DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/15/2026. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and are examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 25 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13, 15-19, 21, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZOGRAFOPOULOS (NPL Cyber-Physical Energy Systems Security), hereinafter Zogra in view of Tolbert (NPL Reconfigurable Real-Time Power Grid Emulator for Systems With High Penetration of Renewables), hereinafter Tolbert in further view of Enenkel(US 2015/0006128 A1), hereinafter Enenkel.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 13, and 25 Zogra teaches:
A simulation and emulation system for critical infrastructure, the critical infrastructure comprising one or more components, (Zogra pg. 29775 abstract teaches, cyber-physical energy systems (CPES) the overarching framework for modeling, simulating, assessing, and mitigating attacks in a CPS is illustrated using four representative attack scenarios targeting CPES.) the system comprising at least one processing circuitry configured to:
obtain a model including: (A) a plurality of dynamic digital emulation models, each: (i) modeling at least one of the components, being modeled components, (Zogra pg. 29785, 2nd col. teaches, precise modeling of the CPES physical components.) (ii) configured to emulate behavior of the respective modeled components, (Zogra pg. 29780 1st col. teaches, the utilization of simulators and software suites designed to accurately represent the behavior of real energy systems. Pg. 29780 2nd col. teaches, the utilization of simulators and software suites designed to accurately represent the behavior of real energy systems.) (iii) having one or more parameters defining operation of the respective dynamic digital emulation model, and (Zogra pg. 29794 1st col. teaches, other parameters, known as state variables, differentiate the behavior for each one of the modeled nodes. Some of these parameters are memory consumption, physical location, battery power, and CPU utilization.) (iv) associated with one or more respective events, each event configured to cause a change in one or more of the parameters of the respective dynamic digital emulation model, and (Zogra pg. 29804, 1st col. teaches, the frequency measured at multiple generates reaches minimum and maximum values at the respective trigger and termination events of the attack. pg. 29794 1st col. teaches, known as state variables, differentiate the behavior for each one of the modeled nodes. Some of these parameters are memory consumption, physical location, battery power, and CPU utilization. Additionally, other simulation entities, such as NIC, help to identify nodes in the network. These interfaces also have individual state variables that represent their state while being in charge of transmitting, receiving, and processing the packets exchanged with other network nodes. Similar to the nodes, interfaces include other entities.)
analyze the model to identify implications of the execution of the scenarios; and (Zogra pg. 29792, 2nd col teaches, this 'virtualization' capability provides a significant advantage by allowing the analysis and study of different types of scenarios that can arise during the operation of the CPS. We can analyze and track physical processes, replicate potential harmful operating conditions or scenarios, and accelerate the testing of software and hardware components)
perform one or more actions based on results of the analysis. (Zogra pg. 29798 1st col. teaches; we demonstrate how the proposed risk assessment procedure can be applied to each case study and assist in prioritizing mitigation strategies.)
Zogra does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
(B) one or more operational procedures configured to cause reconfiguration of one or more of the dynamic digital emulation models upon one or more of the events taking place; (Tolbert Pg.492 Col. 2 and Fig. 5, To emulate the grid involving multiple grid elements, several emulator inverters need to be connected together. (i.e., emulation models) Note that each emulator inverter can provide/absorb a significant amount of power depending on the grid element it emulates. Pg. 495 Col. 1 teaches, A multiterminal HVDC hardware system was built and demonstrated for several HTB emulated systems including for the NPCC, WECC, and North American grid (see Fig. 7) models with high penetration (>50%) of renewable generation. Controls were developed such that the system can detect and act on faults on the interconnected ac or dc lines and dc converters and quickly reconfigure and change power flows to maintain system stability. (i.e., operational procedures))
wherein the changes triggers execution of one or more of the operational procedures, thereby causing near real-time reconfiguration of one or more second dynamic digital emulation models of the dynamic digital emulation models, other than the first dynamic digital emulation models; (Tolbert Pg.492 Col. 2 and Fig. 5, To emulate the grid involving multiple grid elements, several emulator inverters need to be connected together. (i.e., emulation models) Note that each emulator inverter can provide/absorb a significant amount of power depending on the grid element it emulates. Pg. 495 Col. 1 teaches, A multiterminal HVDC hardware system was built and demonstrated for several HTB emulated systems including for the NPCC, WECC, and North American grid (see Fig. 7) models with high penetration (>50%) of renewable generation. Controls were developed such that the system can detect and act on faults on the interconnected ac or dc lines and dc converters and quickly reconfigure and change power flows to maintain system stability. (i.e., change in another model))
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Zogra with Tolbert, to modify the cyber-physical energy security system of Zogra with the dynamic emulation of Tolbert. The motivation to do so, Tolbert Pg. 490 Col. 2, to represent different power systems and operating conditions.
