DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 - “said centre support bar…” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 - “said drive unit…” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14 – “the direction…”, “the longitudinal direction…” and “the transversal direction…” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hellholm (WO 2018222105 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hellholm teaches a track assembly 21 (Fig 4) for a tracked vehicle 10 (Fig 1), said track assembly 21 [being configured to be connected to a vehicle body of said vehicle] (“Each of the front and rear vehicle unit comprises a track assembly pair 20. Said track assembly pair 20 is constituted by or comprised of a drive unit pair. Said track assembly pair 20 comprises two track assemblies 21 arranged on opposite sides of the vehicle 10. The respective track assembly 21 is constituted by or comprised of a drive unit” Pg 9 lines 8-12 ), said track assembly 21 comprising a track support beam 22 (Fig 4) [configured to support a plurality of road wheels 23 (Fig 4)] (“The track assembly 21 comprises a track support beam 22, which is here constituted by a skid beam. The track assembly further comprises a set of road wheels 23, 23a, a drive wheel 24, and an endless track 25” pg 13 lines 10-13) a drive wheel member 24 (Fig 4) and a drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) for operating said drive wheel member [said drive wheel 24 member being configured to be rotated about a centre axis] (“The drive arrangement 100 is arranged in connection to the drive wheel 24 such that a motor axle essentially coaxially coincides with the centre axis Z of the drive wheel 24, which is illustrated in e.g. fig. 5” pg 15 lines 7-9) an endless track 25 (Fig 4) [being disposed around said road wheels and drive wheel member] (“Said endless track 25 is arranged to run over the drive wheel 24 and said set of road wheels 23, 23a. The track assembly 21 has one drive wheel but may have more than one drive wheel.” Pg 13 lines 15-18 ) wherein said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) comprises a motor device 110 (Fig 5) [for driving said drive wheel member] (“The drive arrangement 100 comprises a motor 1 10 for operating said drive wheel 24.” pg 16 line 21) a [transmission device 130 (Fig 5) for transferring torque from said motor device to said drive wheel member ] (“The transmission device 130 may be any suitable transmission device for transferring torque from said motor 1 10 to said drive wheel 24.” pg 17 lines 27-30) and a brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) [for braking the drive wheel member] (Pg 18 line 4-8 ) said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) [being configured to be coaxially arranged relative to said centre axis of said drive wheel member 24 ] (Fig 5 shows the drive arrangement is coaxial to the drive axis Z shown in Figure 3a and 5) wherein a bearing configuration 120 (Fig 5) [is arranged in said track support beam] (“Said fork configuration 82 of said fastening arrangement 80 is according to this embodiment an integrated part of said track support beam 22. Said fork configuration 82 is arranged at an end portion of said track support beam 22 for supporting said drive wheel 24 and hence drive arrangement 100.” Pg 15 lines 23-26 ) said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) being configured to be journaled in bearings 122,124 (Figs 5 and 6) of said bearing configuration 120 (Figs 5 and 6) [ for allowing rotation of said drive wheel member relative to said track support beam and for supporting said drive arrangement] (“The bearing configuration 120 is according to this embodiment a rolling bearing configuration. The bearing configuration 120 comprises according to this embodiment a rolling bearing configuration with a first rolling bearing 122 and a second rolling bearing 124. Said first rolling bearing 122 and a second rolling bearing 124 are arranged around the periphery of said motor housing 1 14 at a distance from each other. Said first rolling bearing 122 and a second rolling bearing 124 are coaxially aligned and laterally separated from each other. The drive arrangement 100 according to this embodiment further comprises a transmission device for transferring torque from said motor to said drive wheel 24.” Pg 17 lines 14-24 ).
Regarding claim 2, Hellholm teaches said track support beam 22 (Fig 5) [has an outer side configured to face away from the vehicle body and an opposite inner side configured to face towards said vehicle body when the track assembly is connected to said vehicle body] (Annotated Hellholm fig 4 shows the outer and inner sides of the beam 22), wherein said drive wheel member 24 (Fig 4 and 5) comprises an outer drive wheel 24b (Fig 5) [arranged in connection to the outer side of the track support beam] and an inner drive wheel 24a (Fig 5) [arranged in connection to the inner side of the track support beam] (“Said fork configuration 82 of said fastening arrangement 80 is according to this embodiment an integrated part of said track support beam 22. Said fork configuration 82 is arranged at an end portion of said track support beam 22 for supporting said drive wheel 24 and hence drive arrangement 100.” Pg 15 lines 23-26 ), wherein said bearing configuration 120 (Fig 5) [is arranged in a through hole of said track support beam, centrally between said outer drive wheel and inner drive wheel] (Fig 6 shows the bearings 122 and 124 seated along the inside of the drive wheel 24c that is interior to wheels 24a and 24b).
