DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takada et al. (US 2010/0171111 A1, hereafter Takada) as evidenced by Mori et al. (“Electroluminescent Properties of Organic Light-Emitting Diodes with Blue-emitting Alq”, J. Photopolymer Sci. and Tech., 2004, vol. 17, page 301-306, hereafter Mori).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9, Takada discloses a compound used for an organic light emitting diode ([0009]-[0014]) and exemplifies Compound 2 ([0305]).
The tetradentate ligand of the Compound 2 of Takada has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula (1).
Takada discloses an organic light emitting diode (Inventive device 1-2 in [0319]-[0322] and Table 1) comprising an anode (ITO), a hole transport layer (NPD), a light emitting layer (Compound 2 as a dopant and Compound H-1 as a host), an electron transport layer (BAlq), and a cathode (Al).
In the OLED device, the light emitting layer is equated with a semiconductor layer because the materials of the layer are organic semiconductors. Furthermore, the light emitting layer is capable of transporting holes because the Compound H-1 of Takada is a host material having a hole transporting property; thus, the light emitting layer is a hole transport layer.
The electron transport layer consisting of BAlq is equated with a photoactive layer, because BAlq inherently possesses a non-zero photon absorption activity under visible light (i.e. at least the light having a wavelength over 500 nm, see Fig. 3) as evidenced by Mori. For instance, BAlq is photoactive when the OLED device is operated in a daylight environment. The compound BAlq can even absorb the light emitted from the phosphorescent emitter of the OLED device. Thus, the BAlq layer should be a photoactive layer.
The Organic light emitting diode of Takada is equated with an organic electronic device comprising an anode (ITO), a hole transport layer (NPD), a hole transport layer (Compound 2 and Compound H-1), a photoactive layer (BAlq), and a cathode (Al), wherein the hole transport layer is a semiconductor layer, meeting all the limitations of claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al. (US 2010/0171111 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Takada discloses an organic light emitting diode (Inventive device 1-2 in [0319]-[0322] and Table 1) comprising an anode (ITO), a hole transport layer (NPD), a light emitting layer (Compound 2 as a dopant and Compound H-1 as a host), an electron transport layer (BAlq), and a cathode (Al).
The organic light emitting diode of Takada reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above. The diode is equated with an organic electronic device comprising an anode (ITO), a hole transport layer (NPD), a hole transport layer (Compound 2 and Compound H-1), a photoactive layer (BAlq), and a cathode (Al), wherein the hole transport layer is a semiconductor layer.
Takada does not disclose a specific display device comprising the Organic light emitting diode of Takada; however, Takada does teach that the organic light emitting diode of Takada can be incorporated in a display device ([0268]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic light emitting diode of Takada by incorporating it into a display device, as taught by Takada.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of organic light emitting diodes in a display device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a display device comprising the Organic light emitting diode of Takada.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egashira et al. (JP 2014/096290 A, machine translated English version is referred to, hereafter Egashira).
Regarding claims 11-14, Egashira discloses a sodium second battery containing sodium salt and ionic liquid ([0020], [0021]).
Egashira teaches that amide anion can be included in the ionic liquid, wherein the amide anion is represented by Formula (1) ([0023]-[0027]) and exemplifies Formula (3) ([0028]).
It should be noted that the structure “O=” enclosed by a dashed circle in the figure above should be a typographic error and should not exist, since the general Formula (1) of Egashira teaches that R2 can be SO2 or CO. There is no option to select CO2 at the position R2.
The sodium battery including sodium salt and the amide anion of Formula (3) of Egashira has similar structure as Applicant’s Compound B-6,
of claim 14. The only difference is the CF3 groups at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 are required to be each a C4F9 group; however, Egashira does teach that R1 and R3 can be identically an alkyl group having four carbon atoms, preferably perfluoroalkyl group ([0025]-[0026]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the ionic liquid of Egashira by incorporating sodium salt and an amide anion of Formula (1), wherein R1 and R3 are each C4F9 and R2 is C=O, as taught by Egashira.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of CF3 groups of Formula (3) with C4F9 group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of the C4F9 groups at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified ionic liquid of Egashira comprising a mixture of sodium salt and the amide represented by Formula (1) of Egashira, wherein R1 and R3 are each C4F9 and R2 is C=O. The ionic liquid necessarily forms Applicant’s Compound B-6,
via an ion exchange process.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2018/0229024 A1, hereafter Hatakeyama).
