Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “boiler feed water device” in claim 12. Which is being interpreted to mean an inlet structure to a boiler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recites the limitation "the first steam extraction pipeline" in lines 28 and 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US-Pub 2024/0117763) in view of Grannell (8691182) and Deng (US-Pub 2014/0116063).
Regarding claim 1, Ito ‘763 discloses a power generation system based on hydrogen production by ammonia decomposition, comprising: a liquid ammonia supply portion (14, fig 10); a gasification portion (15, fig 10) with an input thereof connected with the liquid ammonia supply portion for gasifying liquid ammonia into gaseous ammonia; an ammonia decomposition portion (16, fig 10) with an input thereof connected with an output of the gasification portion for decomposing gaseous ammonia into a hydrogen-mixed gas containing hydrogen, nitrogen and gaseous ammonia; a hydrogen storage portion (51, fig 10) with an input thereof connected with an output of the ammonia decomposition portion for storing and stably outputting the hydrogen-mixed gas; and a gas-turbine power generation set (11, fig 10) with a fuel input (outlet of 32, fig 10) thereof connected with an output of the hydrogen storage portion for combusting the hydrogen-mixed gas to generate power; a steam turbine portion (par. 0073); comprising a boiler feed water device (72, fig 10), a waste heat boiler (71, fig 10), a steam- turbine power generation set (par. 0073), and a first water return pipeline (109 leaving 15 and heading towards 72, fig 10): an exhaust input of the waste heat boiler is connected with a heat-source output of the ammonia decomposition portion (the second steam exhaust pipeline travels between these two and thus they are its input and output and perform the intended function); the input of the first steam extraction pipeline is connected with the steam-turbine power generation set for extracting low-temperature steam (for extracting represents intended use, and as the input is connected to the steam turbine, it is capable of extracting low temperature steam); an input of the first water return pipeline is connected with a condensed water output of the gasification portion (the water return leaving 15 has an input connected to the gasification portion 15), and an output of the first water return pipeline is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device (the water return line goes to the inlet of 71 which is the boiler water feed device), wherein in a power generation state, liquid ammonia outputted by the liquid ammonia supply portion is gasified into gaseous ammonia by the gasification portion and outputted to the ammonia decomposition portion, the ammonia decomposition portion decomposes the gaseous ammonia into a hydrogen-mixed gas containing hydrogen, nitrogen and gaseous ammonia (these are the products of ammonia decomposition, so it’s what the products of Ito ‘763 would break down into), the hydrogen-mixed gas is outputted to the hydrogen storage portion for storage, and the hydrogen storage portion outputs the hydrogen-mixed gas to the gas-turbine power generation set for combustion and power generation.
Ito ‘763 does not disclose a supplementary combustion device; a fuel input of the supplementary combustion device is connected with an output of the hydrogen storage portion, and a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion, wherein the supplementary combustion device controls combustion amount of the hydrogen-mixed gas output from the hydrogen storage portion to adjust decomposition temperature of the ammonia decomposition portion, an output end of the boiler feed water device is connected with a feed water input of the waste heat boiler; a steam output of the waste heat boiler is connected with a steam input of the steam turbine generator set; a condensed water output of the steam-turbine power generation set is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device; and an output of the first water return pipeline is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device.
Grannell teaches an ammonia decomposition device which outputs hydrogen as a fuel source (col 9, lines 55-67), wherein the ammonia decomposition device can have a supplementary combustion device (col 29, fig 7-31, the decomposition device can have a supplemental burner of a separately stored fuel which heats up the decomposition device until it reaches temperature) connected with an output of a hydrogen storage portion (col 13, lines 29-40), wherein a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat source input of the ammonia decomposition portion (the supplementary combustion device heats the ammonia decomposition portion, meaning that the output of the device would input to the decomposition device) wherein the supplementary combustion device controls combustion amount of the hydrogen mixed gas output from the hydrogen storage portion to adjust decomposition temperature of the ammonia decomposition portion (this represents intended use of the system, thus Grannell must merely be capable of performing the claimed function, which it is).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having a supplementary combustion device connected with the ammonia decomposition portion and the hydrogen storage based on the teachings of Grannell. Doing so would allow for a reduced startup time as the decomposition device and engine get warmed up sooner (col 29, lines 7-31), as suggested by Grannell.
