DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites, “wherein the the power brake system…”. Please delete one of the extra instances of “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isono et al. (U.S. 6604795).
Regarding claim 10, Isono discloses (fig. 1) An electrohydraulic dual-circuit power brake system (as shown), comprising:
a brake fluid container (62);
a piston-cylinder unit (12), a cylinder (one of 120,122) of piston-cylinder unit being connected to the brake fluid container (indirectly at least), the piston-cylinder unit including a first piston (106) which can be displaced with a first electric motor (100) via a rotation/translation conversion gear (112/114/116/102/110) in the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit to generate hydraulic brake pressure (piston 106 moves left and right), and a second piston (108) which is displaced in the cylinder by subjecting it to hydraulic pressure by the first piston or mechanically by abutment of the first and second pistons on one another (at least one of these two, as shown);
two brake circuits (front and rear, as shown), which are connected to the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit in a manner hydraulically separated from one another by the second piston (as shown); and
a power brake pressure generator (182) using which hydraulic brake pressure in a brake circuit of the power brake system can be generated as an alternative to generating brake pressure with the piston-cylinder unit (182 is capable of producing brake pressure “as an alternative” at least); and
a check valve (at least one of 132, 142, 98, 60, 184, 186) through which the power brake pressure generator is connected to the brake fluid container (indirectly at least).
Regarding claim 11, Isono discloses (fig. 1) the power brake system includes a respective power brake pressure generator (182, left and right) in each of the brake circuits the respective power brake pressure generators being connected to the brake fluid container by a respective check valve in each of the brake circuits (184, left and right, at least).
Regarding claim 12, Isono discloses (fig. 1) the first piston is connected to the rotation/translation conversion gear in a tension- resistant and pressure-resistant manner in such a way that the first piston can be displaced with the first electric motor via the rotation/translation conversion gear in two opposite directions in the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit (see col. 29 lines 30-54: “The control piston 106 is axially moved with a drive shaft 110 which is an output shaft of the motion converting device 102. More specifically described, the control piston 106 is advanced and retracted depending upon whether the pressure-control motor 100 is operated in the forward or reverse direction.”).
Regarding claim 13, Isono discloses (fig. 1) the first piston has no piston return spring (the piston 106 does not “have” a return spring, because the motion of piston 106 is controlled entirely by the rotation/translation conversion gear and associated drive shaft 110. The spring 124 is a return spring for the piston 108 to “return” the piston 108 to the right and to balance the pressure between left and right chambers. See col. 30 lines 4-29).
Regarding claim 14, Isono discloses (fig. 1) a slip control (170 and 172 at least), which has the respective power brake pressure generators (left and right 182, at least).
Regarding claim 17, Isono discloses (fig. 1) the power brake system does not have manual actuation (see col. 34, lines 31-41. At least one mode does not have manual actuation).
Regarding claim 18, Isono discloses (fig. 1) A method for returning pistons of an electrohydraulic dual-circuit power brake system, the power brake system including:
a brake fluid container (62),
a piston-cylinder unit (12), a cylinder (one of 120,122) of piston-cylinder unit being connected to the brake fluid container (indirectly at least), the piston-cylinder unit including a first piston (106) which can be displaced with a first electric motor (100) via a rotation/translation conversion gear (112/114/116/102/110) in the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit to generate hydraulic brake pressure (piston 106 moves left and right), and a second piston (108) which is displaced in the cylinder by subjecting it to hydraulic pressure by the first piston or mechanically by abutment of the first and second pistons on one another (at least one of these two, as shown),
two brake circuits (front and rear, as shown), which are connected to the cylinder of the piston-cylinder unit in a manner hydraulically separated from one another by the second piston (as shown); and
a power brake pressure generator (182) using which hydraulic brake pressure in a brake circuit of the power brake system can be generated as an alternative to generating brake pressure with the piston-cylinder unit (182 is capable of producing brake pressure “as an alternative” at least), and
a check valve (at least one of 132, 142, 98, 60) through which the power brake pressure generator is connected to the brake fluid container (indirectly at least),
wherein the power brake pressure generator is connected to the cylinder by a valve (184 at least), and
the method comprises: subjecting at least one of the first and second pistons to hydraulic pressure, by the power brake pressure generator (when the pressure generated by 182 exceeds a threshold, valves 184 opens, exposing lines 180 to the pressure therefrom, which is connected to the first and second chambers 120,122, thereby subjecting the pistons to that pressure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isono et al. (U.S. 6604795) in view of Besier et al. (U.S. 2019/0031165).
Regarding claim 15, while Isono discloses the rotation/translation conversion gear is coaxial with the cylinder (see 114,148,102,110,106 all coaxial with one another), it does not disclose the first electric motor also being coaxial therewith. In the same field of endeavor of brake control systems, Besier teaches (fig. 1) a piston-cylinder unit (32) with electric motor (32) coaxial with the rotation/translation mechanism (see pgh. 0036 and fig. 1 as shown) and the first piston (48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electric motor coaxial with the associated piston to eliminate the need for additional transfer gears required for providing the motor in parallel to the piston, thereby simplifying the construction of the piston-cylinder unit.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isono et al. (U.S. 6604795) in view of Besier et al. (U.S. 2017/0282877).
Regarding claim 16, Isono does not appear to disclose a redundant power supply and/or electronic control. In the same field of endeavor of brake control systems, Besier teaches (fig. 1) a first electronic control (ECU1) and power supply (70) associated with the first electric motor (35) and piston-cylinder unit (5), and a second electronic control (ECU2) and power supply (170) associated with the power brake pressure generators (142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided redundant control and power supply of the power brake pressure generator and piston-cylinder unit respectively to ensure brake pressurization in the case of one of the two systems failing, thereby improving safety.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various brake control systems.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616