DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 9/19/2023 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), based on an application filed in Federal Republic of Germany on 3/25/2021. The Applicant has filed a certified copy of the DE10 2021 107 597.1 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55, which has been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2023 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 9/19/2023 are accepted to by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 25-56 in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 61 to 85 are objected. The numbering of the claims are not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The claim numbers from 61 to 85 are changed during an amendment in reply to Restriction Requirement. It triggered an informality objection for lack of clear claim numbering. In patent practice, applicants are not allowed to arbitrarily renumber original claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-26, 28-29, 46 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimoto et al. (US 2017/0253184).
Regarding claim 24, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly of an exterior rear-view device to be mounted to a vehicle and to moveably support a head assembly (refer to US 20170253184, Fig. 2, base assembly 11), comprising: three cover pieces (first and second cover members 12a and 12b, [0066]; lower panel 28, [0070]) configured to releasably mantle a base frame (11; body 11 of the mirror base 10, [0070], see Fig. 2) by being attached via one or more clip, snap, or latch connections (first and second cover members 12a and 12b are engaged with each other and attached to the body 11 via, for instance, engaging pawls, [0066]).
Regarding claim 25, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), wherein the three cover pieces comprise a lower base cover, a base cover cap, and an upper base cover (12a, 28 and 12b; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), wherein the three cover pieces are plastic (made of, for example, a resin material, [0066]).
Regarding claim 28, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), wherein the three cover pieces cover an arm (arm 10, Fig. 1) of the base frame from a door attachment portion to a head attachment portion of the base frame (see Fig. 1; The mirror base 10 is fixed to an outer panel P of the vehicle, [0056]).
Regarding claim 29, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), wherein the one or more clip, snap, latch connections are provided between the three cover pieces, the three cover pieces and a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame, the three cover pieces and the base frame, or the three cover pieces, the sealing means and the base frame to provide the base assembly (FIG. 2, the mirror base 10 includes a body 11, a cover 12, and a seal 13, [0056]; three cover pieces, 12a, 12b and 28; mirror base 10 is fixed to an outer panel P of the door of a vehicle body and is provided to support the mirror head 20, [0056]; first and second cover members 12a and 12b are engaged with each other and attached to the body 11 via, for instance, engaging pawls, [0066]).
Regarding claim 46, Nishimoto et al. teaches an exterior rear view device (refer to US 20170253184, Figs. 1-2), comprising a base assembly with a base frame to be attached to a vehicle (11; body 11 of the mirror base 10, [0070], see Fig. 2; three cover pieces, 12a, 12b and 28; mirror base 10 is fixed to an outer panel P of the door of a vehicle body and is provided to support the mirror head 20, [0056];); a head assembly (mirror head 20, [0058], Fig. 1) configured to support at least one reflective element, display element, and/or camera, (mirror head 20 includes a mirror surface 21, [0070], Fig. 1) with the head assembly being attached to the base assembly in a moveable manner (fold mechanism 25.., the mirror head 20 is movable between a folded position and an operative position, [0072]); a sealing means configured to be installed between the base assembly and a door of the vehicle (mirror base 10 includes a body 11, a cover 12, and a seal 13. The body 11 has a bottom which extends along an outer surface of the outer panel P of the vehicle, [0056]), wherein the base frame is mantled with a base cover comprising three cover pieces (12a, 12b and 28, Fig. 2) configured to releasably mantle the base frame (see Fig. 2) by being attached via one or more clip, snap, or latch connections (first and second cover members 12a and 12b, [0066]; lower panel 28, [0070], configured to releasably mantle a base frame; 11; body 11 of the mirror base 10, [0070], see Fig. 2; by being attached via one or more clip, snap, or latch connections, first and second cover members 12a and 12b are engaged with each other and attached to the body 11 via, for instance, engaging pawls, [0066]).
Regarding claim 50, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), further comprising: an articulation assembly configured to move the head assembly relative to the base assembly (A motor, speed reducing gears and other components are housed inside the casing 25b. Driven by the motor, the casing 25b is rotated about the shaft 25a. This makes the visor 24 rotate about the shaft 25a. Being known in the art, a detailed explanation of the structure of the power fold mechanism 25, [0072]).