Deng teaches a steam energy recovery system (100, fig 1) for a fuel decomposition device of a gas turbine (106, fig 1), wherein a steam output of a waste heat boiler (108, fig 1) is connected with a steam input (158, fig 1) of a steam turbine generator (158, fig 1) set; a condensed water output (168, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified exhaust waste heat boiler system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by using a gas turbine engine between a waste heat recovery boiler and fuel vaporizer, with a separate condensed water output based on the teachings of Deng. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a steam turbine located after the heater with a condensed water output could produce additional power while also allowing precise control of the amount of heat sent to the vaporization system.
Ito ‘763 as modified by Deng teaches wherein the output end of the boiler feed water device is connected with a feed water input of the waste heat boiler (the other mechanical structures of the steam turbine were moved, so the steam goes from feed to the boiler), and an output of the first water return pipeline and the condensed water output is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device (the feed water device is an inlet to the boiler, and both the first water return pipe and the condensed water output lead back to the boiler, thus meeting this claim limitation).
Regarding claim 2, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the hydrogen storage portion comprises a hydrogen storage surge tank (51, fig 10) and a compressor (22, fig 10, par 043, the pump compresses the hydrogen and thus would be a compressor); an input of the hydrogen storage surge tank is connected with an output of the ammonia decomposition portion through a hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline (104, fig 10), and an output of the hydrogen storage surge tank is connected with a fuel input of the gas-turbine power generation set for stabilizing output pressure of the hydrogen-mixed gas (this represents intended use of the tank, thus it must merely be capable of stabilizing the output pressure, which it is as any compressed air tank would); the compressor is arranged on the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline.
Regarding claim 3, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein an exhaust end of the gas-turbine power generation set is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion (102 connects 111b to 16, fig 10), so that gas- turbine exhaust gas provides a heat source for ammonia decomposition (16 exchanges heat from the exhaust to the ammonia decomposition device).
Regarding claim 6, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the gasification portion comprises a gasifier (15, fig 10) and a medium circulation pipeline (109, fig 10); two ends of the gasifier are respectively connected with an output of the liquid ammonia supply portion and an input of the ammonia decomposition portion (via 103, fig 10); the medium circulation pipeline is coupled with gas-turbine exhaust gas of the gas- turbine power generation set for heat exchange through a circulating medium heat exchanger (71 and 72, fig 10), and head and tail ends of the medium circulation pipeline are respectively connected with a medium input (109 from 71, fig 10) and a medium output (109 to 72, fig 10) of the gasifier for heating liquid ammonia in a water bath (this represents intended use of the medium input and output circulation pipelines, meaning they must be capable of delivering water to heat ammonia in a water bath, they can provide feed water to perform the claimed function and thus meet the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Ito ‘763 as modified by Grannell in claim 1 teaches a method of dynamically adjusting the power generation system of claim 1, comprising; according to a gas-turbine exhaust temperature of the gas-turbine power generation set and supply amount of liquid ammonia (par. 0033, Ito ‘763), amount of hydrogen-mixed gas entering the supplementary combustion device is adjusted to control and adjust a decomposition reaction temperature (Grinnell, col 28, lines 1-10, the heater which is the supplemental burner) of the ammonia decomposition portion, so that ammonia entering the ammonia decomposition portion is effectively decomposed to produce a desired flow of the hydrogen- mixed gas (Grinnell, col 28, lines 1-10, the temperature control is being used to control the flow of hydrogen mixed gas).
