [0133] encoding methods (encoding schemes) for point cloud data) includes:
generating second information for representing whether motion compensation is applied for a block for the reference frame in the bitstream (abstract, parsing a first syntax to determine, for each of at least one prediction tree in a slice, whether inter prediction or intra prediction is to be performed on the prediction tree, parsing a second syntax to determine a motion compensation mode to be performed on the prediction tree when the inter prediction is to be performed on the prediction tree; [0468]; [0479]; [0522]), the second information being obtained for each of a plurality of blocks of the reference frame (abstract, parsing a first syntax to determine, for each of at least one prediction tree in a slice, whether inter prediction or intra prediction is to be performed on the prediction tree), the plurality of blocks being related to information for a block size in the bitstream ([0117] three-dimensional points included in the prediction tree may be specified using a two-dimensional region of the two-dimensional image to which the first frame is mapped, and the bitstream may further include region information indicating a position and a size of the two-dimensional region; [0692]), and
generating a compensated reference frame for the point cloud frame based on the second information ([0522] In a case where the prediction method for the current three-dimensional point to be encoded or to be decoded is the inter prediction (e.g., intra_pred_flag = 0), In a case where a plurality of candidate points is specified in the inter prediction point cloud that is referred to when the inter prediction point is determined, average values of sets of coordinates of the specified candidate points may be used as coordinates of the inter prediction point).
Ramasubramonian discloses generating first information for representing whether motion compensation is applied to a reference frame of the point cloud frame in a geometry parameter set in a bitstream ([0133] When a point is predicted with inter-prediction, a mode value may be signaled where a mode value of 0 specifies that the zero-motion candidate is used for prediction, and a mode value of 1 specifies that a global motion candidate is used for prediction (us-provisional-application US 63131716 20201229 and us-provisional-application US 63134492 20210106 disclose the feature)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of LASSERRE, IGUCHI, NISHI and Ramasubramonian, to encode attribute data of the point cloud data, and to signal encoding modes, in order to better encode the point cloud data.
Regarding claim 3. LASSERRE discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a prediction unit is generated for the point cloud frame ([0017] a method for predictive encoding of a time-varying 3D point cloud including a series of successive frames divided in 3D blocks into at least one bitstream), and
Wherein the encoding the geometry data comprises encoding the prediction unit based on a number of one or more points included in at least one of the prediction unit or the block (figure 2, [0061] the block 4 could be encoded using 3D motion information representing a transformation between the reference block 2 and the current block 4 and a prediction error or residual; figure 3, [0067] For each pair of candidate reference block PC.sub.Rec selected, at step 18, from the searching region and current block PC.sub.Cur 4, the alignment of the two subsets of point cloud frames 6, 8 is achieved at step 20. By subsets, it is meant here the points of the reference frame 8 falling into the candidate reference block PC.sub.Ref and the points of the current frame 6 falling into the current block PC.sub.Cur; figure 2, [0061] the encoder will try to find a 3D block 2, named reference block, similar to the current block 4 in a current frame 6, that is encoded on a previously encoded frame 8, referred to as a reference frame. This process is based on a block matching algorithm. If the encoder succeeds on its search, the block 4 could be encoded using 3D motion information representing a transformation between the reference block 2 and the current block 4 and a prediction error or residual; [0029] each block to be encoded in the current frame is compared with several blocks within a searching region in the reference frame; [0066] Let's suppose that the left bottom corner of the current 3D block 4 is (x.sub.min, y.sub.min, z.sub.min), then the 3D-blocks of the reference frame 8 with their left bottom corners in the region ([x.sub.min−S,x.sub.min+S], [y.sub.min−S,y.sub.min+S], [z.sub.min−S,z.sub.min+S]) constitute the searching region of the matched reference 3D-block).
Regarding claim 4. LASSERRE discloses The method of claim 3, wherein points included in the block are encoded based on a number of one or more points included in the prediction unit (figure 3, [0067] For each pair of candidate reference block PC.sub.Rec selected, at step 18, from the searching region and current block PC.sub.Cur 4, the alignment of the two subsets of point cloud frames 6, 8 is achieved at step 20. By subsets, it is meant here the points of the reference frame 8 falling into the candidate reference block PC.sub.Ref and the points of the current frame 6 falling into the current block PC.sub.Cur), and
wherein based on that a point included in the block is outside a range of the prediction unit, the point is excluded (figure 3, [0067] For each pair of candidate reference block PC.sub.Rec selected, at step 18, from the searching region and current block PC.sub.Cur 4, the alignment of the two subsets of point cloud frames 6, 8 is achieved at step 20. By subsets, it is meant here the points of the reference frame 8 falling into the candidate reference block PC.sub.Ref and the points of the current frame 6 falling into the current block PC.sub.Cur).
