DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-21) in the reply filed on 2/09/26 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are currently pending.
Claim(s) 22 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/09/26.
Priority
It is acknowledged that the instant application is a 371 of International Application No. PCT/KR2022/003869, filed March 21, 2022, and that it claims foreign priority based on application KR 10-2021-0036727 filed in Korea on March 22, 2021. It is noted, however, that the foreign priority date is the effective filing date of the claimed invention if:
the foreign application supports the claimed invention under 112(a), and
the applicant has perfected the right of priority by providing
a certified copy of the priority application, and
a translation of the priority application (if not in English)
In the instant case, the applicant has submitted a certified copy of the priority application but it is not in English and the examiner cannot determine if it supports the claimed invention. The effective filing date of the application is considered to be March 21, 2022, which is the filing date of the International Application No. PCT/KR2022/003869.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not concise (exceeds 150 words). Additionally, the abstract refers to the purported merits or speculative applications of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s)16 contain(s) the trademark/trade name SYBR® Green/SYBR® Gold. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade names are used to identify/describe fluorescent chemicals for use in scientific research that are sold by Molecular Probes and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 2, 5-13, are 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Markarov et al. (published June 2, 2011; Patent Publication No. US 2011/0129832).
Markarov recites polynucleotide combinations used in detection and amplification of nucleic acids (par. 52).
Regarding claim 1, Markarov recites a method of amplifying a target nucleic acid, comprising amplifying an isolated nucleic acid by performing polymerase chain reaction (par. 100-104: “Methods of Use: PCR”) in the presence of: a guide probe (par. 9: the “second polynucleotide” or “F”) comprising a sequence capable of hybridizing with a region of a target nucleic acid other than a detection region (“Fb”) and a sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid (“Fd”); a partial primer (par. 9: the “first polynucleotide” or “P”) comprising a sequence complementary to the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid in the guide probe (“Pc”) and a sequence complementary to the detection region of the target nucleic acid (“Pa”); a clamping probe (par. 9: the “blocker polynucleotide”) that inhibits amplification of other nucleic acids except the target nucleic acid (Figure 4); and a specific primer (par. 20; Fig. 8A) capable of amplifying the target nucleic acid by pairing with the partial primer. See annotated Fig. 4 below for reference.
[AltContent: textbox (3’
5’)][AltContent: textbox (5’
3’)][AltContent: textbox (Guide probe)][AltContent: textbox (Partial primer)][AltContent: textbox (Clamping probe)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Nucleic acid other than the target nucleic acid)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Target nucleic acid)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Markarov also recites that the method comprises determining presence or absence of an amplicon (par. 40).
Regarding claim 2, Markarov recites that the guide probe is configured such that the sequence hybridizing with the target nucleic acid is present at a 5' end or N-terminus and the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid is present at a 3' end or C-terminus (par. 30, Figure 4). If the partial primer overlaps with the clamping probe at its 3’ end (as recited in par. 30), Fig. 4b depicts the guide probe in the required orientation.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Markarov recites that the guide probe, the partial primer, the clamping probe, the specific primer, OR the probe capable of binding to the amplicon comprise any one or a combination of two or more selected from among an oligonucleotide, LNA, and PNA (par. 71, 75, 81).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Markarov in paragraph 0015 describes that a first half of the guide probe (“Fb”) can have a minimum length of 10 bases and a maximum length of 5000 bases, and that a second half (“Fd”) can have a minimum length of 5 bases and a maximum length of 200 bases. Markarov’s total length range for the guide probe is from 15-5,200 bases. Thus, Markarov anticipates guide probes that are 15 to 500 bases and guide probes that are 20 to 150 bases.
Regarding claim 8, Markarov recites that the guide probe and the clamping probe hybridize to a strand of the target nucleic acid opposite a strand to which the specific primer binds (par. 9, 20).
Regarding claim 9, Markarov teaches that the complementary regions of the partial primer are separated by 10 nucleotides or more (par. 56), and that the separation is accomplished with a single-stranded DNA linker (par. 152, Fig. 13A). Thus, Markarov anticipates a partial primer which further comprises a spacer, which is a single-stranded oligonucleotide with a length of 1 to 100 bases, between the sequence complementary to the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid in the guide probe and the sequence complementary to the detection region of the target nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 10, Markarov teaches that the Pa region can be about 5 bases in length to about 15 bases in length (par. 15). Thus, Markarov anticipates that the sequence complementary to the detection region of the target nucleic acid in the partial primer is a sequence of 5 to 15 bases. This overlaps the range of 3-15 bases with sufficient specificity that the limitation of claim 10 is considered to be anticipated.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Markarov teaches a blocker polynucleotide which is from about 5 nucleotides in length to about 100 nucleotides in length (par. 92), which is a PNA (par. 75). Thus, Markarov anticipates that the clamping probe is PNA with a length of 5 to 100 bases. This overlaps the range of 5-500 bases with sufficient specificity that the limitations are considered to be anticipated. Markarov also recites that the clamping probe inhibits amplification of the other nucleic acids except the target nucleic acid by preventing the partial primer from binding to the other nucleic acids except the target nucleic acid (par. 63).
