DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response to restriction requirement filed on 06/09/2026. Applicant Elect group I corresponding to Claims 1-20, 28-33 and 35 are still pending in the present application. The election was made without traverse. Claims 21-27 are Withdrawn. This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/27/2026 and 12/28/2024 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “means for ” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder that is merely a substitute for the term "means" coupled with functional language “for” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) (35) has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Limitation
Corresponding structure
receiving, from a network entity, during a location preparation phase of at least a first positioning session to position a user equipment (UE)…
Fig. 3B: 304 & ¶s 63,64 and 66
determining, based on the configuration message, a time indication indicating an amount of time between the configuration message and a measurement request for the first positioning session…
Fig. 9: 920 & ¶ 128
receiving the measurement request based on the time indication, the measurement request including a measurement time at which the network node is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements …
Fig. 9: 930 & ¶s 148
receiving the measurement request based on the time indication, the measurement request including a measurement time …
Fig. 2A: 270 & ¶s 152
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-17, 19-20, 28-31, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Gunnarsson et al Patent Application No. :( US 2014/0179343 A1) hereinafter referred as Gunnarsson, in view of Zhuang et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0336309 A1) hereinafter referred as Zhuang.
For claim 1, Gunnarsson discloses a method of wireless positioning performed by a network node (See eNB 140 fig. 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7), comprising: receiving, from a network entity (location server), during a location preparation phase of at least a first positioning session to position a user equipment (UE), a configuration message for the first positioning session (S1010 fig. 10) (paragraph [0111], lines 1-5); determining, based on the configuration message, a time indication indicating an amount of time between the configuration message and a measurement request (Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 13-17); receiving the measurement request (Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) based on the time indication, the measurement request including a measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements during a first location execution phase of the first positioning session (paragraph [0007], lines 13-17); and performing the one or more positioning measurements during the first location execution phase based on the measurement time (paragraph [0085], lines 1-12). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as recited in claim 1.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session that will help to calculate with accuracy the position becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein: the network entity is a location server, the network node (UE) is the UE (See eNB 140 fig. 1), and the measurement request is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) Request Location Information message (248 fig 21) (paragraph [0142], lines 1-6).
For claim 3, Gunnarsson discloses a method, wherein the configuration message is an LPP Provide Assistance Data message for the first positioning session (paragraph [0064], lines 1-9).
For claim 4, Gunnarsson discloses a method, wherein the configuration message is an LPP Request Capabilities message for the first positioning session (paragraph [0065]-[0068], lines 1-3).
For claim 7, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of receiving the threshold from the location server as recited in claim 7.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving the threshold from the location server (paragraph [0180], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving the threshold from the location server as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The receiving the threshold from the location server can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving the threshold from the location server with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving the threshold from the location server that will help to manage the communication for a position location becoming more efficient and reliable for a better track.
For claim 8, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein: the network entity is a location server, the network node (UE) is a base station (See eNB 140 fig. 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message as recited in claim 1.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message (paragraph [0081]-[0084], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message can be modify/implemented by combining the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message that will help to initiate, configure, and manage the positioning measurements for high-accuracy location determination becoming more efficient and reliable for a better transmission.
For claim 9, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session as recited in claim 9.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session (paragraph [0085]-[0087], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message is an NRPPa Positioning Information Request message for the first positioning session helping to reduce the signaling overhead and improve the timing and accuracy becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 10, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein: the network entity is a base station serving the UE, the network node (UE) is the UE (See eNB 140 fig. 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session as recited in claim 10.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session (paragraph [0085]-[0087], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session that will define how and when the UE will transmit SRS. This message is often sent early in the first positioning session to enable accurate uplink channel estimation before data transmission begins helping to improve the uplink and scheduling.
For claim 11, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the time indication is an absolute time as recited in claim 11.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the time indication is an absolute time (paragraph [0227], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the time indication is an absolute time as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The time indication is an absolute time can be modify/implemented by combining the time indication is an absolute time with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the time indication is an absolute time that offers several practical and conceptual advantages, especially in contexts where synchronization and consistency are critical helping the communication.
For claim 12, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements as recited in claim 12.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements (paragraph [0089], lines 1-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements can be modify/implemented by combining the absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the absolute time is the measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements helping to calculate the accuracy becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 13, Gunnarsson discloses a method, wherein the time indication is a time window during which the measurement request is expected to be received (paragraph [0007], lines 1-9).
