DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 5/13/2026.
Independent claims 1, 21, 41, 61 are amended.
Claims 5, 7, 9, 14, 16, 18-19, 24-25, 27, 29, 34, 36, 38-39, 44-60, 64-65, 67-80 are cancelled.
Claims 81-83 are new.
See Interview summary record for details of informing the Applicant regarding allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17, 20-23, 26, 28, 30-33, 35, 37, 40-43, 61-63, 66 and 81-83 are examined and rejected based on new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 83 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-13, 15, 17, 20-23, 28, 30-33, 35, 37, 40-43, 61-63 and 81-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20230362664 A1) in view of Hu (WO 2022126663 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li, discloses a method for wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 8), the method comprising:
transmitting (see para 82, a reference signal is known if it is received within the pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period, prior to reception of the switch command);
receiving a reference signal (see FIG. 8, paras 86-87, gNB configures the UE to report L1-RSRP of reference signal… the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may transmit the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal periodically to all UEs in a serving area);
receiving a message after receiving the reference signal, the message indicating an update to a target transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the UE or indicating that the UE is to use the reference signal as a path loss reference signal (PL- RS) for an uplink channel (see paras 86-92, the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling … the UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement of the target pathloss reference signal … and report by the UE for a number of pathloss reference signals or the QCL Type-D reference signals, the gNB may select the beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal as a candidate beam for downlink or uplink transmission because of its stronger L1-RSRP measurement… the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE/i.e., message, to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting… the target pathloss reference signal may be considered known when the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal was last received for beam measurement and reporting within a pre-set time interval prior to the reception of the switch command/i.e., receiving a message within a threshold time period after receiving the reference signal. The pre-set time interval is 1280 ms/i.e., within the threshold time period of 1280 ms); and
after receiving the reference signal and the message, updating, based on the reference signal being received within the threshold time period of receiving the message (see FIG. 8), the target TCI state or using the reference signal as the PL-RS for the uplink channel based on one or more parameters associated with receiving the reference signal prior to receiving the message (see para 91, the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting/i.e., prior to receiving the message or the MAC_CE command, at step 805) and further based on expiration of an activation delay interval associated with the message, the activation delay interval occurring after the threshold time period (see para 94, when the target pathloss reference signal is determined to be known, the UE may switch, within the switching period (e.g., target pathloss reference signal activation delay) after the reception of the switch command, to an uplink beam corresponding to the downlink beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal. The UE may switch to the uplink beam for uplink transmission by determining the uplink transmit power based on the estimated pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal within a maximum switching period/i.e., as depicted in FIG. 8, the activation delay occurs after the 1280 ms threshold or pre-set time interval).
Li teaches pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period.
Li does not teach the underlined limitation: transmitting or of a threshold time period.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted as: A threshold time duration is transmitted by the UE to the base station, based on the TCI state switching UE capability.
Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 162-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claim 21, Li, discloses a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 5, paras 65-66, UE) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to:
transmitting (see para 82, a reference signal is known if it is received within the pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period, prior to reception of the switch command);
receive a reference signal (see FIG. 8, paras 86-87, gNB configures the UE to report L1-RSRP of reference signal… the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may transmit the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal periodically to all UEs in a serving area);
receive a message after receiving the reference signal, the message indicating an update to a target transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the UE or indicating that the UE is to use the reference signal as a path loss reference signal (PL-RS) for an uplink channel (see paras 86-92, the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling … the UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement of the target pathloss reference signal … and report by the UE for a number of pathloss reference signals or the QCL Type-D reference signals, the gNB may select the beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal as a candidate beam for downlink or uplink transmission because of its stronger L1-RSRP measurement… the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE/i.e., message, to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting… the target pathloss reference signal may be considered known when the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal was last received for beam measurement and reporting within a pre-set time interval prior to the reception of the switch command/i.e., receiving a message within a threshold time period after receiving the reference signal. The pre-set time interval is 1280 ms/i.e., within the threshold time period of 1280 ms); and
after receiving the reference signal and the message, updating, based on the reference signal being received within the threshold time period of reception of the message (see FIG. 8), the target TCI state or using the reference signal as the PL-RS for the uplink channel based on one or more parameters associated with receiving the reference signal prior to receiving the message (see para 91, the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting/i.e., prior to receiving the message or the MAC_CE command, at step 805) and further based on expiration of an activation delay interval associated with the message, the activation delay interval occurring after the threshold time period (see para 94, when the target pathloss reference signal is determined to be known, the UE may switch, within the switching period (e.g., target pathloss reference signal activation delay) after the reception of the switch command, to an uplink beam corresponding to the downlink beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal. The UE may switch to the uplink beam for uplink transmission by determining the uplink transmit power based on the estimated pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal within a maximum switching period/i.e., as depicted in FIG. 8, the activation delay occurs after the 1280 ms threshold or pre-set time interval).