Annotated Hellholm Figure 4 showing the exterior and interior surfaces of the support beam 22.
Regarding claim 3, Hellholm teaches said brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) [ is configured to be arranged in connection to the outer side of said track support beam] (Figs 3a and 6 shows the brake arrangement 140 extends outwardly to the exterior beam surface ) said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) [ is configured to be arranged in connection to the inner side of said track support beam] (Fig 6 shows the transmission device seated along the interior of the drive wheels the inner race 24c is connected to the forked element 82 and is indirectly attached to the interior of the track beam, “Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 via said transmission device 130 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6” Pg 19 line 26- Pg 20 line 3 ) and said motor device 110 (Fig 5) is configured to be arranged internally relative to said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) so that said transmission device 130 is arranged between the motor device 110 (Fig 5) and brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5). (Figure 5 shows an exploded view of the drive device, where the motor is on the interior side of the wheel, the transmission device is between the motor and the brake arrangement, and the brake arrangement is along the exterior of the beam).
Regarding claim 4, Hellholm teaches the drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) of claim 1 comprises a [centre support bar 112,134,132 (Fig 5) configured to supportingly connect said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) and brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5)] (“Said transmission axle 132, 134 comprises an input axle 132 configured to be coupled to said motor axle 1 12 and an output axle 134 configured to be coupled to said drive wheel 24 for torque transfer to said drive wheel 24.” pg 18 lines 1-5, Fig 5 shows an exploded view where the axles 112,132 and 134 support the entirety of the drive arrangement 100 ).
Regarding claim 5, Hellholm teaches said centre support bar 112,134,132 (Fig 5) is configured to coaxially coincide with the centre axis Z (Fig 5) of said drive wheel member 24 (Fig 5) (Fig 5 shows the axles all aligned on the same Z axis as the drive wheel member).
Regarding claim 6, Hellholm teaches said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5 ) comprises a drive axle 24c (Fig 5) [said drive wheel member 24 (Fig 4) being connected to said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) being configured to transfer said torque from said motor device 110 (Fig 5) to said drive wheel member 24 (Fig 5) via said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) ] (“Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6. Said motor axle 1 12 is configured to transfer torque to said housing 24c. Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 via said transmission device 130 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6.” Pg 19 line 26-Pg 20 line 2) [wherein said journaling in bearings 120 (Fig 5) of said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) is provided such that said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) of said drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) is journaled in bearings of said bearing configuration 120 (Fig 5) for allowing said rotation of said drive wheel member 100 (Fig 5) relative to said track support beam 22 (Fig 1)] (“Said drive arrangement 100 comprises a bearing configuration 120. Said bearing configuration 120 is arranged to allow the drive wheel 24 to rotate relative to the stator 1 10b of the motor 1 10. The bearing configuration 120 is configured to be arranged about said motor housing 1 14….The drive arrangement 100 according to this embodiment further comprises a transmission device for transferring torque from said motor to said drive wheel 24…The transmission device 130 comprises according to an embodiment a planetary gear and a transmission axle 132, 134 for said torque transfer. Said transmission axle 132, 134 comprises an input axle 132 configured to be coupled to said motor axle 1 12 and an output axle 134 configured to be coupled to said drive wheel 24 for torque transfer to said drive wheel 24.” Pg 17 line 25-Pg 18 line 3 ).
Regarding claim 7, Hellholm teaches said centre support bar 112,134,132 (Fig 5) is configured to run through said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) so as to provide said connection of said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) and brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) (Fig 5 shows the connection between the centre support bar and the transmission device and brake arrangement for the drive device, “Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6. Said motor axle 1 12 is configured to transfer torque to said housing 24c. Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 via said transmission device 130 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6.” Pg 19 line 26-Pg 20 line 2).
Regarding claim 8, Hellholm teaches said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) [has an inner portion protruding from the inner side of said track support beam 22 (Fig 4)] (Fig 3a shows the drive axle 24c having a protruded end extending away from the inner side of the track support beam) into said transmission device 130 (Fig 5)] (Annotated Hellholm Figure 6 below shows the interaction between drive axle 24c and the transmission device 130) [wherein said centre support bar 112,134,132 (Fig 5) running through said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) is configured to be connected to said transmission device 130 (Figs 5 and 6) ] (Hellholm figures 5 shows an exploded view where the centre support bar runs through the drive axle 24c and is connected the transmission device, “Said motor axle 1 12 is operably connected to said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 via said transmission device 130 for rotating said drive wheel 24, see fig. 6.” Pg 19 line 28- Pg 20 line 1).
