DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, 28-36 are presented for examination.
Claims 5, 11, 14-27 are cancelled.
Claims 1- 3, 6, 8-9, 13, 28-30, 32 and 35 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 17, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Li fails to teach or suggest at least the emphasized limitations "determining, by a terminal, a mapping between HARQ information and at least one of following physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) information: an index of an orthogonal cover code or a PUCCH resource index, based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by a network device" of amended claim 1 (Remarks, pages 3-4). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Li teaches determining, by a terminal, a mapping between HARQ information and a PUCCH resource index (S101: A terminal device determines, based on HARQ-ACK information and a mapping relationship, a channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0116] Optionally, the channel resource in the mapping relationship includes at least a first PUCCH resource and a second PUCCH resource (these are the PUCCH resource indexes). Table 1 shows the mapping between the HARQ information and the PUCCH resource indexes. Based on the HARQ information the terminal determines the PUCCH resource to send the feedback.).
Li also teaches the mapping is based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by a network device ([0114] Optionally, the mapping relationship is preconfigured in the terminal device. For example, when the terminal device is delivered from a factory, the mapping relationship is preset in the terminal device. Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message.).
Therefore, given that Li discloses the terminal determines a mapping between HARQ information and a PUCCH resource index and Li discloses the mapping is based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by the network device, such as in Table 1, then Li discloses "determining, by a terminal, a mapping between HARQ information and at least one of following physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) information: an index of an orthogonal cover code or a PUCCH resource index, based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by a network device" of amended claim 1. Thus claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding the rejection of independent claims 8 and 28, claims 8 and 28 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 8 and 28, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 29-36, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1, 8 or 28. Therefore for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 13, 28-30, 32, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20200374046 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information processing method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a mapping between HARQ information and at least one of following physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) information: an index of an orthogonal cover code or a PUCCH resource index, based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by a network device ([0109] Step S101: A terminal device determines, based on HARQ-ACK information and a mapping relationship, a channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0116] Optionally, the channel resource in the mapping relationship includes at least a first PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index) and a second PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index). The mapping relationship includes: the ACK corresponds to the second PUCCH resource, and the {ACK, NACK} corresponds to the second PUCCH resource. [0118] Optionally, the mapping relationship further includes: the NACK corresponds to the first PUCCH resource, and the {NACK, NACK} corresponds to the first PUCCH resource. Further, the mapping relationship further includes: the {NACK, ACK} corresponds to a third PUCCH resource and the {ACK, ACK} corresponds to a fourth PUCCH resource. [0114] Optionally, the mapping relationship is preconfigured in the terminal device. For example, when the terminal device is delivered from a factory, the mapping relationship is preset in the terminal device. Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device may indicate, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. Table 1 shows the mapping between the HARQ information and the PUCCH resource index. [0093] For the PUCCH based on sequence selection, different HARQ-ACK information (or different downlink data reception statuses) is represented by using different PUCCH resources. [0096] Optionally, the PUCCH resource is identified by at least one of a CS, an orthogonal sequence (orthogonal cover code), and an RB. In this way, for the PUCCH based on sequence selection, different HARQ-ACK information is indicated by using different cyclic shifts, different orthogonal sequences, and/or different RBs. [0004] After the transmission time period of the PUCCH is shortened to one, two, or three symbols, a PUCCH transmission mechanism based on sequence selection is introduced to enhance performance of receiving a 1-bit or 2-bit HARQ-ACK. In the PUCCH transmission mechanism based on sequence selection, different PUCCH resources correspond to different HARQ-ACK information. For 1-bit HARQ-ACK information, two PUCCH resources are respectively used to indicate two HARQ-ACK states: an acknowledgment (ACK) and a negative acknowledgment (NACK). For 2-bit HARQ-ACK information, four PUCCH resources are respectively used to indicate four states: {ACK, ACK}, {NACK, NACK}, {ACK, NACK}, and {NACK, ACK}. To save reserved PUCCH resources, in an LTE short transmission time interval (sTTI) system, a NACK and {NACK, NACK} correspond to a same PUCCH resource, and an ACK and {NACK, ACK} correspond to a same PUCCH resource.).