DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 10-11 should read “for the injection
Claims 2-8 are also objected because of their dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on August 15, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive.
In pages 6-7 Applicant argues “Fung teaches away from using the same material in the casing components and for sealing” and “Based on Fung, a person of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use adhesive to improve the durability of the sealing, instead of changing the materials used in Iwasaki to manufacture the casing”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant argues limitations which are not claimed. The claims do not read the materials in the first and second casing and the material used for injection molding are “the same material”. The claim merely reads “materials of the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for the injection moulding comprise an elastomer”. Iwasaki discloses using heat to create a seal between the materials in the first casing component 11, the second casing component (12) and a material (13) used to fill the filling groove (see [0019]). Therefore, the materials have adhesion properties with each other and seam is already hermetically sealed. Iwasaki fails to specifically disclose that the materials of the first casing and second casing and the material used for the injection moulding comprise an elastomer. Fung teaches the benefit of using an elastomer material (see par. [0019] “thermoplastic elastomers”) in first and second casing components (2, 3) to hermetically seal a seam. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings in Fung of a first and second casing component comprising an elastomer in Iwasaki’s method in order to use a material that will reduce damage of the internal electrical components in the casing.
Applicant also argues in page 7, “Since Nearman discloses using different materials for the housing and the gasket seal, as well as forming chemical bond with the housing and the seal, a person having ordinary skilled in the art would not be motivated or guided to use elastomers as materials for both the casing components and for injection moulding”. Examiner disagrees. Iwasaki in view of Fung discloses all the claim limitations in claim 1, except for the material use for the injection moulding comprises an elastomer. Similar to Fung, Nearman teaches the benefit of using a thermoplastic elastomer (see col 4 lines 25-28) in a sealing groove to use a create a strong chemical bond with the material of the casing.
KSR Int'l v. Teleflex, Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007), obviousness of claimed subject matter involving a combination of known features. Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
After combination, the result of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the modification of the invention of Iwasaki in view of Fung and Nearman, thereby arriving at the same applicant's invention.
Furthermore, the factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, Examiner maintains rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (JP 2013181608A; hereinafter Iwasaki) and Fung (US 2003/0119359; hereinafter Fung), and further in view of Nearman et al. (US 8,136,279; hereinafter Nearman).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki discloses a method for encapsulation (fig. 1), the
method comprising: forming a casing (10) by connecting at least a first casing
component (11) and a second casing component (12), wherein at least one of the first casing component (11) or the second casing component (12) is shaped to provide a sealing groove (11c and 12c) along a seam of the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12);
hermetically sealing the seam between the first casing component (11) and the
second casing (12) component by filling the sealing groove by injection moulding,
wherein the materials of the first casing component and the second casing component and the material used for the injection moulding have adhesion properties with each other (see [0019]: “In addition, a recessed side 11b and a side 12b are formed on the periphery (outer periphery in this embodiment) of the mutually abutting peripheral side 11c and side 12c of the first and second molded products 11 and 12, and a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied between the recessed side 11c and the side 12c by injection-molding or the like. Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”); and
wherein dimensions of the sealing groove and temperature of the material
used for the injection moulding are determined based on dimensions of the casing and the used materials of the first casing component and the second casing component such that the sealing groove is filled with a sufficient amount of the material used for injection moulding to cover the seam (see [0022]: “In this manner, in a state in which the integrated portion 11d and the integrated portion 12d are fitted to each other and the first molded article 11 and the second molded article 12 are integrated with each other, a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied and sealed between the recessed portion 11c and the recessed portion 12c of the first and second molded articles 11 and 12 by injection-molding or the like.”) and such that enough heat is provided by the injection moulding to cause the first and the
second casing component to melt together and to melt the injection moulded seam with the first and the second casing component (see [0019]: “Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”).
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials of the first casing component and
the second casing component, and a material used for injection moulding comprise an
elastomer.
Fung teaches a method for encapsulation (figs. 1-2) wherein materials of a first
casing component (2) and a second casing component (3) comprises an elastomer (see par. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with the first casing
component and the second casing component, and a material used for the injection
moulding comprising an elastomer as taught by Fung, in order to use a strong material that will protect the casing and the electronic components inside (see
par. [0020 and 0021]).
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose a material used for the injection moulding comprising an elastomer.
