DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected, without traverse, Group I, claims 1-17, drawn to a biocidal composition, and species : 1) 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound: 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one; 2) pyrithione compound - sodium pyrithione; and 3) product species - 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one and sodium pyrithione, on 05/26/2026.
It’s noted NO species is elected for cystamine enhancer. Instant specification discloses cystamine enhancer having structure of compound I (See [0017])
and identifies cystamine dihydrochloride (R1=R2=H) as cystamine enhancer (See[0036]-[0037]).
Claims 1-17 read on elected invention.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim 18 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-17 are currently under examination in this office action.
Priority
This instant application 18/551,205, filed on 09/19/2023, is a national stage of PCT/US2022/020948 filed on 03/18/2022, which claims benefit of US provisional application No. 63/163,266 filed 03/19/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements 09/19/2023, 02/06/2025, 01/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR1.97. Accordingly, the reference listed in IDS are being considered by the Examiner. Reference written in foreign language is considered to the degree of English abstract or patent family of foreign patent.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “no less than one parts per million” which should be singular.
Specification
Instant specification discloses cystamine enhancer having structure of compound I (See [0017]) , (C2) should be (CH2):
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 10, 12, 14, 20, 30, 32, 34. It’s not clear what these reference numbers refer to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims are drawn to a biocidal composition, comprising: one or both of a 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound and a pyrithione biocidal active compound; and a cystamine enhancer. Instant specification discloses cystamine enhancer having structure of compound I (See [0017])
Instant Spec discloses cystamine dihydrochloride (R1=R2=H) as cystamine enhancer (See[0036]-[0037]). Instant Spec does not disclose any other cystamine enhancer with defined R1 and R2 as alkyl, alkenyl, alkylaryl group, etc. Instant Spec does not disclose any embodiment/working example/assay, wherein cystamine compound I enhances the biocidal activity of 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound and/or a pyrithione biocidal active compound. In absence of any working example comprising cystamine compound I, an ordinary skilled in the art would not know if the activity of 4-isothiazolin-3-one or pyrithione is improved or decreased by cystamine compound I. In absence of sufficient representative examples of cystamine enhancer, an ordinary skilled in the art would not know the applicant possess the full scope of instant claimed “cystamine enhancer” genus.
Instant Spec does not disclose any working example of biocidal composition comprising -isothiazolin-3-one, a pyrithione biocidal active compound, a cystamine enhancer and water in the form of aqueous dispersion to fully support instant claim 10. Instant Spec does not disclose any working example of biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one and sodium pyrithione as recited in claim 14. In absence of sufficient representative examples of biocidal composition comprising cystamine enhancer, an ordinary skilled in the art would not know the applicant possess the full scope of instant claimed biocidal composition and product genus.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a biocidal composition, comprising: one or both of a 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound and a pyrithione biocidal active compound; and a cystamine enhancer. It’ not clear if the biocidal composition comprising one or both of 4-isothiazolin-3-one, or both 4-isothiazolin-3-one and pyrithione biocidal active compound, or one or both of pyrithione. The term “cystamine enhancer” is also vague and ambiguous. Cystamine itself is a defined compound, however the scope of the term “cystamine enhancer” in absence of structure and definition thereof is not clear. The unclarity renders the metes and bounds of claim 1 uncertain. Claims 2-17 are also rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim 16 recites variety of product, wherein the product is a paint, a coating, ..., an ink, or a disinfectant. It’s not clear what’s encompassed by construction chemical product , the pre-product or intermediate of the chemical industry, auxiliary for leather and/or textile and/or photochemical industry, etc. The scope of claim 16 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO2015077209A1, hereafter “Brown’209”), in view of O’neil (WO2016046523 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 02/06/2025).
Brown’209 disclosed a biocidal composition comprising a first biocide comprising an isothiazolinone, a second biocide comprising a pyrithione, and a biocide enhancing agent, wherein he biocide enhancing adjuvant/agent may comprise an amine, amine salt, amine oxide, or mixtures thereof(See abstract, [0007]-[0011], Examples 1-5, Table 1-9; claims 1-24 ).
Regarding the isothiazolone biocidal active compound of instant claims 2-3, Brown’209 disclosed variety of 4-isothiazolin-3-one, e. g. 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one (BIT), N-(n-butyl)-1,2-benzisothiazolin- 3-one (BBIT), etc. (See [0019]-[0022], [0080], Examples 1-5, Table 1-9; claims 7 and 19).
