DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, FIG. 11, Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8-13 in the reply filed on 09/25/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 5, and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/25/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by ZHAO et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0399525 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO discloses a light emitting element (FIG. 4B) comprising:
a conductive substrate (202, FIG. 4B, [0026]) having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface;
a first electrode (204, FIG. 4B, [0026]) provided on the first main surface of the conductive substrate;
a first DBR layer (209 comprising 206/214/210, FIG. 3A and 4B, [0029]) provided on a side of the second main surface of the conductive substrate and having a first main surface;
at least two light emission units (two VCSEL arrays, FIG. 4B, [0051]) provided on a side opposite to the first main surface of the first DBR layer,
wherein a tunnel junction layer (214, FIG. 4B, [0026]) is provided between the second main surface of the conductive substrate and the first main surface of the first DBR layer, and
each of the light emission units is separated from each other (the VCSEL arrays are separated from each other by an isolation trench/implant, FIG. 4B);
a second DBR layer (interpreted to comprise 216/226, FIG. 4B, [0047]) laminated on the first DBR layer and having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface; and
a second electrode (230, FIG. 4B, [0047]) provided on a side of the second main surface of the second DBR layer.
Regarding claim 2, ZHAO discloses the first DBR layer includes a p-type DBR layer (210, FIG. 4B, [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO discloses the conductive substrate is an n-type substrate ([0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al.
Regarding claim 4, ZHAO has disclosed the light emitting element outlined in the rejection to claim 2 above and further discloses the second DBR layer includes a n-type DBR layer (216, FIG. 4B, [0026]), and another tunnel junction layer (226, FIG. 4B, [0047]) different from the tunnel junction layer is further provided between the first main surface of the second DBR layer and the first DBR layer except the second DBR layer includes a p-type DBR layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing day of the claimed invention to insert a p-type DBR layer between the p-type contact layer 228 and the tunnel junction layer 226 of ZHAO in order to maximize optical feedback and light extraction while minimizing optical absorption losses.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. in view of Mor (US PG Pub 2014/0376092 A1, 09/20/23 IDS).
Regarding claim 8, ZHAO has disclosed the light emitting element outlined in the rejection to claim 1 above except an illumination device comprising: a holding unit that holds the light emitting element; and an optical unit that converts a light beam emitted from the light emitting element into a predetermined pattern. Mor discloses an illumination device (30, FIG. 2A, [0041]) comprising: a light emitting element (20, FIG. 2A, [0041]); a holding unit (32, FIG. 2A, [0041]) that holds the light emitting element; and an optical unit (40, FIG. 2A, [0041]) that converts a light beam emitted from the light emitting element into a predetermined pattern (52/54/56, FIG. 2A, [0041]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light emitting element of ZHAO into the illumination device as taught by Mor in order to obtain desired output light patterns.
Regarding claim 9, ZHAO, as modified, discloses a light emission pattern is switched (via 96, FIG. 5A, [0050] - [0051]) according to light emission switching control for the light emitting element.
Regarding claim 10, ZHAO has disclosed the illumination device outlined in the rejection to claim 9 above except the light emission switching control switches between a spot irradiation pattern and a uniform irradiation pattern. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller so that the VCSEL arrays may switch between a spot irradiation pattern and a uniform irradiation pattern in order to match an illumination profile to specific requirements of a light sensor.
Regarding claim 11, ZHAO, as modified, discloses a light emitting region is switched (via 96, FIG. 5A, [0050] - [0051]) according to light emission switching control of the light emitting element.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. and Mor as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of EP3457178A1 (hereafter EP’178).
Regarding claim 13, the combination has disclosed the illumination device outlined in the rejection to claim 8 above except a distance measuring device comprising: a control unit that controls the illumination device; a light receiving unit that receives reflected light reflected from a target object; and a distance measuring unit that calculates a distance measurement distance from image data obtained by the light receiving unit. EP’178 discloses a distance measuring device (1, FIG. 2, [0015]) comprising: an illumination device (11, FIG. 2, [0016]); a control unit (16, FIG. 2, [0016]) that controls the illumination device; a light receiving unit (18, FIG. 2, [0019]) that receives reflected light reflected from a target object; and a distance measuring unit (21, FIG. 2, [0019]) that calculates a distance measurement distance from image data obtained by the light receiving unit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the illumination device of the combination into the distance measuring device as taught by EP’178 in order to obtain desired distance measuring application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP201856284A (09/20/23 IDS) discloses a VCSEL array for generating desired output patterns similar to the claimed invention (see FIG. 2).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828