Regarding claim 51, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), further comprising at least one functional device, comprising one or more of a light module, a turn signal indicator module, a blind spot indicator module, or a human machine interface; a Bluetooth module; a sensor module, a temperature sensor, a touch sensor or a contamination sensor; a cleaning device for cleaning a lens, comprising at least one fluid port or nozzle ; or a control unit configured to control at least one of the display element, the articulation assembly, and the functional device, (a turn signal light assembly 26, [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Ishigami et al. (US 2002/0130239).
Regarding claim 27, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the three cover pieces isolate the base frame being made from a metal. Nishimoto and Ishigami are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror. Ishigami teaches the three cover pieces isolate the base frame being made from a metal (mirror frame is metal, [0012], frame is made of metal, [0017], mirror device 10 for a vehicle is equipped with a metal frame 12, [0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include metal, as taught by Ishigami for the predictable advantage of arranging preventing the frame from breaking, [0144].
Regarding claims 38-41, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto et al. teaches attachment means for attachment to the lower base cover comprising peg-like projections and a tab (support elements 24 of the camera 20 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 are supported by the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a of the transparent cover 10, for mounting of the camera module into the mirror housing 2, [0046]; step 11b, which engages with a top rim of the cover 12, is formed on a circumferential rim of the top of the body 11, [0058]).
Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the base cover cap includes one or more sixth attachment means for attachment to the upper base cover comprising peg-like projections, aslot, and two clips, in form of two leaf spring clips adapted to rest on the base frame at a root and end, allowing a middle portion there between to flex downwards, (claim 38), wherein the base cover cap includes one or more seventh attachment means for attachment to the base frame comprising at least one clip (claim 39), wherein the upper base cover is provided with one or more eighth attachment means for attachment to the lower base cover comprising location pegs and/or at least one clip (claim 40), wherein the base cover cap includes one or more ninth attachment means for attachment to with the base cover cap comprising clip retention extensions and at least one alignment projection, (claim 41).
Nishimoto and Ishigami are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Ishigami teaches base cover comprising peg-like projections/projecting hooks 48, [0105], slot/hole 48, clips 72/74, [0106], the resin engaging claws of the visor rim are engaged in a state in which they apply elastic force [0011], engaging hooks 36, nipping claws 38, elastic hook 30 applies elastic force to the frame 12, [0101], frame 12 nipped between the plurality of engaging projections 32 provided at the elastic/spring hook 30 of the visor rim 28A, [0091], cover 28B and the visor rim 28A can thereby easily be removed, [0100]; rigid hooks 34. widened portion 50 of the projecting hook 48 being nipped from the widening direction thereof by the pair of nipping claws 38 of the engaging hook 36, [0084]; adjusting mechanism 16, a jig 58, releasing of the engagement of the engagement hook 36 with the projecting hook 48 [0097]. elastic pieces 154, which form impeding pieces, are provided at three places of the visor rim 128 in correspondence with the three-visor cover 134 side anchor pieces 146. Each of the elastic pieces 154 is formed such that, at the bottom wall of the recessed region 130 of the visor rim 128, the periphery of the elastic piece 154 is open in a U-shape. The distal end portion of the elastic piece 154 extends in a direction substantially orthogonal to the extending direction of the visor cover 134 side anchor piece 146, and is provided with a projection 156 at the mirror frame 120 side thereof, [0122], Fig. 15; a hook piece 164 and a corresponding projection 166, which engage with each other, are each provided at one place at the inner side at the open end portion of the visor rim 128 and the visor cover 134, [0125]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto wherein the base cover cap includes one or more attachment means for attachment to the upper base cover and lower base cove as claimed in claims 38-41, as taught by Ishigami for the predictable advantage of lower costs and easier assembly work by reduction in the number of parts, and a reduction in the number of assembly processes as Ishigami disclosed in [0013-0014].
Claims 30-31, 34-37 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Misaiji et al. (US 2003/0098908).
Regarding claim 30, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the lower base cover includes an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches the lower base cover includes an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle (camera 20 includes a holder 21 of a rectangular parallelepiped shape and the CCD camera 22 built in the holder 21, [0044], Figs. 3, 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of arranging a camera for monitoring of the surrounding of the vehicle, as taught by Misaiji in [0004].