Zogra in view of Tolbert does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
execute one or more scenarios simulating real-world scenarios on the model, the scenarios comprised of a sequence of one or more actions, wherein at least one of the actions causes triggering at least one of the events, thereby causing changes to one or more of the parameters of one or more first dynamic digital emulation models of the dynamic digital emulation models, (Enenkel ¶ 42-43 teaches, an initial welcome screen presented by the GUI 14 allows the user to choose whether single or multiple starting scenarios are to be used. A single scenario to be used is chosen from a list of available scenarios. Multiple scenarios may either be chosen from available prepared sets of multiple scenarios, or they may be automatically generated. To automatically generate multiple scenarios the user picks an available starting scenario, the desired number of scenarios to be generated, and one of any available rules for generating multiple scenarios. For example, a rule could be to start with an initial scenario, and for each successive scenario, increase the active power demand on every load by 1%, such as might be experienced as air conditioners progressively come on line during a heat wave.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Zogra in view of Tolbert with Enenkel, to modify the cyber-physical energy security system of Zogra with the dynamic emulation of Tolbert with the scenarios of Enenkel. The motivation to do so, Enenkel ¶ 22, for improved, real-time contingency planning.
Regarding Claim(s) 3 and 15 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) wherein at least one of the dynamic digital emulation models emulates at least one Operational Technology (OT) component. (Zogra pg. 29794 1st col. teaches, other parameters, known as state variables, differentiate the behavior for each one of the modeled nodes. Some of these parameters are memory consumption, physical location, battery power, and CPU utilization. Additionally, other simulation entities, such as NIC, help to identify nodes in the network.)
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 16 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) further comprising one or more virtual digital models, wherein each virtual digital model represents at least one of the components of the critical infrastructure. (Zogra Fig. 5 pg. 29792 1st col. teaches, Specifically for CPES, researchers focus on creating models capable of replicating the behavior of the components that comprise the cyber-system and physical-system layers of EPS, e.g., models for component'> such as PV systems, wind energy systems, ESS, transformers, transmission lines, distribution lines, smart meters, PMUs, routers, switches, etc.)
Regarding Claim(s) 5 and 17 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 4, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent limitation above.) wherein the virtual digital models are Information Technology (IT) models. (Zogra Fig. 5 pg. 29792 1st col. teaches, Specifically for CPES, researchers focus on creating models capable of replicating the behavior of the components that comprise the cyber-system and physical-system layers of EPS, e.g., models for component'> such as PV systems, wind energy systems, ESS, transformers, transmission lines, distribution lines, smart meters, PMUs, routers, switches, etc.)
Regarding Claim(s) 7 and 19 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) wherein at least one of the scenarios simulating real-world scenarios is a simulation of a cyber-attack. (Zogra pg. 29781 2nd col. and pg. 29786 2nd col. teach, In addition, [78] provides a complete overview of the cyber-threats encountered on the infrastructure, network protocols, and application levels of power systems. Furthermore, attacks targeting the data availability, integrity, and confidentiality of microgrids are discussed.)
