DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 13-14, 16, 24, 27, 30, 32 are presented for examination. Claims 2, 7-9, 11-12, 15, 17-23, 25-26, 28-29, 31 and 33-34 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10, 13-14, 16, 24, 27, 30, 32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Ouchi’s report configuration does not teach “configure reference signal resources of a serving cell and a neighboring cell” and directs to Ouchi’s paragraph 0170 regarding the report configuration.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1), Ouchi’s measurement configuration as disclosed in paragraphs 0098, 0156-0157, 0165 configures reference signals resources for reporting measurements. Ouchi’s in paragraph 0172-173 further showed that the reference signal resources configured applied to serving cell and neighboring cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10, 13, 16, 24, 27, 30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi et al (Ouchi), US 2014/0295909, in view of Guo et al (Guo), US 2018/0219664.
As per claim 1, Ouchi teaches the claimed invention including a configuration method for inter-cell measurement reporting, comprising:
Receiving, by a terminal, report configuration information transmitted by a base station, wherein the report configuration information is used to configure reference signal resources of a serving cell and a neighboring cell (pp. 0098, 0156-0157, 0165, 0172-0173, 0178);
Receiving, by the terminal, a first signaling transmitted by the base station (pp. 0098, 0156, 0165: step 403); wherein
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting group, wherein the report setting group comprises at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0098, 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting, each report setting corresponds to a reporting type; the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one trigger state (pp. 0171), each trigger state is associated with at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171); and
Performing or cancelling, by the terminal, a measurement on a target reference signal resource based on the first signaling (pp. 0099, 0157, 0165, 0171, 0243: step 405; reference signal measurement configuration includes reference signal measurement configuration-addition list and reference signal measurement configuration-remove list).
Ouchi does not teach the first signaling comprising medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the MAC-CE indicates whether a target report setting group is activated or the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated. Guo teaches the first signaling to be MAC-CE and the MAC-CE is used to indicate whether a target report setting group is activated (pp. 0097, 0117) and the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated (pp. 0089-0090). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Ouchi and Guo and utilize MAC-CE to activate and/or deactivate CSI-RS report.
As per claim 3, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein when the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting group (pp. 0098, 0165-0171);
Before performing or cancelling the measurement on the target reference signal resource based on the first signaling, the method further comprises:
Determining, based on the first signaling, a target report setting comprised in the target report setting group and a target resource setting associated with the target report setting (pp. 0165-0171), and
Determining a reference signal resource set comprised int the target resource setting to obtain the target reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171).
As per claim 4, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein when the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting, (pp. 0165-0171);
Before performing or cancelling the measurement on the target reference signal resource based on the first signaling, the method further comprises:
Determining, based on the first signaling, a target report setting corresponding to the target reporting type and a target resource setting associated with the target report setting (pp. 0165-0171), and
Determining a reference signal resource set comprised in the target resource setting to obtain the target reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171).
As per claim 5, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein the reporting type comprises: periodic reporting, semi-persistent reporting, or aperiodic reporting (pp. 0171: triggered reporting is aperiodic); or, the reporting type comprises: performing a measurement on the reference signal resource of the serving cell and reporting a corresponding measurement result, or performing a measurement on the reference signal resource of the neighboring cell and reporting a corresponding measurement result (pp. 0098-0099).
As per claim 6, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein when the report configuration information comprises at least one trigger state (pp. 0165-0171),
Before performing or cancelling the measurement on the target reference signal resource based on the first signaling, the method further comprises:
Determining, based on the first signaling, a target report setting associated with the target trigger state and a target resource associated with the target report setting (pp. 0165-0171), and
Determining a reference signal resource set comprised in the target resource setting to obtain the target reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171).
As per claim 10, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein the report setting comprises at least one of:
Indication information for indicating a report measurement value that meets a preset threshold (pp. 0171);
Indication information for indicating a threshold for triggering the reporting (pp. 0171); or
Wherein the resource further comprises at least one cell identifier, and the cell identifier is configured to be corresponding to the reference signal resource set or the reference signal resource (pp. 0098-0099); or
Wherein each of reference signal resources in the resource setting is numbered with a resource index according to a first rule, and reference signal resources of respective cells have different index numbers (pp. 0165-0169).
As per claim 13, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi further teaches wherein the report setting comprises a report setting for the serving cell and a report setting for the neighboring cell (pp. 0098, 0172).
