DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silberstein (US 2020/0107238) in view of Christie (US 2005/0025163)
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Silberstein teaches a wireless communication device comprising:
a wireless communication unit confiqured to perform communication by a first connection to a first communication network, wherein the first communication network permits the first connection in a first area; (¶ [0028], see specifically the first Wi-Fi network and the second wi-fi network);
the wireless communication unit confiqured to perform communication by a second connection connecting to a second communication network (¶ [0028], see specifically the first wi-fi network, the second wifi network and or cellular); and
wherein the second communication network is different from the first communication network (¶ [0028], see specifically the first wi-fi network, the second wifi network and or cellular)
and a control unit confiqured to: predict a communication quality of the communication by the first wireless communication unit; determine, whether to perform the communication by the second wireless communication unit, based on whether or not the predicted communication quality that satisfies a specific communication quality; and (¶ [0044], see specifically switch network).
Silberstein fails to explicitly teach the communication unit are separate first and second communication units, and simultaneously transmit, based on the determination to perform the communication by the second wireless communication unit, a first part of transmission data via the first wireless communication unit and a second part of the transmission data via the second wireless communication unit.
It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to have two separate parts instead of a single unified part absent a showing of unexpected results. Thus, at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to shift separate the single communication unit to two separate communication units since it is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to make the components separate absent a showing of unexpected results. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").The contention of obvious choice in design can be overcome if Applicant establishes unexpected results. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Christie from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches simultaneously transmit, based on the determination to perform the communication by the second wireless communication unit, a first part of transmission data via the first wireless communication unit and a second part of the transmission data via the second wireless communication unit (¶ [0017], see specifically uses both tunnels to send packets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to send packets through multiple tunnels in various ways in the system of Christie as taught by Silberstein
The motivation is that multiple tunnels allow for versatility in the usage of the tunnels, which increases bandwidth and/or redundancy.
Regarding Claim 7, Silberstein teaches the second communication network is a public network (¶ [0028], see specifically cellular);
Regarding Claim 8, Silberstein teaches the second communication network permits the connection in one of a second area or the first area, and the first area is different from the second area (¶ [0028], see specifically the first wi-fi network, the second wifi network);
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409