Li teaches pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period.
Li does not teach the underlined limitation: transmitting or of a threshold time period.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted as: A threshold time duration is transmitted by the UE to the base station, based on the TCI state switching UE capability.
Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 162-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claim 41, Li, discloses a method for wireless communication performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting (see para 82, a reference signal is known if it is received within the pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period, prior to reception of the switch command);
transmitting a reference signal (see FIG. 8, paras 86-87, gNB configures the UE to report L1-RSRP of reference signal… the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may transmit the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal periodically to all UEs in a serving area);
transmitting a message (see paras 86-92, the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling … the UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement of the target pathloss reference signal … and report by the UE for a number of pathloss reference signals or the QCL Type-D reference signals, the gNB may select the beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal as a candidate beam for downlink or uplink transmission because of its stronger L1-RSRP measurement… the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE/i.e., message, to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting… the target pathloss reference signal may be considered known when the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal was last received for beam measurement and reporting within a pre-set time interval prior to the reception of the switch command/i.e., receiving a message within a threshold time period after receiving the reference signal. The pre-set time interval is 1280 ms/i.e., within the threshold time period of 1280 ms); and
after receiving the reference signal and the message, updating, based on the reference signal being received within the threshold time period of reception of the message (see FIG. 8), the target TCI state or using the reference signal as the PL-RS for the uplink channel based on one or more parameters associated with receiving the reference signal prior to receiving the message (see para 91, the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting/i.e., prior to receiving the message or the MAC_CE command, at step 805) and further based on expiration of an activation delay interval associated with the message, the activation delay interval occurring after the threshold time period (see para 94, when the target pathloss reference signal is determined to be known, the UE may switch, within the switching period (e.g., target pathloss reference signal activation delay) after the reception of the switch command, to an uplink beam corresponding to the downlink beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal. The UE may switch to the uplink beam for uplink transmission by determining the uplink transmit power based on the estimated pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal within a maximum switching period/i.e., as depicted in FIG. 8, the activation delay occurs after the 1280 ms threshold or pre-set time interval).
Li teaches pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period.
Li does not teach the underlined limitation: or receiving an indication of a threshold time period.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted as: A threshold time duration is transmitted by the UE to the base station/i.e., received by the base station, based on the TCI state switching UE capability.
Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 161-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device/i.e., to the base station, based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claim 61, Li, discloses a base station (see FIG. 4, base station, paras 56-57) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to:
transmitting (see para 82, a reference signal is known if it is received within the pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period, prior to reception of the switch command);
transmit a reference signal (see FIG. 8, paras 86-87, gNB configures the UE to report L1-RSRP of reference signal… the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may transmit the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal periodically to all UEs in a serving area);
transmit a message (see paras 86-92, the gNB may transmit to the UE the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal… the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling … the UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement of the target pathloss reference signal … and report by the UE for a number of pathloss reference signals or the QCL Type-D reference signals, the gNB may select the beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal as a candidate beam for downlink or uplink transmission because of its stronger L1-RSRP measurement… the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE/i.e., message, to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting… the target pathloss reference signal may be considered known when the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal was last received for beam measurement and reporting within a pre-set time interval prior to the reception of the switch command/i.e., receiving a message within a threshold time period after receiving the reference signal. The pre-set time interval is 1280 ms/i.e., within the threshold time period of 1280 ms); and
after receiving the reference signal and the message, updating, based on the reference signal being received within the threshold time period of reception of the message (see FIG. 8), the target TCI state or using the reference signal as the PL-RS for the uplink channel based on one or more parameters associated with receiving the reference signal prior to receiving the message (see para 91, the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control. The MAC-CE may identify the target pathloss reference signal as the one to update from the pathloss reference signals that were configured for L1-RSRP measurement reporting/i.e., prior to receiving the message or the MAC_CE command, at step 805) and further based on expiration of an activation delay interval associated with the message, the activation delay interval occurring after the threshold time period (see para 94, when the target pathloss reference signal is determined to be known, the UE may switch, within the switching period (e.g., target pathloss reference signal activation delay) after the reception of the switch command, to an uplink beam corresponding to the downlink beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal. The UE may switch to the uplink beam for uplink transmission by determining the uplink transmit power based on the estimated pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal within a maximum switching period/i.e., as depicted in FIG. 8, the activation delay occurs after the 1280 ms threshold or pre-set time interval).
Li teaches pre-set time interval/i.e., threshold time period.
Li does not teach the underlined limitation: or receiving an indication of a threshold time period.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted as: A threshold time duration is transmitted by the UE to the base station, based on the TCI state switching UE capability.
Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 161-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4). Li teaches pre-set time interval or threshold time period.
Li does not teach the underlined limitation: or receiving an indication of a threshold time period.
Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted as: A threshold time duration is transmitted by the UE to the base station/i.e., received by the base station, based on the TCI state switching UE capability.
Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 162-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device/i.e., to the base station, based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claims 2, 22, 42, 62, Li, discloses: the reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB), and wherein the reference signal has a quasi-colocation (QCL) relation with the target TCI state (see paras 85-86, FIG. 8 depicts a call flow diagram between a BS (e.g., gNB) and a UE for the UE to report RSRP measurement of a target pathloss reference signal or a reference signal QCL Type-D to the target pathloss reference signal, for the BS to activate the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control, and for the UE to estimate the pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control based on whether the target pathloss reference signal is considered known by considering the reporting of the RSRP measurement of either the target pathloss reference signal or the reference signal. The target pathloss reference signal may be the SS/PBCH block or the CSI-RS. The reference signal QCL Type-D to the target pathloss reference signal may be carried on beam … the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling.).
Regarding Claims 3, 23, 43, 63, Li discloses: transmitting a measurement report based on the reference signal, and wherein the activation delay interval is further associated with the transmission of the measurement report (see paras 89-92, the UE may report the L1-RSRP measurements of the target pathloss reference signal or the QCL Type-D reference signal to the gNB… the gNB may issue a switch command via MAC-CE to activate the UE to maintain or update the pathloss measurement of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control… and at para 94, when the target pathloss reference signal is determined to be known, the UE may switch/i.e., based on the report from UE to gNB, within the switching period (e.g., target pathloss reference signal activation delay) after the reception of the switch command, to an uplink beam corresponding to the downlink beam carrying the target pathloss reference signal. The UE may switch to the uplink beam for uplink transmission by determining the uplink transmit power based on the estimated pathloss of the target pathloss reference signal within a maximum switching period).
Regarding Claims 8, 28, Li discloses: transmitting a measurement report based on the reference signal, wherein the measurement report is transmitted periodically, semi-persistently, or non-periodically (see para 80, the UE may periodically or non-periodically report the L1-RSRP measurement made from one instance of the target pathloss reference signal or an average of the L1-RSRP measurements made from a number of repetitions of the target pathloss reference signals received), and wherein the measurement report is based on at least one resource associated with the reference signal having a quasi-colocation (QCL) relation with the target TCI state (see para 86, the gNB may configure the QCL Type-D relationship between the reference signals and the pathloss reference signals in the QCL chain using TCI states via RRC signaling).
