DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 19 in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17, 18, 20-22, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 19 are under current examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Citations provided without a publication date were not considered by the examiner as indicated by a line through on the IDS. See MPEP 609.04(a):
37 CFR 1.98(b) requires that each item of information in an IDS be identified properly. U.S. patents must be identified by the inventor, patent number, and issue date. U.S. patent application publications must be identified by the applicant, patent application publication number, and publication date. U.S. applications must be identified by the inventor, the eight digit application number (the two digit series code and the six digit serial number), and the filing date. If a U.S. application being listed in an IDS has been issued as a patent or has been published, the applicant should list the patent or application publication in the IDS instead of the application. Each foreign patent or published foreign patent application must be identified by the country or patent office which issued the patent or published the application, an appropriate document number, and the publication date indicated on the patent or published application. Each publication must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, and date and place of publication. The date of publication supplied must include at least the month and year of publication, except that the year of publication (without the month) will be accepted if the applicant points out in the information disclosure statement that the year of publication is sufficiently earlier than the effective U.S. filing date and any foreign priority date so that the particular month of publication is not in issue. The place of publication refers to the name of the journal, magazine, or other publication in which the information being submitted was published. See MPEP § 707.05(e), for more information on data that should be used when citing publications and electronic documents. Pending U.S. applications that are being cited can be listed under the non-patent literature section or in a new section appropriately labeled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1, 13, 14, 15, and 19 recite "...a ratio of copper ions to zinc ions..." and/or "...a ratio of copper ions to boric acid...". This language renders the claim indefinite because it suggests that there could be greater than one ratio of these substances to one another in the claimed composition, raising the question of whether the entire amount of each substance is included in calculating the ratio. Amending the claim to recite "the ratio" in each instance would obviate the rejection. This will not raise concerns over antecedent basis in view of MPEP 2173.05(e) which states: "Inherent components of elements recited have antecedent basis in the recitation of the elements themselves". In the instant case the ratio of any ingredient in a composition to the other ingredients is an inherent property of the composition.
Each of claims 1, 13, 14, 15, and 19 recite "...a ratio…” without indicating the type of ratio (e.g. mass or molar). As the relative amounts of each substance permitted in the claim differ depending upon the type of ratio, the scope of the claim is uncertain.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox et al. (US20130017404; publication date: 01/17/2013; cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2025).
With respect to claims 1, 5, 6, 13-15, Fox teaches a composition for treatment of wood (title) comprising copper and zinc (abstract). In some embodiments the copper ion source is a copper azole, wherein the copper azole typically tebuconazole and/or propiconazole (limitations of instant claims 5 and 6) and may further comprise boric acid. Thus Fox’s composition must contain copper and zinc and may contain an azole and boric acid.
With regard to the ratio of each substance recited in instant claims 1 and 13-15 as well as the percentages of the substances recited in instant claim 10, Fox provides the general guidance that the active components are present in amounts up to 10% of the composition (0016). This range overlaps with the ranges for each agent recited in instant claim 10 and also the ratios of each active implicit in these percentages overlaps with the ratios recited in the instant claims. The examiner considers it merely routine for one of ordinary skill to have optimized preservative efficacy of the inorganic metals and the antifungal agent, absent evidence of unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Also in general, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
With regard to claim 2, Fox discloses CuO (i.e. copper oxide; 0017).
With regard to claim 3, Fox discloses zinc oxide (0015).
With respect to claim 12, the composition can contain ethanolamine (i.e. an alkanolamine; 0022).
Claim 7 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox et al. (US20130017404; publication date: 01/17/2013; cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2025) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Li et al. (New J Chem 36, 9550; publication year: 2015).
The relevant disclosure of Fox is set forth above. Fox is silent with respect to a complex between the azole and the copper containing biocide.
Li discloses a synergistic anti-fungal effect of copper complexed with tebuconazole (title).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use a copper tebuconazole complex in Fox’s formulation. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide synergistic antifungal activity and would have had reasonable expectation of success because the complex had already been synthesized and investigated for this synergy.
Claim 8 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox et al. (US20130017404; publication date: 01/17/2013; cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2025) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Strid et al. (Treated Wood Fact Sheet; National Pesticide Information Center, Oregon State University Extension Services; publication year; 2019).
The relevant disclosure of Fox is set forth above. Fox is silent with respect to micronization of the azole or the size thereof.
Strid discloses that micronized copper azole was known in the art to have the benefit of small particles that fit into the small holes in the structure of wood, such that they are lodged (page 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use micronized copper azole particles in Fox’s invention. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance retention in the wood and had reasonable expectation of success because this benefit of small particles had been understood of as of the instant effective filing date. With regard to the size, micronization indicates approximately micron sized particles and it would have been a matter of routine to establish the size that would suitably lodge into a particular type of wood.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox et al. (US20130017404; publication date: 01/17/2013; cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2025) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 10, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Fengchen Group (website, Basic Copper Carbonate or Copper(II)Carbonate Basic; available online from at least 01/29/2018).
The relevant disclosure of Fox is set forth above and renders obvious all of the limitations of independent claim 1, from which claim 9 depends. Fox also renders obvious all of the limitations of independent claim 19, with the exception that Fox is silent with respect to using basic copper carbonate as the copper containing biocide. Fox discloses further that typically the copper ion source is present as copper (II) (0016).
Fengchen Group discloses that Heavy Copper Carbonate is also called Cupric carbonate, Basic Copper Carbonate. In recent years, Heavy Copper Carbonate (Cupric carbonate, Basic Copper Carbonate) has been widely applied in wood preservation field. Basic copper carbonate is a chemical compound, more properly called copper(II) carbonate hydroxide. It is an ionic compound consisting of the ions copper(II) Cu2+ , carbonate CO2− 3, and hydroxide HO− (page 2).
It would have been obvious to use basic copper carbonate as the copper ion source in Fox’s invention because one having ordinary skill would have recognized this substance as a source of copper (II). See MPEP 2144.07.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 12-16, 18-22, 24-28 of copending Application No. 18551209 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘209 application embrace a wood preservative composition comprising copper carbonate, boric acid, and zinc oxide as well as an azole, wherein the azole has been micronized and/or wherein the azole is in a complex with the source of copper (the copper containing biocide). The substance are present at ratios and in percentages that overlap with or embrace the ranges for the ratios and percentages of the substances required by the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617