DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 line 7, the phrase “certain” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what is intended for patent coverage.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “a flange configuration for holding the brake housing in the axial direction and the other of said bearing members is configured to allow certain axial movement of said housing relative to said brake axle” is not sufficiently disclosed in the specification as to how the axial movement is allowed. It is unclear what features are intended for patent coverage that would allow for the axial movement. The claims will be addressed as best possible.
Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependence upon claim 3.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said service brake piston device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,667,784 to Cronin.
Re-claim 1, Cronin discloses a brake arrangement for a tracked vehicle, comprising: a brake housing 24, the brake arrangement is journaled in bearings (see various bearings in figure 1, as indicated by boxes with internal X) in connection to a drive unit driven drive axle 42 and allows rotation of the drive axle relative to the brake housing, the drive axle rotates a drive wheel member (output shafts 52/56) for a track assembly of the tracked vehicle (see column 2 lines 33-40), the brake arrangement comprising a set of friction elements (as part of either 70 and/or 72) are arranged about the drive axle, the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction for providing a braking function in connection to the drive axle, the set of friction elements comprises a first end friction element (at least one of 84/88) arranged as the outermost friction element against which pressure is provided for the braking function, the first end friction element has a thickness in the axial direction which is thicker than the remaining set of friction elements so as to facilitate distributing an even pressure on the set of friction elements when the set of friction elements are pressed together for efficient friction braking function.
Re-claim 2, the brake arrangement further comprising a hollow brake axle (such as elements 30 and or 34) arranged around the drive axle, the brake axle is rotated by the drive axle, the brake housing 24 is journaled in bearings to the brake axle such that the journaling in bearings in connection to the drive axle is provided when the brake arrangement is connected to the drive axle.
Re-claim 3, figure 1 shows first and second bearing configurations spaced axially apart, the bearings are provided with flange configurations, yet appear to allow for axial movement of the housing relative to the brake axle.
Re-claim 5, the brake housing 24 has an end wall portion (such as at least 82), the set of friction elements are in connection with the end wall portion, the end wall portion and set of friction elements provide friction engagement for providing the braking operation.
Re-claim 6, the end wall portion has an inner side facing the set of friction elements, a second friction end element of the set of friction elements, farthest from the first end element 84/88, is arranged in connection to the inner side of the end wall portion, when the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction, the second end element is pressed against the inner side of the end wall portion.
Re-claim 7, the set of friction elements comprise first set of elements 76 engaged with the brake housing, and a second set of friction elements 74 attached to the brake axle, the second set of friction elements rotate relative to the first set of friction elements and are alternatively arranged.
Re-claim 8, the brake arrangement further comprising a service brake piston device 94/102 arranged in connection to the set of friction elements, the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements based on a brake action (such as fluid pressure from master cylinder 110) so as to press the elements together for providing a braking function for braking rotation of the drive axle so as to brake drive wheel member for stopping drive of a vehicle provided with the brake arrangement
Re-claim 9, a channel 106 in the housing is connected to the service brake piston device, the service brake piston device (i.e. chamber 104) receives pressurized fluid via the at least one channel such that the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements.
Re-claim 10, the service brake piston is ring shaped about the brake axle (see column 4 lines 5-12).
Re-claim 11, the brake arrangement further comprising a parking brake piston device 120 arranged in connection to the set of friction elements, the parking brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements (at least the elements part of brake 72) based on a parking brake action indicating parking of a vehicle for pressing the elements together for providing a parking brake function for preventing rotation of the drive axle so as to provide a parking brake activated state, preventing movement of wheel member for keeping a vehicle provided with the brake arrangement (at least arrangement 72) in a parked position.
Re-claim 13, brake arrangement further comprises a spring device 118 arranged in connection to the parking brake piston device, the spring device is compressed by a hydraulic pressure to place the parking brake in a non-parking state, when in the non-parking state the parking brake piston device does not act on the set of friction elements, the release of the hydraulic pressure on the spring device acts of the parking brake piston device allows parking brake piston device to act on the set of friction elements so as to provide a parking brake activated state.
