DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2, 4-12, 15, 17, 19-20, 23, 25-26, 29 and 31 have been amended. Claims 14, 18, 22, and 27-28 are cancelled. Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-21, 23-26, and 29-31 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a U.S. national phase application filed under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/082249, filed March 22, 2022, designating the United States, which claims priority from Chinese Patent Application No.: CN2021082413, filed March 23, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 09/20/2023, has been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copy of the PTO-1449 submitted herewith.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-21, 23-26, and 29-31 are under examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 3 contains a phrase “wherein the promoter metal consists of Cu and/or Fe”, wherein the phrase can be interpreted as: 1) the promoter metal is Cu; 2) the promoter metal is Fe; and 3) the promoter metal is Fe and Cu. In addition, the phrase “consists of… and/or..” is not a Markush-stye claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 3 are not clear.
Claims 5 and 7 contain a term “preferably” to further narrow the scope of claimed limitation from a broader scope of limitation. It is not clear whether or not the description after “preferably” (i.e. narrow scope) is the part of claimed limitation. Therefore, claims 5 and 7 are indefinite.
For claim 9, it is not clear which claim it depends on, because “claim 1” has been amended to “claim”, accidently.
Claim 26 contains a term “particularly” to further narrow the scope of claimed limitation (i.e., zeolite Y) from a broader scope of limitation (i.e., FAU zeolite). It is not clear whether or not the description after “particularly” (i.e. narrow scope) is the part of claimed limitation. Therefore, claim 26 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 15-17, 19-21, 23-26, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2019/0134617 (“the `617 publication”) to Lin et al., published on May 9, 2019.
Applicant’s claim 1 is drawn to an SCR catalyst composition, which comprises an aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure and a promoter metal.
Applicant’s claim 16 is drawn to a process for preparing an aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure, which includes: (1) providing a synthesis mixture comprising (A) a source for Al2O3, (B) a source for SiO2, (C1) a source for first organic structure directing agent comprising a N,N,N,N',N',N'- hexaethyl alkylenediammonium cation, and (C2) a source for second organic structure directing agent comprising a 1-methyl-1- alkylpiperidinium cation wherein the piperidinium ring is optionally substituted at one or more of 2 to 6-positions; and (2) subjecting the synthesis mixture to crystallization conditions to form an AFT zeolite.
The `617 publication (claim 4) disclosed a catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a rare-earth metal or a transition metal, and a combination thereof, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, and wherein the ion-exchange metal and promoter metal are not the same metal, wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT. The `617 publication [0109] disclosed the molecular sieve comprises an 8-ring small pore aluminosilicate zeolite. The `617 publication (claim 2) disclosed the ion-exchanged metal is selected from the group consisting of Cu, Co, Ni, La, Mn, Fe, V, Ag, Ce, Nd, Pr, Ti, Cr, Zn, Nb, Mo, Hf, Y, and W. The `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof. In addition, the `617 publication [0009] disclosed the catalysts are used as SCR catalysts. Therefore, the `617 publication anticipates claim 1.
In terms of claim 2 wherein the promoter metal is selected from transition metals, alkali earth metals, Sb, Sn and Bi, and any combinations thereof, the `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof.
In terms of claim 3 wherein the promoter metal consists of Cu and/or Fe, the `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal includes the transition metals of VIIIB (e.g., Fe), and/or IB (e.g., Cu).
In terms of claim 4 wherein the promoter metal is within and/or on the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure, the `617 publication (claim 4) disclosed a catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a rare-earth metal or a transition metal, and a combination thereof, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, and wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT.
In terms of claim 5 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure has a molar ratio of silica to alumina of 10 to 25, preferably 13 to 25, the `617 publication [0014 and 116] disclosed the molecular sieve has a silica-to alumina ratio (SAR) of about 10 to about 40.
In terms of claim 6 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure typically has an average crystal size of up to 500 nm,
In terms of claim 7 wherein the promoter metal is present at an amount of 0.1 to 1.0 moles; more preferably 0.3 to 0.5 moles, per mole of framework aluminum of the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure, the `617 publication [0027, 0057, and 0141] disclosed the concentration of the promoter metal precursor is about 0.1 wt. % to about 50 wt. % relative to the weight of the metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve.
