DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed January 16, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1, 9, and 15-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wanuga et al (WO 2021/030685 A1) in view of Rahman et al (IEEE, 2020).
Regarding Claim 1, Wanuga teaches network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising [0031-0032 for wireless devices]:
at least one memory [0031 for computers and networks];
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to [0031-0032, 0037]:
receives a first configuration comprising an indication of at least one set of time-frequency resources for sensing [0040 for using WRTUs and 0107 for WRTU transmitting reference signals for sensing at specific times];
receives a second configuration comprising an indication of a type of sensing to perform on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0040, 0107-0108 for an activation indication];
perform sensing according to the first configuration and the second configuration [0040 with 0110-0111 for backscatter measurements for phase and CIR];
and transmit a report that indicates one or more sensing measurements based on the performed sensing [0040, 0107-0108].
Wanuga fails to explicitly teach and without suspending wireless communication, wherein the sensing is performed jointly with wireless communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources.
Rahman has a unified system platform that enables downlink and uplink sensing (page 1926, abstract) and teaches and without suspending wireless communication, wherein the sensing is performed jointly with wireless communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph for an RRU using reflected downlink communications].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam steering techniques, as disclosed by Wanuga, further including the reflections calculations as taught by Rahman for the purpose to enable RRU to sense the surrounding environment (Rahman, page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9, Wanuga teaches a method performed by a network equipment (NE), the method comprising [0031-0032 for wireless devices]:
Receiving a first configuration comprising an indication of at least one set of time-frequency resources for sensing measurement and a sensing [0040 for using WRTUs and 0107 for WRTU transmitting reference signals for sensing at specific times];
receiving a second configuration comprising an indication of a type of sensing to perform on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0040, 0107-0108 for an activation indication];
performing sensing according to the first configuration and the second configuration [0040 with 0110-0111 for backscatter measurements for phase and CIR];
and transmitting a report the conducted that indicates one or more sensing measurements based on the performed sensing [0040, 0107-0108].
Wanuga fails to explicitly teach and without suspending wireless communication, wherein the sensing is performed jointly with wireless communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources.
Rahman has a unified system platform that enables downlink and uplink sensing (page 1926, abstract) and teaches and without suspending wireless communication, wherein the sensing is performed jointly with wireless communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph for an RRU using reflected downlink communications].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam steering techniques, as disclosed by Wanuga, further including the reflections calculations as taught by Rahman for the purpose to enable RRU to sense the surrounding environment (Rahman, page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15, Wanuga teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising [0031-0032 for wireless devices]:
at least one memory [0032-0032];
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the NE to [0032-0032 and 0037];
transmits a first configuration comprising an indication of at least one set of time-frequency resources for sensing [0040 for using WRTUs and 0107 for WRTU transmitting reference signals for sensing at specific times];
transmits a second configuration comprising an indication of a type of sensing to perform on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0040, 0107-0108 for an activation indication];
and receives a report that indicates one or more sensing measurements based on performed sensing [0040, 0107-0108].
Wanuga fails to explicitly teach performed jointly with communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources without suspending communication.
Rahman has a unified system platform that enables downlink and uplink sensing (page 1926, abstract) and teaches performed jointly with communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources without suspending communication [page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph for an RRU using reflected downlink communications].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam steering techniques, as disclosed by Wanuga, further including the reflections calculations as taught by Rahman for the purpose to enable RRU to sense the surrounding environment (Rahman, page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16, Dwivedi teaches a method performed by network equipment (NE) the method comprising [0031-0032 for wireless devices]:
transmitting a first configuration comprising an indication of at least one set of time-frequency resources for sensing [0040 for using WRTUs and 0107 for WRTU transmitting reference signals for sensing at specific times];
transmitting a second configuration comprising an indication of a type of sensing to perform on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0040, 0107-0108 for an activation indication];
and receiving a report that indicates one or more sensing measurements based on sensing performed jointly with communication on the at least one set of time-frequency resources performed jointly with communication [0040, 0107-0108].
Wanuga fails to explicitly teach performed communication on the at least one set of time- frequency resources without suspending communication.
Rahman has a unified system platform that enables downlink and uplink sensing (page 1926, abstract) and teaches communication on the at least one set of time- frequency resources without suspending communication [page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph for an RRU using reflected downlink communications].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the beam steering techniques, as disclosed by Wanuga, further including the reflections calculations as taught by Rahman for the purpose to enable RRU to sense the surrounding environment (Rahman, page 1928, right column, fifth paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2, and 10, Wanuga teaches the second configuration comprises an indication of a waveform type for sensing measurement, an indication of a computational strategy, an indication of a sensing memory, or a combination thereof [0091 for multiple architecture types].
Regarding Claim 3, Wanuga discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to perform sensing jointly with information received on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0034, 0107],
decode the received information, and use a sequence decoded from the received information as a reference signal for part of the sensing [0037].
Regarding Claim 4, and 12, Wanuga teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to [0034, 0110]:
perform a sensing task on the at least one set of time-frequency resources that coexist with transmissions for a and transmit a third configuration to the network node for adjusting transmission parameters to assist the sensing by the NE [0108, 0119].
Regarding Claim 5, and 13, Wanuga teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to configure sensing modes on the at least one set of time-frequency resources together with an indication of a time domain behavior, including a one-time configuration, a periodic configuration, or a semi-persistent configuration [0034, 0107, 0113 for semi-persistent, aperiodic reporting].
Regarding Claim 6 and 14, Wanuga teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to receive a third configuration for performing beam measurements for communication with or sensing from one or more network nodes [0034, 0108 also 0152-0153 for blockage statistics and backscatter measurements].
Regarding Claim 7, Wanuga teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to receive a configuration from a network node with one or more of a first beam for sensing and information reception, a second beam for information reception, a third beam for information transmission where the transmission is used for sensing at the network node, a fourth beam for sensing, and a fifth beam for information transmission [0098 for pair of beams, with 0108, 0152].
Regarding Claim 8, Wanuga teaches the at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to receive a configuration from a network node with one or more of a first waveform for sensing and information reception, a second waveform for information reception, a third waveform for information transmission where the transmission is used for sensing at the network node, a fourth waveform for sensing, a fifth waveform for information transmission, and a six waveform for information transmission and reception [0107-0108].
Regarding Claim 17, Wanuga teaches first configuration, the second configuration, or both, are transmitted as at least one of a periodic configuration, a semi-persistent configuration, or an aperiodic configuration [0034, 0107, 0113 for semi-persistent, aperiodic reporting].
Regarding Claim 18, Wanuga teaches at least one set of time-frequency resources comprises one or more time-domain symbols configured as joint communication-and-sensing symbols [0056].
Regarding Claim 19, Wanuga teaches sensing measurements are based on at least a portion of a communication signal transmitted or received on the at least one set of time-frequency resources [0113-0114 for time frequency resources].
Regarding Claim 20, Wanuga teaches at least one set of time-frequency resources for sensing is outside a set of time-frequency resources configured for reception of data or control signaling other than the communication performed jointly with the sensing [0113-0114].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection, necessitated by amendments, does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 10, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Siomina fails to suggest jointly with communication time frequency resources. The examiner respectfully disagrees, new reference Wanuga teaches time frequency resources for joint communication systems [Wanuga, 0113-0114].
In applicant’s arguments page 12, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Siomina and Orhan do not teach the limitations of claims 3, 11, and 18. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Rahman teaches with time frequency resources without suspending communications [Rahman, page 1928, right column, 5th paragraph].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648