DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,667,784 to Cronin.
Re-claim 1, Cronin discloses a brake arrangement for a tracked vehicle, comprising: a brake housing 24, the brake arrangement is journaled in bearings (see various bearings in figure 1, as indicated by boxes with internal X) in connection to a drive unit driven drive axle 42 and allows rotation of the drive axle relative to the brake housing, the drive axle rotates a drive wheel member (output shafts 52/56) for a track assembly of the tracked vehicle (see column 2 lines 33-40), the brake arrangement comprising a set of friction elements (as part of either 70 and/or 72) are arranged about the drive axle, the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction for providing a braking function in connection to the drive axle, the set of friction elements comprises a first end friction element 84 arranged as the outermost friction element against which pressure is provided for the braking function, the first end friction element 84 has sprocket members that project from an outer circumference of the first end friction element 84 (member 84 is connected in a conventional manner in the same manner as stators 76, this includes a splined connection, which takes the form of sprocket members, or radially extending adjacent projections), element 84 has a thickness in the axial direction which is thicker than the remaining set of friction elements 74/76 so as to facilitate distributing an even pressure on the set of friction elements when the set of friction elements are pressed together for efficient friction braking function. As shown, element 84 is thicker than the remaining stators 76 and rotors 74.
Re-claim 2, the brake arrangement further comprising a hollow brake axle (such as elements 30 and or 34) arranged around the drive axle, the brake axle is rotated by the drive axle, the brake housing 24 is journaled in bearings to the brake axle such that the journaling in bearings in connection to the drive axle is provided when the brake arrangement is connected to the drive axle.
Re-claim 3, figure 1 shows first and second bearing configurations spaced axially apart, the bearings are provided with flange configurations, yet appear to allow for axial movement of the housing relative to the brake axle.
Re-claim 5, the brake housing 24 has an end wall portion (such as at least 82), the set of friction elements 74/76 are in connection with the end wall portion, the end wall portion and set of friction elements provide friction engagement for providing the braking operation, particularly during brake actuation and when friction elements 74/76 slide into contact with portion 82.
Re-claim 6, the end wall portion 82 has an inner side facing the set of friction elements, a second friction end element (the plate furthest from 84) of the set of friction elements 74/76, farthest from the first end element 84, is arranged in connection to the inner side of the end wall portion, when the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction, the second end element is pressed against the inner side of the end wall portion.
Re-claim 7, the set of friction elements comprise first set of elements 76 engaged with the brake housing, and a second set of friction elements 74 attached to the brake axle, the second set of friction elements rotate relative to the first set of friction elements and are alternatively arranged.
Re-claim 8, the brake arrangement further comprising a service brake piston device 94/102 arranged in connection to the set of friction elements, the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements based on a brake action (such as fluid pressure from master cylinder 110) so as to press the elements together for providing a braking function for braking rotation of the drive axle so as to brake drive wheel member for stopping drive of a vehicle provided with the brake arrangement
Re-claim 9, a channel 106 in the housing is connected to the service brake piston device, the service brake piston device (i.e. chamber 104) receives pressurized fluid via the at least one channel such that the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements.
Re-claim 10, the service brake piston is ring shaped about the brake axle (see column 4 lines 5-12).
Re-claim 11, the brake arrangement further comprising a parking brake piston device 120 arranged in connection to the set of friction elements (such as via 114), the parking brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements (at least the elements part of brake 72 as well as 70) based on a parking brake action indicating parking of a vehicle for pressing the elements together for providing a parking brake function for preventing rotation of the drive axle so as to provide a parking brake activated state, preventing movement of wheel member for keeping a vehicle provided with the brake arrangement (at least arrangement 72) in a parked position.
Re-claim 13, brake arrangement further comprises a spring device 118 arranged in connection to the parking brake piston device, the spring device is compressed by a hydraulic pressure to place the parking brake in a non-parking state, when in the non-parking state the parking brake piston device does not act on the set of friction elements, the release of the hydraulic pressure on the spring device acts of the parking brake piston device allows parking brake piston device to act on the set of friction elements so as to provide a parking brake activated state.
Re-claim 14, the parking brake piston device has a fluid pressure channel 124 that transmits and releases a fluid pressure.
Re-claim 15, unexpected loss of fluid pressure from within parking brake chamber 122 will allow the parking brake piston device 120 by means of a spring force from the spring device 118 to actuate the parking brake.
Re-claim 16, the spring device 118 is ring shaped and comprises a set of spring members distributed around the brake axle.
Re-claim 17, spring elements 92 are interpreted as an adjustment device, since replacing these springs with springs have different lengths will adjust the axial position of the parking brake piston device.
Re-claims 19-21, the brake arrangement of part of a track assembly of a tracked vehicle.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,037,694 to Keese.