In terms of claim 31 drawn to a method for selective catalytic reduction of nitrogen oxides, including (A) providing a gas stream comprising nitrogen oxides; (B) contacting the gas stream with an SCR catalyst composition according to claim 1, the `617 publication (claim 27) disclosed a method for reducing NOx level in an exhaust gas, the method comprising contacting the gas with the catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a transition metal, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT, for a time and temperature sufficient to reduce the level of NOx in the gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-21, 23-26, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2019/0127231 (“the `231 publication”) to Xie et al., published on May 2, 2019 in view of the `617 publication, and US2016/0061082 (“the `082 publication”) to Orehovsky et al.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
The `231 publication (Abstract) disclosed an aluminosilicate molecular sieve of AFT framework type (SSZ-112), synthesized using a mixed-template method, and may be used in catalytic and sorptive processes. In addition, the `231 publication [0035] disclosed any cations in the as-synthesized molecular sieve can be replaced in accordance with techniques well known in the art by ion exchange with other cations, and preferred replacing cations may include those which tailor the catalytic activity for certain organic or inorganic conversion reactions, and may include hydrogen, rare earth metals, and metals of Groups 2-15 of the Periodic Table of Elements. In addition, the `231 publication (claim 11) disclosed a method of synthesizing an aluminosilicate molecular sieve of AFT framework type, the method comprising: (a) providing a reaction mixture comprising: (1) a source of silicon oxide; (2) a source of aluminum oxide; (3) a source of a Group 1 metal (M); (4) a source of a first organic template (Q1) comprising hexamethonium dications; (5) a source of a second organic template (Q2) comprising one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, where each alkyl group is independently C1-C5 alkyl; (6) a source of hydroxide ions; and (7) water; and (b) subjecting the reaction mixture to crystallization conditions sufficient to form crystals of the aluminosilicate molecular sieve, wherein the source of a second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-butylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-propylpiperidinium cations. In addition, the `231 publication [0025-0026] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and the second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, represented by the structures (2)
and (3)
, respectively.
The `617 publication (claim 4) disclosed a catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a rare-earth metal or a transition metal, and a combination thereof, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, and wherein the ion-exchange metal and promoter metal are not the same metal, wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT. The `617 publication [0109] disclosed the molecular sieve comprises an 8-ring small pore aluminosilicate zeolite. The `617 publication (claim 2) disclosed the ion-exchanged metal is selected from the group consisting of Cu, Co, Ni, La, Mn, Fe, V, Ag, Ce, Nd, Pr, Ti, Cr, Zn, Nb, Mo, Hf, Y, and W. The `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof. In addition, the `617 publication [0009] disclosed the catalysts are used as SCR catalysts.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between instant claim 1 and the `231 publication is that the prior art does not specifically teach an SCR catalyst composition further comprising a promoter metal.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
However, the instant claim 1 would have been obvious over the `231 publication because the same prior art [0035] also teaches any cations in the as-synthesized molecular sieve can be replaced in accordance with techniques well known in the art by ion exchange with other cations, including rare earth metals, and metals of Groups 2-15 of the Periodic Table of Elements. In addition, the difference is further taught and/or suggested by the `617 publication. The `617 publication [0109] disclosed the molecular sieve comprises an 8-ring small pore aluminosilicate zeolite. The `617 publication (claim 2) disclosed the ion-exchanged metal is selected from the group consisting of Cu, Co, Ni, La, Mn, Fe, V, Ag, Ce, Nd, Pr, Ti, Cr, Zn, Nb, Mo, Hf, Y, and W. The `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof. In addition, the `617 publication [0009] disclosed the catalysts are used as SCR catalysts. One ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to further include a promoter metal of selected from a transition metal from a group consisting of Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), and IB (e.g., Cu) to make SCR catalysts.
In terms of claim 2 wherein the promoter metal is selected from transition metals, alkali earth metals, Sb, Sn and Bi, and any combinations thereof, the `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof.
In terms of claim 3 wherein the promoter metal consists of Cu and/or Fe, the `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal includes the transition metals of VIIIB (e.g., Fe), and/or IB (e.g., Cu).
In terms of claim 4 wherein the promoter metal is within and/or on the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure, the `617 publication (claim 4) disclosed a catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a rare-earth metal or a transition metal, and a combination thereof, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, and wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT.
In terms of claim 5 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure has a molar ratio of silica to alumina of 10 to 25, preferably 13 to 25, the `617 publication [0014 and 116] disclosed the molecular sieve has a silica-to alumina ratio (SAR) of about 10 to about 40.
In terms of claim 6 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure typically has an average crystal size of up to 500 nm, it would be an inherited or inevitable property of the aluminosilicate zeolite prepared by the method disclosed by the `231 publication.
In terms of claim 7 wherein the promoter metal is present at an amount of 0.1 to 1.0 moles; more preferably 0.3 to 0.5 moles, per mole of framework aluminum of the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure, the `617 publication [0027, 0057, and 0141] disclosed the concentration of the promoter metal precursor is about 0.1 wt. % to about 50 wt. % relative to the weight of the metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve.
In terms of claim 8 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure in its as-synthesized form comprises within its pores N,N,N,N',N',N'-hexaethyl alkylenediammonium cations and 1-methyl-i -alkylpiperidinium cations in which the piperidinium ring is optionally substituted at one or more of 2 to 6-positions, the `231 publication [0025-0026] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and the second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, represented by the structures (2)
and (3)
, respectively.
In terms of claim 9 wherein the aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure in its as-synthesized form comprises within its pores only N,N,N,N',N',N'- hexaethyl alkylenediammonium cations as organic cations, the `231 publication in view of the `617 publication would have rendered the claim obvious because the `231 publication [0025] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and through the very similar preparation method.