Regarding claim 11, Ito ‘763 discloses a gas turbine-steam turbine combined power generation system based on hydrogen production by ammonia decomposition, comprising: a liquid ammonia supply portion (14, fig 10); a gasification portion (15, fig 10) with an input (line 103, fig 10) thereof connected with the liquid ammonia supply portion for gasifying liquid ammonia into gaseous ammonia; an ammonia decomposition portion (16, fig 10) with an input (line 103, fig 10) thereof connected with an output of the gasification portion for decomposing gaseous ammonia into a hydrogen-mixed gas containing hydrogen, nitrogen and gaseous ammonia (this is what the ammonia decomposition process does); a gas-turbine power generation set (11, fig 10) with a fuel input (32, fig 10) thereof connected with an output (16b, fig 10) of the ammonia decomposition portion for combusting the hydrogen-mixed gas to generate power; a steam turbine portion (par. 0073); comprising a boiler feed water device (72, fig 10), a waste heat boiler (71, fig 10), a steam- turbine power generation set (par. 0073), and a first water return pipeline (109 leaving 15 and heading towards 72, fig 10): an exhaust input of the waste heat boiler is connected with a heat-source output of the ammonia decomposition portion (the second steam exhaust pipeline travels between these two and thus they are its input and output and perform the intended function); the input of the first steam extraction pipeline is connected with the steam-turbine power generation set for extracting low-temperature steam (for extracting represents intended use, and as the input is connected to the steam turbine, it is capable of extracting low temperature steam); an input of the first water return pipeline is connected with a condensed water output of the gasification portion (the water return leaving 15 has an input connected to the gasification portion 15), and an output of the first water return pipeline is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device (the water return line goes to the inlet of 71 which is the boiler water feed device), and a first steam extraction pipeline (109, fig 10) with an input thereof connected with the steam turbine portion (par. 0073, 109 forms a closed circuit, so along the line there will be an input connected to a steam turbine output) and an output of the first steam extraction pipeline is connected with a heat source input of the gasification portion for extracting steam as a heat source and sending out the heat source to the gasification portion (fig 10, 15 takes in heat to gasify the ammonia, therefore calling the output from 109 to 15 meets this limitation); in a power generation state, the liquid ammonia supply portion outputs liquid ammonia to the gasification portion, the first steam extraction pipeline extracts and outputs steam in the turbine portion to the gasification portion, and the steam gasifies the liquid ammonia in the gasification portion to form gaseous ammonia; the gaseous ammonia is outputted to the ammonia decomposition portion and decomposed into a hydrogen-mixed gas containing hydrogen, nitrogen and gaseous ammonia, and the hydrogen-mixed gas is outputted to the gas-turbine power generation set for combustion and power generation (this all represents intended use of the system, which means the system must merely be capable of preforming the claimed function, which it is).
Ito ‘763 does not disclose a supplementary combustion device; a fuel input of the supplementary combustion device is connected with an output of the hydrogen storage portion, and a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion, wherein the supplementary combustion device controls combustion amount of the hydrogen-mixed gas output from the hydrogen storage portion to adjust decomposition temperature of the ammonia decomposition portion, an output end of the boiler feed water device is connected with a feed water input of the waste heat boiler; a steam output of the waste heat boiler is connected with a steam input of the steam turbine generator set; a condensed water output of the steam-turbine power generation set is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device; and an output of the first water return pipeline is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device.
Grannell teaches an ammonia decomposition device which outputs hydrogen as a fuel source (col 9, lines 55-67), wherein the ammonia decomposition device can have a supplementary combustion device (col 29, fig 7-31, the decomposition device can have a supplemental burner of a separately stored fuel which heats up the decomposition device until it reaches temperature) connected with an output of a hydrogen storage portion (col 13, lines 29-40), wherein a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat source input of the ammonia decomposition portion (the supplementary combustion device heats the ammonia decomposition portion, meaning that the output of the device would input to the decomposition device) wherein the supplementary combustion device controls combustion amount of the hydrogen mixed gas output from the hydrogen storage portion to adjust decomposition temperature of the ammonia decomposition portion (this represents intended use of the system, thus Grannell must merely be capable of performing the claimed function, which it is).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having a supplementary combustion device connected with the ammonia decomposition portion and the hydrogen storage based on the teachings of Grannell. Doing so would allow for a reduced startup time as the decomposition device and engine get warmed up sooner (col 29, lines 7-31), as suggested by Grannell.