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal based on HARQ information to be reported and the mapping, at least one of the following information for a PUCCH transmission: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index ([0109] Step S101: A terminal device determines, based on HARQ-ACK information and a mapping relationship, a channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information, where a channel resource corresponding to an ACK and a channel resource corresponding to {ACK, NACK} in the mapping relationship are the same. [0116] The mapping relationship includes: the ACK corresponds to the second PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index), and the {ACK, NACK} corresponds to the second PUCCH resource.).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 2, further comprising: transmitting, by the terminal, the PUCCH based on the at least one of the following information for the PUCCH transmission: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index, and based on a PUCCH resource or resource set configured by the network device ([0135] Step S102: The terminal device generates an uplink signal based on the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0136] Optionally, the terminal device generates a sequence based on the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information, multiplies the sequence by an amplitude factor (amplitude scaling factor), maps the sequence to a physical resource based on the channel resource, and then generates the uplink signal. [0140] Step S103: The terminal device sends the uplink signal. [0142] In this embodiment, the terminal device determines, based on the HARQ-ACK information and the mapping relationship, the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0009] In the first aspect of the embodiments of this application, the channel resource corresponding to the ACK and the channel resource corresponding to the {ACK, NACK} in the correspondence between the HARQ-ACK information and the channel resource are configured to be the same.).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal, the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index, based on the configuration configured by the network device comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, a second higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the second higher layer signaling comprises the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index ([0045] Correspondingly, before the receiving the uplink signal, the network device sends indication information to the terminal device, where the indication information indicates that the mapping relationship is the mapping relationship 1 or the mapping relationship 2. The terminal device receives the indication information sent by the network device. [0044] where the mapping relationship 1 meets Table 4 and Table 5. [0114] Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device may indicate, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. [0115] The mapping relationship includes a mapping relationship between the channel resource and the HARQ-ACK information, and the channel resource may be a PUCCH resource and/or an SR PUCCH resource. The channel resource may alternatively be a cyclic shift.).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) information processing method, comprising:
determining, by a network device, a mapping between HARQ information and at least one of following physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) information: an index of an orthogonal cover code or a PUCCH resource index, based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by the network device for a terminal ([0164] The mapping relationship may be preconfigured in the network device. Optionally, after configuring the mapping relationship, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using signaling. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using an RRC message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device indicates, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. Table 1 shows the mapping between the HARQ information and the PUCCH resource index.).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 8, further comprising:
receiving, by the network device, a PUCCH from the terminal, and determining, by the network device, at least one of the following PUCCH information of the PUCCH: the index of the orthogonal cover code, or the PUCCH resource index ([0160] Step S301: The network device receives an uplink signal. [0161] where the uplink signal carries HARQ-ACK information. [0162] Step S302: The network device determines, based on a channel resource for the uplink signal, a quantity of HARQ-ACK information bits, and a mapping relationship.);
determining, by the network device, HARQ information based on the mapping and the at least one of the following PUCCH information of the PUCCH: the index of the orthogonal cover code, or the PUCCH resource index ([0162] Step S302: The network device determines, based on a channel resource for the uplink signal, a quantity of HARQ-ACK information bits, and a mapping relationship, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the channel resource that is for the uplink signal.).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 8, wherein configuring, by the network device for the terminal, the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index, comprises: sending, by the network device, a second high-level signaling to the terminal, wherein the second higher layer signaling comprises the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index ([0045] Correspondingly, before the receiving the uplink signal, the network device sends indication information to the terminal device, where the indication information indicates that the mapping relationship is the mapping relationship 1 or the mapping relationship 2. The terminal device receives the indication information sent by the network device. [0044] where the mapping relationship 1 meets Table 4 and Table 5. [0114] Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device may indicate, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. [0115] The mapping relationship includes a mapping relationship between the channel resource and the HARQ-ACK information, and the channel resource may be a PUCCH resource and/or an SR PUCCH resource. The channel resource may alternatively be a cyclic shift.).
