DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2026 and 05/01/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 remain pending in the application. Applicant has canceled claims 2 and 3. The drawings entered on 5/27/2026 overcome the objection made to the claims; accordingly, this objection is withdrawn. The amendments to the claims have overcome each 112(b) and 112(d) rejection previously set forth; each and every rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 112 are therefore withdrawn. The amendments to the claims have overcome the double patenting rejections previously set forth; accordingly, these rejections are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, applicant asserts on page 6 of Remarks that Liu and Anju do not teach the mass ratio of the claimed invention for each compound; this argument is found convincing but is rendered moot by the new grounds of rejection required by the amendments. Applicant asserts on page 7 or Remarks that the long wavelength emission is an unexpected result of the solvent-free process and aromatic crystalline precursors; this argument is not found convincing in light of the prior art and has been rendered moot by the new grounds of rejection required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over non-patent literature Wang et al. 2020, Label-free fluorescence assay based on near-infrared B,N-doped carbon dots as a fluorescent probe for the detection of sialic acid. New J. Chem. 2020; 44 (6): 2350–2356, in view of Niu et al. 2021, Large scale synthesis of red emissive carbon dots powder by solid state reaction for fingerprint identification, Chinese Chemical Letters, Volume 32, Issue 6, 2021, Pages 1953-1956, referred to herein as Wang and Niu, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for producing carbon quantum dots (“a facile one-pot synthesis of near-infrared B,N co-doped carbon dots (CDs),” abstract) the method comprising preparing a mixture by mixing a crystalline compound (a) containing boron, sulfur, and/or phosphorus and being solid at 1 atm and 25 C (3-aminophenylboronic acid, ABPA, abstract) and a first organic compound (b) containing a reactive group (o-phenylenediamine, OPD, abstract); and preparing carbon quantum dots by heating the mixture at 100 C or higher and 300 C or lower (160 C, ‘Synthesis of near-infrared B,N co-doped carbon dots’ p. 2351); wherein the crystalline compound (a) is a second organic compound different from the first organic compound (b) (ABPA, abstract); the crystalline compound (a) has an aromatic ring in a molecule (phenyl group, Scheme 1, p. 2351); and an amount of the crystalline compound (a) in the mixture is 45 parts by mass or greater and 1000 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of the first organic compound (b) (OPD and APBA in a 10:1 mass ratio, p. 2351; this is equivalent to 100 parts by mass to 1000 parts by mass of (a) to (b) as claimed).
Wang does not teach preparing the carbon quantum dots substantially in the absence of a solvent. However, Niu teaches an analogous method of preparing carbon quantum dots (“a rapid solid reaction to synthesize red emissive CDs powder,” p. 1954 col. 1 pp. 1) which is analogous to the instant invention and the teachings of Wang because Niu teaches the synthesis of red emissive carbon quantum dots, and Wang teaches that obtaining red-emitting carbon quantum dots is significant (“it is of great significance to prepare red-emitting carbon quantum dots,” p. 2351 col. 1 pp. 2). Niu teaches the method without solvent (“this reaction needs no solvent,” p. 1954 col. 1 pp. 1). It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Wang and Niu and therefore arrive at the claimed invention; one would be motivated to do so because Niu teaches that the presence of a dispersion medium inhibits key properties, such as light diffraction, quantum yield, and luminescent intensity (p. 1954 col. 1 pp. 1). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 4, Wang and Niu teach the invention as applied to claim 1. Wang further teaches a fluorescence emission peak equal to 645 nm under excitation at 560 nm (p. 2352, Fig 1(c), col. 2); this falls within the claimed range of a maximum emission wavelength of the carbon quantum dots being 570 nm or higher and 750 nm or lower.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eileen Moudou/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738