CTFR 18/551,583 CTFR 91684 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 03/04/2026. Claims 15- 28 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority 02-27 Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 09/20/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Response to Amendments Claims 15, 16, 22 and 24-28 have been amended. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments/amendments with respect to claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23 AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15- 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 20210274562 A1) , hereinafter “ Takeda ”; and in view of Alvarino et al. (US 20210314892 A1), hereinafter “ Alvarino”; and in further view of CAICT “Timing relationship enhancements to support NTN” January 25 th , 2021; hereinafter “CAICT” . Regarding claim 15, Takeda teaches A terminal [Takeda: fig. 5 , Par. 18] , comprising: control circuitry, which, in operation, determines a transmission occasion based on a control signal related to transmission [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 18, 91-92 teaches UE use PRACH transmission to monitor/ determine occasion based on selected SSB]; transmission circuitry, which, in operation, performs the transmission in the transmission occasion [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 94 teaches UE transmits PRACH for scheduling] PNG media_image1.png 462 712 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Takeda does not teach of uplink transmission using a cell-specific offset. Nevertheless, Alvarino, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches uplink transmission using a cell-specific offset [Alvarino: Fig; 6; Par. 123-126, 139-140 teaches of using scheduling offset for uplink] PNG media_image2.png 628 394 media_image2.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Takeda for using offset in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of Alvarino, when implemented in the Takeda system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Alvarino in the Takeda system in order to utilize offset for adjust uplink timing structure [Alvarino: par. 1235]. However, Takeda in view of Alvarino does not teach of transmission is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order. Nevertheless, CAICT, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmission is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission using a cell-specific offset, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order [CAICT: Fig. 1; Pgs. 2-3; section 2 teaches In the PDCCH order triggering RACH procedure, it will provide the preamble index, the SSB index, and PRACH Mask index. UE then selects the next available PRACH occasion (RO) associated to the SSB index and PRACH mask index after receiving the PDCCH order.] PNG media_image3.png 256 610 media_image3.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of CAICT for using PRACH in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of CAICT, when implemented in the Takeda/ Alvarino system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of CAICT in the Takeda/ Alvarino system in order to enhance the timing relationship in NTN [CAICT: Pg. 2; section 1]. Regarding claim 16, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the control circuitry uses a Random Access Channel (RACH) occasion (RO) associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) index determined from a plurality of SSB indices by a base station [CAICT: Section 2 teaches of RO associated with SSB index to determined plurality of indices]. Regarding claim 17, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 16. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the control circuitry selects an earliest transmission occasion from among transmission occasions later than a timing that is based on the cell-specific offset [Alvarino: Par. 139-141 teaches of scheduling offset by including transmission timing offsets]. Regarding claim 18, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the control circuitry selects a transmission occasion included in a set of transmission occasions later than a timing that is based on the cell-specific offset [Alvarino: Par. 139-141 teaches of scheduling offset by including transmission timing offsets]. Regarding claim 19, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the control circuitry determines the transmission occasion based on the control signal using either of the cell-specific offset and a parameter different from the cell-specific offset [Alvarino: See. Fig. 6; Par. 139]. Regarding claim 20, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 19. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the parameter is a parameter related to the transmission occasion available to the terminal [ Takeda: Par. 94 teaches parameters for transmission occasion are included in the message transmit/received from/to terminal]. Regarding claim 21, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 19. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the control signal includes one of first information associated with the cell-specific offset and second information associated with the parameter [Takeda: Par. 94]. Regarding claim 22, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the PRACH transmission is a transmission of a physical random access channel (PRACH) [Takeda: Par. 64 teaches of selectin PRACH]. Regarding claim 23, the combined Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Takeda/Alvarino in view of CAICT further teaches the cell-specific offset is an offset in units of slot including the transmission occasion [Takeda: Figs. 1-3]. Regarding claim 24, Takeda teaches A base station, comprising: control circuitry, which, in operation, determines a transmission occasion based on a control signal related to reception [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 18, 91-92 teaches UE use PRACH transmission to monitor/ determine occasion based on selected SSB]; reception circuitry, which, in operation, performs the uplink reception in the transmission occasion [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 94 teaches UE transmits PRACH for scheduling] PNG media_image1.png 462 712 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Takeda does not teach of uplink transmission using a cell-specific offset. Nevertheless, Alvarino, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches uplink transmission using a cell-specific offset [Alvarino: Fig; 6; Par. 123-126, 139-140 teaches of using scheduling offset for uplink] PNG media_image2.png 628 394 media_image2.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Takeda for using offset in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of Alvarino, when implemented in the Takeda system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Alvarino in the Takeda system in order to utilize offset for adjust uplink timing structure [Alvarino: par. 1235]. However, Takeda in view of Alvarino does not teach of reception is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order. Nevertheless, CAICT, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches reception is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission using a cell-specific offset, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order [CAICT: Fig. 1; Pgs. 2-3; section 2 teaches In the PDCCH order triggering RACH procedure, it will provide the preamble index, the SSB index, and PRACH Mask index. UE then selects the next available PRACH occasion (RO) associated to the SSB index and PRACH mask index after receiving the PDCCH order.] PNG media_image3.png 256 610 media_image3.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of CAICT for using PRACH in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of CAICT, when implemented in the Takeda/ Alvarino system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of CAICT in the Takeda/ Alvarino system in order to enhance the timing relationship in NTN [CAICT: Pg. 2; section 1]. Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 15. Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 15. Regarding claim 27, Takeda teaches A communication method, comprising steps performed by a base station of: determining a transmission occasion based on a control signal related to reception [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 18, 91-92 teaches UE use PRACH transmission to monitor/ determine occasion based on selected SSB]; Transmission circuitry, which, in operation, performs the transmission plink reception in the transmission occasion [Takeda: Fig. 1; Par. 94 teaches UE transmits PRACH for scheduling] PNG media_image1.png 462 712 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Takeda does not teach of transmission using a cell-specific offset. Nevertheless, Alvarino, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmission using a cell-specific offset [Alvarino: Fig; 6; Par. 123-126, 139-140 teaches of using scheduling offset for uplink] PNG media_image2.png 628 394 media_image2.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Park for using offset in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of Alvarino, when implemented in the Takeda system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Alvarino in the Takeda system in order to utilize offset for adjust uplink timing structure [Alvarino: par. 1235]. However, Takeda in view of Alvarino does not teach of transmission is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order. Nevertheless, CAICT, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmission is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission using a cell-specific offset, wherein the transmission occasion is determined using the Cell-specific offset when the PRACH transmission is triggered by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order [CAICT: Fig. 1; Pgs. 2-3; section 2 teaches In the PDCCH order triggering RACH procedure, it will provide the preamble index, the SSB index, and PRACH Mask index. UE then selects the next available PRACH occasion (RO) associated to the SSB index and PRACH mask index after receiving the PDCCH order.] PNG media_image3.png 256 610 media_image3.png Greyscale Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of CAICT for using PRACH in uplink transmission in transmission occasion. The teaching of CAICT, when implemented in the Takeda/ Alvarino system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform PRACH transmission based on scheduling. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of CAICT in the Takeda/ Alvarino system in order to enhance the timing relationship in NTN [CAICT: Pg. 2; section 1]. Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 27. Conclusion The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYAW Z SOE whose telephone number is (571)270-0304. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles C Jiang can be reached at 5712707191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 8 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 9 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 10 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 11 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 12 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 13 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/551,583 Page 14 Art Unit: 2412