Regarding the pyrithione biocidal compound of instant claims 5-6, Brown’209 disclosed pyrithione also known as 2-mercaptopyridine-N-oxide or 2-pyridinethiol-1-oxide, and variety of pyrithiones, e.g. sodium pyrithione, zinc pyrithione, etc. (See [0025], Examples 1-5, Table 1-9; claim 8).
Regarding the biocide enhancing adjuvant/agent, Brown’209 teaches compound of formula
, wherein R1 is a linear, branched or cyclic C6-40 saturated or unsaturated group; and
R2 and R3 are each independently of one another H or linear, branched or cyclic saturated or unsaturated group or R2 and R3 are both taken together in combination with a nitrogen atom to which they are attached to form a cyclic or heterocyclic group, optionally substituted. Brown’209 teaches
variety of amine, e.g. 1-dodecylamine, cocodimethylamine oxide, 4- dodecylmorpholine, Iauryl dimethyl amine, Bis (3-aminopropyl) dodecylamine, or mixtures thereof ( See [0028]-[0037], Examples 1-5, Table 1-9; claim 9).
Regarding claim 4, Brown’209 teaches the ratio of the first biocide 4-isothiazolin-3-one to the biocide enhancer from about 1:600 to about 1:2... from about 1:10 to about 1:3 (See [0059], claim 3, 15 ). Brown’209 also teaches the weight ratio of the first biocide isothiazoline to the second biocide pyrithione from about 1:200 to about 10:1(See [0058], claim 2).
Regarding the product of instant claims 11, 16 and 17, Brown’209 teaches biocidal composition
formulated as a concentrate and/or incorporated into different products, e.g. paint, a latex emulsion, a polymer emulsion, an adhesive, a sealant, a caulk, a mineral or pigment slurry, a printing ink, a pesticide formulation, a household product, a personal care product, a metal working fluid, and the like (See [0072]-0074]; Example 3).
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 15, Brown’209 teaches the first biocide (i.e. 4-isothiazolin-3-ones ) in an amount less than about 200 ppm, and at least 5 ppm, such as at least 10 ppm, 20 ppm, etc. (See [0060]) (which reads on instant claim 12). Brown’209 teaches the second biocide (i.e. pyrithiones) may be present in an amount from about 20 ppm to about 500 ppm, from about 25 ppm to 180 ppm, etc. (See [0060] ) (which reads on instant claim 13). Brown’209 also teaches the amine enhancer in an amount from about 100 ppm to about 3,000 ppm, e.g. greater than about 200 ppm, 300ppm, etc. (See [0060] ) (which reads on instant claim 15).
Regarding claim 7, Brown’209 teaches various amount of pyrithione (e.g. from about 20 ppm to about 500 ppm ) and amine enhancer (e.g. greater than about 200 ppm) (See [0060], Example 1-2). A skilled artisan would have known to explore different amount of pyrithione and amine enhancer wherein the ratio of amine enhancer to pyrithione would read on instant claim 7. For example, the ratio of amine enhancer to pyrithione could have been calculated as about 3:1 (200ppm/ 62.5ppm in Table 1). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
Brown’209 collectively teaches biocidal compositions comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound (e.g. 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one BIT), pyrithione in combination with amine component/biocidal enhancer.
Brown’209 is silent about cystamine.
O’neil teaches cystamine and derivative for prevention and treatment of bacterial/ fungal infection or disease/ condition, e.g. microbial biofilm, etc. (See abstract, page 4, lines 10-26; , Example 1, claims 1-39). O’neil teaches embodiments against variety of pathogen( See page 4, lines 28-34; page 5, lines 1-31) and explicitly teaches antimicrobial activity of cystamine HCl against P. Aeruginosa (See Example 1 ). O’neil teaches cystamine in combination with antibiotic agent (See page 6, line 13-15; page 28, lines 1-31). O’neil teaches cystamine may be used as disinfectant or biocide in combination with other disinfecting agents for different product, e.g. medical devices and indwelling devices, peritoneal dialysis tubing, draining device and the like (See page 12, lines 8-13). O’neil teaches formulation comprising cystamine and adjuvant/solvent (e. g. water) ( See page 24, lines 31-24) and in the form of aqueous dispersion, emulsion, suspension, etc. ( See page 24, lines16-17)(which read on instant claims 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one, pyrithion and amine biocidal enhancer taught by Brown’209 with cystamine as the amine biocidal enhancer, and arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time of instant invention, it’s already known that biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one, pyrithion and an amine biocidal agent/enhancer could be made as taught by Brown’209. It’s also known cystamine is antimicrobial agent that could be used as biocide as taught by O’neil. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore incorporating cystamine as the amine biocidal component and reasonably expect biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one and pyrithion and cystamine would exhibit enhanced/improved biocidal activity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art together with optimization based on general knowledge of biocidal composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Brown et al. (WO2015077209A1, hereafter “Brown’209”), in view of O’neil (WO2016046523 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 02/06/2025), and further in view of Colon et al. (US 9756859B1).
