DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-11 and 15-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2005/0016852, hereinafter Amirkhanian in view of United States Application Publication No. 2007/0068573, hereinafter Cox.
Regarding claim 1, Amirkhanian teaches a system (item 200) for processing fluid containers, the system comprising: a first tray holder (labeled in annotated figure below) configured to hold a first inlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and is taught as item 72) and a first outlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and as taught as item 70), the first inlet tray comprising one or more reservoirs (paragraph [0050]), and the first outlet tray comprising one or more cavities (paragraph [0050]); a couplable upper member (item 100) comprising a sealing surface (paragraphs [0050] and [0082]); a moving mechanism (labeled in annotated figure below) configured to move the first tray holder in a first direction so as to bring each of the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray in contact with the sealing surface of the couplable upper member (paragraph [0050]); and a floating plate (labeled in annotated figure below) disposed between at least one of the first outlet tray and a top surface of the moving mechanism (see figure below), and the first inlet tray and the top surface of the moving mechanism (see figure below); wherein the couplable upper member comprises a cartridge (item 100) comprising a plurality of capillaries (paragraph [0050]), the capillaries being in fluid contact with the reservoirs of the first inlet tray and with the cavities of the first outlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114)); and wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray in the first direction (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and paragraph [0050]).
Amirkhanian fails to teach the moving mechanism is configured to independently move the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray in the first direction, and to independently press the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray against the sealing surface of the cartridge to form a first sealing interface between the first inlet tray and the cartridge and a second sealing interface between the first outlet tray and the cartridge; and the floating plate is configured to permit the at least one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray to articulate relative to the other of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray while the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray are pressed against the sealing surface of the cartridge.
Cox teaches a system for control of fluids in which the trays are loaded onto XYZ mechanism which permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the moving mechanism of Amirkhanian into two XYZ mechanism which have an individual tray loaded onto each one because it would permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]). The examiner notes that as the first inlet tray and second inlet tray are each on their own moving mechanism and floating plate, the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray would move independently in the first direction and would be able to be independently pressed into the sealing surface of the cartridge as well as at least one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray to articulate relative to the other of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray while the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray are pressed against the sealing surface of the cartridge.
Regarding claim 2, Amirkhanian teaches wherein the first direction is a vertical direction along an axis of the couplable upper member (see figure above).
Regarding claim 4, modified Amirkhanian teaches wherein the first direction is a vertical direction along an axis of the couplable upper member (see supra).
Regarding claim 6, Amirkhanian teaches a pressure applied to the couplable upper member by the moving mechanism via one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray is independent from another pressure applied by the moving mechanism to the couplable upper member via the other one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray, such that a first sealing force applied at the first sealing interface is independently controllable relative to a second sealing force applied at the second sealing interface (functional limitation (MPEP § 2114) and see supra).
Regarding claim 7, Amirkhanian teaches a portion of the first tray holder that is underneath at least one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray comprises a cutout so as to expose a bottom portion thereof (see figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Amirkhanian teaches the moving mechanism is further configured to move the first tray holder in a horizontal direction (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Amirkhanian teaches the moving mechanism comprises at least two independent moving platforms (see supra), a first moving platform configured to move the first inlet tray against a bottom surface of the couplable upper member (see supra), and a second moving platform configured to move the first outlet tray against the bottom surface of the couplable upper member (see supra) independently of the first moving platform (see supra), wherein the first moving platform is configured to apply a first sealing force through the first inlet tray to the cartridge (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and see supra), and the second moving platform is configured to apply a second sealing force through the first outlet tray to the cartridge independently of the first sealing force (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and see supra).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amirkhanian and Cox as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2015/0276780, hereinafter Bremer.
Regarding claim 10, Amirkhanian and Cox teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, they fail to teach a second tray holder configured to hold a second inlet tray and a second outlet tray; the second inlet tray being configured to contain one or more fluid reservoirs; and the second outlet tray comprising one or more cavities; wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the second tray holder in the first direction.
Bremer teaches a device for extraction in which there is a first and second tray holder so that the device is able to have a collector tray and a sample container tray where the sample containers are placed (Bremer, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the first tray holder along with the moving mechanism and floating platform because it would allow for two trays with one tray being a collector tray and the other tray being a sample container tray where the sample containers are placed (Bremer, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Amirkhanian teaches the second tray holder is a movable second tray holder (see supra).
Regarding claim 15, modified Amirkhanian teaches the moving mechanism comprises at least two independent moving platforms (see supra), a first moving platform configured to move one of the first inlet tray and the second inlet tray against a bottom surface of the couplable upper member (see supra), and a second moving platform configured to move one of the first outlet tray and the second outlet tray against the bottom surface of the couplable upper member independently of the first moving platform (see supra), wherein the first moving platform is configured to apply a first sealing force through the one of the first inlet tray and the second inlet tray to the couplable upper member (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and see supra), and the second moving platform is configured to apply a second sealing force through the one of the first outlet tray and the second outlet tray to the couplable upper member independently of the first sealing force (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and see supra).
Regarding claim 16, Amirkhanian teaches the couplable upper member comprises the cartridge (item 100) comprising a plurality of capillaries (paragraph [0050]), the capillaries being in fluid contact with the reservoirs of the first inlet tray or the second inlet tray and with the cavities of the first outlet tray or the second outlet tray (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 9/1/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-8 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Amirkhanian and Cox.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Cox does not disclose the independent tray-sealing arrangement of claim 1 or the claimed floating plate-articulation is not found persuasive. Amirkhanian is being utilized for the teaching of tray-sealing and well as the floating plate. As described above, Amirkhanian fails to teach the independent nature of both of these structures. Cox teaches a device in which two XYZ mechanisms are utilized for controlling trays as they permit complete flexibility. In applying the teaching of Cox to the device of Amirkhanian one of ordinary skill in the art would have kept the sealing portions and floating plate and just made each of the separate structures which each have XYZ movements and as they are separate structures they would be able to be moved independently have articulation relative to each other as described in the claim thereby rendering the claim as obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796