Re-claim 1, Keese discloses a brake arrangement, comprising: a brake housing 22/24, the brake arrangement is journaled in bearings (see various roller bearings 26/29 and support bearing) in connection to a drive unit driven drive axle 14 and allows rotation of the drive axle relative to the brake housing, the drive axle rotates a drive wheel member 11 (the member 11 is capable of driving a track assembly of a tracked vehicle, it is noted the track vehicle and structure are only functionally recited), the brake arrangement comprising a set of friction elements 81/82 are arranged about the drive axle, the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction for providing a braking function in connection to the drive axle 14, the set of friction elements comprises a first end friction element 85 arranged as the outermost friction element against which pressure is provided for the braking function, the first end friction element 85 has sprocket members 86 projecting from an outer circumference of the first end friction element 85 (see figure 2) and has a thickness in the axial direction which is thicker than the remaining set of friction elements so as to facilitate distributing an even pressure on the set of friction elements when the set of friction elements are pressed together for efficient friction braking function.
Re-claim 2, the brake arrangement further comprising a hollow brake axle 54 arranged around the drive axle, the brake axle is rotated by the drive axle 14, the brake housing 22/24 is journaled in bearings 26/29 to the brake axle such that the journaling in bearings in connection to the drive axle is provided when the brake arrangement is connected to the drive axle.
Re-claim 3, the first and second bearing configurations are spaced axially apart, the bearings are provided with flange configurations (see flange portions part of inner and outer race portions).
Re-claim 5, the brake housing 22/24 has an end wall portion (as part of snap ring 89), the set of friction elements are in connection with the end wall portion, the end wall portion and set of friction elements provide friction engagement for providing the braking operation.
Re-claim 6, the end wall portion 89 has an inner side facing the set of friction elements, a second friction end element (such as 84 or rotor 82 closest to 84) of the set of friction elements, farthest from the first end element 85, is arranged in connection to the inner side of the end wall portion 89, when the set of friction elements are pressed together in the axial direction, the second end element is pressed against the inner side of the end wall portion 89.
Re-claim 7, the set of friction elements comprise first set of elements 81 engaged with the brake housing, and a second set of friction elements 82 attached to the brake axle 54, the second set of friction elements rotate relative to the first set of friction elements and are alternatively arranged.
Re-claim 8, the brake arrangement further comprising a service brake piston device 94 arranged in connection to the set of friction elements, the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements based on a brake action so as to press the elements together for providing a braking function for braking rotation of the drive axle so as to brake drive wheel member for stopping drive of a vehicle provided with the brake arrangement
Re-claim 9, a channel (see channels 98, 99, 102 and 104) in the housing are connected to the service brake piston device, the service brake piston device receives pressurized fluid via the at least one channel such that the service brake piston device acts on the set of friction elements.
Re-claim 10, the service brake piston is ring shaped about the brake axle (see column 4 lines 47-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin in view of US 6,874,857 to Tanabe.
Cronin shows various arrangements of the parking brake piston relative to the service brake piston, such as shown in figure 3. However, Cronin fails to teach the parking brake piston disposed radially externally to the service brake piston, as well as failing to teach the parking brake piston providing a pressure against a radially outer portion of the set of friction elements.
Tanabe teaches a parking brake piston and service brake piston arrangement in which the parking brake piston 38 (i.e. negative brake) is arranged radially externally to the service brake piston 71, and thereby provides a pressure against a radially outer portion of a set of friction elements 33/35. This is merely a rearrangement of the piston devices without affecting the outcome or function of the parking brake or service brake. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the parking brake piston device of Cronin radially externally to the service brake piston device as shown and taught by Tanabe, as this arrangement would have yielded the same expectant result and is seen as a mere rearrangement of parts.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keese in view or Cronin.
Re-claims 19-21, Keese fails to teach the brake arrangement as part of a tracked vehicle having a track assembly. It is noted that the hub 30 is capable of being connected to any road engaging structure, such as a wheel or track assembly and thus part of a tracked vehicle.
Cronin teaches a tracked vehicle having a brake arrangement, necessary for stopping the vehicle when desired. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the brake arrangement of Keese on a tracked vehicle having a track assembly as shown in Cronin, as this provides a use for the brake arrangement of Keese and provides a tracked vehicle with the necessary brake arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to Cronin, as stated above, Cronin discloses the friction elements including the first end friction element connected at its periphery in a conventional manner. This conventional manner is generally understood to be a splined connection, which is further disclosed by Cronin in column 3 lines 39-51. The splined connection will provide features projection outwardly from a periphery of the friction element. These projections will take on the appearance of sprocket elements. As such the rejection is maintained with respect to Cronin.
The rejection in view of Christenson has been overcome by the amended claim. However, a rejection in view of Keese is provided to show the now recited features of instant claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
May 27, 2026
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616