Regarding claim 31, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the lower base cover includes one or more first attachment means comprising one or more clips and a multi-functional assembly projection for attachment to the base frame.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches the lower base cover includes one or more first attachment means comprising one or more clips (ridge 10a of which is held by the support projection 9, [0040]) and a multi-functional assembly projection for attachment to the base frame (camera built-in rearview mirror according and plurality of luminous bodies 30 attachment to the base frame). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include one or more first attachment means comprising one or more clips and a multi-functional assembly projection for attachment to the base frame, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of arranging a camera for monitoring of the surrounding of the vehicle and improve the quality of acquired images with the light at night, as taught by Misaiji in [0004] and [0054]].
Regarding claim 34, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the lower base cover includes one or more third attachment means for attachment to the base cover cap comprising a multi-functional assembly projection and openings.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches the lower base cover includes one or more third attachment means for attachment to the base cover cap comprising a multi-functional assembly projection and openings (opening 8 can be closed by the transparent cover 10 while the camera 20 and is installed and luminous bodies 30 such as LEDs are provided and the light emitted by the luminous bodies 30 is directed through the transparent cover 10, [0054-0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto wherein the lower base cover includes one or more third attachment means for attachment to the base cover cap comprising a multi-functional assembly projection and openings, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of protecting the camera and LEDs and shielding to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 35, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the lower base cover includes one or more fourth attachment means for attachment to the upper base cover comprising a pocket and openings.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches the lower base cover includes one or more fourth attachment means for attachment to the upper base cover comprising a pocket and openings (A plurality of support elements 24 are provided around the camera 20. Each of the support elements 24 is inserted through the opening 8 to be in contact with the support projection 9 and interposed between the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a of the transparent cover 10, [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto wherein the lower base cover includes one or more fourth attachment means for attachment to the upper base cover comprising a pocket and openings, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of elastically held the camera 20 in the mirror housing 2 attachably thereto and detachably therefrom utilizing bending elasticity of the support element 5 as shown in FIG. 4, [0047].
Regarding claim 36, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the base cover cap includes an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches the base cover cap includes an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle (Fig. 7 shows camera attached to the base frame via a camera support). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto wherein the base cover cap includes an opening for a camera attached to the base frame via a camera cradle, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of securely holding the camera on the transparent cover 10 to securely hold the camera as shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 37, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the base cover cap includes one or more fifth attachment means for attachment to the lower base cover comprising peg-like projections and a tab.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Misaiji teaches wherein the base cover cap includes one or more fifth attachment means for attachment to the lower base cover comprising peg-like projections and a tab (support elements 24 of the camera 20 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 are supported by the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a of the transparent cover 10, for mounting of the camera module into the mirror housing 2, [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto wherein the base cover cap includes one or more fifth attachment means for attachment to the lower base cover comprising peg-like projections and a tab for the predictable advantage of support elements 24 of the camera 20 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 are supported by the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a of the transparent cover 10. This will complete temporary mounting of the camera module into the mirror housing 2, [0046].
Regarding claim 47, The Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), moveable head assembly or in the base assembly, attached to the base frame (head 20 is movable between a folded position and an operative position, [0072]).
Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach at least one camera positioned in a non-moving area of the moveable head assembly and viewing through an opening provided by one of the three base cover pieces.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror
Misaiji teaches at least one camera positioned in a non-moving area of the moveable head assembly and viewing through an opening provided by one of the three base cover pieces (Figs. 3-5, camera 20 positioned in a non-moving area of the moveable head assembly 1, camera doesn’t move with respect to head 1; Fig. 5 shows opening 8 for the camera). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the exterior rear-view device of Nishimoto to include a camera positioned in a non-moving area of the moveable head assembly and viewing through an opening provided by one of the three base cover pieces., as taught by Misaiji, for the predictable advantage of arranging a camera in a save location for imaging.
Claims 32-33, 42 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Shaba (CN 103010107, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 32, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the lower base cover includes one or more second attachment means comprising one or more hooks for attachment to a door gasket substrate of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame.
Nishimoto and Shaba are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Shaba teaches the lower base cover includes one or more second attachment means comprising one or more hooks for attachment to a door gasket substrate of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame (door mirror base 2, a sealing gasket 3 and a door rear-view mirror main body 4, the door mirror base 2 fixed to the door of the vehicle by a bolt, the sealing gasket 3 is installed in the door mirror base 2 of the base main body 2a between the front door and the door mirror main body 4 in a freely rotating manner mounted on the door mirror base 2 to pedestal 2b, [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include the lower base cover includes one or more second attachment means comprising one or more hooks for attachment to a door gasket substrate of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame, as taught by Shaba for the predictable advantage of sealing the joining area to block water and dirt, stops wind noise, prevents metal-on-metal rubbing, and keeps the mirror securely attached to the car.
