DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 9-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connell (US 2018/0325011).
With respect to claim 1, Connell disclose an agricultural implement (19), comprising: a toolbar (75, see paragraph 69); a plurality of stationary brackets (86, 186, 286) fixed to the toolbar, each stationary bracket comprising at least one lateral member (77) oriented parallel to the toolbar: a plurality of row units (93, 193, 293, 393, 493, 593, 693, see paragraph 105), each row unit coupled to a sliding bracket (89, 189, 289, 566, 605, 724), wherein each sliding bracket is carried by and configured to slide along the at least one lateral member of a corresponding stationary bracket (see bracket 724 in figures 12-15); a plurality of actuators (480, wherein brackets shown in figures 12-15 move and also include features of brackets shown in figures 5A-5F, see paragraph 150), each configured to slide a corresponding one of the sliding brackets relative to the corresponding stationary bracket (see figure 12-15 and paragraphs 151-152); and a plurality of locking mechanisms (726), wherein each locking mechanism is configured to fix a position of a corresponding one of the sliding brackets relative to the corresponding stationary bracket.
With respect to claim 2, Connell disclose wherein the at least one lateral member comprises at least one member selected from the group consisting of a cylindrical rod, angle iron, an l-beam, and a square beam (see figure 1 and figure 14).
With respect to claim 4, Connell disclose wherein the at least one lateral member comprises at least two parallel lateral members (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 6, Connell disclose wherein the plurality of locking mechanisms comprises a plurality of locking plates (726) configured to be disposed within locking channels defined by the at least one lateral member.
With respect to claim 9, Connell disclose wherein the plurality of locking mechanisms comprises a plurality of locking screws (see figure 5F, wherein the actuator locks the bracket in place via 473 until more force is applied) configured to push the row unit away from the at least one lateral member.
With respect to claim 10, Connell disclose wherein the plurality of locking mechanisms comprises the plurality of actuators coupled to the sliding bracket (see figure 12-15 and 5F and paragraph 150).
With respect to claim 11, Connell disclose a method of adjusting a spacing between row units of an agricultural implement, the method comprising: disengaging a locking mechanism (plates 726) to enable a sliding bracket carrying a row unit to travel laterally along a stationary bracket carried by a toolbar of the agricultural implement (see paragraphs 151, 152): sliding operating an actuator to move the sliding bracket laterally parallel to the toolbar of the agricultural implement (480, wherein brackets shown in figures 12-15 include features of brackets shown in figures 5A-5F, see paragraph 150); and engaging the locking mechanism to fix a position of the sliding bracket relative to the stationary bracket (see paragraph 152).
With respect to claim 12, Connell disclose wherein engaging the locking mechanism comprises providing an interfering object (726) to limit movement of the sliding bracket.
With respect to claim 14, Connell disclose wherein providing an interfering object comprises disposing a locking plate (726) partially within a channel defined by lateral member of the stationary bracket.
With respect to claim 15, Connell disclose wherein engaging the locking mechanism comprises threading a screw into a hole in the sliding bracket (see figure 5F, wherein the actuator locks the bracket in place via 473 until more force is applied).
With respect to claim 17, Connell disclose further comprising removing a second sliding bracket from a second stationary bracket, the second sliding bracket carrying a second row unit (see paragraph 164, wherein the rows are adjusted).
With respect to claim 18, Connell disclose further comprising adjusting a height of the row unit after engaging the locking mechanism (see paragraph 56, wherein the height of the arms is adjusted via 65, and see figures 9A-9C and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell in view of Davis et al. (USP 10,882,065).
With respect to claim 3, Connell disclose that the lateral support is a square beam, but does not disclose that it is cylindrical rod. Davis et al. disclose that rods, rails, cylindrical members, and beams are equivalent support members (see column 12 lines 46-52). As both Connell and Davis disclose support members, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the square beam of Connell with a cylindrical rod as taught by Davis et al. for the predictable result of providing a lateral support.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, and 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell in view of Dreyer (GB 2072473).
With respect to claims 5 and 13, Connell disclose spacer plates but not spacer sleeves. Dreyer discloses spacer sleeves (11) which provide for coulters to be adjustable relative to the holders (see abstract). As both Connell and Dreyer disclose locking mechanisms, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the spacer plates of Connell with the spacer sleeve of Dreyer for the predictable result of holding the adjustable bracket in place.
With respect to claim 7, Connell disclose spacer plates but not locking pins. Dreyer discloses locking pins (11) which provide for coulters to be adjustable relative to the holders (see abstract and page 2 lines 16-20). As both Connell and Dreyer disclose locking mechanisms, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the spacer plates of Connell with the pins of Dreyer (wherein they are configured to be disposed within locking holes defined by the at least one lateral member) for the predictable result of holding the adjustable bracket in place.
With respect to claim 8, Connell disclose spacer plates but not jaw rings. Dreyer discloses jaw rings (11) which provide for coulters to be adjustable relative to the holders (see abstract and page 2 lines 16-20, wherein clamping straps are considered jaw rings). As both Connell and Dreyer disclose locking mechanisms, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the spacer plates of Connell with the jaw rings of Dreyer for the predictable result of holding the adjustable bracket in place.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the statement Examiner relies upon for the teaching of using actuators with the spacers in figures 12-15, “indicates that the assembly 722 with spacers 726 may be combined with or replaced by the actuator-driven carriers 566, 605, not that both the actuator 480 and the spacers 726 are used together in a single embodiment.” The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s arguments focus on the “replaced by” portion of the teaching, but does not address the “combined with” part of the teaching. Connell teaches that the embodiments can be combined, which results in an actuator and spacer as noted in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672