DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahutski et al.(WO 2020112390 A1; 06/04/2020). Pahutski et al. prior art Table 1 compounds 79 through 220 render instantly claimed compounds for Formula One in instant claim 1 including instant specific compounds instantly claimed 8 compounds F1 through F121 obvious.
Pahutski et al. teach specifically compounds:
while instant claim 8 make claim to compounds:
WO 2020112390 teach
where L is -CH2- or -CH2CH2- is bonded between the aromatic ring and the N atom of the chemical compound rendering the instant obvious. While instantly claimed invention there exist a direct single bond between the phenyl ring and nitrogen atom. In the absence of a showing of an unexpected result for instant compounds differing only in the lack of a single -CH2- group would render instant claims obvious over prior art: WO 2020112390 A1 due to chemical structure similarity differing entirely only by a single “methylene” group.
Pahutski et al.’s abstract teach that their compounds are used in methods of controlling pests. Pahutski et al. at pages 5,83-84 teach that the pesticidal compounds can be combined with diluents, carriers. Pahutski et al. at page 5 lines 23 – page 6 line 4. teach the compounds are applied to plants, seeds to control pest. Pahutski et al. at page 26 lines 17- 33 teach the compounds are applied to soil.
MPEP 2144.09 Close Structural Similarity Between Chemical Compounds (Homologs, Analogues, Isomers) [R-01.2024]
“In the context of US patent law and the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP), a methylene group is part of the prior art analysis and does not, by itself, make a single bond obvious. Its significance depends on the specific chemical structure and whether one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify a known compound to include it, with a reasonable expectation of success.
What is a methylene group? A methylene group is a part of a molecule that consists of a carbon atom bonded to two hydrogen atoms and connected to the rest of the molecule by two single bonds. The formula is written as
−CH2−negative cap C cap H sub 2 minus −𝐶𝐻2−.
The obviousness test
An obviousness rejection is made when a claimed invention, including a chemical compound, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) at the time of the invention. For chemical compounds, a prima facie case of obviousness is often established when there are very close structural similarities between the claimed compound and prior art compounds, and they share similar utilities.
How a methylene group fits into the obviousness test
Motivation to modify: The key to obviousness is whether a POSA would have had a motivation or rationale to modify a known prior art compound to arrive at the claimed invention. Adding or removing a methylene group is a common structural variation in organic chemistry.
Predictable results: The rejection is supported if the modification would have yielded a predictable result. This is often the case when a methylene group is simply added to extend an alkyl chain, for example.
Unexpected results can counter a rejection: An applicant can overcome an obviousness rejection by showing that the modification produced an unexpected and improved result. This is the argument that a methylene group substitution was not obvious. For example, in In re Lamberti (1976), the court considered whether a prior art reference disclosing a compound with "at least one methylene group" attached to a sulfur atom would make it obvious to a POSA to create compounds with multiple or asymmetrical alkyl groups. “
Telephonic Inquiry
/ALTON N PRYOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616