Regarding claim 28, Li teaches a communication device, applied to a terminal, comprising a memory ([0222] the processor reads instructions in the memory and completes the steps of the foregoing methods in combination with hardware of the processor.), a processor (Fig. 8; a processing unit 11), and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to implement the following steps:
determining a mapping between HARQ information and at least one of following physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) information: a parameter value used for calculating a cyclic shift, an index of an orthogonal cover code or a PUCCH resource index, based on a predefinition or a configuration configured by a network device ([0109] Step S101: A terminal device determines, based on HARQ-ACK information and a mapping relationship, a channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0116] Optionally, the channel resource in the mapping relationship includes at least a first PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index) and a second PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index). The mapping relationship includes: the ACK corresponds to the second PUCCH resource, and the {ACK, NACK} corresponds to the second PUCCH resource. [0118] Optionally, the mapping relationship further includes: the NACK corresponds to the first PUCCH resource, and the {NACK, NACK} corresponds to the first PUCCH resource. Further, the mapping relationship further includes: the {NACK, ACK} corresponds to a third PUCCH resource and the {ACK, ACK} corresponds to a fourth PUCCH resource. [0114] Optionally, the mapping relationship is preconfigured in the terminal device. For example, when the terminal device is delivered from a factory, the mapping relationship is preset in the terminal device. Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device may indicate, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. Table 1 shows the mapping between the HARQ information and the PUCCH resource index. [0093] For the PUCCH based on sequence selection, different HARQ-ACK information (or different downlink data reception statuses) is represented by using different PUCCH resources. [0096] Optionally, the PUCCH resource is identified by at least one of a CS, an orthogonal sequence (orthogonal cover code), and an RB. In this way, for the PUCCH based on sequence selection, different HARQ-ACK information is indicated by using different cyclic shifts, different orthogonal sequences, and/or different RBs. [0004] After the transmission time period of the PUCCH is shortened to one, two, or three symbols, a PUCCH transmission mechanism based on sequence selection is introduced to enhance performance of receiving a 1-bit or 2-bit HARQ-ACK. In the PUCCH transmission mechanism based on sequence selection, different PUCCH resources correspond to different HARQ-ACK information. For 1-bit HARQ-ACK information, two PUCCH resources are respectively used to indicate two HARQ-ACK states: an acknowledgment (ACK) and a negative acknowledgment (NACK). For 2-bit HARQ-ACK information, four PUCCH resources are respectively used to indicate four states: {ACK, ACK}, {NACK, NACK}, {ACK, NACK}, and {NACK, ACK}. To save reserved PUCCH resources, in an LTE short transmission time interval (sTTI) system, a NACK and {NACK, NACK} correspond to a same PUCCH resource, and an ACK and {NACK, ACK} correspond to a same PUCCH resource.).
Regarding claim 29, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 28, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: determining, based on HARQ information to be reported and the mapping, at least one of the following information for a PUCCH transmission: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index ([0109] Step S101: A terminal device determines, based on HARQ-ACK information and a mapping relationship, a channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information, where a channel resource corresponding to an ACK and a channel resource corresponding to {ACK, NACK} in the mapping relationship are the same. [0116] The mapping relationship includes: the ACK corresponds to the second PUCCH resource (PUCCH resource index), and the {ACK, NACK} corresponds to the second PUCCH resource.).
Regarding claim 30, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 29, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: transmitting the PUCCH based on the at least one of the following information for the PUCCH transmission: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index, and based on a PUCCH resource or resource set configured by the network device ([0135] Step S102: The terminal device generates an uplink signal based on the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0136] Optionally, the terminal device generates a sequence based on the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information, multiplies the sequence by an amplitude factor (amplitude scaling factor), maps the sequence to a physical resource based on the channel resource, and then generates the uplink signal. [0140] Step S103: The terminal device sends the uplink signal. [0142] In this embodiment, the terminal device determines, based on the HARQ-ACK information and the mapping relationship, the channel resource corresponding to the HARQ-ACK information. [0009] In the first aspect of the embodiments of this application, the channel resource corresponding to the ACK and the channel resource corresponding to the {ACK, NACK} in the correspondence between the HARQ-ACK information and the channel resource are configured to be the same.).