Regarding claim 33, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the lower base cover has an edge to engage a door seal gasket of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame.
Nishimoto and Shaba are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Shaba teaches the lower base cover has an edge to engage a door seal gasket of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame, (FIG. 1, the door mirror 1 is mainly composed of door mirror base 2, a sealing gasket 3 and a door rear-view mirror main body 4, the door mirror base 2 fixed to the door of the vehicle by a bolt, the sealing gasket 3 is installed in the door mirror base 2 of the base main body 2a between the front door and the door mirror main body 4 in a freely rotating manner mounted on the door mirror base 2 to pedestal 2b, [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include the lower base cover has an edge to engage a door seal gasket of a sealing means adapted to be arranged between a door and the base frame, as taught by Shaba for the predictable advantage of sealing the joining area to block water and dirt, stops wind noise, prevents metal-on-metal rubbing, and keeps the mirror securely attached to the car.
Regarding claim 42, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 25 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the upper base cover includes one or more tenth attachment means that include a hoop clip for engagement with a projection of a door gasket substrate.
Nishimoto and Shaba are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Shaba teaches wherein the upper base cover includes one or more tenth attachment means that include a hoop clip for engagement with a projection of a door gasket substrate (FIG. 1, the electric door mirror I is mainly composed of door mirror base 2, a sealing gasket 3 and a door rear-view mirror main body 4, the door mirror base 2 fixed to the door of the vehicle by a bolt, the sealing gasket 3 is installed in the door mirror base 2 of the base main body 2a between the front door and the door mirror main body 4 in a freely rotating manner mounted on the door mirror base 2 to pedestal 2b, [0018];
adjusting unit 20 of the housing 21 has a circular outer periphery, formed with a radially protruding hook 22 on the shell 21. on the hooking part 22 is provided with a rear-view mirror bracket 7 clamping claw part 7c of the hook strip 22a. Furthermore, formed on the rear-view mirror bracket 7 of the protrusion 7b is inserted into the positioning hole 21a (see FIG. 4) on the mirror surface angle adjusting unit 20 of the housing 21. [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include the upper base cover includes one or more tenth attachment means that include a hoop clip for engagement with a projection of a door gasket substrate, as taught by Shaba for the predictable advantage of install sealing gasket in the door mirror base between the front door and the door mirror main body in a freely rotating manner mounted on the door mirror base to pedestal, as Shaba teaches in [0018].
Regarding claim 49, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), moveable head assembly or in the base assembly, attached to the base frame (head 20 is movable between a folded position and an operative position, [0072]). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach the exterior rear-view device, further comprising: a retainer means between the base frame and a sealing means, with the retainer means being a plastic unit for a sealing and guiding harness.
Nishimoto and Shaba are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Shaba teaches the exterior rear-view device, further comprising: a retainer means between the base frame and a sealing means, with the retainer means being a plastic unit for a sealing and guiding harness, (door mirror main body 4 10. the electric wiring 10 of one end is provided with a joint on the mirror surface angle adjusting unit 20 of the connector portion 10b for connection of the electric connector portion on the storage unit 9 and is used for connection of the steering lamp unit 8 on the connector part 10d. the other end of the electric wiring 10 is provided with a connector part, see FIG. 1, of connection wiring of in the vehicle is. electrical wiring is led out to the vehicle side via a door rear-view mirror base 2 of the base body 2a and a sealing gasket 3, and the other end 10 side, [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include a retainer means between the base frame and a sealing means, with the retainer means being a plastic unit for a sealing and guiding harness, as taught by Shaba for the predictable advantage of install sealing gasket in the door mirror base between the front door and the door mirror main body in a freely rotating manner mounted on the door mirror base to pedestal, as Shaba teaches in [0018].