In terms of claim 10 wherein the alkylene moiety in the N,N,N,N',N',N'-hexaethyl alkylenediammonium cation is selected from substituted or unsubstituted straight chain or branched C3-C10 alkanediyl, the `231 publication in view of the `617 publication would have rendered the claim obvious because the `231 publication [0025] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and through the very similar preparation method.
In terms of claims 11-13, and 15, the `231 publication [0025-0026] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and the second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, represented by the structures (2)
and (3)
, respectively.
In terms of claims 16-17, 19-21, and 23-26, the `231 publication (Abstract) disclosed an aluminosilicate molecular sieve of AFT framework type (SSZ-112), synthesized using a mixed-template method, and may be used in catalytic and sorptive processes. In addition, the `231 publication [0035] disclosed any cations in the as-synthesized molecular sieve can be replaced in accordance with techniques well known in the art by ion exchange with other cations, and preferred replacing cations may include that which tailor the catalytic activity for certain organic or inorganic conversion reactions, and may include hydrogen, rare earth metals, and metals of Groups 2-15 of the Periodic Table of Elements. In addition, the `231 publication (claim 11) disclosed a method of synthesizing an aluminosilicate molecular sieve of AFT framework type, the method comprising: (a) providing a reaction mixture comprising: (1) a source of silicon oxide; (2) a source of aluminum oxide; (3) a source of a Group 1 metal (M); (4) a source of a first organic template (Q1) comprising hexamethonium dications; (5) a source of a second organic template (Q2) comprising one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, where each alkyl group is independently C1-C5 alkyl; (6) a source of hydroxide ions; and (7) water; and (b) subjecting the reaction mixture to crystallization conditions sufficient to form crystals of the aluminosilicate molecular sieve, wherein the source of a second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-butylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-propylpiperidinium cations. In addition, the `231 publication [0025-0026] disclosed the first organic template (Q1) comprises hexamethonium dications, represented by the structure (1)
, and the second organic template (Q2) comprises one or more of 1-methyl-1-alkylpyrrolidinium cations and 1-methyl-1-alkylpiperidinium cations, represented by the structures (2)
and (3)
, respectively.
In terms of claims 29-31, the `617 publication (Abstract) disclosed catalysts, catalyst articles and catalyst systems including such catalyst articles, wherein the catalyst composition comprising: a metal ion-exchanged molecular sieve, comprising an ion-exchanged metal within at least a portion of the exchange sites of the molecular sieve, wherein the ion-exchanged metal is a rare-earth metal or a transition metal, and a combination thereof, and further comprising a promoter metal on or in the molecular sieve, wherein at least a portion of the promoter metal is located on a surface of the sieve or in an intra-pore site other than an exchange site, and wherein the ion-exchange metal and promoter metal are not the same metal, wherein the molecular sieve has a structure type of AFT. The `617 publication [0109] disclosed the molecular sieve comprises an 8-ring small pore aluminosilicate zeolite. The `617 publication (claim 2) disclosed the ion-exchanged metal is selected from the group consisting of Cu, Co, Ni, La, Mn, Fe, V, Ag, Ce, Nd, Pr, Ti, Cr, Zn, Nb, Mo, Hf, Y, and W. The `617 publication (claim 10) disclosed the promoter metal is selected from the group consisting of alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, transition metals in Groups IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB VIIB, VIIIB (e.g., Fe), IB (e.g., Cu), and IIB, Group IIIA elements, Group IVA elements, lanthanides, actinides, and a combination thereof. The `617 publication [0009] disclosed the catalysts are used as SCR catalysts. The `617 publication does not teach SCR catalysts are in form of extrudates comprising a catalyst composition or in form of a monolith comprising a washcoat containing a catalyst composition on substrate. However, the `082 publication [0005] teaches catalyst elements are available for example in the form of homogeneously extruded honeycomb bodies or in the form of substrate materials whose surface is provided with a catalytic layer, and which are known as plate catalysts, and zeolite catalysts in which the active layer is applied to a ceramic substrate by the washcoat method, and also catalysts in the form of wavy plates. In addition, the `082 publication [0003, and 0006] teaches the catalysts are SCR-catalysts, and used in SCR reactors.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-2, 4, and 29-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, and 15-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,077,432 (“the `432 patent”).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Applicant’s claims 1-2, 4, and 29-31 and claims 1-4, and 15-23 of the `432 patent are both drawn to an SCR catalyst composition, which comprises an aluminosilicate zeolite having AFT framework structure and a promoter metal, a catalytic article comprising the SCR catalyst composition, an exhaust gas treatment system, and a method for selective catalytic reduction of nitrogen oxides, including (A) providing a gas stream comprising nitrogen oxides; (B) contacting the gas stream with an SCR catalyst composition thereof. The claimed subject matters and the prior art claimed subject matters are substantially overlapped in scope. Claim 3 of the `432 patent discloses the 8-ring, small pore zeolite has a structure type of AFT.
Therefore, instant claims 1-2, 4, and 29-31 are ODP over claims 1-4, and 15-23 of the `432 patent.
Conclusions
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-21, 23-26, and 29-31 are rejected.
Telephone Inquiry
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731