Application Status
Claims 1-11 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on page 24. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-11 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from another multiple dependent claim (claim 3 is a multiple dependent claim in proper form). See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 4-11 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, line 3 recites “said antibody or fragment being capable of binding to CD38 and/or CD138”; any fragment that can bind to CD38 and/ or CD138 reads on a peptide/ protein of 2 amino acids or longer that is capable of binding one or both of CD38 and/ or CD138.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, recites “an antibody or antibody fragment” in lines 2-3 but in lines 3 and 4 refers to “said antibody or fragment”; is this “fragment” distinct from the “antibody fragment” previously recited? This renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the later recited “fragment” is to be considered a distinct invention. This rejection can be rendered moot by correcting the language to said “antibody fragment’ throughout.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Examiner’s note: Claims 4 and 9 also recite the terminology “preferably” and would therefore have the same rejection. Claims 6 and 9 also recite the language “more particularly” in the claim which also renders these claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu (EP 2176298 B1; IDS entered 09/18/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches an immunoglobulin Fc fusion that is covalently linked to an autoantigen selected from citrullinated fibrinogen (para 0009), wherein the target antigen of the immunoglobulin include CD38 and/ or CD138 (para 0086).
Regarding claim 2, Chu teaches that conjugate partners may be linked to any region of an immunoglobulin disclosed herein, including at the N- or C- termini, or at some residue in-between the termini and further that a variety of linkers may find use to covalently link conjugate partners to an immunoglobulin including PEG (para 0141).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (EP 2176298 B1; IDS entered 09/18/2023) as applied to claims 1-2 above and further in view of Lelieveldt (Sl: sn, 2019; PTO-892).
The teachings of Chu regarding claims 1-2 are detailed above.
Chu does not teach wherein said peptide is derived from all or part of the sequence of the alpha or beta chain of a vertebrae fibrin by substitution of at least one arginyl residue by a citrullyl residue.
Lelieveldt teaches affinity matrix (AM) technology comprising anti-CD138 F(ab)2 fragments conjugated to an autoantigen (Fig 10. Page 29). Lelieveldt further teaches that all plasma cells will be coated with the AM, however, the matrix will only capture any antigen-selective antibodies if those are secreted by the cell, wherein the cells will subsequently undergo complement mediated lysis (page 29). Lelieveldt further teaches that rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is hallmarked by the presence of anti-citrullinated protein antibodies (ACPA) that sustain destructive inflammation (page 30, paras 4-5) and that citrullinated fibrinogen is an autoantigen in RA that has been targeted with β60-74Cit peptide which is the major epitope of citrullinated fibrinogen (page 31, last para; Fig 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the β60-74Cit peptide as taught by Lelieveldt as the autoantigen in the anti- CD138 (or CD38)-spacer-autoantigen fusion as taught by Chu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Lelieveldt teaches that citrullinated fibrinogen is an autoantigen in RA that has been targeted with β60-74Cit peptide which is the major epitope of citrullinated fibrinogen and Chu is also targeting citrullinated fibrinogen. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to use the β60-74Cit peptide to generate an anti-CD138 (or CD38)-spacer- β60-74Cit peptide (autoantigen) fusion
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/551,129 (reference application) in view of Lelieveldt (Sl: sn, 2019; PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, the copending claims teach a hybrid molecule comprising at least one antibody Fc fragment covalently linked to at least one fibrin-derived peptide having at least one citrullyl residue, at least one spacer being optionally present between said Fc fragment and said peptide (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the copending claims teach wherein said spacer is a polymer containing one or more repeating units containing the ether group, said spacer preferably being polyethylene glycol of formula PEGn, wherein n represents an integer between 1 and 100, preferably between 1 and 10 and in particular 1, 2, 3, 4 or 8 (claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, copending claim 2 is identical.
The copending claims do not teach that the antibody fragment targets CD38 or CD138.
Lelieveldt teaches affinity matrix (AM) technology comprising anti-CD138 F(ab)2 fragments conjugated to an autoantigen used to deplete autoreactive memory plasma cells (Fig 10. Page 29). Lelieveldt further teaches that all plasma cells will be coated with the AM, however, the matrix will only capture any antigen-selective antibodies if those are secreted by the cell, wherein the cells will subsequently undergo complement mediated lysis (page 29). Lelieveldt further teaches that rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is hallmarked by the presence of anti-citrullinated protein antibodies (ACPA) that sustain destructive inflammation (page 30, paras 4-5) and that citrullinated fibrinogen is an autoantigen in RA that has been targeted with β60-74Cit peptide which is the major epitope of citrullinated fibrinogen (page 31, last para; Fig 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to target CD138 as taught by Lelieveldt in the Fc fragment antibody-citrullinated fibrin hybrid molecule as taught by the copending claims. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Lelieveldt teaches that anti-CD138 fragments conjugated to an autoantigen can be used to deplete autoreactive memory plasma cells. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to use an anti-CD138 Fc fragment to generate an anti-CD138 -spacer-citrullinated fibrin peptide fusion
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/AMBER K FAUST/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643