Deng teaches a steam energy recovery system (100, fig 1) for a fuel decomposition device of a gas turbine (106, fig 1), wherein a steam output of a waste heat boiler (108, fig 1) is connected with a steam input (158, fig 1) of a steam turbine generator (158, fig 1) set; a condensed water output (168, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified exhaust waste heat boiler system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by using a gas turbine engine between a waste heat recovery boiler and fuel vaporizer, with a separate condensed water output based on the teachings of Deng. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a steam turbine located after the heater with a condensed water output could produce additional power while also allowing precise control of the amount of heat sent to the vaporization system.
Ito ‘763 as modified by Deng teaches wherein the output end of the boiler feed water device is connected with a feed water input of the waste heat boiler (the other mechanical structures of the steam turbine were moved, so the steam goes from feed to the boiler), and an output of the first water return pipeline and the condensed water output is connected with an input of the boiler feed water device (the feed water device is an inlet to the boiler, and both the first water return pipe and the condensed water output lead back to the boiler, thus meeting this claim limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Ito ‘763 discloses a first gas turbine exhaust pipeline (102, between 11b and 16, fig 10), a second gas turbine exhaust pipeline (102, between 16 and 72, fig 10), and a third gas turbine exhaust pipeline (102, after 71, fig 10); an input of the first gas turbine exhaust pipeline is connected with an exhaust end of the gas- turbine power generation set, and an output of the first gas turbine exhaust pipeline is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion for outputting gas-turbine exhaust gas of the gas-turbine power generation set as a heat source to the ammonia decomposition portion (the first gas turbine exhaust pipeline travels between these two and thus they are its input and output and perform the intended function); an input of the second gas turbine exhaust pipeline is connected with a heat-source output of the ammonia decomposition portion, and an output of the second gas turbine exhaust pipeline is connected with an exhaust input of the waste heat boiler for outputting gas-turbine exhaust gas utilized by waste heat of the ammonia decomposition portion to the waste heat boiler for waste heat utilization (the second gas turbine exhaust pipeline travels between these two and thus they are its input and output and perform the intended function); an input of the third gas turbine exhaust pipeline is connected with an exhaust output of the waste heat boiler, and an output of the third gas turbine exhaust pipeline is used to connect to an external heating utilization system or an external cooling utilization system (the third gas turbine exhaust pipeline leaves the exhaust output of the waste heat boiler, due to the language “is used to connect to an external (heating or cooling) system” there does not actually need to be an external heating or cooling system as they are not positively recited, just recited as an intended use of the exhaust pipeline output. The exhaust pipe outlet at 102 can be sent to an external heating or cooling use, and thus meets this limitation).
Regarding claim 16, Ito ‘763 discloses a second steam extraction pipeline (same as the first steam exhaust pipeline (102, between 11b and 16)), and a first steam return pipeline (same as the second steam exhaust pipeline, 102 between 16 and 72, fig 10); an input of the second steam extraction pipeline is connected with the steam-turbine power generation set; an output of the second steam extraction pipeline is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion for extracting and outputting high-temperature steam of the steam -turbine power generation set as a heat source to the ammonia decomposition portion (same part as first steam exhaust pipeline, it extends between the steam -turbine power generation set and the ammonia decomposition portion in the cited section); an input of the first steam return pipeline is connected with a heat-source output of the ammonia decomposition portion (output of 16, fig 10), and an output of the first steam return pipeline is connected with a steam input of the waste heat boiler system (71 and 72, fig 10).
Regarding claim 19, Ito ‘763 discloses a method for controlling the gas turbine-steam turbine combined power generation system based on hydrogen production by ammonia decomposition according to claim 11, the power generation system further comprising a hydrogen storage portion (51, fig 10) arranged between the ammonia decomposition portion and the gas-turbine power generation set, wherein when an amount of hydrogen-mixed gas produced by the ammonia decomposition portion is greater than combustion amount of hydrogen-mixed gas of the gas-turbine power generation set, excess hydrogen-mixed gas is temporarily stored in the hydrogen storage portion (par. 0054, when the demand is abruptly decreased, this means that less hydrogen is sent to the combustor and thus more is stored in the reservoir, meeting the claimed limitation), and a liquid ammonia output flow of the liquid ammonia supply portion is reduced to balance supply and demand (when the combustion output is changed the amount of fuel flowing also changes, this is known in the art and the fuel supply of Ito ‘763 would behave as claimed); when amount of hydrogen-mixed gas produced by the ammonia decomposition portion is less than combustion amount of hydrogen-mixed gas of the gas-turbine power generation set, hydrogen-mixed gas temporarily stored in the hydrogen storage portion is a supplement to amount of hydrogen-mixed gas delivered to the gas turbine (par. 0054, when the demand is abruptly increased, this means that more hydrogen is sent to the combustor and less is stored, meeting this limitation), and a liquid ammonia output flow of the liquid ammonia supply portion is increased to balance supply and demand (when the combustion output is changed the amount of fuel flowing also changes, this is known in the art and the fuel supply of Ito ‘763 would behave as claimed).
