DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (JP 2013181608A; hereinafter Iwasaki), Shaw et al. (US 6,838,617; hereinafter Shaw) and Showcatally et al. (US 9,635,775; hereinafter Showcatally).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki discloses a method for encapsulation (fig. 1), the method comprising:
forming a casing (10) by connecting at least a first casing component (11) and a second casing component (12), wherein at least one of the first casing component (11) or the second casing component (12) is shaped to provide a sealing groove (11c and 12c) along a seam of the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12);
hermetically sealing the seam between the first casing component (11) and the second casing (12) component by filling the sealing groove by injection moulding, wherein the materials of the first casing component and the second casing component and the material used for the injection moulding have adhesion properties with each other (see [0019]: “In addition, a recessed side 11b and a side 12b are formed on the periphery (outer periphery in this embodiment) of the mutually abutting peripheral side 11c and side 12c of the first and second molded products 11 and 12, and a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied between the recessed side 11c and the side 12c by injection-molding or the like. Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”); and wherein dimensions of the sealing groove and temperature of the material used for the injection moulding are determined based on dimensions of the casing and the used materials of the first casing component and the second casing component such that the sealing groove is filled with a sufficient amount of the material used for injection moulding to cover the seam (see [0022]: “In this manner, in a state in which the integrated portion 11d and the integrated portion 12d are fitted to each other and the first molded article 11 and the second molded article 12 are integrated with each other, a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied and sealed between the recessed portion 11c and the recessed portion 12c of the first and second molded articles 11 and 12 by injection-molding or the like.”) and such that enough heat is provided by the injection moulding to melt the injection moulded seam with the first and the second casing component (see [0019]: “Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”).
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials of the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for injection moulding comprise an elastomer; and enough heat is provided by the injection moulding to cause the first and the second casing component to melt together at the seam.
Shaw teaches a method for encapsulation (fig. 5) wherein materials of a first casing component (11) and a second casing component (12) and a material used for sealing (74) are the same materials; and enough heat is provided to cause the first (11) and the second (12) casing component to melt together at the seam (see col. 7 lines 50-66).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shaw and make Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for injection moulding comprise the same material; and enough heat is provided by the injection moulding, in order to create a permanent sealing between the components.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials for the first casing component and the second casing component and a material used for injection moulding comprise an elastomer.
Showcatally teaches a method for encapsulation (Fig. 1) wherein materials for a first casing component (102) and the second casing component (104) and a material used for sealing comprise an elastomer (col. 2 lines 31-40).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Showcatally and make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with materials for the first casing component and the second casing component and a material used for injection moulding comprising an elastomer, in order to use a material with a low melting point, capable of flowing under heat that will guarantee a sealing connection at the sealing surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection moulding comprise a same material.
However, Shaw teaches the method for encapsulation (fig. 5) wherein materials of a first casing component (11) and a second casing component (12) and a material used for sealing (74) are the same materials.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shaw and make Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for injection moulding comprise the same material; and enough heat is provided by the injection moulding, in order to hermetically seal the inside of the casing.
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the first or the second casing component comprises a different material than the injection moulding and wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other.
However, Showcatally teaches the method wherein at least one of the first or the second casing component (11 and 12) comprise comprises a different material than the sealing (74) and wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other (col. 7, lines 64-66).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shaw and make Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with at least one of the first or the second casing component comprise comprises a different material than the injection moulding and wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other, in order to create a permanent sealing between the components and hermetically seal the inside of the casing.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose further comprising: inserting an electronics assembly inside the casing before the sealing.
Showcatally (Fig. 8) teaches inserting an electronics assembly (CB) inside the casing (inserting 108, 110, 112, 114, 116) before sealing.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Showcatally and make Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation further comprising: inserting an electronics assembly inside the casing before the sealing, in order to protect the electronic assembly from the external environment.
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki discloses a casing (10) for encapsulation, comprising: a first casing component (11) connected to a second casing component (12) to form the casing, wherein the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12) are configured to form a sealing groove (11c and 12c) along a seam between the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12), wherein the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12) are hermetically sealed from the seam by filling the sealing groove by injection moulding (see [0019]: “a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied between the recessed side 11c and the side 12c by injection-molding or the like.”), and the materials of the first casing component and the second casing component, and the material used for the injection moulding have adhesion properties with each other; and wherein the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection moulded seam are melted together when the seam is filled by injection moulding (see [0019]: “Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”).
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials of the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for injection moulding comprise an elastomer; and the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection molded seam are melted together at the seam.
