DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “412; 450b, 452b” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “wire-receiving notches” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0045] line 16 recites: “the first and second light strip receiving slots 22, 24” should be -- the first and second light strip receiving slots 26, 28--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 line 1 recites: “a first set of wire-receiving notches”. Applicant just simply recites the element but where is this element “wire-receiving notches” presenting on the drawings. Since, there are a conductive bar openings 438, 440; then adjacent wire receiving openings 446b, 448b appeared to be on the sides of the insulating housing. However, the drawings don’t show which one is wire receiving notches or identify as mention from Specification. Further, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-10, 14-19, 21-22, and 33 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James et al. (GB2582046).
As per claim 1: James et al. discloses a connector assembly 100 for electrically connecting an end of a first light strip to an end of a second light strip (see fig.5, wherein an end of LED strip 200 is connected to the connector 100), the connector assembly 100 comprising: an electrically insulating body 101 having a top surface and opposing first and second side surfaces (not label, see figs. 1-5); wherein a first light-strip-receiving slot 105a/b extends through the first side surface of the electrically insulating body 101 (as shown in fig. 4) and is configured to receive an end of a first light strip 200 that has electrical contacts 202; wherein a second light-strip-receiving slot extends through the second side surface of the electrically insulating body 101 (as shown in fig. 7, opposite to the first LED light strip) and is configured to receive an end of a second light strip that has electrical contacts (not label, see fig. 4, wherein a second wide slot 105a extending through a second side surface of the housing 101); a plurality of conductive bars 102 disposed within the electrically insulating body 101 between the top surface of the electrically insulating body 101 and the first and second light-strip-receiving slots 105a/b (see figs. 4-5), the plurality of conductive bars 102 each separated from the first and second light-strip-receiving slots 105a/b by an intermediate portion of the electrically insulating body 101 (as shown in figs. 4-5); a first set of screws 103 disposed within the electrically insulating body 101 and each comprising a proximal end exposed at the top surface (as shown in figs. 5-7), an intermediate section threadably engaged at one of the plurality of conductive bars 102, and a distal end disposed in the first light-strip-receiving slot 105a/b and configured to discretely contact the electrical contacts 202 of the first light strip 200 (see fig. 9); a second set of screws (see figs. 4-7, wherein Each screw terminal 102 has two screws 103 and is capable of receiving and retaining an electrical wire in openings 104 at opposing ends of the screw terminal 102) disposed within the electrically insulating body 101 and each comprising a proximal end exposed at the top surface (as shown in figs. 4-7), an intermediate section threadably engaged at one of the plurality of conductive bars 102, and a distal end disposed in the second light-strip-receiving slot 105a/b and configured to discretely contact the electrical contacts of the second light strip (not label, see fig. 9); and wherein the first set of screws 103 are electrically connected to the second set of screws 103 via the plurality of conductive bars 102 for forming separate electrical connections between the electrical contacts of the first and second light strips (see figs. 4-9).
(note: claim 1 can also be rejected by references of Lessen et al. (US 10591114); Lowe et al. (US 10826202))
As per claims 2-3, 5, 7, 9-10: James et al. discloses the connector assembly 100 for electrically connecting an end of a first light strip to an end of a second light strip (see fig.5, wherein an end of LED strip 200 is connected to the connector 100), wherein the first and second sets of screws 103 each comprise a substantially consistent diameter along a length between and including proximal and distal ends (as shown in figs. 4, 9); wherein the first and second sets of screws 103 each comprise a tool-engaging feature at the proximal ends configured to receive a tool operable to rotate the respective screws (as shown in fig. 4, wherein the screws set can be operable by tool); and wherein each of the first and second sets of screws 103 comprise a piercing tip at the distal ends configured to pierce the electrical contacts (see fig. 9, the screws set can be penetrate through the electrical contact if tightened further); and wherein a first set of wire-receiving notches 104 extend through the first side surface of the electrically insulating body (as shown in fig. 1-3), each of the first set of wire- receiving notches 104 adjacent one of the plurality of conductive bars 102 and configured to receive an end of an electrical wire 300, and wherein a second set of wire-receiving notches (see fig. 13) extend through the second side surface of the electrically insulating body 101, each of the second set of wire-receiving notches 104 adjacent one of the plurality of conductive bars 102 and configured to receive an end of an electrical wire 300 (as shown in fig. 11); and wherein the intermediate sections of the first and second sets of screws 103 each threadably engage one of the plurality of conductive bars 102 at a threaded surface of the conductive bars 102 and wherein the threaded surfaces of the conductive bars extend through an entire thickness of the conductive bars 102 (as shown in fig. 9); and wherein the first and second sets of screws 103 are configured to be disposed within first and second sets of axial passages (see fig. 4), respective, and the first and second sets of axial passages comprise interior surfaces void of threading (as shown in figs. 4, 9).