Annotated Hellholm Figure 6 shows the interaction between the drive axle 24c and the transmission device 130.
Regarding claim 9, Hellholm teaches said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) [is configured to run through said track support beam 22 (Fig 5)] (Fig 4 shows a fastening arrangement wherein the drive axle 24c is connected to the track support beam 22 via forks 82a and 82b, “Said fork configuration 82 of said fastening arrangement 80 is according to this embodiment an integrated part of said track support beam 22. Said fork configuration 82 is arranged at an end portion of said track support beam 22 for supporting said drive wheel 24 and hence drive arrangement 100.” pg 15 lines 23-26) [ in connection to said bearing configuration 120 (Figs 5 and 6) wherein said outer drive wheel 24b (Figs 5 and 6) is configured to be attached to a portion of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) protruding from the outer side of said track support beam 22 (Fig 4) and wherein said inner drive wheel 24a (Figs 5 and 6) is configured to be attached to a portion of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) protruding from the inner side of said track support beam 22 (Fig 4)] (Fig 3b shows the drive device 100 is protruding from both sides of the beam 22, and the drive wheels are protruding from a left and right side surface of the beam 22,” The drive wheel 24 comprises a housing portion 24c. The first gear portion 24a and second gear portion 24b are arranged to surround said housing portion 24c. The first gear portion 24a and second gear portion 24b are protrudingly arranged about said housing portion 24c. The first gear portion 24a and second gear portion 24b are coaxially aligned and laterally separated from each other.” Pg 14 lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 11, Hellholm teaches [the motor device 110 (Fig 5) of the drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) and transmission device 130 (Fig 5) of the drive arrangement 100 (Fig 5) provides a drive unit 110a,110b,112,114 ,130 (Fig 5)] (“…said motor (1 10) is comprised in a drive arrangement (100), said drive arrangement (100) further comprising a transmission device (130) for transferring torque from said motor (1 10) to said drive wheel (24)…” pg 22 line 27 – pg 23 line 1).
Regarding claim 12, Hellholm teaches said brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) [ is configured to be pivotably journaled in bearings in connection to an outer portion of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) configured to protrude from the outer side of said track support beam] (Fig 6 shows the brake arrangement 140 is connected to an outer portion of the drive axle 24c via the bearing arrangement 120) so as to allow rotation of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) relative to the brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) wherein said brake arrangement 140 (Fig 5) [comprises a torque arm 82b (Figs 3a-4) configured to be connected to said track support beam 22 (Figs 3a-4) so as to essentially prevent rotation of said brake arrangement 140 (Figs 3a,3b and 5) about said centre axis Z (Fig 3b) ] (“The brake member 140 comprises a stator part configured to be fixedly attached to said fastening arrangement 80 and a rotor part.” Pg 20 lines 10-13 And “Said left clamping member 84b is arranged to clamp the stator part of said brake member 140” Pg 20 lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 13, Hellholm teaches said drive unit 110a,110b,112,114 ,130 (Fig 5) [is configured to be pivotably journaled in bearings in connection to an inner portion of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) ] (“Said bearing configuration 120 is configured to be arranged between said motor housing 1 14 and said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24. Thus, said first rolling bearing 122 and a second rolling bearing 124 are arranged between said motor housing 1 14 and said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24. Said bearing configuration 120 is configured to be arranged between said motor housing 1 14 and said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 so as to allow rotational movement of said housing 24c of said drive wheel 24 relative to said motor housing 1 14.” Pg 19 lines 13-20 ) [configured to protrude from the inner side of said track support beam 22 (Figs 3a and 3b) ] (Fig 6 shows the motor unit 110 is protruding from an interior face of the support beam 22) so as to allow rotation of the drive axle 24c (Fig 5) relative to a housing configuration 114 (Fig 5) of said drive unit 110a,110b ,130 (Fig 5) [wherein said drive unit 110a,110b ,130 (Fig 5) comprises a torque arm 82a (Fig 4) configured to be connected to said track support beam 22 (Fig 4) so as to essentially prevent rotation of said housing configuration 114 (Fig 5) of said drive unit 110a,110b,112,114 ,130 (Fig 5) about said centre axis Z (Fig 5).] (“Said fastening arrangement 80 comprises according to this embodiment clamping members 84a, 84b for clamping said drive arrangement 100 to said fork configuration 82.” Pg 16 lines 28-30 and “Said motor housing 1 14 is according to an embodiment configured to be fixedly arranged to said fork configuration 82 of said fastening arrangement 80.” pg 17 lines 11-13 )
Regarding claim 14, Hellholm teaches the brake arrangement 140 (Fig 3a) , [in the direction essentially perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and the transversal direction of the endless track 25 (Fig 3a) is configured to be arranged within the periphery of the endless track 25 (Fig 3a) ] (“As can be seen in fig. 3a the drive arrangement 100 is, in the direction essentially perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and the transversal direction of the endless track 25, arranged within the periphery of the endless track 25. The transversal extension of the drive arrangement 100 is within the width of the endless track 25.” Pg 16 lines 12-16).
