DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023, 10/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1)/ (a) (2) as being anticipated by Banaska et al (US 5918194 A) herein after “Banaska”
Regarding claim 1, Banaska teaches a sensing system (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an integrated modular measurement system 10.) comprising:
a sensor unit (Fig. 1. Col 5 line 25. input module 14 (sensor unit) which includes one or a plurality of measurement sensors) and a sensor driver to which the sensor unit is demountably attachable (Fig. 1. Col 5 line 63. a universal measurement control and communications module or body 12 (i.e., sensor driver) connected to an input module 14 via a connector 15 (i.e., demountably attachable));
the sensor unit comprising a sensing circuit having an output (col 6 line 8. The multiplexer 26 is further coupled to a plurality of sensors 28, wherein the sensors 28 take the measurement of interest and communicate measurement data, via the input module 14, to the body portion 12.) Here, the sensing unit 14 has a sensor 28 which output is provided to body portion 12 (i.e., sensor driver), and a sensor memory circuit comprising a memory for storing data specific to said sensing circuit (Fig. 2 a memory 77. Col 9 line 39.T he memory may contain pre-programmed calibration constants which are specific to the particular sensor 28 within the input module 14.);
the sensor memory circuit and the sensing circuit being electrically isolated from one another within the sensor unit (see Fig. 2 where the memory 77 and the sensing circuit 28 are not connected directly (i.e., being electrically isolated) from one another within the sensor unit 14.) It is also similar to the Fig. 2 with sensor 14 and memory 12 in instant application.;
the stored data comprising at least calibration data (Col 9 line 39. The memory may contain pre-programmed calibration constants which are specific to the particular sensor 28 within the input module 14.);
the sensor driver configured to read at least the calibration data from the memory of a mounted sensor unit and to receive the output from the sensing circuit of the attached sensor and process said output taking into account said calibration data (Col. 9 line 41. The pre-programmed calibration coefficients (or constants) may then be transferred from the memory within the input module 14 to the digital core circuit 20 via the analog-to-digital control circuit 44 and the analog control CPU 52, for utilization in the conversion of the digitized signal to a value which represents the measured characteristic or parameter…. The measured characteristic is then compared against the known characteristic across that range and calibration constants are thereby calculated. The calibration constant (or constants) would then be downloaded into the memory associated with that particular sensor 28 for subsequent use. Having calibration constants which uniquely characterize the particular sensor 28 provides a higher degree a accuracy in subsequent calculations performed by the digital core circuit 20.
See Also, Fig. 1 and 2 where digital core circuit 20 (i.e., located inside the sensor driver 12) reads at least the calibration data from the memory of a mounted sensor unit 14 and receive the output from the sensing circuit 28 of the attached sensor and process output data taking into account calibration data (i.e., perform calculations).
Regarding claim 2, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska teaches whereby the sensor driver comprises a plurality of first ports, configured to engage with corresponding first conductors (typically pins) of the sensor unit, whereby the sensor driver and the sensor unit are thereby demountably engageable to each other (col 2 line 49 The motherboard has a plurality of socket connectors for connection to one of a plurality of digital core circuits and one of a plurality of communications interface circuits.
Col. 13, line 10. The input connector 68 couples to the motherboard 16 on the end opposite the power connector 66. The input connector 68 is a component of the input module 14 and couples the measurement data from the sensors 28, for example, for measuring various application characteristics.
From above passage and Fig. 1 and 2 examiner views the body portion 12 with motherboard (i.e., sensor driver), motherboard has multiple sockets (i.e., plurality of first ports) for engaging or connecting with input connector 68 (which is viewed to typically has pins) of input module 14 (i.e., senor unit). Through, socket and connector, the sensor driver and sensor unit are viewed to be connected or disconnected (i.e., demountably engageable) to each other.