Regarding claim 32, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 28, wherein the determining, by the terminal, the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index based on the configuration configured by the network device comprises:
receiving a second higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the second higher layer signaling comprises the mapping between the HARQ information and the at least one of the following PUCCH information: the index of the orthogonal cover code or the PUCCH resource index ([0045] Correspondingly, before the receiving the uplink signal, the network device sends indication information to the terminal device, where the indication information indicates that the mapping relationship is the mapping relationship 1 or the mapping relationship 2. The terminal device receives the indication information sent by the network device. [0044] where the mapping relationship 1 meets Table 4 and Table 5. [0114] Alternatively, the mapping relationship may be obtained by the terminal device by receiving signaling sent by the network device. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using a radio resource control (RRC) message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device may indicate, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. [0115] The mapping relationship includes a mapping relationship between the channel resource and the HARQ-ACK information, and the channel resource may be a PUCCH resource and/or an SR PUCCH resource. The channel resource may alternatively be a cyclic shift.).
Regarding claim 34, Li teaches a communication device, applied to a network device, comprising a memory (([0222] the processor reads instructions in the memory and completes the steps of the foregoing methods in combination with hardware of the processor), a processor (Fig. 9; a processing unit 22), and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to implement the steps of the method according to claim 8 ([0164] The mapping relationship may be preconfigured in the network device. Optionally, after configuring the mapping relationship, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using signaling. For example, the network device sends the mapping relationship to the terminal device by using an RRC message. Alternatively, a plurality of mapping relationships are predefined in a standard, and the network device indicates, by using signaling, a mapping relationship currently used by the terminal device. Table 1 shows the mapping between the HARQ information and the PUCCH resource index.).
Regarding claim 35, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 34, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement:
receiving a PUCCH from the terminal, and determining at least one of the following PUCCH information of the PUCCH: the index of the orthogonal cover code, or the PUCCH resource index ([0160] Step S301: The network device receives an uplink signal. [0161] where the uplink signal carries HARQ-ACK information. [0162] Step S302: The network device determines, based on a channel resource for the uplink signal, a quantity of HARQ-ACK information bits, and a mapping relationship.);
determining HARQ information based on the mapping and the at least one of the following PUCCH information of the PUCCH: the index of the orthogonal cover code, or the PUCCH resource index ([0162] Step S302: The network device determines, based on a channel resource for the uplink signal, a quantity of HARQ-ACK information bits, and a mapping relationship, HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the channel resource that is for the uplink signal.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 12, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Xue (US 20200412497 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 3, but does not teach wherein the PUCCH is used for reporting HARQ information of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying multicast and/or broadcast service, or HARQ information of PDSCH shared by multiple terminals; or
wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a first higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the first higher layer signaling comprises configuration information of the PUCCH resource or resource set.
Xue in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a first higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the first higher layer signaling comprises configuration information of the PUCCH resource or resource set (Fig. 5; [0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. [0102] The first PUCCH belongs to a first PUCCH resource set, and PUCCHs in the first PUCCH resource set are configured to transmit UCI of a first bit length range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the communication method of Xue. The motivation to do so would have been to implement enhanced transmission of the HARQ-ACK and improve communication quality (Xue; [0086]).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 9, but does not teach wherein the PUCCH is used for reporting HARQ information of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying multicast and/or broadcast service, or HARQ information of PDSCH shared by multiple terminals; or
wherein the method further comprises: configuring, by the network device for the terminal, a PUCCH resource or resource set for transmitting the PUCCH.
Xue in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the method further comprises: configuring, by the network device for the terminal, a PUCCH resource or resource set for transmitting the PUCCH (Fig. 5; [0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. [0102] The first PUCCH belongs to a first PUCCH resource set, and PUCCHs in the first PUCCH resource set are configured to transmit UCI of a first bit length range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the communication method of Xue. The motivation to do so would have been to implement enhanced transmission of the HARQ-ACK and improve communication quality (Xue; [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Xue teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 10, wherein the configuring, by the network device for the terminal, the PUCCH resource or resource set for transmitting the PUCCH comprises: sending, by the network device, a first higher layer signaling to the terminal, wherein the first higher layer signaling comprises configuration information of the PUCCH resource or resource set (Fig. 5; [0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. [0102] The first PUCCH belongs to a first PUCCH resource set, and PUCCHs in the first PUCCH resource set are configured to transmit UCI of a first bit length range).