As per claim 14: James et al. discloses a connector assembly 100 configured to receive a first light strip and a second light strip (as shown in fig. 4, wherein a connector 100 electrically connecting a wide or narrow LED strip to a second wide or narrow LED strip using each side of the connector 100), the connector assembly 100 comprising: an electrically insulating body 101 having: a top surface (not label, see fig. 4, wherein the set of screws receiving openings located) forming a first set of screw-receiving openings 107 and a second set of screw-receiving openings 107 (see fig. 4); a first side surface forming a first set of conductive bar receiving openings and a first light-strip-receiving opening (see fig. 4, wherein a first side with a first set of openings to channels 106 for receiving screw terminal 102 and an opening of fist wide slot 105a for receiving an LED strip 200); and a second side surface forming a second set of conductive bar receiving openings and a second light-strip-receiving opening (as shown in fig. 7, wherein a second side with a second set of openings to channels 106 for receiving screw terminal 102 and an opening of second wide slot 105a for receiving a second LED strip 200),
wherein the electrically insulating body includes: a first set of axial passages extending from the first set of screw-receiving openings (see fig. 4, wherein a first set of axial passages extending down through the width of housing 101 from the first set of countersunk screw hold 107);
a second set of axial passages extending from the second set of screw-receiving openings (as shown in fig. 4, wherein a second set of axial passages extending down through the width of housing 101 from the second set of countersunk screw holes 107);
a third set of axial passages extending from the first set of conductive bar receiving openings and the second set of conductive bar receiving openings (as shown in fig. 4, wherein a set of channels 106 extending from one side opening to the second side opening for receiving screw terminals 102),
wherein the third set of axial passages are substantially orthogonal to the first set of axial passages and the second set of axial passages (see fig. 4, wherein channels 106 are perpendicular to the first and second sets of axial passages extending through the housing from countersunk screw holes 107);
a first light-strip-receiving passage extending from the first light-strip-receiving opening (see fig. 4, wherein the first wide slot 105a extending from the opening shown on the first side),
wherein the first light-strip-receiving passage is orthogonal to the first set of axial passages and separate from the third set of axial passages (see fig. 4, wherein the first wide slot 105a is perpendicular to the first set of axial passages and separated from channels 106 by a lip formed from the housing 101); and
a second light-strip-receiving passage extending from the second light-strip- receiving opening (see fig. 4, wherein the first wide slot 105a extending from the opening shown on the first side),
wherein the second light-strip-receiving passage is orthogonal to the second set of axial passages and separate from the third set of axial passages (see figs. 4, and 7; wherein the second wide slot 105a is perpendicular to the second set of axial passages and separated from channels 106 by a lip formed from the housing 101);
a plurality of conductive bars disposed within the third set of axial passages (wherein screw terminals 102 are received within channels 106); a first set of screws disposed within the first set of axial passages and each comprising a proximal end configured to receive a tool operable to rotate the respective screw (a first set of screws 103 configured to be received within the first set of axial passages extending down through the housing 101 from countersunk screw holes 107, each with a proximal end comprising Phillips head screwdriver engaging features either tighten or loosen the screws 103),
an intermediate section threadably engaged at one of the plurality of conductive bars (wherein an intermediated section of each of the first set of screws 103 with threaded upper holes 108a of each screw terminal 102),
and a distal end disposed in the first light-strip-receiving passage and configured to directly engage electrical contacts of the first light strip (as shown in fig. 6; wherein a distal end of each of the first sets of screws 103 disposed in side slot 105a to be tightened against electrical terminals 202 of the first LED strip 200);
and a second set of screws disposed with the second set of axial passages and each comprising a proximal end configured to receive a tool operable to rotate the respective screw (as shown in fig. 4; wherein a second set of screws 103 configured to be received within the second set of axial passages extending down through the housing 101 from countersunk screw holes 107, each with a proximal end comprising Phillips head screwdriver engaging features capable of tighten or loosen the screw 103),
an intermediate section threadably engaged at one of the plurality of conductive bars (wherein an intermediate section of each of the second sets of screws 103 threadably engaged with threaded upper holes 108a of each screw terminal 102),
and a distal end disposed in the second light-strip-receiving passage and configured to directly engage electrical contacts of the second light strip (as shown in fig. 6; wherein a distal end of each of the second sets of screws 103 disposed in side slot 105a to be tightened against the electrical terminal 202 of the second LED strip 200).