Regarding claim 20, Ito ‘763 does not disclose a supplementary combustion device, a fuel input of the supplementary combustion device is connected with an output of the hydrogen storage portion, a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat-source input of the ammonia decomposition portion, wherein according to a gas-turbine exhaust temperature of the gas-turbine power generation set and supply amount of liquid ammonia, amount of hydrogen-mixed gas entering the supplementary combustion device is adjusted to control and adjust a decomposition reaction temperature of the ammonia decomposition portion, so that ammonia entering the ammonia decomposition portion is effectively decomposed to produce a desired flow of the hydrogen- mixed gas.
Grannell teaches an ammonia decomposition device which outputs hydrogen as a fuel source (col 9, lines 55-67), wherein the ammonia decomposition device can have a supplementary combustion device (col 29, fig 7-31, the decomposition device can have a supplemental burner of a separately stored fuel which heats up the decomposition device until it reaches temperature) connected with an output of a hydrogen storage portion (col 13, lines 29-40), wherein a heat-source output of the supplementary combustion device is connected with a heat source input of the ammonia decomposition portion (the supplementary combustion device heats the ammonia decomposition portion, meaning that the output of the device would input to the decomposition device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having a supplementary combustion device connected with the ammonia decomposition portion and the hydrogen storage based on the teachings of Grannell. Doing so would allow for a reduced startup time as the decomposition device and engine get warmed up sooner (col 29, lines 7-31), as suggested by Grannell.
When combined with Grannell, Ito ‘763 teaches the method comprising: according to a gas-turbine exhaust temperature of the gas-turbine power generation set and supply amount of liquid ammonia (par. 0033, Ito ‘763 ), amount of hydrogen-mixed gas entering the supplementary combustion device is adjusted to control and adjust a decomposition reaction temperature (Grinnell, col 28, lines 1-10, the heater which is the supplemental burner) of the ammonia decomposition portion, so that ammonia entering the ammonia decomposition portion is effectively decomposed to produce a desired flow of the hydrogen- mixed gas (Grinnell, col 28, lines 1-10, the temperature control is being used to control the flow of hydrogen mixed gas).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito ‘763 as modified by Grannell and Deng in claims 1 and 11, further in view of Ito (US-Pub 2024/0019124).
Regarding claim 8, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the ammonia decomposition portion comprises a gaseous ammonia pipeline (103 between 15 and 16, fig 10), a hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline (104, fig 10), and an ammonia decomposition device (16, fig 10) two ends of the gaseous ammonia pipeline are respectively connected with an output of the gasification portion and a gaseous ammonia input of the ammonia decomposition device (the gaseous ammonia pipe extends between those two parts, fig 10); two ends of the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline are respectively connected with a hydrogen- mixed gas output (16b, fig 10) of the ammonia decomposition device and an input of the hydrogen storage portion (where 104 goes into 51, fig 10).
Ito ‘763 does not disclose wherein a gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger; wherein the gaseous ammonia pipeline is connected with a cold end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger, and the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline is connected with a hot end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger.
Ito ‘124 teaches an ammonia decomposition device (16, fig 7) with a gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (52, fig 7); wherein a gaseous ammonia pipeline (45, fig 7) is connected with a cold end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (the entrance is the cold end), and a hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline (45, 46, fig 7) is connected with a hot end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (the exit is the hot end).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having an additional gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger based on the teachings of Ito ‘124. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a very high temperature is needed for efficient cracking, so the additional preheating heat exchanger would increase the efficiency of the decomposition system.