Regarding claim 15, Hatakeyama discloses a composition including an ionic material, wherein the ionic material can be an alkali metal salt (Li, Na, K, or Ca) of amide represented by Formula (1): [R1-C(=O)-N--SO2-Rf1]nMn+ ([0017]-[0018]) and exemplifies the following formulas ([0061]; the 3rd formula on page 13, hereafter Formula A; the first formula on page 11, hereafter Formula B).
The Formula A of Hatakeyama has similar structure as the ligand of Applicant’s Formula (5). The only difference is that the fluoro groups substituted to the phenyl ring are required to be CF3 groups; however, Hatakeyama does teach that R1 can be a cyclic monovalent hydrocarbon group of 6 carbon atoms (i.e. phenyl) substituted by a heteroatom or mediated by a heteroatom ([0019]). Hatakeyama exemplifies CF3 group as the substituent of the phenyl group (see Formula B above).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified ionic material by incorporating an alkali metal salt selected from Li, Na, K, and Ca and an amide represented by Formula (1), wherein the Formula (1) has identical structure as the Formula A above except all the F atoms are substituted by CF3 groups, as taught by Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of F with CF3 groups in the Formula (1) of Hatakeyama would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of exemplified substituents for the phenyl group at R1. The selection of the CF3 group would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified compound of Hatakeyama.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyuki et al. (JP 2002/246179 A, machine translated English version is referred to, hereafter Yoshiyuki).
Regarding claims 11-12, Yoshiyuki discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a metal complex having a ligand of Formula (1) or a metal complex having a deprotonated anion of the ligand represented by Formula (1) ([0009]), wherein A1 and A2 can be Formulae (2) and (3) (claim 1). Yoshiyuki exemplifies Compound 17-M-2 ([0117]).
The Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula (3). The only difference between the compound and the Formula (3) is that the perfluoro ethyl groups at the positions R1 and R3 of the Formulae of Yoshiyuki are required to be unsubstituted phenyl; however, Yoshiyuki does teach R1 and R3 can be each unsubstituted phenyl ([0045] and see examples including at least 1-15
in [0116]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki by substituting the perfluoro ethyl groups with unsubstituted phenyl groups (or substituting the ligand at the position corresponding to Formula (1) with the ligand 1-15 of Yoshiyuki), as taught by Yoshiyuki.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of perfluoro ethyl with unsubstituted phenyl at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of the ligand 1-15 as the ligand of Formula (1) would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (1).
The compound satisfies the last condition of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshiyuki discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a metal complex having a ligand of Formula (1) or a metal complex having a deprotonated anion of the ligand represented by Formula (1) ([0009]), wherein A1 and A2 can be Formulae (2) and (3) (claim 1). Yoshiyuki exemplifies Compound 17-M-2 ([0117]).
In the Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki, the metal is not Na; however, Yoshiyuki does teach that M can be alkali metal ([0010]). There are only 6 alkali metals including Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, and Fr.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki by substituting the Cs atom with a Na atom, as taught by Yoshiyuki.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of alkali metal M from Cs to Na would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of alkali metals including Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, and Fr. The selection of Na as the alkali metal of the compound of Yoshiyuki would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2).
Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2) has similar structure as the compound of claim 13. The only difference is that the perfluoro ethyl groups at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 of Formulae of Yoshiyuki are required to be perfluoro propyl group. However, Yoshiyuki does teach that the substituents R1 and R3 can be each perfluoro propyl group ([0045]).
Furthermore, the Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2) is a homolog – a compound differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical groups, in the present instance, -CF2-, of a compound in which each of the perfluoro ethyl groups are substituted by a perfluoro propyl group.
With respect to homologs, the examiner points to the MPEP which states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2) such that the perfluoro ethyl groups at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 are each substituted by a perfluoro propyl group. A compound comprising perfluoro propyl groups at the positions corresponding to R1 and R3 would be a homolog of Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (2) having each respective structure would act in similar manner.
