DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 5/29/2026. Claims 1-30 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0192304)
Referring to Claim 1, Rao et al. disclose a method for requesting positioning reference signals (par 188, request, PRS), comprising:
receiving positioning assistance data including positioning reference signal configuration information (par 188, receive PRS configuration for helping with positioning; Also, par 261, assistance/configuration);
determining measurement gap information (par 188, measurement gap);
generating a positioning reference signal configuration request based on an alignment between the measurement gap information and the positioning reference signal configuration information (par 188, request for configuring measurement gap for PRS such that measurement gap is aligned with PRS configuration); and
transmitting the positioning reference signal configuration request (par 188, send request).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, wherein the positioning assistance data is received via one or more radio resource control or long term evolution positioning protocol messages (par 261, RRC).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, further comprising receiving the measurement gap information via one or more radio resource control messages (pars 188 and 261, RRC).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration information includes at least one positioning reference signal configuration identifier value (pars 188 and 218, configuration/scheme information).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration request includes at least one positioning reference signal configuration identifier value (pars 188 and 218, gaps/configuration/scheme information).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration information includes a timer value indicating a timeframe when a positioning reference signal configuration is available (pars 135 and 159, time).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Rao et al. disclose the method, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration request includes a first positioning reference signal configuration and a first measurement gap, wherein the first measurement gap is aligned with the first positioning reference signal configuration (par 188, measurement gap).
Referring to Claim 25, Rao et al. disclose an apparatus (par 188, WTRU), comprising:
a memory (par 36, memory);
at least one transceiver (par 35, transceiver);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (pars 35 and 36, processor), and configured to:
receive positioning assistance data including positioning reference signal configuration information (par 188, receive PRS configuration for helping with positioning; Also, par 261, assistance/configuration);
determine measurement gap information (par 188, measurement gap);
generate a positioning reference signal configuration request based on an alignment between the measurement gap information and the positioning reference signal configuration information (par 188, request for configuring measurement gap for PRS such that measurement gap is aligned with PRS configuration); and
transmit the positioning reference signal configuration request (par 188, send request).
Referring to Claim 26 as applied to Claim 25 above, Rao et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive the measurement gap information via one or more radio resource control messages (pars 188 and 261, RRC).
Referring to Claim 27 as applied to Claim 25 above, Rao et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration information includes at least one positioning reference signal configuration identifier value (pars 188 and 218, configuration/scheme information).
Referring to Claim 28 as applied to Claim 25 above, Rao et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration request includes at least one positioning reference signal configuration identifier value (pars 188 and 218, gaps/configuration/scheme information).
Referring to Claim 29 as applied to Claim 25 above, Rao et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration information includes a timer value indicating a timeframe when a positioning reference signal configuration is available (pars 135 and 159, time).
Referring to Claim 30 as applied to Claim 25 above, Rao et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the positioning reference signal configuration request includes a first positioning reference signal configuration and a first measurement gap, wherein the first measurement gap is aligned with the first positioning reference signal configuration (par 188, measurement gap).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered but are
not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 7 and 8 of the Remarks that Rao et al. do not disclose positioning reference signal configuration request, but rather request for measurement gap configuration. Examiner would like to respectfully point out that the configuration request in par 188 of Rao et al. is related to PRS and is hence interpreted as a positioning reference signal configuration request. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642