Regarding claim 17, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the ammonia decomposition portion comprises a gaseous ammonia pipeline (103, fig 10), a hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline (104, fig 10), and an ammonia decomposition device (16, fig 10) two ends of the gaseous ammonia pipeline are respectively connected with an output of the gasification portion and a gaseous ammonia input of the ammonia decomposition device (it extends between 15 and 16 which are the parts claimed); two ends of the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline are respectively connected with a hydrogen- mixed gas output of the ammonia decomposition device and a fuel input of the gas-turbine power generation set (104 extends between 16 and the fuel input for the combustor 13 which are the two parts claimed).
Ito ‘763 does not disclose wherein a gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger; wherein the gaseous ammonia pipeline is connected with a cold end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger, and the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline is connected with a hot end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger.
Ito ‘124 teaches an ammonia decomposition device (16, fig 7) with a gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (52, fig 7); wherein a gaseous ammonia pipeline (45, fig 7) is connected with a cold end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (the entrance is the cold end), and a hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline (45, 46, fig 7) is connected with a hot end of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (the exit is the hot end).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition system disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having an additional gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger based on the teachings of Ito ‘124. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a very high temperature is needed for efficient cracking, so the additional preheating heat exchanger would increase the efficiency of the decomposition system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito ‘763 as modified by Grannell and Deng in claim 11, further in view of Cohen (11287089).
Regarding claim 18, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the ammonia decomposition portion further comprises a hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger (41, fig 10); the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline is connected with a hot end of the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger (the HX is along the mixed gas pipeline, fig 10) wherein, the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger is located downstream of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (when combined with Grannell the preheating heat exchanger is located upstream of the decomposition portion which has the cooling heat exchanger).
Ito ‘763 does not disclose a cold end of the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger is connected with the first water return line of the gasification portion.
Cohen teaches a decomposition gas cooler (4, fig 1) which is connected with the first water return line used for a gasifier (3, fig 1, the line that passes through 5 to connect them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition gas cooler disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having the water used to cool it be the same as the water in the medium recirculation pipeline based on the teachings of Cohen. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a single recirculation line rather than multiple would reduce the complexity of the system and more efficiently distribute heat around the system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito ‘763 as modified by Ito ‘124, Deng, and Grannell as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cohen.
Regarding claim 9, Ito ‘763 discloses wherein the ammonia decomposition portion further comprises a hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger (41, fig 10); the hydrogen-mixed gas pipeline is connected with a hot end of the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger (the HX is along the mixed gas pipeline, fig 10), a cold end of the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger is connected with a medium wherein, the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger is located downstream of the gaseous ammonia preheating heat exchanger (when combined with Grannell the preheating heat exchanger is located upstream of the decomposition portion which has the cooling heat exchanger).
Ito ‘763 does not disclose a cold end of the hydrogen-mixed gas cooling heat exchanger is connected with a medium circulation pipeline of the gasification portion;
Cohen teaches a decomposition gas cooler (4, fig 1) which is connected with a medium circulation pipeline used for a gasifier (3, fig 1, the line that passes through 5 to connect them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the decomposition gas cooler disclosed by Ito ‘763 by having the water used to cool it be the same as the water in the medium recirculation pipeline based on the teachings of Cohen. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a single recirculation line rather than multiple would reduce the complexity of the system and more efficiently distribute heat around the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/12/2025, with respect to the objections of claim 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claim 16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/12/2025, with respect to the 112b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 13 and 14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Ito by adding the HRSG system of Deng. This argument is not persuasive, as applicant argues that Deng does not teach any device to feed water to the HRSG and Deng is not an ammonia decomposition device. Regarding the first argument, this is not persuasive, as Ito is being used to teach this particular feature, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Deng would have a system to feed water to the HRSG as it needs water to operate. Secondly, the fact that Deng is not an ammonia decomposition device is not required by the claim, as Deng is being used to teach aspects of a HRSG for a gas turbine power plant, which is relevant to the needs of Ito
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741