Regarding claim 31, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 30, but does not teach wherein the PUCCH is used for reporting HARQ information of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying multicast and/or broadcast service, or HARQ information of PDSCH shared by multiple terminals; or,
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: receiving a first higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the first higher layer signaling comprises configuration information of the PUCCH resource or resource set.
Xue in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: receiving a first higher layer signaling from the network device, wherein the first higher layer signaling comprises configuration information of the PUCCH resource or resource set (Fig. 5; [0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. [0102] The first PUCCH belongs to a first PUCCH resource set, and PUCCHs in the first PUCCH resource set are configured to transmit UCI of a first bit length range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the communication method of Xue. The motivation to do so would have been to implement enhanced transmission of the HARQ-ACK and improve communication quality (Xue; [0086]).
Regarding claim 36, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 35, but does not teach wherein the PUCCH is used for reporting HARQ information of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying multicast and/or broadcast service, or HARQ information of PDSCH shared by multiple terminals; or,
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: configuring, for the terminal, a PUCCH resource or resource set for transmitting the PUCCH.
Xue in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: configuring, for the terminal, a PUCCH resource or resource set for transmitting the PUCCH (Fig. 5; [0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. [0102] The first PUCCH belongs to a first PUCCH resource set, and PUCCHs in the first PUCCH resource set are configured to transmit UCI of a first bit length range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the communication method of Xue. The motivation to do so would have been to implement enhanced transmission of the HARQ-ACK and improve communication quality (Xue; [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Xue; further in view of Stare (US 20230019024 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the HARQ information processing method according to claim 2, and Xue teaches further comprising: determining, by the terminal based on a reception of at least one PDSCH, the HARQ information to be reported ([0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. Further, the acknowledgment information is an HARQ-ACK for the downlink data channel, or is an HARQ-ACK for data transmitted on the downlink data channel. [0103] the terminal device sends hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment HARQ-ACK information through the first PUCCH. To do this the terminal must have had to determine the HARQ information to be reported.).
Xue does not teach the PDSCH is for carrying multicast and/or broadcast service or associated with the multicast and/or broadcast service.
Stare in the same field of endeavor of HARQ feedback teaches the PDSCH is for carrying multicast and/or broadcast service or associated with the multicast and/or broadcast service ([0138] the gNB transmits the information to the UE(s) comprising the group via multicast PDSCH. Furthermore, as discussed above, the gNB schedules such a multicast PDSCH by sending DCI over PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li and Xue to include the HARQ mechanisms for multicast in NR of Stare. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the reliability of multicast transmissions to wireless devices operating in wireless communication networks. (Stare; [0001]).
Regarding claim 33, Li teaches the communication device according to claim 29, and Xue teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to further implement: determining, based on a reception of at least one PDSCH, the HARQ information to be reported ([0100] Operation 501: A terminal device receives downlink control information (DCI) sent by the network device, where the downlink control information indicates a first PUCCH. Further, the DCI further includes scheduling information of a downlink data channel, and the first PUCCH is used to carry acknowledgment information of the terminal device for the downlink data channel. Further, the acknowledgment information is an HARQ-ACK for the downlink data channel, or is an HARQ-ACK for data transmitted on the downlink data channel. [0103] the terminal device sends hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgment HARQ-ACK information through the first PUCCH. To do this the terminal must have had to determine the HARQ information to be reported.).
Xue does not teach the PDSCH is for carrying multicast and/or broadcast service or associated with the multicast and/or broadcast service.
Stare in the same field of endeavor of HARQ feedback teaches the PDSCH is for carrying multicast and/or broadcast service or associated with the multicast and/or broadcast service ([0138] the gNB transmits the information to the UE(s) comprising the group via multicast PDSCH. Furthermore, as discussed above, the gNB schedules such a multicast PDSCH by sending DCI over PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li and Xue to include the HARQ mechanisms for multicast in NR of Stare. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the reliability of multicast transmissions to wireless devices operating in wireless communication networks. (Stare; [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465