Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-29 drawn to user equipment (UE) for supporting satellite wireless access by the UE.
Group II, claim(s) 30-58 drawn to a network node in a public land mobile network (PLMN) for supporting satellite wireless access by a user equipment (UE).
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
Group I contains the features “receiving from a network node an indication of a registration area (RA), wherein the RA comprises a geodetic area that is determined by the network node based on a current geodetic location of the UE; accessing a radio cell for the serving PLMN, wherein the radio cell is supported by a satellite; determining whether the radio cell provides coverage for the RA; and performing a Registration with the serving PLMN via the radio cell in response to determining that the radio cell does not provide coverage for the RA.,” which are not shared by Group II.
Similarly, Group II shares the features “ obtaining a current geodetic location of the UE; determining a registration area (RA), wherein the RA comprises a geodetic area that is determined based on the current geodetic location of the UE; sending to the UE an indication of the RA..,” which are not shared by Group I.
During a telephone conversation with MCMILLAN, SCOTT Registration No.62079 510-663-1100 on 9/9/2023 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-29. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 30-58 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. All claims have priority of foreign filing date 05/06/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-20, 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210037496 A1 Ryu; Jinsook et al.
Consider Claims 1 and 14, Ryu teaches A method performed by and A user equipment (UE) (Ryu Figs. 18-21 UE as depicted, configured for supporting satellite wireless access by the UE to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN), the UE comprising:
a wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with a communication satellite; at least one memory; at least one processor coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory (Ryu ¶289 “a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory”), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive from a network node an indication of a registration area (RA) (Ryu ¶¶ 214 “wireless device area/location tracking may include UE registration area tracking (e.g. UE registration area update) and UE reachability tracking (e.g. UE periodic registration area update. . . performing a registration area update by a wireless device”, 233, 236 and 237), wherein the RA comprises a geodetic area that is determined by the network node based on a current geodetic location of the UE (Ryu Fig. 20-21 and ¶217 “ The wireless device may receive a registration area 1 via the cell 1 from a network. The registration area 1 may comprise TA1 and TA2. The wireless device may not send a registration request message to update registration area if the wireless device moves inside the current registration area (e.g. registration area 1)”);
access a radio cell for the serving PLMN, wherein the radio cell is supported by a satellite (Ryu Fig. 19-20 ¶¶212-214 “a wireless device may be able to access the non-terrestrial access network and the terrestrial access network. In this deployment scenario, separate NG instances (e.g. N2, N3) are handling separate access type nodes. The coverage of the non-terrestrial access network may span over the coverage of the terrestrial access network. In an example, the PLMN A is a Verizon, AT&T and/or the like. In an example, Verizon may deploy a cellular access network (e.g. 4G, 5G terrestrial network) and a non-terrestrial access network. . .”)
determine whether the radio cell provides coverage for the RA; and perform a Registration with the serving PLMN via the radio cell in response to determining that the radio cell does not provide coverage for the RA (Ryu Fig. 19-20 ¶¶212-214 “. . .A wireless device which is a subscriber of Verizon may access to a core network via the terrestrial access network when the wireless device is in a coverage area of the terrestrial access network. In an example, urban area or suburban area may be the coverage area of the terrestrial access network. The wireless device may access the core network via the non-terrestrial access network when the wireless device is out of coverage area of the terrestrial access network. In an example, the rural area or mountain area may be out of the terrestrial access network coverage”).
Consider Claims 2 and 15, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the radio cell provides coverage for the RA by being configured to:
obtain an updated geodetic location for the UE (Ryu ¶229 “ the network may track a location (e.g., relative location) of the wireless device, e.g., a location of the wireless device relative to one or more tracking areas.”); determine whether the updated geodetic location is inside or outside the RA; determine that the radio cell provides coverage for the RA if the updated geodetic location is inside the RA; and determine that the radio cell does not provide coverage for the RA if the updated geodetic location is outside the RA (Ryu ¶229 “The wireless device may register with the network based on the tracking areas. As an example, the wireless device may register with the TN in tracking area #1 and adopt tracking area #1 as its registration area. If the wireless device moves from tracking area #1 to tracking area #2 (as determined based on, for example, cell measurements), it will re-register with the TN via one or more cells in tracking area #2, and adopt tracking area #2 as its registration area.. “).
