DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 5/20/26. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 28 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 18, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2021/016778 see provided translation for citations) in view of XU (US 2022/0046754).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method for reducing a latency, applied to a terminal, comprising:
receiving downlink control information DCI; and activating/deactivating configured grant CG and packet data convergence protocol PDCP duplication (replication transmission) transmission based on the DCI (see “The network uses DCI or MAC CE or RRC to notify the identification of the transmission resource used in the replication transmission (for example, it may include at least one of the following: RLC entity, logical channel identification, carrier identification, and CG index); accordingly, the UE according to the information, To determine whether to perform copy transmission, and the CG resources used on the corresponding carrier when transmitting data and/or copying data” [p. 15, par 5] and “If it is necessary to modify the replication transmission status, send the first indication information to the UE through one of RRC, DCI or MAC CE;” [p. 16, par 9] and “Wherein, the first indication information carries at least one of the following information:… modify the replication transmission status to transmit data and/or Or the carrier identifier used for copying data, the CG identifier used for transmitting data and/or copying data after modifying the copy transmission status” [p. 16, par 10] which suggests that UE may receive a DCI from the network and activate or deactivate replication transmission and CG used to transmit the copied data);
wherein the DCI comprises one of the following:
first indication information for indicating carrier ID/carrier group ID (carrier/logical channel identification) for which PDCP duplication transmission is to be activated (see “The network uses DCI or MAC CE or RRC to notify the identification of the transmission resource used in the replication transmission (for example, it may include at least one of the following: RLC entity, logical channel identification, carrier identification, and CG index)” [p. 15, par 5] and “Among them, the initial state of copy transmission may include activated copy transmission or deactivated copy transmission” [p. 15, par 10] which suggests DCI may include carrier/logical channel identification for copy transmission to be activated on);
second indication information for indicating carrier ID within a cell group (primary/secondary cell group) for which activation is to be performed (see “…the bearer can correspond to the primary cell group or the secondary cell group, and the primary cell corresponding to the bearer configured for the UE for replication transmission can be considered as containing the primary cell group and/or The primary cell of the secondary cell group” [p. 15, par 11] which suggests DCI may include cell group information for the copy transmission function);
third indication information for indicating carrier ID/carrier group ID (carrier/logical channel identification) for which PDCP duplication transmission is to be deactivated (see “The network uses DCI or MAC CE or RRC to notify the identification of the transmission resource used in the replication transmission (for example, it may include at least one of the following: RLC entity, logical channel identification, carrier identification, and CG index)” [p. 15, par 5] and “Among them, the initial state of copy transmission may include activated copy transmission or deactivated copy transmission” [p. 15, par 10] which suggests DCI may include carrier/logical channel identification for copy transmission to be deactivated on); or,
fourth indication information for indicating activation/deactivation of PDCP duplication transmission of a data radio bearer DRBm (bearer identifier) (see “Wherein, the first indication information carries at least one of the following information: the bearer identifier used to transmit the data and/or the copied data after modifying the copy transmission state…” [p. 16, par 10]);
the method further comprising:
receiving a mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier (see “Or the CG identifier, carrier identifier, RLC entity identifier, logical channel identifier, and cell group identifier may also be expressed in the form of a combination of bitmap identifiers, for example, a bitmap identifies a carrier, or a bitmap identifies a CG” [p. 16, par 13] which suggests the carrier identifier may be expressed in the form of a bitmap which is a “mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier” because it identifies an associated carrier).
Yang does not explicitly teach that the mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier is received in a first signaling, and the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group. In an analogous prior art reference, XU teaches receiving a first signaling (see “Alternatively, in another implementation, the network device does not include the identifier in the first signaling, but separately sends the identifier by using other signaling. For example, the network device sends the identifier by using second signaling” [par 382]. Xu further teaches first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID (bitmap corresponding to a logical channel) indicated by the DCI and a carrier group (see “each bitmap may have six bits, each bit represents one carrier, and bits of one bitmap that are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit respectively correspond to the carrier 1 to the carrier 6. A specific carrier corresponding to each bit of a bitmap may be pre-specified in a protocol, or may be preconfigured by the network device and notified to the terminal device” [par 332] which suggests a bitmap, or “carrier group ID” because it identifies a group of six carriers, is a “mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group” because it identifies carriers in the group since each bit represents one carrier corresponding to carrier 1 to the carrier 6. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang to allow the mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier to be received in a first signaling, and the first signaling to be used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group, as taught by XU, so that the terminal may know a correspondence between a carrier ID or carrier group ID and the associated carrier(s) through the DCI or other signaling which increases the flexibility of the network device to configure PDCP duplication.