Claims 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 24 above, in view of Misaiji et al. (US 2003/0098908), and further in view of Amnon (JP 2020115349, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 43, Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 24 (see above), Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach the base cover, further comprising: a glare shield surrounding a lens of a camera, the lens extending through an opening of the base cover cap, and providing an opening through which the camera can obtain images, wherein the glare shield is configured to be releasably attached to at least one of the three cover pieces and/or a camera cradle of the camera via the one or more clip, snap, or latch connections.
Nishimoto and Misaiji are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror
Misaiji teaches the base cover, further comprising: a shield surrounding a lens of a camera (cover 10 and the shielding element 12 surround the lens 23 of CCD camera 22, [0052], cover 10 and the shielding element 12 prevent the light entering the opening 8, [0053]), the lens extending through an opening of the base cover cap (see Fig. 5 and opening 8), and providing an opening through which the camera can obtain images (see Figs 4-5), wherein the shield is configured to be releasably attached to at least one of the three cover pieces and/or a camera cradle of the camera via the one or more clip, snap, or latch connections, (Fig. 5 shows cover pieces is configured to be releasably attached to at least one of the three cover pieces). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of Nishimoto to include a shield surrounding a lens of a camera, the lens extending through an opening of the base cover cap, and providing an opening through which the camera can obtain images, wherein the shield is configured to be releasably attached to at least one of the three cover pieces and/or a camera cradle of the camera via the one or more clip, snap, or latch connections, as taught by Misaiji for the predictable advantage of arranging a camera for imaging and arranging a shielding to cove the lens for the safety.
The modified Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach the cove shield is a glare shield.
Nishimoto and Amnon are related as vehicle Rearview system.
Amnon teaches the cove shield is a glare shield, (image capture devices 122, 124 and 126, camera mount 370, and glare shield 380. FIG. 3C is a front view of the camera mount 370 shown in FIG. 3B, [page 15 of Machine translation]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the base cover of modified Nishimoto to change the cove shield to a glare shield, as taught by Amnon for the predictable advantage of minimizing the effect of any reflections from the interior of the vehicle on the image capture devices [page 16 of MT].
Regarding claim 44, The modified Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 43 (see above), Misaiji teaches the camera cover shield and at least one clip (see above), and Amnon teaches the glare shield the glare shield.
Regarding claim 45, The modified Nishimoto et al. teaches a base cover of a base assembly according to claim 43 (see above), Misaiji teaches, wherein the shield includes at least one clip, wherein the at least one clip of the shield is supported by the camera cradle (see Fig. 5-6) or at last one retention tab of the camera cradle. And Amnon teaches the cove shield is a glare shield, (image capture devices 122, 124 and 126, camera mount 370, and glare shield 380. FIG. 3C is a front view of the camera mount 370 shown in FIG. 3B, [page 15 of Machine translation]).
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of Merz (US 2014/0078389).
Regarding claim 48, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), moveable head assembly or in the base assembly, attached to the base frame (head 20 is movable between a folded position and an operative position, [0072]).
Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach the exterior rear-view device, further comprising: a camera cradle configured to be attached to the base frame by a friction fit and without any separable attachment element, with the camera cradle being a plastic unit for isolating a camera from the base frame.
Nishimoto and Merz are related as viewing devise.
Merz teaches a camera cradle configured to be attached to the base frame by a friction fit and without any separable attachment element, with the camera cradle being a plastic unit for isolating a camera from the base frame, (Camera accessory 56 may be attached to electronic device 10 using a friction fit, [0087], housing is formed from a single structural element (e.g., a piece of molded plastic, [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the exterior rear-view device of Nishimoto to attach the camera to the base frame by a friction fit, as taught by Merz, for the predictable advantage of having less connectors and easy to manufacture.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of Kuester (US 2016/0129842).
Regarding claim 52, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above). Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the display element is configured to be at least one of viewable through the reflective element when activated, or activated by at least one of a driver of the vehicle, depending on an output signal of the sensor module, via a vehicle control system, or via the control unit.
Nishimoto and Kuester are related as vehicle Rearview Mirror.