Re-claim 14, the parking brake piston device has a fluid pressure channel 124 that transmits and releases a fluid pressure.
Re-claim 15, unexpected loss of fluid pressure from within parking brake chamber 122 will allow the parking brake piston device 120 by means of a spring force from the spring device 118 to actuate the parking brake.
Re-claim 16, the spring device 118 is ring shaped and comprises a set of spring members distributed around the brake axle.
Re-claim 17, spring elements 92 are interpreted as an adjustment device, since replacing these springs with springs have different lengths will adjust the axial position of the parking brake piston device.
Re-claims 19-21, the brake arrangement of part of a track assembly of a tracked vehicle.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,953,040 to Christenson et al.
Re-claim 1, Christenson et al. disclose a brake arrangement for a tracked vehicle, comprising: a brake housing 11, the brake arrangement is journaled in bearings (see various roller bearings 47/48 and support bearing 104) in connection to a drive unit driven drive axle 24 and allows rotation of the drive axle relative to the brake housing, the drive axle rotates a drive wheel member 52 for a track assembly of the tracked vehicle (see column 3 lines 14-17), the brake arrangement comprising a set of friction elements 69/71 are arranged about the drive axle, the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction for providing a braking function in connection to the drive axle 24, the set of friction elements comprises a first end friction element 74 arranged as the outermost friction element against which pressure is provided for the braking function, the first end friction element has a thickness in the axial direction which is thicker than the remaining set of friction elements so as to facilitate distributing an even pressure on the set of friction elements when the set of friction elements are pressed together for efficient friction braking function.
Re-claim 2, the brake arrangement further comprising a hollow brake axle (such as elements connected to 59 that include 55 and 27) arranged around the drive axle, the brake axle is rotated by the drive axle 24, the brake housing 11 is journaled in bearings to the brake axle such that the journaling in bearings in connection to the drive axle is provided when the brake arrangement is connected to the drive axle. Bearings 47 and 48 support the brake housing on the brake axle.
Re-claim 5, the brake housing 11 has an end wall portion 79, the set of friction elements are in connection with the end wall portion, the end wall portion and set of friction elements provide friction engagement for providing the braking operation.
Re-claim 6, the end wall portion 79 has an inner side facing the set of friction elements, a second friction end element of the set of friction elements, farthest from the first end element 74, is arranged in connection to the inner side of the end wall portion 79, when the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction, the second end element is pressed against the inner side of the end wall portion 79.
Re-claim 7, the set of friction elements comprise first set of elements 71 engaged with the brake housing, and a second set of friction elements 69 attached to the brake axle, the second set of friction elements rotate relative to the first set of friction elements and are alternatively arranged.
Re-claims 19-21, the brake arrangement of part of a track assembly of a tracked vehicle, see column 3 lines 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin in view of US 6,874,857 to Tanabe.
Cronin shows various arrangements of the parking brake piston relative to the service brake piston, such as shown in figure 3. However, Cronin fails to teach the parking brake piston disposed radially externally to the service brake piston, as well as failing to teach the parking brake piston providing a pressure against a radially outer portion of the set of friction elements.
Tanabe teaches a parking brake piston and service brake piston arrangement in which the parking brake piston 38 (i.e. negative brake) is arranged radially externally to the service brake piston 71, and thereby provides a pressure against a radially outer portion of a set of friction elements 33/35. This is merely a rearrangement of the piston devices without affecting the outcome or function of the parking brake or service brake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the parking brake piston device of Cronin radially externally to the service brake piston device as shown and taught by Tanabe, as this arrangement would have yielded the same expectant result and is seen as a mere rearrangement of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Keese, Beck, Lamela, Turner, Rogier and Dennis each a first friction element having a thickness greater than a set of adjacent friction elements. Schoon teaches a parking brake piston and service brake piston coaxially arranged.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
January 5, 2026
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616