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the cell group represents a master cell group MCG or a secondary cell group SCG (see “For example, when the primary cell corresponding to the aforementioned bearer is not configured, the primary cell of the primary cell group (MCG) can be regarded as the primary cell corresponding to the bearer, and/or the secondary cell group can be regarded as The primary cell of (SCG) is the primary cell corresponding to the bearer” [p. 15, par 11]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a carrier used by the terminal to receive the DCI is a main carrier for performing activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication transmission;
a carrier corresponding to the carrier ID indicated by the DCI is a secondary carrier for performing activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication transmission, or a carrier corresponding to the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI is a secondary carrier for performing activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication transmission (see “The network uses DCI or MAC CE or RRC to notify the identification of the transmission resource used in the replication transmission (for example, it may include at least one of the following: RLC entity, logical channel identification, carrier identification, and CG index); accordingly, the UE according to the information, to determine whether to perform copy transmission, and the CG resources used on the corresponding carrier when transmitting data and/or copying data” [p.15, par 5] wherein the DCI is received by the UE on a “main carrier” and the carrier identification or CG index included in the replication transmission configuration for performing the replication transmission is the “secondary carrier”).
Claims 18 and 28 recite subject matter similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2021/016778) in view of XU (US 2022/0046754), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0060283).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yang and XU teaches a method for reducing a latency, applied to a network device, comprising: sending downlink control information DCI to a terminal, to cause the terminal to activate/deactivate configured grant CG and packet data convergence protocol PDCP duplication transmission based on the DCI- wherein the DCI comprises one of the following: first indication information for indicating carrier ID/carrier group ID for which PDCP duplication transmission is to be activated; second indication information for indicating carrier ID within a cell group for which activation is to be performed; third indication information for indicating carrier ID/carrier group ID for which PDCP duplication transmission is to be deactivated; or fourth indication information for indicating activation/deactivation of PDCP duplication transmission of a data radio bearer DRBm; the method further comprising: sending a first signaling to the terminal, wherein the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier, or the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group (see above rejection of claim 1), but does not explicitly teach that the DCI is sent based on reporting capability of the terminal. In an analogous prior art reference, Wang teaches activating packet duplication based on reporting capability of the terminal (see “That is, when a UE sends capability information (e.g., in an RRC Connection Setup Request) to the network, the capability information may indicate what types of data duplication the UE supports” [par 121]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang and XU to allow the DCI to be based on reporting capability of the terminal, as taught by Wang, in order to configure terminals capable of performing PDCP duplication thereby increasing network efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the cell group represents a master cell group MCG or a secondary cell group SCG (see “For example, when the primary cell corresponding to the aforementioned bearer is not configured, the primary cell of the primary cell group (MCG) can be regarded as the primary cell corresponding to the bearer, and/or the secondary cell group can be regarded as The primary cell of (SCG) is the primary cell corresponding to the bearer” [p. 15, par 11]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
sending a second signaling to the terminal, wherein the second signaling is used to configure a data radio bearer for performing activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication transmission (see “The network device sends the replication transmission configuration to the UE” [p. 15, par 7]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the DCI is fifth indication information for activating/deactivating the CG (see “modify the replication transmission status to transmit data and/or Or the carrier identifier used for copying data, the CG identifier used for transmitting data and/or copying data after modifying the copy transmission status” [p. 16, par 10] which suggests that the configured CG indicated in the DCI is activated for replication data transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7-8, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant submits that Yang and Xu in combination does not teach or suggest “receiving a first signaling, wherein the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier, or the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group”. In response to this argument, the Examiner submits as indicated in the above rejection that Yang discloses a UE may receive DCI for replication transmission configuration including a carrier identifier which may be in the form of a bitmap which reads on the claimed “mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier” because it identifies an associated carrier. Xu discloses a terminal may receive identifier(s) and associated carrier(s) information via signaling other than DCI or the PDCP duplication configuration. Xu further discloses a logical channel may be represented by a bitmap having six bits, each bit representing one carrier, which reads on the claimed “carrier group ID” because it identifies a group of six carriers and is a “mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group” because it identifies carriers in the group since each bit represents one carrier corresponding to carrier 1 to the carrier 6. In the relied combination of Yang and Xu, the carrier and logical channel identifier/bitmap is received in signaling other than DCI or PDCP duplication as taught by Xu, and the bitmap corresponding to the logical channel is represented by a bitmap having six bits, each bit representing one carrier, also taught by Xu.
Yang and Xu in combination therefore teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 including at least “receiving a first signaling, wherein the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier, or the first signaling is used to configure a mapping relationship between the carrier group ID indicated by the DCI and a carrier group” and the ground(s) of rejection of the previous office action have been maintained. Claims 11, 18, and 28 recite similar subject matter and are not allowable over the cited prior art for the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM T HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647