DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 2 in the reply filed on February 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the groups have the same special technical feature and general inventive concept of an amino modification using 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES). This is not found persuasive because since modifying polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) with APTES was known in the art as stated in the previous office communication and restated in the rejections that follow. In addition, the elected group does not require the argued amino modification agent, since it is recited in the alternative to a cyanuric chloride modification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 3 is canceled; claims 1 – 2, 4 – 20 are pending; claims 4 – 20 are withdrawn; claims 1 – 2 have been considered on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 18, 2023, August 21, 2024, December 11, 2024 and June 23, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 – 2 are drawn to an enzyme immobilization carrier obtained by a process, however are rendered indefinite for reciting “super-crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol” as the phrase is not a term of art and is not adequately defined by the claim language or specification. Clarification is required.
In claim 2, the phrase “self-crosslinking” is not adequately defined by the claim language or specification. It is unclear what steps must be carried out to “self-crosslink” such that one knows what is included and excluded from the scope of the claim; and what steps are required to obtain the claimed enzyme immobilization carrier, particularly since the carrier is defined by how it is made and not what it comprises. While Embodiment 1 discloses combining PVA with hydrochloric acid at 70°C, there is no clear evidence that “self-crosslinking” has occurred under these conditions, but rather appears to be a facilitator for crosslinking agents. Further, this step is not recited into the claim, nor is the term “self-crosslinking” limited to or defined by this process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zang et al. (2012) in view of Seera et al. (2020).
Regarding claim 1, Zang teaches a catalase (enzyme) immobilization carrier that is obtained by modifying polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) with 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) and crosslinking with glutaraldehyde (p.73, right col., p.74 2.2), or is an APTES modified crosslinked PVA.
Zang does not teach the immobilized enzyme carrier wherein the PVA is “super-crosslinked.” However, “super-crosslinked” PVA was known and commonly used in the art. In support, Seera teaches PVA that is crosslinked by both physical and chemical means, indicating a dual, or hyper, or double, or “super” crosslinked PVA (abstract). Specifically, Seera teaches polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) that is crosslinked by a freeze-thaw (or “self-crosslinking”) and chemical crosslinker (figure 1, p.6523), indicating the resulting PVA is “super-crosslinked.” As such, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use commonly used crosslinked PVA in the carrier of Zang as a matter of routine practice and experimentation, as evidenced by Seera, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective enzyme immobilization carrier.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699