Regarding claim 3, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, whereby the sensor driver comprises a plurality of second ports, configured to engage with corresponding second conductors (typically pins) of the sensor memory circuit, whereby the sensor driver and the sensor memory circuit are thereby demountably engageable to each other, typically while the plurality of first ports are connected to the corresponding first conductors (col 2 line 49 The motherboard has a plurality of socket connectors for connection to one of a plurality of digital core circuits and one of a plurality of communications interface circuits.
Fig. 2. Col 9. Line 34. A memory 77, such as an erasable memory, an example being an electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), which may be part of the control and I/O circuitry 24 that also may include the shift registers 72, 74, may also be coupled within the input module 14 to the input connector 68.).
col. 9 line 41. The pre-programmed calibration coefficients (or constants) may then be transferred from the memory within the input module 14 to the digital core circuit 20 via the analog-to-digital control circuit 44 and the analog control CPU 52, for utilization in the conversion of the digitized signal to a value which represents the measured characteristic or parameter.
Col. 15 line 2. The local port 122 provides access to the RS-232 port 78 on the motherboard 16 and allows one to read a measurement from the body 12 locally by coupling a portable computer or personal digital assistant to the system 10. This feature provides a user immediate information regarding the measurement as well as providing for calibration or diagnostic tests to be run on both hardware and firmware.
From Above passage and 1 and Fig. 2 examiner views a body portion 12 (i.e., sensor driver) has multiple second ports (i.e., local port RS 232 on motherboard) is connected/engaged to a sensor memory circuits 77 with shift registers 72, 74 via conductor or wire (i.e., typically viewed to be pin), while the plurality of first ports (i.e., sockets) are connected to the sensor drive and sensor unit by first conductors or pins. Examiner views sockets and connectors provide the function of attachment and detachment of two components.
Regarding claim 4, Banaska teaches A sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska teaches wherein the sensor driver includes processing electronics (col. 9 line 41. The pre-programmed calibration coefficients (or constants) may then be transferred from the memory within the input module 14 to the digital core circuit 20 via the analog-to-digital control circuit 44 and the analog control CPU 52, for utilization in the conversion of the digitized signal to a value which represents the measured characteristic or parameter).
See Fig. 1 and 2 digital core cirucits, CPU 52, analog-to-digital control circuit as the processing electronics included in the body portion 12 (i.e., sensor driver).
Regarding claim 7, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, whereby the sensing circuit is configured to generate a measurement current (Fig. 1 Col. 6 line 10. wherein the sensors 28 take the measurement of interest).
The prior art is applicable for a broader type of sensor application, Examiner views the measurement of interest to be a current measured by the sensors 28.
Regarding claim 11, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska teaches whereby the calibration data comprises an algorithm, or part thereof (col 9 line. 39. The memory may contain pre-programmed calibration constants which are specific to the particular sensor 28 within the input module 14).
Above pre-programmed calibration constant is viewed as calibration data comprising an algorithm.
Regarding claim 12, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska teaches whereby the sensor driver comprises a driver memory circuit (col 6 line 56. The digital core circuit 20 performs these conversions utilizing firmware which is stored in a memory (not shown) within the digital core circuit and any custom calibration constants, e.g., based on a previous calibrating of the particular sensor of the input module, that may be downloaded from the input module 14.).
Above a digital core circuit of body portion 12 (i.e., sensor driver) has memory, this memory is viewed as a driver memory circuit.
Regarding claim 13, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 11, Banaska teaches whereby the algorithm is executed by the sensor driver (Col. 9 line 41. The pre-programmed calibration coefficients (or constants) may then be transferred from the memory within the input module 14 to the digital core circuit 20 via the analog-to-digital control circuit 44 and the analog control CPU 52, for utilization in the conversion of the digitized signal to a value which represents the measured characteristic or parameter…. Having calibration constants which uniquely characterize the particular sensor 28 provides a higher degree a accuracy in subsequent calculations performed by the digital core circuit 20.).