Regarding claim 13, Markarov recites that the clamping probe comprises the sequence complementary to the detection region of the target nucleic acid in the partial primer, differing from said sequence by 2 to 10 bases (par. 64). This overlaps the range of 1-10 bases with sufficient specificity that the limitation of claim 13 is considered to be anticipated.
Regarding claim 14, Markarov teaches a primer pair (SEQ ID NO: 18 and SEQ ID NO: 20 in Example 9) which generates an amplicon with a length of around 79 bp (in the annotated figure below, the binding site of the partial primer is underlined in red and the binding site of the specific primer is underlined in dark blue). Given that Markarov discloses a value within the claimed range, the limitation that the amplicon is 50 bp to 1 kbp in length is considered to be anticipated.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 15, Markarov recites that determining the presence or absence of the amplicon in step (b) uses a nucleic acid-binding dye (par. 141; Example 3) or probe capable of binding to the amplicon (par. 9, 31).
Regarding claim 16, Markarov recites that the nucleic acid-binding dye is selected from the group consisting of ethidium bromide, SYBR® Green I, SYBR® Gold, EvaGreen, YO-PRO-1, SYTO, BEBO, and BEXTO (par. 141).
Regarding claims 18-20, Markarov recites that the probe capable of binding to the amplicon has a reporter and a quencher connected to both ends thereof (par. 31, Fig. 5a). Markarov also recites that the reporter is at least one fluorescent material selected from the group consisting of fluorescein, fluorescein chlorotriazinyl, Rhodamine Green, Rhodamine Red, tetramethylrhodamine, FITC, Oregon Green, Alexa Fluor, FAM, JOE, ROX, HEX, Texas Red, TET, TRITC, TAMRA, cyanine-based dyes, and thiadicarbocyanine dyes (par. 141). Markarov also recites that the quencher is at least one selected from the group consisting of Dabcyl, TAMRA, Eclipse, DDQ, QSY, Blackberry Quencher, Black Hole Quencher, Qxl, Iowa Black FQ, Iowa Black RQ, and IRDye QC-1 (par. 143).
Regarding claim 21, Markarov recites that the isolated nucleic acid is isolated from a sample of a subject (par. 148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Markarov et al. (published June 2, 2011; Patent Publication No. US 2011/0129832), as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Egholm et al. (published April 3, 2003; Patent Publication No. US 2003/0064402).
Markarov recites the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Markarov does not recite that the guide probe further comprises a linker between the sequence hybridizing with the target nucleic acid and the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid, wherein the linker is at least one selected from the group consisting of: beta-alanine (@-Ala-OH, C3), aminobutyric acid (C4), aminohexanoic acid (C6), aminolauric acid (C12), acetoacetoxyethyl acrylate (AAEA (O-linker)), 2-[2-[2-[2-(amino)ethoxy]ethoxy]ethoxy]acetic acid (AEEEA), AEEEEA, DL15, and L35.
Egholm et al. teaches probes for hybridizing to a target nucleic acid (Abstract).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Egholm teaches a probe comprising a linker between the sequence hybridizing with the target nucleic acid and the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid (par. 9; Figure 1A), wherein the linker is at least one selected from the group consisting of: beta-alanine (@-Ala-OH, C3), aminobutyric acid (C4), aminohexanoic acid (C6), aminolauric acid (C12), acetoacetoxyethyl acrylate (AAEA (O-linker)), 2-[2-[2-[2-(amino)ethoxy]ethoxy]ethoxy]acetic acid (AEEEA), AEEEEA, DL15, and L35 (par. 58).
It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Markarov and Egholm before the effective filing date of the instant invention. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to alleviate the strain associated with the three-way junction structure (par. 78) and allow for the formation of more stable PNA:DNA duplexes (par. 128).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of co-pending Application No. 18/254,126) in view of Markarov et al. (published June 2, 2011; Patent Publication No. US 2011/0129832).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of amplifying a target nucleic acid (ref claim 1). Both sets of claims require: a guide probe comprising a sequence capable of hybridizing with a region of a target nucleic acid other than a detection region and a sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid; a partial primer comprising a sequence complementary to the sequence not hybridizing with the target nucleic acid in the guide probe and a sequence complementary to the detection region of the target nucleic acid; and a specific primer capable of amplifying the target nucleic acid by pairing with the partial primer (ref claim 1). Both sets of claims require determining the presence or absence of an amplicon (ref claim 1).
The co-pending claims additionally recite the limitations of instant claims 2-4, 5 (except those concerning the clamping probe), 6, 7, 8 (except those concerning the clamping probe), 9, 10, and 14-19, as well as of withdrawn claim 22 (except those concerning the clamping probe). The co-pending claims do not recite the limitations of instant claims 11-13, which describe the clamping probe.
However, as discussed in the art rejections set forth above, Markarov teaches these limitations and it would have been obvious to modify the method of the co-pending claims in view of Markarov in order to improving selectivity for detection of a single mutant allele (par. 249).
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/AMANDA HANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682