Consider Claims 3 and 16, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
attempt to obtain additional updated geodetic locations for the UE over a time period Ryu ¶229 “ the network may track a location (e.g., relative location) of the wireless device, e.g., a location of the wireless device relative to one or more tracking areas.”; ¶269 and 271 teaching multiple locations and time stamps );
for each additional updated geodetic location, either fail to obtain the additional updated geodetic location or fail to determine whether the additional updated geodetic location is inside or outside the RA (Ryu ¶258 “If the wireless device cannot measure an absolute geographical positioning of the wireless device, the wireless device may select a cell-based tracking type for the registration area update type.”); and
perform the Registration with the serving PLMN when the time period exceeds a threshold time period (Ryu ¶66 “ the UE 100 may update its registration with the network periodically in order to remain reachable (periodic registration update)”).
Consider Claims 4 and 17, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain the updated geodetic location of the UE by being configured to:
obtain location measurements for downlink signals received from one or more communication satellites, one or more Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellites, one or more terrestrial base stations or a combination thereof; and determine the updated geodetic location based on the location measurements (¶245 “ if the wireless device capable of GNSS, the wireless device may select/determine a registration area update type as a geographical zone-based type” ¶229 “. If the wireless device moves from tracking area #1 to tracking area #2 (as determined based on, for example, cell measurements)”).
Consider Claims 5 and 18, ____ teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the radio cell provides coverage for the RA by being configured to: receive an indication of a geodetic area of coverage for the radio cell; determine whether the geodetic area of coverage includes at least part of the RA; and determine that the radio cell provides coverage for the RA if the geodetic area of coverage includes the at least part of the RA; and determine that the radio cell does not provide coverage for the RA if the geodetic area of coverage does not include the at least part of the RA (Ryu Fig. 19-20 ¶¶212-214 “. . .A wireless device which is a subscriber of Verizon may access to a core network via the terrestrial access network when the wireless device is in a coverage area of the terrestrial access network. In an example, urban area or suburban area may be the coverage area of the terrestrial access network. The wireless device may access the core network via the non-terrestrial access network when the wireless device is out of coverage area of the terrestrial access network. In an example, the rural area or mountain area may be out of the terrestrial access network coverage”)..
Consider Claims 6 and 19, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 18, wherein the indication of the geodetic area of coverage for the radio cell includes an indication of a current geodetic area of coverage for the radio cell, one or more indications of future geodetic areas of coverage for the radio cell or a combination of these (¶¶212-214 “. . .A wireless device which is a subscriber of Verizon may access to a core network via the terrestrial access).
Consider Claim 20, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the RA is not a preconfigured area (¶221 “a geographical zone configuration parameter may be provided by an access network or pre-configured in a wireless device” thus not pre-configured when provided by access network) and does not have an associated identifier (¶221 only teaches parameter and no mention of an associated identifier, further there is no meaningful function as a result of this feature and thus a simple design choice).
Consider Claim 22, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 21, wherein the RA is defined by a radius of the circle (Ryu ¶252 “. The serving geographical area information may comprise a region (e.g. country, state, city), a combination of a center of area (e.g., geographical coordinates) and the radius of the area, a combination of a center of area (e.g., geographical coordinates) and a width and a length, and/or the like”).
Consider Claims 7 and 23, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the RA is based on an extended geodetic area comprising a first portion covering all or part of a home country for the serving PLMN and a second portion covering one or more other countries, wherein the RA comprises the first portion of the extended geodetic area and excludes the second portion of the extended geodetic area.
Consider Claims 8 and 24, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
send a Registration Request message to a serving base station, wherein the serving base station forwards the Registration Request message to the network node; and receive a Registration Accept message from the network node via the serving base station, wherein the Registration Accept message comprises the indication of the RA (Ryu ¶236 “The wireless device may send a first registration request message comprising the first geographical zone identity (e.g. geographical zone identity 1) to inform a registration area of the wireless device. The network may send a first registration accept message indicating a successful registration area update in response to receiving the first registration request message”).
Consider Claims 9 and 25, ____ teaches The UE of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain current location information for the UE; and include the current location information with the Registration Request message sent to the serving base station for the UE ((Ryu ¶236 “The wireless device may send a first registration request message comprising the first geographical zone identity (e.g. geographical zone identity 1) to inform a registration area of the wireless device.), wherein the current geodetic location is determined by the serving PLMN based in part on the current location information (¶236 “The network may use the first geographical zone identity as a registration area of the wireless device.”).
Consider Claims 10 and 26, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a second RA as part of performing the Registration with the serving PLMN, wherein the second RA comprises a second geodetic area that is determined by the network node based on an updated geodetic location of the UE; and replace the RA with the second RA (¶236 “The wireless device may determine/detect that the wireless device has left the area of the first geographical zone identity and may enter a second geographical location. The second geographical area/location may be still under the area of cell 1. In an example, the wireless device may send a registration request message to indicate a change of registration area while the wireless device locates in a same tracking area of the access network. The wireless device may identify a second geographical zone identity (e.g., geographical zone identity 2) of the second geographical location based on the geographical coordinates of the second geographical location and the zone configuration parameter. The wireless device may send a second registration request message indicating a change of a registration area in response to the determination. The second registration request message may comprise the second geographical zone identity (e.g., geographical zone identity 2). The network may send a second registration accept message indicating a successful registration area update in response to receiving the first registration request message. The network may use the second geographical zone identity as a registration area of the wireless device.”).