The collective teachings of Brown’209 and O’neil are elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Brown’209 collectively teaches biocidal compositions comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one biocidal active compound (e.g. 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one BIT), pyrithione in combination with amine component/biocidal enhancer. O’neil collectively teaches antimicrobial/antibacterial cystamine could be used as biocide and formulated in the form of aqueous dispersion. Brown’209 and O’neil are silent about water content in aqueous dispersion recited in claim 10.
Colon teaches stable aqueous dispersions of biocides comprising 1,2- benzisothiazolin-3- one (BIT) and water, for providing resistance to microbiological attack in both a wet state and a dry film state (See abstract, Col.2, lines 40-55; Examples 1-10; claims 1-17). Colon teaches various amount of 1,2- benzisothiazolin-3- one (BIT) (e.g. 1%-12% ) (See claim 1) and water, wherein water content is at least 20% , not more than 80% based on total weight of the aqueous dispersion. In certain embodiments , the aqueous dispersion comprises from 40 % to 60 % by weight water(See Col. 5, lines 16-34, 45- 50; claim 12 and 17). Colon teaches the aqueous dispersions comprising 1,2- benzisothiazolin-3- one (BIT) useful for imparting resistance to microorganism growth, including bacterial, fungal and algae growth, in a wide variety of products, e.g. paint, adhesives, textiles, leather, etc. (See Col. 9, lines 16-48; Examples 1- 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one, pyrithion and amine biocidal enhancer taught by Brown’209, based on beneficial teachings of O’neil and Colon, and arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time of instant invention, it’s already known that biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one, pyrithion and an amine biocidal agent/enhancer could be made as taught by Brown’209. It’s also known cystamine is antimicrobial agent that could be used as biocide as taught by O’neil. Colon teaches stable aqueous dispersions of biocides comprising 1,2- benzisothiazolin-3- one (BIT) and water that could be used in variety of product. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore incorporating cystamine as the amine biocidal enhancer and reasonably expect biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one and pyrithion and cystamine would exhibit enhanced/improved biocidal activity.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions". The difference between instant claimed invention and Brown’209 is cystamine wherein cystamine is considered as equivalent of amine component taught by Brown’209. A skilled artisan would reasonably expect the combination of isothiazolinone, pyrithione with cystamine exhibit enhanced biocidal efficacy because O’neil teaches antimicrobial cystamine could be used as biocide .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art together with optimization based on general knowledge of biocidal composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 11-14 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10721934 (family member of WO2015077209A1), in view of O’neil (WO2016046523 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 02/06/2025).
Reference claims are directed to a composition for preserving a product having biocidal properties, comprising: a first biocide comprising an isothiazolin-3-one present in the product in an amount of 15 ppm to 25 ppm; second biocide comprising zinc pyrithione present in the product in an amount of 50 ppm to 180 ppm; and a biocide enhancing agent comprising cocodimethylamine oxide, N, N-dimethyloctyl amine-n-oxide, or mixtures thereof, present in the product in an amount of 410 ppm to 1200 ppm, wherein the first biocide and the biocide enhancing agent are present in the composition at weight ratio of from about 1:600 to about 2:1.
Reference claim 3 recites a second biocide enhancing agent comprising an amine, an amine salt, or an amine oxide.
Reference claim 6 recites the first biocide comprises 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one...N-butyl-1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one, or mixtures thereof.
Reference claim 7 recites the second biocide comprises sodium pyrithione, zinc pyrithione etc. or mixtures thereof.
Reference claims are silent about cystamine.
As elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before, O’neil collectively teaches antimicrobial/antibacterial cystamine could be used as biocide and formulated in the form of aqueous dispersion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference biocidal composition comprising 4-isothiazolin-3-one, pyrithion and amine biocidal enhancer with cystamine as the amine biocidal enhancer, and arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore incorporating cystamine as the amine and reasonably expect cystamine as an amine component would enhance the biocidal effect of reference biocidal composition.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628