Shaw teaches a casing for encapsulation (fig. 5) wherein materials of a first casing component (11) and a second casing component (12) and a material used for sealing (74) are the same materials; and the first casing component, the second casing component and the sealing melt together at the seam (see col. 7 lines 50-66).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Shaw and make Iwasaki’s casing for encapsulation with the first casing component and the second casing component, and the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection molded seam are melted together at the seam, in order to create a permanent sealing between the components.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials for the first casing component and the second casing component and a material used for injection moulding comprise an elastomer.
Showcatally teaches the method (Fig. 1) wherein materials for a first casing component (102) and the second casing component (104) and a material used for sealing comprise an elastomer (col. 2 lines 31-40).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Showcatally and make the modified Iwasaki’s method with materials for the first casing component and the second casing component and a material used for injection moulding comprising an elastomer, in order to use a material with a low melting point, capable of flowing under heat that will guarantee a sealing connection at the sealing surfaces.
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki discloses an electronics assembly encapsulated with the casing (see par. [0026]): “the hollow sealing structure 10 can be used in a state where the electronic components, mechanical components, and the like disposed inside the hollow sealing structure 10 are satisfactorily protected.”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, Shaw and Showcatally, and further in view of Nehm (US 5,370,150).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose a cross-section of the sealing groove is substantially semi-circular.
Nehm teaches a method for encapsulation (figs 3-4) wherein a cross-section of a sealing groove is substantially semi-circular (see shape of 14).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with a cross- section of the sealing groove is substantially semi-circular as taught by Nehm, since the shape of the cross-section will depend on the dimensions of the housing in relation to the sealing feature and the method for integrating the sealing member.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, Shaw and Showcatally, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 5,995,374; hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 6.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose further comprising: potting the electronics assembly before inserting the electronics assembly inside the casing, and wherein a size of the potted electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the size of the casing.
Suzuki teaches (fig. 1) potting electronics assembly (1) before inserting the electronics assembly inside the casing (not shown), and wherein a size of the potted electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the size of the casing (see col 4, lines 66-64 and col 5 lines 1-3: “In the state after mold releasing where the bag-like body 5 is integrally stuck on the outside surface of the hardened sealing resin material 6, the resin-coated mount substrate 1 is accommodated, as it is, into an exterior casing (not shown) for practical use”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Suzuki and make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation further comprising: potting the electronics assembly before inserting the electronics assembly inside the casing, and wherein a size of the potted electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the size of the casing, in order to protect sensitive electronic components when placed inside the casing.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, Shaw and Showcatally, and further in view of ECOB (US 2011/0240088; hereinafter ECOB).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 6.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose the first casing component comprises wiring for the electronics assembly extending outside the casing, and wherein the first casing component and the wiring is made by injection moulding such that the wiring is hermetically sealed to the first casing component.
ECOB teaches (fig. 1) a method for sealing wherein a first casing component (2) comprises wiring (22) for electronics assembly extending outside a casing, and wherein the first casing component (2) and the wiring (22) is made by injection moulding such that the wiring (22) is hermetically sealed to the first casing component (2) (see [0041]: “Main power cables 22 are shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the body 2 is molded (e.g. injection or compression) with integrally over-molded main electrical cables 22”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of ECOB and make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation further comprising: the first casing component comprises wiring for the electronics assembly extending outside the casing, and wherein the first casing component and the wiring is made by injection moulding such that the wiring is hermetically sealed to the first casing component, in order to connect the casing with external devices and protect the electronic assembly components from the external environment.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Iwasaki discloses the casing of claim 9.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein the first casing component comprises wiring configured to be coupled to an electronics assembly encapsulated by the casing and extending outside the casing, and wherein the wiring is hermetically sealed with the first casing component by injection moulding.
ECOB teaches (fig. 1) a casing wherein a first casing component (2) comprises wiring (22) configured to be coupled to an electronics assembly encapsulated by the casing and extending outside the casing, and wherein the wiring (22) is hermetically sealed with the first casing (2) component by injection moulding (see [0041]: “Main power cables 22 are shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the body 2 is molded (e.g. injection or compression) with integrally over-molded main electrical cables 22”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of ECOB and make the modified Iwasaki’s casing wherein the first casing component comprises wiring configured to be coupled to an electronics assembly encapsulated by the casing and extending outside the casing, and wherein the wiring is hermetically sealed with the first casing component by injection moulding, in order to connect the casing with external devices and protect the electronic assembly components from the external environment.
Conclusion
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845