DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed March 27, 2026.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SEMICONDUCTOR PACKAGE INCLUDING INNER LEAD PORTIONS WITH BULGING ISLAND PORTIONS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (PREVIOUSLY PRESENTED)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1 (previously claim 3), what direction is the wiring direction in?
Claims 2-6 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crane, JR. et al. (US 2003/0162319 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Crane, JR. et al. teach a semiconductor package 10, comprising: a package main body portion 210a; a bed portion 220 on a center side of the package main body portion 210a; a semiconductor chip 100 mounted on the bed portion 220; and an inner lead portion 310 that surrounds a periphery of an outer edge side of the bed portion 220, wherein the inner lead portion 310 includes a plurality of inner leads 300 configured to establish connection with the semiconductor chip 100, each inner lead 300 of the plurality of inner leads 300 has a plurality of island portions (at 300) that bulges laterally with respect to a wiring direction of the plurality of inner leads 300, and the wiring direction is along a length of the each inner lead 300 of the plurality of inner leads 300 (Figures 1, 3 and 18, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0046]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 2, Crane, JR. et al. teach the plurality of inner leads 300 disposed in a spiral shape to surround a periphery of the semiconductor chip 100 (Figures 1, 3 and 18, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0046]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 4, Crane, JR. et al. teach the each inner lead 300 of the plurality of inner leads 300 arranged side by side in a rectangular shape or a square shape in a plurality of concentric layers, the plurality of concentric layers is turns around four sides of outer edge sides of the bed portion 220 having a substantially rectangular shape or a square shape, and the each inner lead 300 of the plurality of inner leads 300 has a configuration in which an entire length in each winding is: over the four sides of the outer edge sides of the bed portion 220; over three sides of the outer edge sides of the bed portion 220; over two sides of the outer edge sides of the bed portion 220; or formed in units of each side of the outer edge sides of the bed portion 220 (Figures 1, 3 and 18, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0046]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 5, Crane, JR. et al. teach an island portion (at 300) of the plurality of island portions (at 300) having any one of a circular shape, an elliptical shape, a rhombus shape, or a rectangular shape (Figures 1, 3 and 18, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0046]-[0077]).
In regard to claim 6, Crane, JR. et al. teach the package main body portion 210a including ceramic (Figures 1, 3 and 18, pages 2-5, paragraphs [0046]-[0077]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor packages:
Hamzehdoost et al. (5,491,362) Ito et al. (US 2003/0178723 A1)
Ito et al. (US 2005/0189627 A1) Kikuchi et al. (US 2005/0258519 A1)
Malladi et al. (5,972,736) Marcantonio (5,796,170)
McMahon (US 2001/0006828 A1) Minamio et al. (US 2004/0080026 A1)
Sawai et al. (5,814,883) Scherer (4,477828).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMSApril 22, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898