Kuester teaches the display element is configured to be at least one of viewable through the reflective element when activated, or activated by at least one of a driver of the vehicle, depending on an output signal of the sensor module, via a vehicle control system, or via the control unit (a rear-vision system for a vehicle includes a video camera mounted on the vehicle in a position to capture an image of a portion of an exterior thereof and a display mirror assembly. The display mirror assembly includes a substrate having a display in electronic communication with the camera for presenting the image thereon with a one-way reflective layer overlying the display, [0005]; when the display is in an “active” state shown, for example, in FIG. 3. Such an image can be supplemented with other information presented on display substrate 52. In combination with such a display substrate 52, mirror surface 54 may be applied thereover as a coating or separate element having properties of a one-way mirror to both provide a reflected image as well as to permit a video image of display substrate 52 to be visible therethrough. As further illustrated in FIG. 2, rearview mirror 10 can be electronically connected with camera 53 by electronic circuitry 63 within vehicle 12. Further, control circuitry 65 can be provided to both cause display substrate 52 to display the image from camera 53 and to implement corresponding movement of substrate 52 by way of control of the actuation mechanism, [0019], rotation of mounting plate 20 about first end 22 thereof. Such movement can be useful to position substrate 52 according to whether or not display substrate 52 is in an off state or an on state. When display substrate 52 is in an inactive state, as depicted in FIG. 1A, reflective surface 54 may be intended to be used and/or positioned to allow rearview mirror 10 to act as a typical rearview mirror, [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the motor vehicle side mirror of Nishimoto to include a door panel and supporting a window and a cheater panel sealed by a glass run seal, a display element is configured to be at least one of viewable through the reflective element when activated, or activated by at least one of a driver of the vehicle, depending on an output signal of the sensor module, via a vehicle control system, or via the control unit, as taught by Kuester for the predictable advantage of compacting and minimizing the size of the display system by using one monitor as a display as well as a reflective mirror.
Claims 53-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimoto et al. as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of SYVRET (GB 2396881, original patent is in English).
Regarding claims 53-56, Nishimoto et al. teaches exterior rear-view device according to claim 46 (see above), door panel also supports the exterior rear-view device of claim 46. Nishimoto doesn’t explicitly teach a door having a door having a door panel and supporting a window and a cheater panel sealed by a glass run seal, wherein the door panel also supports the exterior rear view device of claim 46, [claim 53], the glass run seal is arranged within a channel provided by the base frame with a retainer means and a sealing means, [claim 54]; a lip of the glass run seal engages the cheater panel and the upper base cover, [claim 55]; the glass run seal is at least partly covered by a waist finisher such that the base assembly extends from the waist finisher, [claim 56];
Nishimoto and SYVRET are related as vehicle doors mirrors.
SYVRET teaches A divider bar 24 between a quarter glass 26 and main glazing 28, preferably at a vehicle A pillar, has an integral base support 16. The support may be attached to the main door frame 11 and may have a door mirror support 12 having support arms 18, preferably in a triangular formation and of aerofoil section, to support the mirror assembly 13, Fig. 1, [abstract; rearview mirror 13, Fig. 1]; vehicles have a so-called cheater panel, i.e. the panel which is at the foremost lower corner of the glazed area of the door, immediately adjacent the lower end of the "A" post (the foremost body pillar which supports the front of the roof and the sides of the windscreen). On the other hand, some vehicles dispense with the cheater panel so that the door glazing can extend the full length of the door for appearance and visibility (page 1, para. 2); The quarter glass may have a front diagonal leading edge which in use directly abuts a seal on an adjacent A-pillar of the vehicle. [page 2, para 1]; There is no frame member along the front diagonal leading edge of the quarter glass, this abutting direct on the usual sealing strip on the "A" post. However, such a frame member may be included if desired, [page 3, para. 3]; quarter glass has a front diagonal leading edge which in use directly abuts a seal on an adjacent A-pillar of the vehicle, [claim 2]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the motor vehicle side mirror of Nishimoto to include a door panel and supporting a window and a cheater panel sealed by a glass run seal, wherein the door panel also supports the exterior rear view device; the glass run seal is arranged within a channel provided by the base frame with a retainer means and a sealing means, a lip of the glass run seal engages the cheater panel and the upper base cover, the glass run seal is at least partly covered by a waist finisher such that the base assembly extends from the waist finisher, as taught by SYVRET for the predictable advantage of provide a vehicle door with an improved mounting for a quarter glass, have a front diagonal leading edge which in use directly abuts a seal on an adjacent A-pillar of the vehicle, include a mounting surface for securing the integral divider bar and base member to a main door frame, [page 1 under Vehicle doors] .
Conclusion
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872