Consider Claims 11 and 27, ____ teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive a paging message from the serving PLMN via the radio cell, wherein the paging message is transmitted by the serving PLMN in the radio cell based on the radio cell having radio coverage of at least part of the RA (¶246 “The network may use the geographical location information for paging or for determine the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. The network may use the tracking area code to escalate a paging area for paging retransmission.” And ¶257 “The wireless device may send a service request message to the AMF requesting a connection setup with the network in response to receiving the paging message for the wireless device.” Implying the page is received).
Consider Claims 12 and 28, ____ teaches The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a current geodetic area of coverage for the radio cell; determine whether the current geodetic area of coverage includes at least part of the RA; and camp on the radio cell or access the serving PLMN via the radio cell when the current geodetic area of coverage is determined to include at least part of the RA (¶237 “FIG. 28 comprises one zone (e.g. zone 1) and two cells (e.g. cell 1, cell 2). The one zone is illustrated as a rectangular and the two cells are illustrated as a circle. A wireless device may be in a first geographical location. In an example, the first geographical location may be cell 1 as a relative location of an access network. The first geographical location may be zone 1 as an absolute location based on geographical coordinates. The wireless device may camp on cell 1 based on cell reselection criteria when the wireless device is located in the first geographical location”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210037496 A1 Ryu; Jinsook et al. in view of CN 110036663 A WANG, GUAN-ZHOU et al.
Consider Claims 13 and 29, Ryu does not teache The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive from the serving PLMN an indication of one or more forbidden geodetic areas;
determine whether an updated geodetic location of the UE is within any of the one or more forbidden geodetic areas; and
refrain from requesting service from the serving PLMN when the updated geodetic location is determined to be within any of the one or more forbidden geodetic areas.
Wang teaches receive from the serving PLMN an indication of one or more forbidden geodetic areas (Wang pg. 9 Forbidden area list communicated to the WTRU from network);
determine whether an updated geodetic location of the UE is within any of the one or more forbidden geodetic areas (Wang Pg. 9 “the WTRU may be based on one or more region identification (e.g., the current region identifier) to determine the WTRU is in the allowable area or in the restricted area”); and
refrain from requesting service from the serving PLMN when the updated geodetic location is determined to be within any of the one or more forbidden geodetic areas (Wang Pg. 9 “If the WTRU determines the WTRU in the restricted area, then the WTRU may avoid initiating the service request.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Ryu to include the noted teachings of Wang In order to implementing limited mobility in the mobile network. (Wang Abstract)
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210037496 A1 Ryu; Jinsook et al. in view of US 5588043 A Tiedemann, Jr.; Edward G. et al.
Consider Claim 21, Ryu teaches The UE of claim 14, but does not teach wherein the RA comprises an interior of a circle centered on the current geodetic location of the UE.
Tiedemann teaches wherein the RA comprises an interior of a circle centered on the current geodetic location of the UE (Tiedemann Col. 12 L16-30 “Referring to FIG. 3, by the registration of mobile station 100 in coverage area C1.sub.A, all base stations within a predetermined range or distance dr of coverage area C1.sub.A form a paging region for mobile station 100 as indicated by circle 160.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of AAA to include the noted teachings of Tiedemann In order to provide zone based registration of mobile station. Tiedemann Col. 12 L16-30.
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the current rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2020197271 A1 LEE OANYONG et al. Abstract: A method and apparatus for de-prioritization of non-terrestrial networks (NTN) cells not providing current tracking area code (TAC) of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE, which is camping on a NTN cell, receives, from a network node serving the NTN cell, information on multiple TACs, and de-prioritizes the NTN cell based on that a TAC of an area where the wireless device is currently located is not included in the multiple TACs.
WO 2020089438 A1 DANG THI UYEN LY et al. Abstract: A wireless communication system comprising: at least a first terrestrial or non-terrestrial base station, the first base station (10, 10', 156) configured to generate one or more beams (10, 10', 156) for covering at least a first beam coverage area (12); wherein the first base station (10, 10', 156) is configured to broadcast at least to the first beam coverage area (12) a list of tracking area IDs comprising a first tracking area ID belonging to a first tracking region (12a) and a second tracking area ID belonging to a second tracking region (12b).
Conclusion
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647