For claim 14, Gunnarsson discloses a method, wherein the time indication is a time window during which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements (paragraph [0077], lines 1-3).
For claim 15, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received as recited in claim 15.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received (paragraph [0280], lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received can be modify/implemented by combining the time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the time indication is an expiration time before which the measurement request is expected to be received helping to improve reliability and consistency to obtain better connection.
For claim 16, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements as recited in claim 16.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements (paragraph [0651]-[0654], lines 1-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurement can be modify/implemented by combining the time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the time indication is an expiration time before which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements helping to improve the timely position data for a better connection.
For claim 17, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein determining the time indication comprises receiving the time indication in the configuration message (paragraph [0011], lines 1-21).
For claim 19, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein at least a second location execution phase for the first positioning session is associated with the location preparation phase (paragraph [0006], lines 1-21) and (paragraph [0012], lines 1-6)
For claim 20, Gunnarsson discloses the method, wherein the measurement time is indicated as a combination of a hyper frame number (HFN), a system frame number (SFN), and a slot number, or an absolute time, or a time window (paragraph [0062], lines 7-13) and (paragraph [0089], lines 1-4).
For claim 28, Gunnarsson discloses a network node (UE), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a network entity, during a location preparation phase of at least a first positioning session to position a user equipment (UE), a configuration message for the first positioning session (S1010 fig. 10) (paragraph [0111], lines 1-5);;
determine, based on the configuration message, a time indication indicating an amount of time between the configuration message and a measurement request (Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 13-17);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the measurement request based on the time indication, the measurement request including a measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements during a first location execution phase of the first positioning session (paragraph [0007], lines 13-17); and
perform the one or more positioning measurements during the first location execution phase based on the measurement time (paragraph [0085], lines 1-12). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as recited in claim 28.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session that will help to calculate with accuracy the position becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 29, Gunnarsson discloses the network node (UE) of claim 28, wherein: the network entity is a location server, the network node (UE) is the UE (See eNB 140 fig. 1), and the measurement request is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) Request Location Information message (248 fig 21) (paragraph [0142], lines 1-6)..
For claim 30, Gunnarsson discloses the network node (UE), wherein: the network entity is a location server, the network node (UE) is a base station (See eNB 140 fig. 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message as recited in claim 30.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message (paragraph [0081]-[0084], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message can be modify/implemented by combining the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the measurement request is a New Radio positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) Measurement Request message that will help to initiate, configure, and manage the positioning measurements for high-accuracy location determination becoming more efficient and reliable for a better transmission.
For claim 31, Gunnarsson discloses the network node (UE), wherein: the network entity is a base station serving the UE, the network node (UE) is the UE (See eNB 140 fig. 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session as recited in claim 31.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session (paragraph [0085]-[0087], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message is a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration message for the first positioning session that will define how and when the UE will transmit SRS. This message is often sent early in the first positioning session to enable accurate uplink channel estimation before data transmission begins helping to improve the uplink and scheduling.
For claim 33, Gunnarsson discloses the network node (UE), wherein at least a second location execution phase for the first positioning session is associated with the location preparation phase (paragraph [0006], lines 1-21) and (paragraph [0012], lines 1-6).
For claim 35, Gunnarsson discloses a network node (UE), comprising:
means for receiving, from a network entity, during a location preparation phase of at least a first positioning session to position a user equipment (UE), a configuration message for the first positioning session (S1010 fig. 10) (paragraph [0111], lines 1-5);
means for determining, based on the configuration message, a time indication indicating an amount of time between the configuration message and a measurement request for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 13-17);
means for receiving the measurement request based on the time indication, the measurement request including a measurement time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform the one or more positioning measurements during a first location execution phase of the first positioning session (paragraph [0007], lines 13-17); and
means for performing the one or more positioning measurements during the first location execution phase based on the measurement time (paragraph [0085], lines 1-12). However, Gunnarsson discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as recited in claim 35.
Zhuang from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session (paragraph [0011], lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session as taught by Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson.
The configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Zhuang into the localization configuration to make location information available in user equipment of Gunnarsson. As disclosed in Zhuang, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration message and a time at which the network node (UE) is expected to perform one or more positioning measurements for the first positioning session that will help to calculate with accuracy the position becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 18, 32 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642