DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4,6-9,17-24 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al(US 2021/0227465 A1) in view of Cai et al (US 2023/0371005 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 21, Kung ‘465 teaches, a terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor( [0034], [0035] and Fig. 3-7, UE 300 comprising memory 310, CPU 308 and transceiver 314 )wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under the control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations of( [0034], [0035] and Fig. 3-7, UE 300 comprising memory 310 comprising program code 312 , CPU 308 and transceiver 314 for processing and transmitting messages): obtaining a sidelink destination identity and/or one or more sidelink logical channels ([0400], [0435]-[0438] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission )which are in active time of a sidelink discontinuous transmission on a time domain resource corresponding to a sidelink grant([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant( transmit opportunity));
performing resource allocation according to the sidelink destination identity and/or the one or more sidelink logical channels ([0400], [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the Tx UE allocating the sidelink grant based on destination identity and associated logical channels priority), wherein the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission comprises: an active time of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or an active time of a sidelink discontinuous transmission (DTX) ([0405], [0407], [0426] and Figs. 5-7, the Tx UE determining active time based on DRX configuration, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative claim limitations thus examiner is required to show only one of the claim limitations).
wherein the obtaining the sidelink destination identity in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant ([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant (transmit opportunity)) comprises:
obtaining the sidelink destination identity in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to a second method([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant(first condition)); wherein the second method comprises: determining DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink destination identity according to a first address([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE obtaining DRX configuration associated with the destination identity);
determining whether the sidelink destination identity is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information ([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant);
or
,determining a QoS parameter corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to the sidelink logical channel corresponding to the sidelink destination identity; determining the DRX configuration information corresponding to the OoS parameter according to the OoS parameter; determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grantaccording to the DRX configuration information; determining, in a case that at least one sidelink logical channel corresponding to the sidelink destination identity is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant, that the sidelink destination identity is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant(notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Kung ‘465 does not explicitly teach, the first address comprises a combination of a sidelink source identity and the sidelink destination identity.
Cai ‘005 teaches, the first address comprises a combination of a sidelink source identity and the sidelink destination identity ([0357], [0370], [0378], determining whether a sidelink identity is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant based on source and destination pair).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Kung ‘465, by incorporating the teaching of Cai ‘005, since such modification would provide a method/system for avoiding a data packet transmission failure and a method of avoiding waste of power consumption at the transmitting terminal, as suggested by Cai ‘005([0005]).
Regarding claims 2, 7 and 22, the combination of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 teaches all of the claim limitations Kung ‘465 further teaches, wherein the obtaining the sidelink destination identity in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant([0400], [0435]-[0438] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission ), comprises:
obtaining the sidelink destination identity in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to a first condition([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant(first condition)), wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the sidelink destination identity is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant; or
at least one sidelink logical channel of all the sidelink logical channels corresponding to the sidelink destination identity is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant([0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claims 4, 9 and 24, the combination of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 teaches all of the claim limitations Kung ‘465 further teaches, wherein the obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant comprises: obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to a first method( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel); wherein the first method comprises:
determining DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to the sidelink destination identity corresponding to the sidelink logical channel ([0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity);
determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information; or
determining the DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to a quality of service (QoS) parameter corresponding to the sidelink logical channel; determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity, the DRX configuration indicating whether the logical channel associated with the destination identity is active or not, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claims 17, 19 and 26, the combination of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 teaches all of the claim limitations Kung ‘465 further teaches, wherein the obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel) comprises: obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to a first method ( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel) wherein the first method comprises:
determining DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to the sidelink destination identity corresponding to the sidelink logical channel( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity);
determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information; or,
determining the DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to a quality of service (QoS) parameter corresponding to the sidelink logical channel; determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity, the DRX configuration indicating whether the logical channel associated with the destination identity is active or not, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Claims 3, 8, 18, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Yang (US 2023/0156855 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 23, the combination of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 teaches all of the claim limitations Kung ‘465 further teaches, wherein after the obtaining the sidelink destination identity in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant, further comprising: selecting a target sidelink logical channel out of the sidelink logical channels corresponding to the sidelink destination identity according to a second condition0400] [0405], [0407] and Figs. 5-7, the TX UE selecting destination identity and one or more sidelink logical channels for sidelink transmission based on whether the RxUE associated with the destination identity is active during the sidelink grant(first condition))
The combination of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005 does not explicitly teach, wherein the second condition comprises: the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant.
Yang ‘855 teaches, wherein the second condition comprises: the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant( [0042]-[0044], [0048], when a destination address corresponding to one or more logical channels on which there are data to be transmitted is configured with the DRX parameter and is in a sleeping state, the destination address configured with DRX parameter and being in the sleeping state is ignored in selecting the destination address to avoid transmitting data in the destination address being in the sleeping state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Kung ‘465 and Cai ‘005, by incorporating the teaching of Kung ‘465, since such modification would provide a method for selecting a destination address in sidelink, as suggested by Yang ‘855([0005]).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, the combination of Kung ‘465, Cai ‘005and Yang ‘855 teaches all of the claim limitations Kung ‘465 further teaches, wherein the obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant comprises: obtaining the sidelink logical channel in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to a first method( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel); wherein the first method comprises: determining DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to the sidelink destination identity corresponding to the sidelink logical channel( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity);
determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of the sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity, the DRX configuration indicating whether the logical channel associated with the destination identity is active or not, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations); or,
determining the DRX configuration information corresponding to the sidelink logical channel according to a quality of service (QoS) parameter corresponding to the sidelink logical channel; determining whether the sidelink logical channel is in the active time of sidelink discontinuous transmission on the time domain resource corresponding to the sidelink grant according to the DRX configuration information( [0400], [0405] and Figs. 5-7, obtaining logical channels based on priority and destination identity associated with the logical channel, and determining DRX configuration for the logical channel based on the associated destination identity, the DRX configuration indicating whether the logical channel associated with the destination identity is active or not, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474