DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-11 and 15-24 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. With respect to Applicant’s traversal of the restriction requirement, Applicant’s arguments are based on the presently amended claims having a technical feature not taught by the references cited in the restriction requirement set forth in the office action mailed 2/27/2026. However, the restriction requirement was properly made with respect to the claims presented at the time of the previous office action (i.e., the claims as originally presented) and Applicant has not presented any arguments directed to the original claims. Also, even with respect to the newly amended claims, the amended claims do not make a contribution over the prior art (i.e., Groups I and II still lack the same or corresponding special technical feature) because the groups do not make a contribution over the prior art, namely Amirkhanian as set forth below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “a floating plate at least one of between…” seems to be missing a word or something else as it does not appear grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “a cartridge” in line 2 and claim 1 recites “a cartridge.” Claim 16 is therefore unclear if the cartridge recited in claim 16 is the same or different from the cartridge recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2005/0016852, hereinafter Amirkhanian.
Regarding claim 1, Amirkhanian teaches a system (item 200) for processing fluid containers, the system comprising: a first tray holder (labeled in annotated figure below) configured to hold a first inlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and is taught as item 72) and a first outlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and as taught as item 70), the first inlet tray comprising one or more reservoirs (paragraph [0050]), and the first outlet tray comprising one or more cavities (paragraph [0050]); a couplable upper member (item 100) comprising a sealing surface (paragraphs [0050] and [0082]); a moving mechanism (labeled in annotated figure below) configured to move the first tray holder in a first direction so as to bring at least one of the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray in contact with the sealing surface of the couplable upper member (paragraph [0050]); and a floating plate (labeled in annotated figure below) at least one of between the first outlet tray and a top surface of the moving mechanism (see figure below), and between the first inlet tray and the top surface of the moving mechanism (see figure below); wherein the couplable upper member comprises a cartridge (item 100) comprising a plurality of capillaries (paragraph [0050]), the capillaries being in fluid contact with the reservoirs of the first inlet tray and with the cavities of the first outlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114)); and wherein the moving mechanism is configured to independently move the first inlet tray and the first outlet tray in the first direction (functional language (MPEP § 2114) and the two trays would be able to be moved independently).
Regarding claim 2, Amirkhanian teaches wherein the first direction is a vertical direction along an axis of the couplable upper member (see figure above).
Regarding claim 6, Amirkhanian teaches a pressure applied to the couplable upper member by the moving mechanism via one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray is independent from another pressure applied by the moving mechanism to the couplable upper member via the other one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray (functional limitation (MPEP § 2114) and the moving mechanism would be able to apply a pressure as described).
Regarding claim 7, Amirkhanian teaches a portion of the first tray holder that is underneath at least one of the first outlet tray and the first inlet tray comprises a cutout so as to expose a bottom portion thereof (see figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Amirkhanian teaches the moving mechanism is further configured to move the first tray holder in a horizontal direction (paragraph [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9-11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amirkhanian in view of United States Application Publication No. 2007/0068573, hereinafter Cox.
Regarding claim 4, Amirkhanian teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Amirkhanian fails to teach the first direction is a vertical direction.
Cox teaches a system for control of fluids in which the trays are loaded onto XYZ mechanism which permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the moving mechanism be able to move in the XYZ directions because it would permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
Regarding claim 9, Amirkhanian teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Amirkhanian fails to teach the moving mechanism comprises at least two independent moving platforms, a first moving platform configured to move the first inlet tray against a bottom surface of the couplable upper member, and a second moving platform configured to move the first outlet tray against the bottom surface of the couplable upper member independently of the first moving platform.
Cox teaches the sets of samples and primers are loaded onto two XYZ mechanisms which permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the moving mechanism comprise two independent moving platforms because it would permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Amirkhanian teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Amirkhanian fails to teach a second tray holder configured to hold a second inlet tray and a second outlet tray; the second inlet tray being configured to contain one or more fluid reservoirs; and the second outlet tray comprising one or more cavities; wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the second tray holder in the first direction and wherein the moving mechanism comprises at least two independent moving platforms, a first moving platform configured to move one of the first inlet tray and the second inlet tray against a bottom surface of the couplable upper member, and a second moving platform configured to move one of the first outlet tray and the second outlet tray against the bottom surface of the couplable upper member independently of the first moving platform.
Cox teaches the sets of samples and primers are loaded onto two XYZ mechanisms which permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a second tray and the moving mechanism comprising at least two independent moving platforms holding because it would permit complete flexibility (Cox, paragraph [0201]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Amirkhanian teaches the second tray holder is a movable second tray holder (see supra).
Regarding claim 16, Amirkhanian wherein the couplable upper member comprises a cartridge (item 100) comprising a plurality of capillaries (paragraph [0050]), the capillaries being in fluid contact with the reservoirs of the first inlet tray or the second inlet tray and with the cavities of the first outlet tray or the second outlet tray (functional language (MPEP § 2114)).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796