Regarding claim 5. LASSERRE discloses The method of claim 3, wherein a motion vector for the motion compensation is generated based on a point located at a bottom, left, and front of the block and a point located at a bottom, left, and front of the prediction unit ([0147]-0148] The vector pointing to the matched reference 3D-block is signaled as (x.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−x.sub.min.sup.Cur,y.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−y.sub.min.sup.Cur,z.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−z.sub.min.sup.Cur)).
Regarding claim 6. LASSERRE discloses The method of claim 3, wherein a motion vector for the motion compensation is generated based on a point on a vertex of the block and a point on a vertex of the prediction unit ([0147]-0148] The vector pointing to the matched reference 3D-block is signaled as (x.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−x.sub.min.sup.Cur,y.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−y.sub.min.sup.Cur,z.sub.min.sup.MatchedRef−z.sub.min.sup.Cur)).
Regarding claim 7. LASSERRE discloses The method of claim 3, wherein a motion vector for the motion compensation is generated based on at least one of an average, a maximum, a minimum, or a median of points included in the block and at least one of an average, a maximum, a minimum, or a median of points included in the prediction unit ([0129]-[0132] the mean of the points falling into the candidate reference 3D-Block is denoted as M.sup.Ref, the mean of the points falling into the current 3D-block is estimated as C.sup.Cur, the translation vector can be determined based on M.sup.Ref and C.sup.Cur).
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1 (receiving/decoding side).
Regarding claim 11. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13. The same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14. The same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15. The same analysis has been stated in claim 9.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASSERRE et al. (US 20200258262 A1) in view of IGUCHI et al. (US 20210142521 A1), NISHI et al. (US 20230239491 A1) and Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20220207780 A1) as applied above in claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, and further in view of LASSERRE et al. (US 20230071581 A1, referred as LASSERRE’581).
Regarding claim 16. (New) LASSERRE’581 discloses
information is generated based on a number of points of a prediction unit of a point cloud frame, the number of points of a block, and a threshold, and wherein information for the threshold is included in a bitstream ([0022] determining that direct coding is to be applied may include determining that the number of points in the sub-volume is less than a threshold number. In some cases, the method may further include encoding a direct coding mode flag signaling that direct coding is used to encode the at least two points; [0072] Direct coding mode is usually applied in the case of sparsely populated sub-volumes. The condition for application of DCM is typically that the number of points within a sub-volume is less or equal to a threshold, where the threshold may be two or three in some examples; [0048] The threshold is set in advance and may be hard coded; [0084] If the threshold for DCM is two or fewer points, then operation 606 involves decoding a flag that signals whether there is one or two points in the sub-volume. If the threshold permits more than two points, then operation 606 involves decoding the number or the number-less-one).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of LASSERRE, IGUCHI, NISHI, Ramasubramonian and LASSERRE’581, to include the claimed information in the bitstream, in order to better encode the point cloud data by conditionally applying the direct coding.
Regarding claim 17. (New) IGUCHI discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the decoding of the geometry data in the point cloud frame further includes:
based on the second information, decoding a motion vector for the block ([0657] in the bitstream, a signal for each tile that indicates whether a motion vector is applied or not, the method of deriving a motion vector, or the method of compensation; [0659] a motion vector for each tile may be stored in GPS or the like; [0647]-[0648] transmission of a motion vector from three-dimensional data encoding device 5800 to three-dimensional data decoding device 5810; [0655] When dividing a large point cloud into tiles, the magnitude of a motion vector between frames may vary between tiles),
wherein the compensated reference frame is generated based on the motion vector ([0656] The three-dimensional data encoding device may use a different method of deriving a motion vector or a different method of compensation for each tile (the same as applied at the decoding side)).
NISHI also discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the decoding of the geometry data in the point cloud frame further includes:
based on the second information, decoding a motion vector for the block ([0456] Three-dimensional data decoding device 12920 may select one of the intra prediction point and the inter prediction point as the prediction point based on information relating to the prediction (prediction information) as to whether to select one of the intra prediction point and the inter prediction point as the prediction point. Information relating to the motion compensation such as motion vectors may be written in a header part of a frame or a prediction tree (Predtree)),
wherein the compensated reference frame is generated based on the motion vector ([0453] Motion compensator 12926 generates an inter prediction point cloud which is a reference point cloud for the inter prediction after alignment; [0676] the reference region for inter prediction may be associated with the target region by motion vectors (motion compensation information) for specifying which region corresponds to the target region).
LASSERRE’581 discloses
obtaining information for representing a threshold for a motion vector direct coding mode from a bitstream ([0044] the use of DCM may be conditional on the number of points within a sub-volume being below the threshold value; [0048] The threshold is set in advance and may be hard coded; [0084] If the threshold for DCM is two or fewer points, then operation 606 involves decoding a flag that signals whether there is one or two points in the sub-volume. If the threshold permits more than two points, then operation 606 involves decoding the number or the number-less-one; [0040] The direct coding of a point's position, e.g. its spatial coordinates within a volume or sub-volume, is termed Direct Coding Mode (DCM); [0049]).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488