The modification provides Modified compound of Yoshiyuki (3).
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiyuki et al. (JP 2002/246179 A, machine translated English version is referred to) in view of Liao et al. (US 2003/0170491 A1, hereafter Liao).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 10, Yoshiyuki discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a metal complex having a ligand of Formula (1) or a metal complex having a deprotonated anion of the ligand represented by Formula (1) ([0009]), wherein A1 and A2 can be Formulae (2) and (3) (claim 1). Yoshiyuki exemplifies Compound 17-M-2 ([0117]).
The ligand of the Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula (1) of the instant claims.
Yoshiyuki does not disclose a specific organic light emitting diode comprising the Compound 17-M-2; however, Yoshiyuki does teach the compound of Formula (1) of Yoshiyuki can be used as the electron injecting layer material of an organic light emitting diode ([0009], [0038]).
Yoshiyuki teaches the structure of an organic light emitting diode comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, an electron injecting layer (Compound 9-M-1), and a cathode ([0181]-[0183]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki by incorporating it into the electron injecting layer of an organic light emitting diode, as taught by Yoshiyuki.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the electron injecting layer materials of Yoshiyuki in the device of Yoshiyuki would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified compound of Yoshiyuki comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, an electron injecting layer (Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki), and a cathode.
The device is not a white light emitting device because the light emitting layer has a single emitting dopant.
Liao discloses a white light emitting device ([0033] and Fig. 7).
Liao teaches that the device can be formed by stacking organic electroluminescence (EL) units disposed between an anode and a cathode, wherein each EL unit comprises organic layers including blue, green, or red emitting layer (Fig. 7, Examples in [0234]-[0262]).
Liao teaches the white light emitting device provides improved efficiency and lifetime ([0072]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Yoshiyuki by stacking the organic layers between the anode and the cathode, and incorporating red, green, and blue emitting dopants in the light emitting layer of each of the EL units, as taught by Yoshiyuki and Liao.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide white light emitting device having improved efficiency and lifetime, based on the teaching of Liao.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Organic light emitting diode of Yoshiyuki as modified by Liao comprising an anode, a blue light emitting layer, an electron injecting layer (Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki), a charge generation layer (CGL), a green light emitting layer, an electron injecting layer (Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki), CGL, a red light emitting layer, an electron injecting layer (Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki), and a cathode.
The device is equated with Organic light emitting diode of Yoshiyuki as modified by Liao comprising an anode, a semiconductor layer (electron injecting layer comprising Compound 17-M-2 of Yoshiyuki), a photoactive layer (green light emitting layer), and a cathode, wherein the organic light emitting diode is an organic electronic device, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-7.
Yoshiyuki and Liao does not disclose a specific display device comprising the Organic light emitting diode of Yoshiyuki as modified by Liao.
Liao teaches that the organic light emitting diode can be incorporated in a display device such as cell phone or television ([0070]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic light emitting diode of Yoshiyuki as modified by Liao by incorporating it into a display device such as a cell phone or television, as taught by Yoshiyuki and Liao.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The Substitution of organic light emitting diodes in a display device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a display device comprising the Organic light emitting diode of Yoshiyuki as modified by Liao, meeting all the limitations of claims 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28 and 41 of copending Application No. 18/567,087 (reference application, hereafter Application ‘087). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed at the same aspects of the same invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-15, Application ‘087 discloses a display device (“active-matrix OLED display”) comprising an anode, a common hole injection layer, an emission layer, and a cathode, wherein the common hole injection layer comprises one hole injection metal compound (claim 28)
Application teaches the hole injection metal compound can be Compound E14 or E20 (claim 41).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device by incorporating Compound E14 (or E20) as the hole injection metal compound, as taught by Application ‘087.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The Substitution of hole injection metal compounds in a display device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified display device comprising an anode, a common hole injection layer, an emission layer, and a cathode, wherein the common hole injection layer comprises Compound E14 (or E20), wherein combination of the anode, the common hole injection layer, the emission layer, and the cathode is an organic electronic device, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-10.
The Compound E14 has identical structure as Formula (3), meeting all the limitations of claims 11-14.
The Compound E20 has identical structure as Formula (5) , meeting all the limitations of claim 15.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786