Above, the pre-programmed calibration (i.e., algorithm) is performed or executed by the digital core circuit 20 in body portion 12 (i.e., sensor driver).
Regarding claim 14, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 11, Banaska teaches whereby the stored data comprises additional useful information (col 8 line 35. The digital core circuit 20 has a debug display 56 coupled to it, which provides a user a diagnostic display to debug the digital core circuit 20 as well as its firmware which is stored within the digital core circuit 20.).
Above, debug and firmware is viewed as the stored data which is additional useful information.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 1 having same claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Chih (US 6334175 B1)
Regarding claim 5, Banaska teaches A sensing system according to claim 4, Banaska does not clearly teaches wherein a said second port is switchably connected to said processing electronics.
Chih teaches wherein a port is switchably connected to said processing electronics (col. 3 line 32. FIG. 1a shows an example of one embodiment of a memory allocator 100 having a multiport digital signal processor 102 which has multiple address buses and multiple data buses 104a, 104b and 104c coupled to access corresponding different types of memory space generally indicated as 106a, 106b and 106c respectively.
Col. 3 line 58. By way of example, the memory allocator 100 also includes a multiport switching circuit dedicated to each bank of memory in each type of memory space 106a-106c)
In Fig. 1 examiner views a digital signal processor (i.e., processing electronics) is switch ably connected to memory bank port by switching circuit.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Chih into Banaska for the purpose of having a connecting between a port and processing circuit by using a switch so that the intended port can be turned on or off by using a switch.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Wright (US 20080142352 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach whereby the sensing circuit is formed on a first circuit board and the sensor memory circuit is formed on a separate second circuit board.
Wright teaches whereby the sensing circuit is formed on a first circuit board and the sensor memory circuit is formed on a separate second circuit board (para [0140] Fig. 6. In this embodiment, the sensor array 610 is implemented in a first circuit board 650, the sensing circuitry 620 and processing circuitry 630 are implemented in a second circuit board 660, )
Examiner views sensory array (i.e., sensing circuit) is formed in first circuit board 650 and sensing circuitry with sensor processing circuit (also has memory to store sensor data) formed in the separate second circuit board 660.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Wright into Banaska for the purpose of having a two separate circuit boards for sensors and the sensor memory so that a noise from electric components can be reduced.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Broadley et al (US 20180266856 A1) herein after “Broadley”
Regarding claim 8, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach wherein the sensor driver comprises a power switching circuit configured to switch the power supply to the sensor memory circuit on and off
Broadley teaches wherein the sensor driver comprises a power switching circuit configured to switch the power supply to the sensor memory circuit on and off (Fig. 5 para [0049] In some embodiments, the digital I/O port 140 may provide bidirectional communication, allowing information to be written to the memory circuit 102 in addition to allowing information to be read from the memory circuit 102. In some embodiments, the digital I/O port 140 may provide power to the memory circuit 102, as well as to other components of the hybrid smart probe 100b.).
From Fig. 5 and above passage, examiner views the processor 304 of interface device 300 (sensor driver) is connected to the sensor memory 102 by bidirectional communication 140. (i.e., a power switching circuit). Herein examiner views the reading and writing power in the memory take different power. Therefore, when the sensor memory is being read (i.e., switched on) by the sensor driver the write mode power in the memory is switched off and vice-versa.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Broadley into Banaska for the purpose of having a bidirectional communication from a sensor drive, so that the data in the memory of the sensor can be effectively managed (i.e., memory be written and read as intended).
Regarding claim 10, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach wherein the sensor driver is configured to write data to the sensor memory circuit.
Broadley teaches wherein the sensor driver is configured to write data to the sensor memory circuit (Please see above in claim 8 teaches write data to sensor memory 102 by sensor driver 304).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Broadley into Banaska for the purpose of having a bidirectional communication from a sensor drive, so that the data in the memory of the sensor can be effectively managed (i.e., memory be written and read as intended).