Regarding Claims 10, 30, Li discloses: the threshold time period is specified by a wireless communication protocol, is configured by a base station for the UE, or is indicated by the UE to the base station (see FIG. 8, see para 92, the target pathloss reference signal and the associated synchronization signal block (SSB) remain detectable during a switching period following the reception of the switch command. In one aspect, the pre-set time interval is 1280 ms/i.e., set by the gNB to be an interval between gNB steps 803 to 811).
Regarding Claims 13, 33, Li discloses: the threshold time period corresponds to a number of seconds (see FIG. 8, see para 92, the target pathloss reference signal and the associated synchronization signal block (SSB) remain detectable during a switching period following the reception of the switch command… the pre-set time interval is 1280 ms),
Regarding Claims 20, 40, Li discloses: the one or more parameters include a path loss characteristic associated with the uplink channel, and further comprising setting a transmit power level associated with an uplink transmission based on the path loss characteristic (see para 23, Based on the reported RSRP measurements received from the UE, the base station may activate the target pathloss reference signal to command the UE to maintain or update/i.e., representing set power level of uplink transmission, the pathloss measurements of the target pathloss reference signal for uplink power control of a beam corresponding to the target pathloss reference signal).
Regarding Claims 11, 31, Li discloses that the gNB sets the threshold time period for switching.
Li does not disclose: the threshold time period is indicated by the UE to the base station based on one or more of a capability of the UE to store the one or more parameters or a mobility of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 162-163, the duration threshold is a threshold reported by the terminal device based on the supported TCI state switching capability. Specifically, the duration threshold may alternatively be determined by the terminal device based on the TCI state switching capability supported by the terminal device, and reported to a threshold of the network device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, to include the UE determining the threshold time period based on its switching capability as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claims 12, 32, Li does not disclose details regarding: the threshold time period is less than a TCI activation time associated with the target TCI state.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches this limitation: see paras 200-201, when receiving the first TCI state list sent by the network device, the terminal device may analyze the period of the reference signal of each TCI state in the first TCI state list, and then select the shortest period from all the cycles of all the reference signals, to determine the first activated TCI state of the reference signal with the shortest period. It may be understood that the first activated TCI state is a target switching TCI state of the terminal device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Li, so that the threshold time period is less than a TCI activation time associated with the target TCI state as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claims 15, 35, Li does not disclose details regarding: receiving a second message indicating a time duration during which the reference signal is to be tracked by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches this limitation: see para 226, the fixed target period in the first activated TCI state may be indicated by the network device by using a DCI instruction, or may be configured by using a MAC CE instruction, and specifically, an RS (reference signal) with the target period/i.e., time duration, is carried in the DCI instruction or the MAC CE instruction/i.e., second message.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to receive a message indicating a time duration during which the reference signal is to be tracked by the UE as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Regarding Claims 17, 37, Li does not disclose details regarding: the message corresponds to a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches this limitation: see para 226, the fixed target period in the first activated TCI state may be configured by using a MAC CE instruction, and specifically, an RS (reference signal) with the target period/i.e., time duration, is carried in the MAC CE instruction/i.e., second message.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to receive a message indicating a time duration during which the reference signal is to be tracked by the UE as taught by Hu, to reduce a large time waste and a large loss of terminal throughput (see Hu, para 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hu, in view of Takeda (US 20190356379 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Li discloses: receiving a report configuration message including a configuration bit and a field, wherein a value of the configuration bit indicates whether the reference signal is to trigger the transmission of the measurement report, and wherein the field indicates at least one parameter of the one or more parameters to include in the measurement report.
Li does not include details regarding the limitation: the report configuration message including a field indicates at least one parameter of the one or more parameters to include in the measurement report.