(note: claim 14 can also be rejected by references of Lessen et al. (US 10591114); Lowe et al. (US 10826202))
As per claims 15-19, 21-22: James et al. discloses the connector assembly 100, wherein the first and second sets of axial passages comprise interior surfaces void of threading (as shown in fig. 11, wherein each of the axial passages extending from the countersunk screw holes 107 is void of threading); and wherein each of the plurality of conductive bars, when disposed within the third set of axial passages, comprise substantially flat faces disposed at the first and second sets of conductive bar receiving openings (as shown in figs. 5, 7; wherein each screw terminal 102 is received within channels 106 there is a flat surface of the screw terminals 102 at each of the first and second side opening of channels 106); and wherein the first and second sets of screws each comprise a substantially consistent diameter along a length between and including the proximal and distal ends (as shown in fig. 4; wherein the first and second sets of screws 103 comprise a substantially consistent diameter along the length); and wherein the first and second sets of screws each comprise a tool-engaging feature at the proximal ends configured to receive a tool operable to rotate the respective screws (see fig. 4; wherein the first and second set of screws 103 each comprise Phillips head screwdriver engaging features capable of tighten or loosen the screws set); and wherein the tool-engaging feature comprises an axially-aligned notch disposed across the proximal ends of the first and second sets of screws (as shown in fig. 4; wherein first and second sets of screws 103 each comprise Phillips head screwdrivers engaging features comprising an axially aligned notch across the proximal ends of the first and second sets of screws); and wherein the plurality of conductive bars 102 each comprise first end surfaces exposed at the first side surface of the electrically insulating body 101 and second end surfaces exposed at the second side surface of the electrically insulating body 101 (as shown in figs. 4-6); and wherein a first set of wire-receiving notches 106 extend through the first side surface of the electrically insulating body 101, each of the first set of wire- receiving notches adjacent one of the plurality of conductive bars 102 and configured to receive an end of an electrical wire 300, and wherein a second set of wire-receiving notches extend through the second side surface (see fig. 4, opposite side of the first set of wire receiving notches) of the electrically insulating body 101, each of the second set of wire-receiving notches adjacent one of the plurality of conductive bars 102 and configured to receive an end of an electrical wire 300.
As per claim 33: James et al. disclose a lightning system comprising: a connector assembly 100 comprising: an electrically insulating body 101 having:
a top surface forming a first set of screw-receiving openings and a second set of screw-receiving openings (as shown in fig. 4; wherein a first and second set of countersunk screw holes 107 formed on a top surface of the housing 101),
the first set of screw-receiving openings opening to a first set of axial passages and the second set of screw-receiving openings opening to a second set of axial passages (see fig. 4; wherein a first and second set of axial passage extending down through the width of the housing 101 from first and second set of countersunk screw holes 107);
a first side surface orthogonal to the top surface and forming a first set of conductive bar receiving openings and a first light-strip-receiving opening (see fig. 4; wherein a first side orthogonal to the top surface with a first set of opening to channels 106 for receiving screw terminals 102 and an opening of first wide slot 105a for receiving an LED strip 200),
the first light-strip-receiving opening extending to a first light-strip-receiving passage interconnecting and orthogonal to the first set of axial passages (as shown in fig. 4; wherein first wide slot 105a extending from opening shown on the first side is perpendicular to the first set of axial passages and connecting);
a second side surface orthogonal to the top surface and forming a second set of conductive bar receiving openings and a second light-strip-receiving opening (as shown in fig. 7; wherein a second side orthogonal to the top surface with a second set of openings to channels 106 for receiving screw terminals 102 and an opening of second wide slot 105a for receiving an LED strip light 200),
the second light-strip-receiving opening extending to a second light-strip-receiving passage interconnecting and orthogonal to the second set of axial passages (see fig. 7; wherein the second wide slot 105a extending from the opening shown on the second side is perpendicular to the second set of axial passages and connecting);
a third set of axial passages extending between the first set of conductive bar receiving openings and the second set of conductive bar receiving openings (as shown in fig. 4; wherein a set of channels 106 extending from one side opening to the second side opening for receiving screw terminals 102);
a plurality of conductive bars disposed within the third set of axial passages (wherein screw terminals 102 are received with channels 106);