Regarding claim 15, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach whereby the sensing circuit is part of an amperometric gas sensor, or a metal oxide sensor.
Broadley teaches whereby the sensing circuit is part of an amperometric gas sensor, or a metal oxide sensor (para [0030] For example, the measurement probe may include one or more sensors configured to measure a pH value, a temperature, an oxygen level, a carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) level, or any other parameter.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Broadley into Banaska for the purpose of having an amperometric gas sensor, so that the oxygen level, carbon dioxide level can be accurately measured.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Lim et al (US 20210020226 A1) herein after “Lim”
Regarding claim 9, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach configured such that during sensing the sensor memory circuit may be powered off, or electrically isolated from the sensor driver.
Lim teaches configured such that during sensing the sensor memory circuit may be powered off, or electrically isolated from the sensor driver (claim 12. The memory device of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of bay control circuits does not perform the second sensing operation when the first sensing result indicates that the memory cell is turned on and performs the second sensing operation when the first sensing result indicates that the memory cell is turned off.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lim into Banaska for the purpose of turning off the memory of when a sensing operation is performed so that noise in the sensing can be reduced.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Discenzo (US 8615374 B1)
Regarding claim 16, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach whereby the sensing circuit is part of an optical sensor.
Discenzo whereby the sensing circuit is part of an optical sensor (col 30 line 30. Other sense elements … optical sensors (e.g., NIR)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Discenzo into Banaska for the purpose of having an optical sensor so that the light sensitivity can be measured.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Tylutki et al (US 20160356693 A1) herein after “Tylutki”
Regarding claim 17, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach whereby the sensor driver comprises a temperature sensor.
Tylutki teaches whereby the sensor driver comprises a temperature sensor (0052] Referring to FIG. 4, an example functional block diagram of the PM sensor control module 314 is depicted. The PM sensor control module 314 may include a temperature mode module 404, a temperature detector 408,).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Tylutki into Banaska for the purpose of having a temperature sensor in a sensor control module (i.e., driver) so that the temperature inside the driver can be accurately monitored for overheating.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of King et al (US 20180253172 A1) herein after “King”
Regarding claim 18, Banaska teaches a sensing system according to claim 1, Banaska does not clearly teach whereby the sensor driver is configured to selectively operate the sensing circuit, or to turn off the sensing circuit.
King teaches/suggests whereby the sensor driver is configured to selectively operate the sensing circuit, or to turn off the sensing circuit (Fig. 5-6 and para [0076] During operation, the MUX-1 circuitry 232-1 couples a first row of the sensor array 220 to the reference voltage Vcc for a specified period of time (Block 302) and then isolates or disconnects that row from Vcc (Block 304)).
Herein examiner views the MUX- multiplexer as a sensor driver which selectively turn or off the sensor array (sensing circuit) from the voltage Vcc. Fig. 5 shows multiple rows of sensors 220.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated King into Banaska for the purpose of selectively turn on or off the sensor unit so that the proper power to the sensing circuit can be managed and also protect the circuits from potential damage.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banaska in view of Broadley and King.
Regarding claim 20, Banaska teaches attaching the sensor unit to the senor driver. Reading calibration data from the memory into the sensor driver and utilizing the sensor deriver to obtain a target gas concentration from said measurement signal and calibration data (see claim 1, the sensor of the prior art can be related to user’s interest of study or see Broadley).
King teaches utilizing sensor deriver to bring the sensing circuit into an operational state. (see claim 18).
Broadley teaches measurement signal from the output of the sensing circuit responsive to a target gas (i.e., oxygen, carbon dioxide) see claim 15.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated King and Broadley into Banaska for the purpose of selectively turn on or off the sensor unit, measure concentration of a target gas so that the proper power to the sensing circuit can be managed and allow for accurate measurement of a target gas.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henry US 8543345 B1 discusses using smart electrodes and sensors.
Maru US 20220307872 A1 discusses multisensory inductive sensing.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863