In the same field of endeavor Takeda teaches this limitation: see para 64, The content to be reported, is indicated by the value of the trigger field for reporting (also referred to as the “trigger field value,” “trigger information,” etc.), is at least one of the indicator of a beam (beam indicator), its CSI (at least one of the CQI, RI and PMI) and the RSRP/RSRQ of the beam. The reporting content specified by the trigger field value may be determined in advance by the specification or may be configured by higher layer signaling. Also, the content to be reported may be specified by the mode of reporting and/or the type of reporting and the like. Also, the trigger field value may indicate “no report.”; also see FIG. 4., para 66, FIG. 4 is a diagram to show examples of trigger fields according to the first aspect. In FIG. 4, the two-bit trigger field values indicate which beam's CSI and beam indicator are to be reported. For example, referring to FIG. 3, if the user terminal receives DCI including the trigger field value “01” of FIG. 4, the user terminal may report the CSI of best Tx beam B23 and the beam indicator of this Tx beam B23 (for example, a CRI that specifies CSI-RS resource #3) to the radio base station.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Li and Hu, to include configuration information having trigger field for reporting, and RSRP/RSRQ of the beams as taught by Takeda, so that beams can be managed properly (for example, beams can be reported and/or indicated properly) (see Takeda, para 13).
Claim(s) 6, 26, 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view Hu, in view of Ahmed Salem (US 20230283342 A1).
Regarding Claims 6, 26, 66, Li discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose detials regarding a reporting mode, i.e., the limitation: the reference signal is associated with one or both of a reporting mode or a non-repetition mode.
Ahmed Salem teaches this limitation: see para 89, comprising receiving configuration information via a radio resource control (RRC), the configuration information indicating a mode in which the UE generates the plurality of dependent CSI reports, the mode including at least one of a differential quantization mode, a relative CSI feedback mode, and a partial relative CSI feedback mode.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify combined system of Li and Hu, to include a CSI reporting mode beams as taught by Takeda, so that beams can be managed properly (for example, beams can be reported and/or indicated properly) (see Takeda, para 13).
Claim(s) 81-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hu, in view of Gao (US 20230284221 A1).
Regarding Claim 81, in view of Hu teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach details regarding: the indication specifies the threshold time period as a quantity of slots.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches this limitation: see para 59, the first time threshold X may indicate a predetermined/configured time period after the last symbol of the PDCCH (represented as “PDCCH P”) updating the first TCI state to the second TCI state, or after the first or last symbol of the PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH P. For example, the predetermined/configured time period may be Xi ms/us/slots/symbols/sub-slot.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify combined system of Li and Hu, to specify the threshold time period in slots as taught by Gao, so as to know at which slot the TCI state change is applied (see Gao, para 61).
Regarding Claim 82, in view of Hu teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach details regarding: the indication specifies the threshold time period as a quantity of slots and in terms of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) value.
In the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches this limitation: see para 59, the predetermined time period may be 7, 14 or 28 symbols, such as, 7, 14 or 28 symbols if the subcarrier spacing is 60 KHz and 14 or 28 symbols if the subcarrier spacing is 120 KHz. For example, the predetermined/configured time period may depend on UE capability reported by the terminal device.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify combined system of Li and Hu, to specify the threshold time period in symbols/SCS as taught by Gao, so as to know at which symbol the TCI state change is applied (see Gao, para 61).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17, 20-23, 26, 28, 30-33, 35, 37, 40-43, 61-63, 66 and 81-83 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alfarhan (US 20230189245 A1) teaches at paragraph 147, The WTRU measure SSB(s) and/or CSI-RS(s) and trigger a new RACH procedure for beam training, if one or more following conditions are satisfied: 1) the WTRU measured a new SSB or CSI-RS that has a RSRP above a configured threshold; 2) the reported preferred beam has changed; 3) a new SSB or CSI-RS has a higher RSRP than a previously reported beam; 4) a period of time has elapsed, and/or a number of small data (re)-transmissions have occurred; 5) a timing advance timer has expired (e.g. the TA timer associated with the CG resource); 6) the WTRU has received a DL indication (by DCI or MAC CE) to change beams or TCI states; 7) the WTRU has moved (e.g. the WTRU’s estimated position has changed or speed is above a threshold), or the WTRU has a new serving cell, and/or the WTRU has a new serving TRP; and/or 8) a configured timer (e.g., a beam maintenance timer) has expired..
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472