a first set of screws disposed within the first set of axial passages and threadably engaging the plurality of conductive bars (wherein a first set of screws 103 received within the first set of axial passages extending down through the housing 101 from countersunk screw holes 107, threadably engaged with threaded upper holes 108a of each screw terminal 102);
and a second set of screws disposed with the second set of axial passages and threadably engaging the plurality of conductive bars (wherein a second sets of screws 103 received within the second set of axial passages extending down through the housing 101 from countersunk screw holes 107, threadably engaged with threaded upper holes 108a of each screw terminal 102),
wherein the first and second sets of screws 103 each comprise a substantially consistent diameter along a length between and including proximal and distal ends (as shown in fig. 4);
a first light strip having an end disposed in the first light-strip-receiving passage (a first LED strip 200 with an end received within the first wide slot 105a),
the end having electrical contacts discretely engaged by distal ends of the of the first set of screws (wherein the end having electrical terminals 202with distal ends of each screw 103 to be lightened against each terminal 202);
and a second light strip having an end disposed in the second light-strip-receiving passage (wherein a second LED strip 200 with an end received within the second wide slot 105a),
the end having electrical contacts discretely engaged by distal ends of the of the second set of screws (wherein the end having electrical terminals 202 with distal ends of each screw 103 to be tightened against each terminal 202).
(note: claim 33 can also be rejected by references of Lessen et al. (US 10591114); Lowe et al. (US 10826202))
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, and 25 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. (GB2582046).
As per claim 11-13: James et al. discloses the connector assembly 100 for electrically connecting an end of a first light strip to an end of a second light strip (see fig.5, wherein an end of LED strip 200 is connected to the connector 100), and conductive bars 102. However, James et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws; and the electrically insulating body comprises a transparent material; and the first light strip and the second light strip comprise four or more electrical contacts.
On the other hand, James et al. mentioned there are at least 2 conductive bars with 2 sets of screws 103; and the electrically insulating body 101 is preferably made of an electrically insulating material such as plastic or rubber; and wherein the light strips 200 comprise at least two electrical terminals 202. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws; and the electrically insulating body comprises a transparent material; and the first light strip and the second light strip comprise four or more electrical contacts can only deal with duplication in parts; and preferred material, because such modification still would not change the function of the light strip or the connector assembly after all but to further provide more lightning purposes from the manufacture desire such as more colors choices and clear housing so light can get through also. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. And it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the connector assembly for electrically connecting an end of a first light strip to an end of a second light strip of James et al. by having the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws; and the electrically insulating body comprises a transparent material; and the first light strip and the second light strip comprise four or more electrical contacts as taught by the instant invention to further provide more lightning purposes, a better lightning strip with more colors and a convenience of cutting/connecting the light strip due to the length as need it from consumers.
As per claim 25: James et al. discloses the connector assembly 100, and plurality of conductive bars 102, sets of screws. However, James et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws.
On the other hand, James et al. mentioned wherein the connector assembly is having at least 2 conductive bars102 and a set of screws 103 (as shown in fig. 4). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws can only deal with duplication in parts because such modification still would not change the function of the conductive bars nor the sets of screws but to further limit the connector assembly to handle a wider, more light colors on the light strip and to provide better choice/option to consumers to choose from in a competitive market nowadays. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the connector assembly of James et al. by having the plurality of conductive bars comprises at least three conductive bars and the first and second sets of screws both comprise at least three screws as taught by the instant invention to further limit the connector assembly to handle a wider, more light colors on the light strip and to provide better choice/option to consumers to choose from in a competitive market nowadays.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831