Nearman teaches a method for encapsulation (fig. 4) wherein a sealing groove
(see 40a, 40nn, 32, 34 and 36) filled with a material used for the injection moulding
comprises an elastomer (col 4, lines 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with a material
used for the injection moulding comprising an elastomer as taught by Nearman, in order
to use a flexible material that will create a strong chemical bond with the material of the
casing (see col. 5, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki discloses a casing (10) for encapsulation, comprising: a first casing component (11) connected to a second casing component (12) to form the casing, wherein the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12) are configured to form a sealing groove (11c and 12c) along a seam between the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12), wherein the first casing component (11) and the second casing component (12) are hermetically sealed from the seam by filling the sealing groove by injection moulding (see [0019]: “a sealing molding material 13 made of a sealing plastic is supplied between the recessed side 11c and the side 12c by injection-molding or the like.”), and the materials of the first casing component and the second casing component, and the material used for the injection moulding have adhesion properties with each other; and wherein the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection moulded seam are melted together when the seam is filled by injection moulding (see [0019]: “Then, a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the first molded article 11 and a contact portion between the sealing molding material 13 and the second molded article 12 are melted and joined by heat generated when the melted sealing molding material 13 is sealed, thereby hermetically sealing the hollow sealing structure 10 including the first and second molded articles 11 and 12.”).
Iwasaki does not specifically disclose materials of the first casing component, the
second casing component and a material used for injection moulding comprise an
elastomer.
Fung teaches a casing (figs. 1-2) wherein materials of a first casing component
(2) and a second casing component (3) comprises an elastomer (see par. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make Iwasaki’s casing with the first casing component and the second casing component, and a material used for the injection moulding comprising an
elastomer as taught by Fung, in order to use a strong material that will protect the casing and the electronic components inside (see par. [0020 and 0021]).
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose a material used for the injection moulding comprising an elastomer.
Nearman teaches a casing (fig. 4) wherein a sealing groove (see 40a, 40nn, 32,
34 and 36) filled with a material used for the injection moulding comprises an elastomer
(col 4, lines 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make the modified Iwasaki’s casing a material used for the injection
moulding comprising an elastomer as taught by Nearman, in order to use a flexible
material that will create a strong chemical bond with the material of the casing (see col.
5, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 11, Iwasaki discloses an electronics assembly encapsulated
with the casing (see par. [0026]): “the hollow sealing structure 10 can be used in a state
where the electronic components, mechanical components, and the like disposed inside
the hollow sealing structure 10 are satisfactorily protected.”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki, Fung and Nearman, and further in view of Nehm (US 5,370,150)
Regarding claim 2, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose a cross-section of the sealing
groove is substantially semi-circular.
Nehm teaches a method for encapsulation (figs 3-4) wherein a cross-section of a
sealing groove is substantially semi-circular (see shape of 14).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make the modified Iwasaki’s method for encapsulation with a cross- section of the sealing groove is substantially semi-circular as taught by Nehm, since the
shape of the cross-section will depend on the dimensions of the housing in relation to
the sealing feature and the method for integrating the sealing member.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Iwasaki, Fung and Nearman, and further in view of Douglass, III (US 8,991,830; hereinafter Douglas)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein the first casing
component, the second casing component and the injection moulding comprise a same
material.
Douglas teaches a method for sealing wherein a first component, a second
casing component (sections of 5) and a sealing gasket (1) comprise a same material
(see col 6 lines 16-23: “Depending on the material from which the adjoining sections of
pipe 5 are constructed will dictate the appropriate material of the heat-fusible layers 35
and 37. For example, and without limitation, in such case that the adjoining sections of
pipe 5 are constructed of a thermoplastic material such as HDPE, PPE or PVC, then it
is contemplated that layers 35 and 37 will also be formed of the same material, or of
another material that is compatibly heat-fusible therewith.”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of Douglas and make the modified Iwasaki’s
method for encapsulation wherein the first casing component, the second casing component and the injection moulding comprise a same material, to use compatibly
heat-fusible materials therefore creating a reliable seal between the components.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the
first or the second casing component comprise comprises a different material than the
injection moulding and wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other.