Regarding claim 15, Hellholm teaches the motor device 110,114 (Fig 5) a motor housing 114 (Fig 5) and a motor 110 (Fig 5) for said driving, said motor 110 (Fig 5) being configured to be housed in said housing 114 (Fig 5), [said motor being an electric motor or a hydraulic motor] (“Said motor 1 10 may be an electric motor or a hydraulic motor.” pg 16 line 22 ), [said motor comprising a stator 110b (Fig 5) configured to be fixedly connected to a motor housing 114 (Fig 5) of said motor 110 (Fig 5) and a rotor 110a (Fig 5) for providing a rotational movement of a motor axle 112 (Fig 5) relative to the stator] (“Said motor 1 10 comprises a rotor 1 10a for providing a rotational movement of said motor axle 1 12. Said motor comprises a stator 1 10b configured to be fixedly attached to said track support beam 22. Said rotor is arranged to provide a rotational movement of said motor axle 1 12 relative to the stator for said operation of the drive wheel 24.” Pg 16 lines 23-27), [said motor axle 112 (Fig 5) being operably connected to said transmission device 130 (Fig 5) for transferring torque to said drive axle 24c (Fig 5) ] (“The transmission device 130 comprises according to an embodiment a planetary gear and a transmission axle 132, 134 for said torque transfer. Said transmission axle 132, 134 comprises an input axle 132 configured to be coupled to said motor axle 1 12 and an output axle 134 configured to be coupled to said drive wheel 24 for torque transfer to said drive wheel 24.” pg 17 line 28- Pg 18 line 3 ).
Regarding claim 16, Hellholm teaches a tracked vehicle 10 (Fig 1) [comprising at least one track assembly of claim 1] (“The respective track assembly 21 of the respective vehicle unit 1 1 , 12 is thus arranged to be supported by the respective vehicle body 30, 32 by means of said suspension device S.” pg 9 line 19-21 ).
Regarding claim 17, Hellholm teaches the tracked vehicle comprises a left track assembly 21 (Fig 1) a right track assembly 21 (Fig 1) and a vehicle body 30 (Fig 1), wherein said track assemblies 21 (Fig 1) [are suspendedly arranged to said vehicle body by means of a suspension arrangement S (Fig 1) ] (“Each of the front and rear vehicle unit 1 1 , 12 comprises a suspension device S for the respective track assembly 21 . The respective track assembly 21 of the respective vehicle unit 1 1 , 12 is thus arranged to be supported by the respective vehicle body 30, 32 by means of said suspension device S” pg 9 lines 18-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hellholm.
Regarding claim 10, Hellholm discloses the claimed invention except for the center support bar being removable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to make the centre support bar removable from the brake arrangement since it has been held that if making components separable from one another is desirable in order to access to a component, it would be obvious to make the component removable for that purpose. See In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vik (US 20180118262 A1) teaches a steerable drive axle for a tracked work vehicle may generally include an axle body extending lengthwise between first and second ends and an axle support assembly pivotally coupled to one of the first end or the second end of the axle body.
Yu (US 20190322166 A1) teaches a coaxial propulsion system with multiple electric motors, comprising a housing, two or more electric motors being provided in the housing, wherein the electric motors share one common shaft
Albright (US 20040045747 A1) teaches a speed reduction drive is used with a crawler track that is an endless member mounted on suitable supports including a ground engaging portion for moving a vehicle attached to a track frame. The speed reduction drive comprises a drive case having an input shaft and an output shaft.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611