As per claim 16, Ouchi teaches the claimed invention including a configuration method for inter-cell measurement reporting, comprising:
Transmitting, by a base station, report configuration information to a terminal, wherein the report configuration information is used to configure reference signal resources of a serving cell and a neighboring cell (pp. 0098, 0156, 0165, 0172-0173, 0178);
Transmitting, by the base station, a first signaling to the terminal (pp. 0098, 0156, 0165: step 403), wherein the first signaling is used to activate or deactivated measurement on a target reference signal resource (pp. 0099, 0157, 0165, 0171, 0243: step 405; reference signal measurement configuration includes reference signal measurement configuration-addition list and reference signal measurement configuration-remove list); wherein
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting group, wherein the report setting group comprises at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0098, 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting, each report setting corresponds to a reporting type; the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one trigger state (pp. 0171), each trigger state is associated with at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171).
Ouchi does not teach the first signaling comprising medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the MAC-CE indicates whether a target report setting group is activated or the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated. Guo teaches the first signaling to be MAC-CE and the MAC-CE is used to indicate whether a target report setting group is activated (pp. 0097, 0117) and the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated (pp. 0089-0090). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Ouchi and Guo and utilize MAC-CE to activate and/or deactivate CSI-RS report.
As per claim 24, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 16. Ouchi further teaches wherein the report setting comprises at least one of:
Indication information for indicating a report measurement value that meets a preset threshold (pp. 0171);
Indication information for indicating a threshold for triggering the reporting (pp. 0171); or
Wherein the resource further comprises at least one cell identifier, and the cell identifier is configured to be corresponding to the reference signal resource set or the reference signal resource (pp. 0098-0099); or
Wherein each of reference signal resources in the resource setting is numbered with a resource index according to a first rule, and reference signal resources of respective cells have different index numbers (pp. 0165-0169).
As per claim 27, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 16. Ouchi further teaches wherein the report setting comprises a report setting for the serving cell and a report setting for the neighboring cell (pp. 0098, 0172).
As per claim 30, Ouchi teaches the claimed invention including a terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein
The memory is configured to store a computer program (pp. 0410);
The transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (figure 1; pp. 0002, 0409), and
The processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (pp. 0410-0411) to perform:
Receiving report configuration information transmitted by a base station, wherein the report configuration information is used to configure reference signal resources of a serving cell and a neighboring cell (pp. 0098, 0156, 0165, 0172-0173, 0178);
Receiving the first signaling transmitted by the base station (pp. 0098, 0156, 0165: step 403); wherein
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting group, wherein the report setting group comprises at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0098, 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one report setting, each report setting corresponds to a reporting type; the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171); or
the report configuration information comprises at least one trigger state (pp. 0171), each trigger state is associated with at least one report setting, the report setting is associated with at least one resource setting, the resource setting comprises at least one reference signal resource set, and the reference signal resource set comprises at least one reference signal resource (pp. 0165-0171); and
Performing or cancelling, by the terminal, a measurement on a target reference signal resource based on the first signaling (pp. 0099, 0157, 0165, 0171, 0243: step 405; reference signal measurement configuration includes reference signal measurement configuration-addition list and reference signal measurement configuration-remove list).
Ouchi does not teach the first signaling comprising medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the MAC-CE indicates whether a target report setting group is activated or the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated. Guo teaches the first signaling to be MAC-CE and the MAC-CE is used to indicate whether a target report setting group is activated (pp. 0097, 0117) and the MAC-CE indicates whether at least one report setting corresponding to a target trigger state is activated (pp. 0089-0090). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Ouchi and Guo and utilize MAC-CE to activate and/or deactivate CSI-RS report.
As per claim 32, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 16. Ouchi further teaches to include a network-side device comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein
The memory is configured to store a computer program (pp. 0410);
The transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (figure 1; pp. 0002, 0409), and
The processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (pp. 0410-0411) to perform the method according to claim 16.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi and Guo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of obviousness.
As per claim 14, Ouchi and Guo teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Ouchi and Guo do not further teach to comprise:
Receiving a second signaling, the second signaling being used to activate or deactivate reporting a measurement result by the terminal; and
Reporting or cancelling reporting, by the terminal, the measurement result of the target reference signal resource based on the second signaling.
However, it is obvious in the art to repeat the same processes to perform updates or periodic processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Ouchi and Guo and further repeat the processes in order to carry out updated processes and obtain latest measurements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park, US 2022/0393736
Liou et al, US 2021/0092632
Kang et al, US 2020/0178223
Zhang et al, US 2023/0078059
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 10, 2026