Regarding Claim(s) 9 and 21 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, wherein the one or more actions are one or more of: (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) alerting a user, suggesting one or more remediation actions, providing information of one or more identified vulnerabilities, providing information of successful cyber-attacks performed on the model, providing information of a risk level of each of one or more of the components, providing information of known adversaries. (Zogra pg. 29781 2nd col. teaches, In addition, [78] provides a complete overview of the cyber-threats encountered on the infrastructure, network protocols, and application levels of power systems. Furthermore, attacks targeting the data availability, integrity, and confidentiality of microgrids are discussed in)
Regarding Claim(s) 10 and 22 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 9, wherein the remediation actions include one or more of: (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) introduction of one or more missing SIEM rules, reconfiguration of one or more of the components of the critical infrastructure, changing a topology of the critical infrastructure, adding components to the critical infrastructure or suggesting to modify one or more parameters of the critical infrastructure. (Zogra pg 29783 1st and 2nd col. and pg 29789 1st col. teaches, Safety instrumented systems (SIS): These systems (e.g., protective relays, recloser controllers) are designed to perform automated remediation actions if an abnormal system behavior is detected (e.g., short-circuit, fault, etc.). All of the reviewed detection mechanisms have the objective of notifying system operators once incongruous sensor or monitor behavior is detected in the CPES. As a result, malicious incidents can be effectively handled, minimizing their impact on CPES operations.)
Claim(s) 2, 6, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel in view of Wang (US 2020/0127456 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim(s) 2 and 14 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.)
Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
wherein the model is an electrical grid simulation model (Wang ¶ 52 teaches, Some embodiments of the inventive concept stem from a realization that a network of programmable emulators based on power converters and connected by switches under the operational supervision of a controller may provide a flexible emulation platform for electrical systems, such as power grids.)
and wherein the reconfiguration of one or more second dynamic digital emulation models of the dynamic digital emulation models causes a connection of at least one of the second dynamic digital emulation models to the electrical grid simulation model or a disconnection of at least one of the second dynamic digital emulation models from the electrical grid simulation model. (Wang ¶ 52 teaches, The power converter based reconfigurable grid emulation platform, according to some embodiments of the inventive concept, may further provide efficient automated reconfiguration when reconfiguring the power converters to emulate different types of elements, systems, operational modes, and/or control parameters as well as reconfiguring an entire system network to a different topology.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel with Wang, to modify the cyber-physical energy security system of Zogra with the dynamic emulation of Tolbert with the scenarios of Enenkel with the reconfigurable grid emulation platform of Wang. The motivation to do so, Wang ¶ 52, reduce idle time when transforming an emulation platform from one test environment to another test environment.
Regarding Claim(s) 6 and 18 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel-Wang teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 1, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the model is configured to connect to one or more physical components of the critical infrastructure. (Wang ¶ 3 teaches the concept, they can incorporate digital and analog inputs and outputs to connect with the physical world to form a Hardware in the Loop (HIL) simulation.)
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel in view of Lo (US 11,182,487 B2), hereinafter Lo.
Regarding Claim(s) 11 Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches:
The simulation and emulation system of claim 10, (Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel teaches the parent claim above.)
Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform the remediation actions on the model and validate that the remediation actions solve at least one negative implication of the implications of the execution of the scenarios. (Lo Col. 4 Ln. 13-16 teaches, Remediation validation system 126 then generates an output to an administrative computing system indicative of the results of the validation or test of the remediation action.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Zogra-Tolbert-Enenkel with Lo, to modify the cyber-physical energy security system of Zogra with the dynamic emulation of Tolbert with the scenarios of Enenkel with validation of a remediation action of Lo. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique of verifying remediation actions to known devices and/or methods for analysis of electrical grid conditions ready for improvement to yield predictable results of reliable remediation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0337000 A1 - USING CLOUD-BASED DATA FOR INDUSTRIAL SIMULATION
/J.B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408