Douglas teaches a method for sealing wherein at least one of a first or a second
casing component (sections of 5) comprises a different material than a sealing gasket
(1) and wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other (see col 6 lines 16-23:
“Depending on the material from which the adjoining sections of pipe 5 are constructed
will dictate the appropriate material of the heat-fusible layers 35 and 37. For example,
and without limitation, in such case that the adjoining sections of pipe 5 are constructed
of a thermoplastic material such as HDPE, PPE or PVC, then it is contemplated that
layers 35 and 37 will also be formed of the same material, or of another material that is
compatibly heat-fusible therewith.”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of Douglas and make the modified Iwasaki’s
method for encapsulation wherein at least one of the first or the second casing
component comprise comprises a different material than the injection moulding and
wherein the materials have good adhesion to each other, to use compatibly heat-fusible
materials therefore creating a reliable seal between the components.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Iwasaki, Fung and Nearman, and further in view of Peng (US 2020/0253072;
hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 1.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose further comprising: inserting
an electronics assembly inside the casing before the sealing.
Peng teaches a hermetic casing (fig. 2) comprising: inserting an electronics
assembly (CB) inside a casing (11) before sealing (see par. [0034 and 0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of Peng and make the modified Iwasaki’s method
for encapsulation further comprising: inserting an electronics assembly inside the casing
before the sealing, in order to protect the electronic assembly from the external
environment.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Iwasaki, Fung, Nearman and Peng, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US
5,995,374; hereinafter Suzuki)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 6.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose further comprising: potting
the electronics assembly before inserting the electronics assembly inside the casing,
and wherein a size of the potted electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the
size of the casing.
Suzuki teaches (fig. 1) potting electronics assembly (1) before inserting the
electronics assembly inside the casing (not shown), and wherein a size of the potted
electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the size of the casing (see col 4, lines
66-64 and col 5 lines 1-3: “In the state after mold releasing where the bag-like body 5 is
integrally stuck on the outside surface of the hardened sealing resin material 6, the
resin-coated mount substrate 1 is accommodated, as it is, into an exterior casing (not
shown) for practical use”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of Suzuki and make the modified Iwasaki’s
method for encapsulation further comprising: potting the electronics assembly before
inserting the electronics assembly inside the casing, and wherein a size of the potted
electronics assembly substantially corresponds to the size of the casing, in order to
protect sensitive electronic components when placed inside the casing.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Iwasaki, Fung, Nearman and Peng, and further in view of ECOB (US
2011/0240088; hereinafter ECOB).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Iwasaki discloses the method of claim 6.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose the first casing component
comprises wiring for the electronics assembly extending outside the casing, and
wherein the first casing component and the wiring is made by injection moulding such
that the wiring is hermetically sealed to the first casing component.
ECOB teaches (fig. 1) a method for sealing wherein a first casing component (2)
comprises wiring (22) for electronics assembly extending outside a casing, and wherein
the first casing component (2) and the wiring (22) is made by injection moulding such
that the wiring (22) is hermetically sealed to the first casing component (2) (see [0041]:
“Main power cables 22 are shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the body 2 is molded (e.g.
injection or compression) with integrally over-molded main electrical cables 22”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of ECOB and make the modified Iwasaki’s
method for encapsulation further comprising: the first casing component comprises
wiring for the electronics assembly extending outside the casing, and wherein the first
casing component and the wiring is made by injection moulding such that the wiring is
hermetically sealed to the first casing component, in order to connect the casing with
external devices and protect the electronic assembly components from the external
environment.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Iwasaki, Fung and Nearman, and further in view of ECOB (US 2011/0240088;
hereinafter ECOB).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Iwasaki discloses the casing of claim 9.
The modified Iwasaki does not specifically disclose wherein the first casing
component comprises wiring configured to be coupled to an electronics assembly
encapsulated by the casing and extending outside the casing, and wherein the wiring is
hermetically sealed with the first casing component by injection moulding.
ECOB teaches (fig. 1) a casing wherein a first casing component (2) comprises
wiring (22) configured to be coupled to an electronics assembly encapsulated by the
casing and extending outside the casing, and wherein the wiring (22) is hermetically
sealed with the first casing (2) component by injection moulding (see [0041]: “Main
power cables 22 are shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the body 2 is molded (e.g. injection or
compression) with integrally over-molded main electrical cables 22”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of ECOB and make the modified Iwasaki’s casing
wherein the first casing component comprises wiring configured to be coupled to an
electronics assembly encapsulated by the casing and extending outside the casing, and
wherein the wiring is hermetically sealed with the first casing component by injection
moulding, in order to connect the casing with external devices and protect the electronic
assembly components from the external environment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ whose telephone number is
(571)270-7893. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Andrea Wellington can be reached at 571-272-4483. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845